DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2023 and 11/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references given in the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 5, appears to be missing a comma between ‘moving’ and ‘by’ since the clause “between predetermined points by a time of next flight of the aircraft” would not make sense unless it follows the verb ‘moving’. In the above clause ‘the’ appears to be missing between ‘of’ and ‘next.’
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A state of a second storage battery is already mentioned in line 20 of claim 5. On line 28, ‘a’ state of the second storage battery is mentioned again. It is not clear if these are the same states or different states. The examiner interprets the ‘a’ on line 28 as ‘the’ for the purposes of compact prosecution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al. (JP 2020152212 A), hereinafter referred to as Shibuya.
Regarding independent claim 1, Shibuya discloses a power supply apparatus (Figs. 1-3: traveling device 14, cabin 10, aviation device 12) comprising:
a first storage battery (¶0015 and Figs. 1-3: battery 24);
a traveling unit operated and caused to travel by electric power supplied from the first storage battery (traveling device 14 consumes electric power of battery 24 to drive the wheels);
a pad, mounted on the traveling unit (¶0017 and Figs. 2-3: traveling device 14 is provided with a cabin connecting portion 36), on which a vertical take-off and landing aircraft is placed (¶’s [19-20] and Figs. 2-3: Aviation unit 40 is formed from aviation device 12 and cabin 10 and moves through the sky. The traveling device 14 is connectable to the cabin 10 through the cabin connecting portion 36);
a power supply unit for supplying the aircraft placed on the pad with power output from the first storage battery (¶0026 and Fig. 3: battery 24 of the traveling device 14 supplies power to battery 22 of aviation device 12. A power supply unit is implied);
a movement plan recognition unit for recognizing a movement plan of the aircraft (¶0058 and Fig. 5: arranging unit 68 derives the travelable distance for aviation unit 40);
a second storage battery state recognition unit for recognizing a state of a second storage battery provided in the aircraft (¶0045, 0055, 0058, 0085: server 20 obtains current battery capacity (battery 22) of aviation device 12); and
a power supply control unit (¶0032: control unit 54) for controlling first power and second power via the power supply unit, based on the movement plan recognized by the movement plan recognition unit and the state of the second storage battery recognized by the second storage battery state recognition unit, the first power being supplied from the first storage battery to the traveling unit, the second power being supplied from the first storage battery to the aircraft via the power supply unit (Fig. 5 and ¶0058, 0066-0069, 0015: based on the determined departure place and destination, the aviation unit receives electric power from the traveling device 14 with battery 24 on traveling device 14 charging battery 22 on aviation device 12. Battery 24 on traveling device 14 drives the wheels of traveling device 14).
Regarding claim 2, Shibuya discloses the power supply apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power supply control unit determines a supply amount of the first power, based on power required for moving by using the traveling unit while the aircraft is placed on the pad, between predetermined points by a time of next flight of the aircraft (¶’s [15, 21, 69]: Traveling unit 42 is when traveling device 14 and cabin 10 are connected to each other. Traveling unit 42 moves on the ground when the aviation unit cannot reach the destination. Based on the destination to be reached power is provided from the battery 24, with battery capacity supported by driving the engine or regenerative braking).
Regarding claim 4, Shibuya discloses the power supply apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the movement plan includes a departure time, a departure location, an arrival time, an arrival location, and movement points on ground (¶’s [55-57, 85-86, 91, 96] and Fig. 5: arranging unit 68 refers to the aviation equipment table and derives the movable time of the target aviation unit based on current battery capacity. Current battery capacity is measured against the distance to travel between departure point and destination. Movement points along the ground are illustrated in Fig. 5).
Regarding independent claim 5, [] discloses a power supply management system for managing operation of a power supply apparatus including (Figs. 1-3: traveling device 14, cabin 10, aviation device 12):
a first storage battery (¶0015 and Figs. 1-3: battery 24);
a traveling unit operated and caused to travel by electric power supplied from the first storage battery (traveling device 14 consumes electric power of battery 24 to drive the wheels);
a pad, mounted on the traveling unit (¶0017 and Figs. 2-3: traveling device 14 is provided with a cabin connecting portion 36), on which a vertical take-off and landing aircraft is placed (¶’s [19-20] and Figs. 2-3: Aviation unit 40 is formed from aviation device 12 and cabin 10 and moves through the sky. The traveling device 14 is connectable to the cabin 10 through the cabin connecting portion 36); and
a power supply unit for supplying the aircraft placed on the pad with power output from the first storage battery (¶0026 and Fig. 3: battery 24 of the traveling device 14 supplies power to battery 22 of aviation device 12. A power supply unit is implied), the power supply management system comprising:
a first storage battery state recognition unit that individually recognizes states of the first storage batteries for a plurality of the power supply apparatuses (¶0059-0061 and Fig. 5: arranging unit 68 determines a power source from a plurality of candidate traveling devices 14 based on battery capacity and position of traveling device);
a movement plan recognition unit for recognizing a movement plan of a target aircraft, the target aircraft being the aircraft parked at a first point (¶0058, 0075, 0087 and Fig. 5: arranging unit 68 derives the travelable distance for aviation unit 40. Movement plan is based on departure point of aircraft, where it is first parked);
a second storage battery state recognition unit for recognizing a state of a second storage battery provided in the target aircraft (¶0045, 0055, 0058, 0085: server 20 obtains current battery capacity (battery 22) of aviation device 12); and
a power supply apparatus selection unit for selecting the power supply apparatus that is to travel to a second point while the target aircraft is placed on the pad, based on:
states of the first storage batteries of a plurality of the power supply apparatuses;
the movement plan recognized by the movement plan recognition unit; and
a state of the second storage battery, the states of the first storage batteries being recognized by the first storage battery state recognition unit, the state of the second storage battery being recognized by the second storage battery state recognition unit (¶0058-0061 and Figs. 1 and 5: arrangement unit 68 coordinates aviation unit 40 and traveling devices 14 to set up a feeding position in a candidate extraction range A20. The arrangement unit 68 selects based on available battery capacity of and position of traveling device 14 and moving plan from departure point to temporary power supply position to final destination.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya in view of Gisser et al. (US 20230063419 A1, filed 2021-08-30), hereinafter referred to as Gisser.
Regarding claim 3, Shibuya discloses the power supply apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power supply control unit determines a supply amount of the second power, based on power required for charging a second storage battery t, the second storage battery being provided in the aircraft (¶’s [45, 27, 69]: the server 20 obtains current battery capacity of battery 22. The battery 24 of traveling device 14 supplies sufficient electric power to battery 22 of aviation device.).
Shibuya does not disclose determining a supply of the second power based on power required for operating a storage battery temperature adjustment unit in the aircraft, the storage battery temperature adjustment unit heating or cooling the second storage battery.
Gisser discloses determining a supply of the second power based on power required for operating a storage battery temperature adjustment unit in the aircraft, the storage battery temperature adjustment unit heating or cooling the second storage battery (¶0127: controller determines how much power is needed to cool the battery system below a threshold temperature based on the ambient air temperature).
Shibuya and Gisser disclose charging batteries of mobile systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the power determination in the system of Gisser into the system of Shibuya to ensure that the battery of the aviation device has enough energy to maintain temperature control of the battery so the battery life is maximized and does not malfunction with the aviation device is flying.
Conclusion
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
December 9, 2025
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859