DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8, Applicant argues that,
“The cited Warren reference discloses a "camera compartment" but provides no detail on its structure or integration with a frame. Hutzel and Choi are silent on this feature. The Office Action proposes assembling disparate components from the cited references to arrive at a general structure, but does not suggest the specific, monolithic construction now claimed. Further, the claimed integrated structure is not an arbitrary design choice; it provides a significant technical advantage of improved rigidity and stability, which minimizes camera vibration and improves image quality. See, Specification, [0008]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore not have been motivated to undertake a substantial redesign of the separate components taught by the prior art to arrive at the Applicant's novel, integrated, and advantageous product.”
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the Warren teaches at least in Fig. 6 that the frame comprising the arm 6. The cavity is integrated into part of the arm 6 as a single piece. They must be formed of a same material.
Further, the claims clearly recite the cavities (first cavity and second cavity) are part of the frame (specifically, “the frame includes a first cavity” in claim 14, “the frame includes a first cavity and a separate second cavity” in claim 34; and “the frame includes a first cavity” and “the frame includes a second cavity” in claim 36). As such, the first cavity and the second cavity are integrated into the frame and formed of a same material as the frame (at least at the area of respective cavity). In other words, the frame can be formed of different materials. The first cavity is formed of a same material of the frame at the area of the first cavity while the second cavity is formed of a same material of the frame at the area of the second cavity because the first cavity and the second cavity are parts of the frame.
On page 9, with respect to claim 34, Applicant argues that,
Lettis discloses a modular system comprising a separate "base frame," "case frame," and camera "cradles." See, Lettis, Fig. 32, [0103]. These are distinct, separate components assembled together. There is no teaching or suggestion in Lettis to abandon its modular approach and instead form the camera cavities as an integral, monolithic part of a single frame structure. Such a combination would require impermissible hindsight, using Applicant's own disclosure as a blueprint to reconstruct the prior art. Claim 34, as amended, covers a structurally distinct and non- obvious solution for a multi-camera assembly that is not rendered obvious by the modular teachings of Lettis alone or in combination.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that found references as described in the Office Action clearly discloses the recited components of the rear-view assembly. There is no limitation in the claim that requires that the frame is formed of only one single material and cannot be assembled or formed from various components. When a component is part of the frame, it is automatically formed of a same material as the frame at that area. Further where the claims recite a component is securely fixed to another component, e.g. the frame, there is no requirement that they are securely fixed to each other directly without mediate components.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 36 on pages 9-10 are not persuasive for the same reason as discussed above.
Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 20, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Warren (US 2022/0203898 A1 – hereinafter Warren), Hutzel et al. (US 2003/0117728 A1 – hereinafter Hutzel), and Choi (US 2015/0165976 A1 – hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 14, Warren discloses a rear-view assembly for a vehicle (Figs. 1-3), comprising: a frame configured to be secured to the vehicle (Fig. 1 – a frame comprising a structure that supports for the mirror and an arm 6 secured to a vehicle); a housing secured to the frame, wherein the housing defines a housing opening (Figs. 1-3 – a housing secured to the frame and house the mirror structure); a first camera secured to the frame (Figs. 1-3; [0020] – a first camera, i.e. camera 2, is secured to the frame), wherein the first camera includes a first lens directed in a rearwardly-facing direction (Figs. 1-3; claim 1 – camera 2 having a lens looking rearwardly-facing direction); a reflective element ([0020]-[0021]; Figs. 1-3 – at least a mirror 5); and a portion of the housing secured to the frame and surrounding a circumferential edge of the reflective element, wherein the portion of the housing includes an aperture configured for the a first lens to view the rearwardly-facing direction (Figs. 1-3 – the front portion of housing is secured to the frame and surrounding a circumferential edge of the mirror), wherein the frame include a first cavity to house the first camera, and wherein the first cavity is integrated into the frame and formed of a same material as the frame (Fig. 1; [0020] – at least a front face of a camera compartment 3 is of a same material of the frame comprising the arm 6; in addition, any parts of the camera compartment is interpreted as parts of the frame thus are formed of a same material of the frame at the parts’ locations – also see “Response to Arguments” above), wherein the first camera is offset with respect to the reflective element in a vertical plane, wherein the first camera is at least partially positioned in front of the reflective element when viewed from a rear end of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3 - viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, the camera 2 is positioned before the mirror 5, thus, at least in (i) a vertical plane between the camera and the mirror or (ii) a vertical plane coinciding with the plane of the mirror, the camera is offset with respect to the mirror).
Warren does not disclose the portion of the housing is a bezel positioned within the housing opening; an actuator secured to the frame; a reflective element secured to the actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust an angle of the reflective element to change a field of view of a driver of the vehicle.
