Detailed Action
This is in response to application filed on 3/6/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 13-14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bandyopadhyay et al., US 2020/0175120 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Bandyopadhyay teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request that includes a rule-base and filter parameters and a service (see abstract and section 0025; the receiving module 131 may be configured for receiving information directly from the application layer 110. For example, the receiving module 131 may receive a request from the application layer 110 include target data of a target object to be validated based on constituent parameters. The request may include which constituent parameters the validation is to be based on and the currently configured constituent parameter values; the receiving module 131 may provide information received by the computer system 120 from the application layer 110 to be stored in the data repository 125), wherein the request is associated with a data-related operation to be performed in a storage system (section 0025; the receiving module 131 may provide information received by the computer system 120 from the application layer 110 to be stored in the data repository 125);
validating rules included in the rule-base (Fig.1; a validation rule module 133) against targets in the storage system to identify validated targets for the data-related operations (section 0017; 0033-0034; 0038 and claim 1; the validation rule module 133 may then be enabled to execute the identified validation composite rule against the target data of the target object), wherein validated targets are included in a list of validated targets (section 0040; The validation layer 202 may also include a data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240. The logical composite validation query generator 230 may send data and information to be stored in the data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240);
returning the list of validated targets (section 0036 and section 0040; a notifying module 135 for notifying or returning the validation results. The notifying module 135 may be configured to determine the validation result from the validation rule module 133. The notifying module 135 may return a validation result as a response to the request for validation from the application layer 110); and
performing the data-related operation in the storage system (section 0040; The composite validation rules validator 250 may be configured for executing routines to validate the target data based on composite validation rules. The composite validation rules validator 250 may then return a validation result to data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240. The data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240 may then return the result to the logical composite validation query generator 230. The validation layer 202 may then be enabled to return a validation result of the target items (data) to the application layer 201 in XML or JSON format).
Regarding claim 2, Bandyopadhyay teaches the data-related operation comprises a placement operation to place a dataset at a target in the storage system or a migration operation to move a dataset from a source in the storage system to the target in the storage system (section 0035; the machine learning module 134 may then store the new primary validation rule set in the data repository 125 with the data type).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Bandyopadhyay teaches the storage system includes a plurality of storage pools and where each of the storage pools includes a plurality of storage units, wherein the target is a storage unit (section 0068; Cloud computing is a model of service delivery for enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service).
Regarding claim 5, Bandyopadhyay teaches validating the rules includes validating the rules against each of the targets in a filtered list of targets, wherein the filtered list of targets is based on the filter parameters in the request (section 0017; 0033-0034; 0038 and claim 1; the validation rule module 133 may then be enabled to execute the identified validation composite rule against the target data of the target object).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Bandyopadhyay teaches further comprising generating the rule-base, wherein the rule-base is generated external to the service and the storage system (claim 2; the generating the set of composite validation queries includes: generating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, all possible combinations of the constituent parameter values).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Bandyopadhyay teaches the data-related operation is a migration operation and the filter parameters identify a source of the dataset stored in the storage system (section 0040; the composite validation rules validator 250 may then return a validation result to data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240. The data model for storing target items and the corresponding composite validation rules and results 240 may then return the result to the logical composite validation query generator 230. The validation layer 202 may then be enabled to return a validation result of the target items (data) to the application layer 201 in XML or JSON format).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include filtering the storage system based on the filter parameters to generate a filtered list of targets, wherein the filter parameters include a pool identifier, a group identifier, and capabilities and wherein the list of validated targets is generated from the filtered list of targets in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claim 4.
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include for each target in the filtered list of targets and for each rule: parsing the rule to extract a property, a condition, a parameter, and an action; forming a complete condition form the condition and the parameter; evaluating the rule against the target, wherein the target is included in the list of validated targets when the rule is true or when the rule is false with a warning, wherein the target is disqualified from inclusion in the list of validated targets when the rule fails with an error in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claim 6 (claim 7 is depended on claim 6).
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include ranking the list of validated targets based on available capacity when the data-related operation is a placement operation and based on one or more of system model, matching required capabilities, and available capacity when the data-related operation is a migration operation in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claims 10 and 20 (claim 11-12 are depended on claim 10).
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include filtering the storage system based on the filter parameters to generate a filtered list of targets, wherein the filter parameters include a pool identifier, a group identifier, and capabilities and wherein the list of validated targets is generated from the filtered list of targets, wherein validating the rules includes validating the rules against each of the targets in a filtered list of targets, wherein the filtered list of targets is based on the filter parameters in the request in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claim 15 (claim 16-17 are depended on claim 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EVERS et al., US 2024/0078216 A1 teaches a processor receives a request having configurable filters and parameters from a consumer service to obtain data; invokes, in response to receiving the request, a service application programming interface (API) for the data; fetches requested data from a legacy data source in response to calling the service API; fetches data corresponding to the same request having the same configurable filters and parameters from a target data source; compare the fetched data from the legacy data source to the fetched data from the target data source; generates, in response to comparing, a data quality validation score; and when it is determined that the data quality validation score is equal to or more that predetermined threshold value, validates the target data source for migration readiness and terminating the legacy data source.
When responding to the office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111 (c).
When responding to the office action, Applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner to locate the appropriate paragraphs.
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUA J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133