DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on March 6, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 30 (paragraph [0027]) and 70 (paragraphs [0033, 0038])
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
Paragraph [0035], lines 5-8 include the sentence: “Although the pressure sensor 78 provides the pressure within the housing 36, a direct correlation can be made between the output of the pressure sensor 78 and the pressure within the housing 36.”
The sentence is unclear.
The pressure sensor is described as generating a signal corresponding to the pressure within the compressible element. It appears that perhaps the sentence was intended to read: “Although the pressure sensor 78 does not provide the pressure within the housing 36, a direct correlation can be made between the output of the pressure sensor 78 and the pressure within the housing 36.” Applicant is invited to review the sentence and the relevant portions of the specification and clarify.
Paragraph [0038], line 5 – the reference character for the second compressible element should be 70’, not 70.
Paragraph [0039], lines 5 and 8, the reference character for the volume should be 74’’, not 74.
Paragraph [0039], line 7, the reference character for the relief valve should be 80’’, not 80.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities.
Line 2 of the claim reads in part: “a battery module by a plurality of walls”.
It appears that there are missing words between “module” and “by”.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 2 of the claim reads in part: “the pressure signal corresponding to a pressure within the space”.
The limitation should be edited to read: “the pressure signal corresponds to a pressure within the space”.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities. Lines 1-2 of the claim read in part: “the element comprises a pressure relief valve communicated dielectric fluid into the space”.
The limitation should be edited to read: “the compressible element comprises a pressure relief valve communicating dielectric fluid into the space”.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities. Lines 2-3 of the claim read in part: “the plurality battery cells”. The limitation should be edited to read: “the plurality of battery cells”
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities. Lines 1-3 of the claim read in part: “positioning the compressible element between a second compressible element between third battery cell and a fourth battery cell”.
It appears that the limitation is intended to read: “positioning a second compressible element between a third battery cell and a fourth battery cell”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pressure within the battery module" (lines 12-13). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a second end wall" (line 2).
Claim 10 depends on claim 1 via claim 9.
Claim 1 defines “a second end wall” (line 3).
The use of the indefinite article in the limitation of claim 10 creates ambiguity as to whether claim 10 intends to refer to the “second end wall” defined by claim 1 or to a different “second end wall”.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said compressible element having … an element pump" (lines 5-6). The claim later recites the limitation “using an element pump coupled to the compressible element” (lines 12-13).
The use of the indefinite article with the limitation of lines 12-13 creates ambiguity as to whether the limitation of lines 12-13 intends to refer to the “element pump” defined on lines 5-6 or a different element pump. As such, it is unclear how many “element pumps” are required by the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a second end wall" and “a second battery cell” (line 2).
Claim 20 depends on claim 17 and on claim 12 via claim 17.
Claim 12 defines “a second end wall” (line 3). Claim 17 defines “a second battery cell” (line 3).
The use of the indefinite article with the limitations of claim 20 creates ambiguity as to whether claim 20 intends to refer to the “second end wall” defined by claim 12 or to a different “second end wall” and also whether claim 20 intends to refer to the “second battery cell” defined by claim 17 or to a different “second battery cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0266832, hereinafter Shirasawa.
Regarding claim 1, Shirasawa teaches a system. The system comprises a battery module (10). The battery module (10) comprises a case (2). The case (2) includes a plurality of walls including a first end wall spaced apart from a second end wall. The battery module (10) further comprises a plurality of battery cells positioned between the first end wall and the second end wall (paragraphs [0026, 0028] and figure 1).
The system comprises multiple containers (4) (paragraphs [0026, 0050]). Each container (4) has a variable volume (paragraph [0052]) - therefore it is “compressible”. Each container (4, “compressible element”) has walls and is positioned adjacent to the battery cells in the case (2) (figure 2).
The interior of the case (2) includes a space between the battery cells and the plurality of walls of the case (2). Each container (4, “compressible element”) includes a pump communicating dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) from the space into the container (4, “compressible element”) and from the container (4, “compressible element”) into the space (paragraphs [0040, 0043, 0049]).
The pump on one container (4) may be designated the instantly claimed “inlet module pump”. The pump on another container (4) may be designated the instantly claimed “element pump”.
The system includes a pressure sensor generating a pressure signal indicative of pressure within the battery module (10) (paragraph [0047]).
A controller is coupled to the “inlet module pump”, the “element pump” and the pressure sensor and is configured to control the pressure within the container (4, “compressible element”) based on the pressure signal (paragraphs [0046, 0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Shirasawa teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed inside the container (4, “compressible element”) and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the container (4, “compressible element”) (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Shirasawa teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed in the space and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the space (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Shirasawa teaches a valve (5) communicating the dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) into the space when a pressure inside the container (4, “compressible element”) is above a predefined pressure (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Shirasawa teaches that the container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between all of the battery cells and the first end wall (figure 1). Therefore, the container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between a “first cell” and the first end wall.
Regarding claim 10, Shirasawa teaches a second container (4, “compressible element”) disposed between all of the battery cells and the second end wall (figure 1). Therefore, the second container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between a “second battery cell” and the second end wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0266832, hereinafter Shirasawa.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Shirasawa teaches that the battery module (10) can include multiple battery packs (1) (paragraph [0028]).