Hutzel discloses a bezel secured to a frame and positioned within a housing opening (Figs. 8A, 15A; [0104] – a bezel portion 12a’ positioned within an opening of housing 12’ and secured to a frame as further shown in Fig. 15A) and surrounding a circumferential edge of a reflective element, wherein the bezel includes a bezel aperture configured for the a first lens to view a rearwardly-facing direction (Fig.8A; [0104] – the bezel surrounds a circumferential edge of the mirror and including an aperture configured for a first lens of camera 17’).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the bezel taught by Hutzel into the rear-view assembly taught by Warren to secure the mirror and the camera within the housing.
Warren and Hutzel do not disclose an actuator secured to the frame; a reflective element secured to the actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust an angle of the reflective element to change a field of view of a driver of the vehicle.
Choi discloses an actuator secured to a frame (Fig. 2; [0028] – an actuator secured to a frame which secures to the mirror structure to a vehicle); a reflective element secured to the actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust an angle of the reflective element to change a field of view of a driver of the vehicle ([0028]; Fig. 2 – reflective element 50 is secured to an actuator 70, the actuator is configured to adjust an angle of the reflective element to change the field of view of a driver of the vehicle by rotating the reflective element about an axis 68 as shown in Figs. 3-4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the assembly taught by Warren and Hutzel to allow adjustment of the reflective element to provide the driver with a best view.
Regarding claim 15, Warren also discloses the frame includes a first cavity to house the first camera (Figs. 1-3; [0020] – the frame includes a camera compartment to house the first camera).
Regarding claim 20, Warren also discloses the first camera is secured in the first cavity of the frame with a first cap having a first void configured for the first lens to view the rearwardly-facing direction (Figs. 1-3; [0020] – the frame includes a camera compartment with a first cap having a first void configured for the first lens to view the rearwardly-facing direction).
Regarding claim 28, see the teachings of Warren, Hutzel, and Choi as discussed in claim 14 above, in which Warren in view of Hutzel also discloses the bezel aperture is configured to allow the first camera to be positioned to view the rearwardly-facing direction (Figs. 1-3 – view of Hutzel disclosing the bezel aperture for the lens of the camera).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Hutzel has been discussed in claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 31, Warren also discloses a vehicle comprising the rear-view assembly (Figs. 1-3) to provide a field of view to a driver on a display ([0011]; [0021]) with at least a part of the field of view in the rearwardly facing and outwardly and/or downwardly facing directions (Figs. 1-3 – a FOV of a camera 2 directed in a rearwardly-facing and outwardly facing directions).
Claims 16-19, 21-24, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren, Hutzel, and Choi as applied to claims 14-15, 20, 28, and 31 above, and further in view of Lettis et al. (US 2022/0176880 A1 – hereinafter Lettis).
Regarding claim 16, see the teachings of Warren, Hutzel, and Choi as discussed in claim 14 above. However, Warren, Hutzel, and Choi do not disclose a second camera that includes a second lens, wherein the second camera is secured to the frame.
Lettis also discloses a second camera that includes a second lens, wherein the second camera is secured to a frame ([0035]-[0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lettis into the assembly taught by Warren, Hutzel, and Choi to provide extra camera FOVs to the driver, thus enhancing the driver’s awareness of the surrounding environment while driving.
Regarding claim 17, Lettis also discloses the frame includes a second cavity that houses the a second camera ([0035]-[0042]).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Lettis into the assembly has been discussed in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 18, Lettis also discloses the second lens is directed in an outwardly and/or downwardly facing direction ([0035]-[0042]).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Lettis into the assembly has been discussed in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 19, Lettis also discloses the housing includes a housing aperture configured to allow the second lens of the second camera to view the outwardly and/or downwardly facing direction ([0035]-[0042]).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Lettis into the assembly has been discussed in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 21, see the teachings of Warren, Hutzel, and Choi as discussed in claim 15 above. However, Warren, Hutzel, and Choi do not disclose the first camera is secured in the first cavity of the frame with a first fastener.
Lettis discloses a camera is secured in a cavity of a frame with a first fastener (Figs. 2B-2C; Figs. 3B-3C; [0163]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lettice into the assembly taught by Warren, Hutzel, and Choi to conveniently secure the camera to the frame.
Regarding claim 22, Lettis also discloses the first fastener comprises a screw and/or a snap-fit connection (Figs. 2B-2C; Figs. 3B-3C; [0163] – at least snap-fit connection).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Lettis into the assembly has been discussed in claim 21 above.
Regarding claim 23, Lettis also discloses the second camera is secured in the second cavity of the frame with a second fastener ([0163]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the further teachings of Lettice into the assembly proposed in claim 17 to conveniently secure the second camera to the frame.
Regarding claim 24, Lettis also discloses the second fastener comprises a screw and/or a snap-fit connection ([0163] – at least snap-fit connection).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Lettis into the assembly has been discussed in claim 23 above.
Regarding claim 33, see the teachings of Warren, Hutzel, and Choi as discussed in claim 14 above. Warren also discloses the first camera and the reflective element are offset from each other in a vertical plane, and wherein the first camera is positioned in front of the reflective element when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3 - viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, the camera 2 is positioned before the mirror 5, thus, at least in (i) a vertical plane between the camera and the mirror or (ii) a vertical plane coinciding with the plane of the mirror, the camera is offset with respect to the mirror).
However, Warren, Hutzel, and Choi do not disclose a second camera that includes a second lens, wherein the second camera is also secured to the frame, wherein the first camera, the second camera and the reflective element are offset from each other in a vertical plane, and wherein the second camera is positioned behind the reflective element when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle.
Lettis discloses a second camera that includes a second lens, wherein the second camera is also secured to the frame ([0035]-[0042] – a second camera secured to the frame and inside a mirror housing), wherein the second camera and the reflective element are offset from each other in a vertical plane, and wherein the second camera is positioned behind the reflective element when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3 - viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, the second camera is positioned behind the mirror, thus, at least in (i) a vertical plane between the second camera and the mirror or (ii) a vertical plane coinciding with the plane of the mirror, the second camera is offset with respect to the mirror).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lettis into the assembly taught by Warren, Hutzel, and Choi to provide extra camera FOVs to the driver, thus enhancing the driver’s awareness of the surrounding environment while driving. Further, with the incorporated feature from Lettis, the assembly would have had the features of “viewed from the rear end of the vehicle, the first camera is positioned in front of the mirror, which is positioned in front the second camera”, and “the first camera, the second camera and the reflective element are offset from each other in a vertical plane.”
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren, Choi, and Lettis.
Regarding claim 34, Warren discloses a rear-view assembly for a vehicle operable in a fold position or an unfolded position, the rear-view assembly comprising: a frame configured to be secured to the vehicle, wherein the frame includes a first cavity (Fig. 1 – a frame comprising a structure that supports for the mirror and an arm 6 secured to a vehicle), wherein the first cavity are integrated into the frame and is formed of a same material as the frame (Fig. 1; [0020] – at least a front face of a camera compartment 3 is of a same material of the frame comprising the arm 6; ; in addition, any parts of the camera compartment is interpreted as parts of the frame thus are formed of a same material of the frame at the parts’ locations – also see Response to Arguments above); a first camera configured to provide a first field of view (Figs. 1-3 – camera 2 provides a first FOV), wherein the first camera is fixedly secured to the frame, wherein the first camera is fixedly secured within the first cavity of the frame (Figs. 1-3 – camera 5 is fixed to the frame); and a reflective element ([0020]-[0021]; Figs. 1-3 – at least a mirror 5), wherein the first camera, and the reflective element are configured such that, the first camera is at least partially positioned forwardly from both the reflective element when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle, when the rear view assembly is in the unfolded position (Figs. 1-3 - viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, when the rear view assembly is in unfolded position as shown in Figs. 1-3, the camera 2 is positioned forwardly from the mirror 5).
However, Warren does not disclose the frame includes a separate second cavity, wherein the second cavity is integrated into the frame and is formed of a same material as the frame; an actuator mounted on the frame; a second camera configured to provide a second field of view, wherein the second camera is fixedly secured to the frame; and a reflective element configured to be coupled with the actuator, wherein the actuator is adapted to adjust the reflective element to capture a third field of view and the reflective element is movable with respect to the frame, wherein the first camera, the second camera, and the reflective element are configured such that, the second camera is at least partially positioned rearwardly of the reflective element when viewed from a rear end of the vehicle.
Choi discloses an actuator mounted on a frame (Fig. 2; [0028] – an actuator mounted to a frame which secures to the mirror structure to a vehicle); and a reflective element configured to be coupled with the actuator, wherein the actuator is adapted to adjust the reflective element to capture a third field of view and the reflective element is movable with respect to the frame ([0028]; Fig. 2 – reflective element 50 is secured to an actuator 70, the actuator is configured to adjust an angle of the reflective element to change the field of view of a driver of the vehicle by rotating the reflective element about an axis 68 as shown in Figs. 3-4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the assembly taught by Warren to allow adjustment of the reflective element to provide the driver with a best view.
However, Warren and Choi do not disclose the frame includes a separate second cavity, wherein the second cavity is integrated into the frame and is formed of a same material as the frame; a second camera configured to provide a second field of view, wherein the second camera is fixedly secured within the second cavity of the frame, wherein the first camera, the second camera, and the reflective element are configured such that, the second camera is at least partially positioned rearwardly of the reflective element when viewed from a rear end of the vehicle.