Shirasawa also teaches that the battery module (10) includes multiple containers (4, “compressible elements”) for finely controlling the pressure inside the case (2) (paragraph [0050]).
Shirasawa shows placing a container (4, “compressible element”) on each side of a battery pack (1) (figure 2).
Shirasawa fails to teach a container (4, “compressible element”) between a first battery cell and a second battery cell and a second container (4, “compressible element”) between a third battery cell and a fourth battery cell.
When accommodating multiple battery packs (1) within the case (2), it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to continue the pattern shown in figure 2 and to alternate the placing of containers (4, “compressible elements”) and battery packs (1) for the purpose of being able to control the pressure in the space between battery packs (1). In such an arrangement including three battery packs (1), there would be one container (4, “compressible element”) between a first battery cell from a first battery pack (1) and a second battery cell from a second battery pack (1). Similarly, there would be a second container (4, “compressible element”) between a third battery cell from a third battery pack (1) and a fourth battery cell from the first battery pack (1).
Regarding claim 12, Shirasawa teaches a method of controlling a battery module (10). The battery module (10) comprises a case (2). The case (2) includes a plurality of walls including a first end wall spaced apart from a second end wall. The battery module (10) further comprises a plurality of battery cells positioned between the first end wall and the second end wall (paragraphs [0026, 0028] and figure 1).
The battery module (10) further comprises a container (4) (paragraphs [0026, 0050]). The container (4) has a variable volume (paragraph [0052]) - therefore it is “compressible”. The container (4, “compressible element”) has walls, is positioned adjacent to the battery cells in the case (2) (figure 2) and includes an element pump (paragraph [0049] and figure 2).
The interior of the case (2) includes a space between the battery cells and the plurality of walls of the case (2) (figure 2).
The method includes communicating dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) into the space from outside the battery module (10) with a supplying means (paragraphs [0040, 0062]).
The method further includes controlling a pressure within the container (4, “compressible element”) based on a pressure signal from within the battery module (10) using the element pump coupled to the container (4, “compressible element”) and communicating the dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) thereinto (paragraphs [0043, 0046, 0047, 0049]).
Shirasawa fails to teach that the supplying means is a pump.
Given that Shirasawa teaches using a pump as a supplying means for supplying the dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) into the container (4, “compressible element”), it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pump as the supplying means into the space of the case (2) without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Shirasawa teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed inside the container (4, “compressible element”) and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the container (4, “compressible element”) (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Shirasawa teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed in the space and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the space (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Shirasawa teaches a valve (5) communicating the dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) into the space when a pressure inside the container (4, “compressible element”) is above a predefined pressure (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Shirasawa teaches that the battery module (10) can include multiple battery packs (1) (paragraph [0028]).
Shirasawa also teaches that the battery module (10) includes multiple containers (4, “compressible elements”) for finely controlling the pressure inside the case (2) (paragraph [0050]).
Shirasawa shows placing a container (4, “compressible element”) on each side of a battery pack (1) (figure 2).
Shirasawa fails to teach a container (4, “compressible element”) between a first battery cell and a second battery cell and a second container (4, “compressible element”) between a third battery cell and a fourth battery cell.
When accommodating multiple battery packs (1) within the case (2), it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to continue the pattern shown in figure 2 and to alternate the placing of containers (4, “compressible elements”) and battery packs (1) for the purpose of being able to control the pressure in the space between battery packs (1). In such an arrangement including three battery packs (1), there would be one container (4, “compressible element”) between a first battery cell from a first battery pack (1) and a second battery cell from a second battery pack (1). Similarly, there would be a second container (4, “compressible element”) between a third battery cell from a third battery pack (1) and a fourth battery cell from the first battery pack (1).
Regarding claim 19, Shirasawa teaches that the container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between all of the battery cells and the first end wall (figure 1). Therefore, the container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between a “first cell” and the first end wall.
Regarding claim 20, Shirasawa teaches a second container (4, “compressible element”) disposed between all of the battery cells and the second end wall (figure 1). Therefore, the second container (4, “compressible element”) is disposed between a “second battery cell” and the second end wall.
Claims 1-4, 6-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0077550, hereinafter Lee in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0266832, hereinafter Shirasawa.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a system. The system comprises a battery module (1000). The battery module (1000) comprises a case (200). The case (200) includes a plurality of walls including a first end wall spaced apart from a second end wall. The battery module (1000) further comprises a plurality of battery cells (100A) positioned between the first end wall and the second end wall (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-3).
The system comprises multiple compressible pressure pads (300) (paragraphs [0031, 0032, 0037] and figures 1-3). Each pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) has walls and is positioned adjacent to battery cells (100A) in the case (200) (figures 1-3).
The interior of the case (200) includes a space between the battery cells (100A) and the plurality of walls of the case (200) (figures 1-3).
Each pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is provided with a dedicated conduit which communicates a fluid from outside the case (200) into the space and then into the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) (paragraphs [0040, 0043, 0049] and figures 1-3).