Lettis discloses a frame includes a separate second cavity, wherein the second cavity is integrated into the frame and is formed of a same material as the frame (Fig. 3C – a frame with a cavity for a camera 85, the cavity is part of the frame thus is formed of a same material at the area of the cavity – also see Response to Arguments above); a second camera configured to provide a second field of view, wherein the second camera is fixedly secured to the frame ([0035]-[0042]), wherein the second camera is fixedly secured within the second cavity of the frame ([0103]; Fig. 2B; Fig. 3C – the first camera 85 is secured to the case frame 88 of the frame); the second camera and the reflective element are configured such that, the second camera is at least partially positioned rearwardly of the reflective element when viewed from a rear end of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3 - viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, the second camera is positioned behind the mirror, thus, at least partially positioned rearwardly of the mirror).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lettis into the assembly taught by Warren and Choi to provide extra camera FOVs to the driver, thus enhancing the driver’s awareness of the surrounding environment while driving. Further, with the incorporated feature from Lettis, the assembly would have had the features of “viewed from the rear end of the vehicle, the first camera is positioned forwardly from mirror, the second camera is positioned rearwardly from the mirror”, thus, the “first camera, the second camera, and the reflective element are configured such that the second camera is at least partially positioned rearwardly of the reflective element when viewed from a rear end of the vehicle, and the first camera is at least partially positioned forwardly from both the reflective element and the second camera when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle, when the rear view assembly is in the unfolded position.”
Regarding claim 35, Warren also discloses the first lens is positioned in front of the reflective element when viewed from the rear end of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3).
Claims 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lettis and Tamura (US 2022/0412149 A1 – hereinafter Tamura).
Regarding claim 36, Lettis discloses a rear-view assembly for a vehicle, comprising: a frame configured to be secured to the vehicle (Fig. 5A; [0120] – a frame comprising at least a base frame within the base assembly and a case frame within a head assembly connected to each other as further described at least in [0130], the frame is secured to the vehicle via the base frame within the base assembly as further described at least in [0011]); a housing secured to the frame (Fig. 5A – a housing comprising the head assembly housing and the base assembly housing secured to the frame); an actuator ([0046]; [0142] – an actuator system of an articulation system); a reflective element secured to the actuator ([0095] – a mirror is secured to the head assembly, which in turn is secured to a moveable part, of the articulation assembly, which is secured to the actuator system to actuate the head assembly); a first camera including a first lens directed in a rearwardly-facing direction ([0103]; Fig. 2B – camera 85 including a first lens installed in the head assembly 60 directed in a rearwardly-facing direction as shown in Fig. 2B); a bezel including a bezel aperture configured for the first lens to view the rearwardly-facing direction ([0103]; Fig. 2B; Fig. 3C – bezel 75 including an aperture configured for the first lens to view the rearwardly-facing direction as shown in Fig. 2B); and a second camera including a second lens directed in a rearwardly-facing direction ([0124]; [0128]; Fig. 5A – camera 62 including a second lens 78 installed in the base assembly 61 directed in a rearwardly-facing direction as shown in Fig. 5A), wherein the first camera is secured to the frame, the bezel is secured to the frame and arranged in the housing (Fig. 2B; [0103] – the first camera 85 is secured to the case frame 88 of the frame, bezel 75 is secured to the frame and arranged in the housing of the head assembly, the bezel 75 is secured to the housing, which is secured to the case frame), the bezel aperture is configured to allow the first camera to be positioned such that it is viewing the rearwardly-facing direction (Fig. 2B -the bezel aperture allowing the first camera 85 to be positioned such that is viewing the rearwardly-facing direction), and the frame includes a first cavity to house the first camera (Fig. 2B – the case frame 88 includes the first cavity as shown in Fig. 2B), and wherein the second camera is secured to the frame, the frame includes a second cavity that houses the second camera, and wherein the first cavity and the second cavity are integrated into the frame and is formed of a same material as the frame (Fig. 3C; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 5A – a frame with a first cavity for a camera 85, the cavity is part of the frame thus is formed of a same material at the area of the first cavity while the second cavity housing camera 62 is also a part of the frame thus is formed of a same material at the area of the second cavity – also see “Response to Arguments” above), and the housing includes a housing aperture configured to allow the second lens of the second camera to view the rearwardly-facing direction ([0120]; Fig. 5A – camera 62 is secured to the base frame of the frame, the frame includes a second cavity that housing the second camera as further shown in at least in Fig. 6A, a housing aperture configured to the second lens 78 of the second camera to view the rearwardly-facing direction as shown in Fig. 5A).
However, Lettis does not disclose the second camera to view downwardly-facing direction.
Tamura discloses a camera to view downwardly-facing direction ([0034] – a camera is installed on the side mirror so as to face downward and rearward).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Tamura into the rear-view assembly taught by Lettis to widen the monitoring angle of the camera system, i.e. a camera viewing downwardly-facing direction would have been useful in controlling operation of the vehicle (Tamura: [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484