The system includes a pressure sensor generating a pressure signal indicative of pressure within the battery module (1000) (paragraphs [0041, 0042]).
A pressure adjusting unit (400, “controller”) is coupled to each conduit and pressure sensor and is configured to control the pressure within the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) based on the pressure signal (paragraphs [0035, 0036] and figures 1-3).
Lee does not provide details on how the fluid is propelled within the conduits.
Lee fails to teach an inlet module pump, an element pump and that the fluid is dielectric.
Shirasawa teaches a similar arrangement including compressible containers (4) variably filled with dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) and used to control pressure within a battery module (10) (paragraphs [0026, 0028, 0040, 0043, 0046, 0047, 0049]). Shirasawa teaches propelling the dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) by means of pumps (paragraph [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pump for each conduit in Lee’s system for the purpose of selectively propelling the fluid within the conduits.
The pump associated with one conduit may be designated the instantly claimed “inlet module pump” communicating fluid into the space of the battery module (1000). The pump on another conduit may be designated the instantly claimed “element pump” communicating fluid from the space into the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”).
It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use dry air (a dielectric fluid) as the pressure-controlling fluid as taught by Shirasawa without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed inside the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed in the space and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the space (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches a temperature measuring unit (700), which measures the temperature of the battery cells (100A) (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
A temperature adjusting unit (600) is configured to control a temperature within the battery module (1000) by controlling flow through the “inlet module pump” (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
The pressure adjusting unit (400) and the temperature adjusting unit (600) together may be considered the instantly claimed “controller”.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the case comprises outlets through which the conduits exit the case (200) (figure 3). The conduits are coupled to a heat exchanger (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches that a pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a first battery cell (100A) and a second battery cell (100A) (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches using multiple pressure pads (300, “compressible elements”) located at different locations between the battery cells (100A) (paragraph [0035]). In this configuration, there would be a second pressure pad (300, “compressible pad”) located between a third battery cell (100A) and a fourth battery cell (100A).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches that a pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a first battery cell (100A) and the first end wall (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches that a second pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a second battery cell (100A) and the second end wall (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a pressure pad (300) positioned at a central location between adjacent battery cells (100A). This pressure pad (300) spaces the two adjacent battery cells (100A) apart and is therefore a “spacer”.
One of the other pressure pads (300) would then be considered the “compressible element” required by claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches a method of controlling a battery module (1000). The battery module (1000) comprises a case (200). The case (200) includes a plurality of walls including a first end wall spaced apart from a second end wall. The battery module (1000) further comprises a plurality of battery cells (100A) positioned between the first end wall and the second end wall (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-3).
The system comprises multiple compressible pressure pads (300) (paragraphs [0031, 0032, 0037] and figures 1-3). Each pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) has walls and is positioned adjacent to battery cells (100A) in the case (200) (figures 1-3).
The interior of the case (200) includes a space between the battery cells (100A) and the plurality of walls of the case (200) (figures 1-3).
Each pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is provided with a dedicated conduit which communicates a fluid from outside the case (200) into the space and then into the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) (paragraphs [0040, 0043, 0049] and figures 1-3).
The system includes a pressure sensor generating a pressure signal indicative of pressure within the battery module (1000) (paragraphs [0041, 0042]).
A pressure adjusting unit (400, “controller”) is coupled to each conduit and pressure sensor and is configured to control the pressure within the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) based on the pressure signal (paragraphs [0035, 0036] and figures 1-3).
Lee does not provide details on how the fluid is propelled within the conduits.
Lee fails to teach an inlet module pump, an element pump and that the fluid is dielectric.
Shirasawa teaches a similar arrangement including compressible containers (4) variably filled with dry air (3, “dielectric fluid”) and used to control pressure within a battery module (10) (paragraphs [0026, 0028, 0040, 0043, 0046, 0047, 0049]). Shirasawa teaches propelling the dielectric fluid by means of pumps (paragraph [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pump for each conduit in Lee’s system for the purpose of selectively propelling the fluid within the conduits.
The pump associated with one conduit may be designated the instantly claimed “inlet module pump” communicating fluid into the space of the battery module (1000). The pump on another conduit may be designated the instantly claimed “element pump” communicating fluid from the space into the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”).
It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use dry air (a dielectric fluid) as the pressure-controlling fluid as taught by Shirasawa without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed inside the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches that the pressure sensor is disposed in the space and generates a signal corresponding to a pressure inside the space (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches a temperature measuring unit (700), which measures the temperature of the battery cells (100A) (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
A temperature adjusting unit (600) controls a temperature within the battery module (1000) by controlling flow through the “inlet module pump” (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches that a pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a first battery cell (100A) and a second battery cell (100A) (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches using multiple pressure pads (300, “compressible elements”) located at different locations between the battery cells (100A) (paragraph [0035]). In this configuration, there would be a second pressure pad (300, “compressible pad”) located between a third battery cell (100A) and a fourth battery cell (100A).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches that a pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a first battery cell (100A) and the first end wall (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches that a second pressure pad (300, “compressible element”) is disposed between a second battery cell (100A) and the second end wall (figures 1-3).
Conclusion
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724