DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-14 are canceled.
3. Claims 15-28 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph, as falling to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification fails to mention or teach wherein transmitting the message to the first device to cause the first device to perform a control of the second device comprises transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to selectively supply power to the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition as claimed in dependent claim 23. The applicant should explicitly explain how the specification support the claim limitation such as transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to selectively supply power to the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
8. Claim 19 recites the limitations “wherein: receiving the third message comprises receiving a third message comprising the second data and an identifier for one of the at least one sensor device; and transmitting the fourth message to the at least one sensor device comprises transmitting the fourth message to the one of the at least one sensor device.” However, the claim language “receiving the third message comprises receiving a third message comprising the second data …; and transmitting the fourth message to the at least one sensor device comprises transmitting the fourth message to the one of the at least one sensor device,” is unclear. The claim does not include any earlier recitation or limitation of a “third message” and “fourth message” as a result, it is not clear what elements the description the third message and the fourth message refer to. Appropriate correction is required.
9. Claim 21 recites the limitations “wherein the at least one control circuit further: in response to receiving, via the second wireless transceiver and from the at least one computing device that is remote from the wireless gateway apparatus and remote from the at least one sensor device, a fifth message formatted according to the second communication protocol and comprising second data, the fifth message comprising an indication of whether the at least one computing device has determined that the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied a condition: transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the first communication protocol and comprising the indication.” However, the meaning of “transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the first communication protocol and comprising the indication,” is unclear.
For examination purpose, Examiner interprets the above limitations as, transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver, a sixth message formatted according to the first communication protocol and comprising the indication to a first device controlling a second device. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 15-20 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. US 2010/0312881 (hereinafter, Davis), in view of Gaines et al. US 2012/0184207 (hereinafter, Gaines).
12. Regarding claim 15, Davis discloses a wireless gateway apparatus ([0021], Fig. 1: site controller 150) for use with a system comprising at least one sensor device ([0021], Fig. 1: each of the sensor/actuators 130 and sensors 140), and at least one computing device ([0021], one or more application servers 110), that is remote from the at least one computing device and remote from the wireless gateway apparatus, each of the at least one sensor device comprising an environmental sensor ([0067], Fig. 1), and a transceiver (Fig. 2, item 225) to communicate wirelessly according to a first communication protocol (Abstract), the wireless gateway apparatus comprising:
a first wireless transceiver to communicate wirelessly according to the first communication protocol; a second wireless [network] to communicate wirelessly according to a second communication protocol (Abstract, [0028]-[0029]: the site controller comprises a transceiver configured to communicate with the plurality of communication devices via the second communication network; a network interface device configured to communicate with the host computer via the first communication network; and logic configured to: manage communication with each of the plurality of communication devices, via a first communication protocol, based on one or more communication paths for each of the plurality of communication devices, each communication path comprising one or more communication devices involved in the communication link between the transceiver and each of the plurality of communication devices; and manage communication with the host computer via a second communication protocol); and
at least one control circuit to, in response to receiving from one of the at least one sensor device, via the first wireless transceiver, a first message formatted according to the first communication protocol and comprising first data, transmit via the second wireless [network] and to the at least one computing device a second message formatted according to the second communication protocol and comprising the first data
(Abstract: the site controller comprises a transceiver configured to communicate with the plurality of communication devices via the second communication network; a network interface device configured to communicate with the host computer via the first communication network; and logic configured to: manage communication with each of the plurality of communication devices, via a first communication protocol, based on one or more communication paths for each of the plurality of communication devices, each communication path comprising one or more communication devices involved in the communication link between the transceiver and each of the plurality of communication devices; and manage communication with the host computer via a second communication protocol. Other aspects, features, and embodiments are also claimed and described… [0024], [0026], [0040], Fig. 2: site controller 150 is preferably interconnected permanently on WAN 120 and configured to receive data signals from the wireless communication devices and translate the data signals for transfer to applications servers 110 via WAN 120. Site controller 150 may translate the received data signals into any appropriate protocol for delivery via WAN 120. For example, … site controller 150 translates the received data signals into transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) for delivery via WAN 120).
Davis does not disclose:
a second wireless transceiver to communicate wirelessly, wherein the first and second communication protocols are different.
However, Gaines discloses:
a second wireless transceiver to communicate wirelessly, and wherein the first and second communication protocols are different ([0029]: The relay module 30a of Fig. 3(a) includes a first transceiver 31 for wirelessly communicating with interface circuits 15 and other relay modules 30, 30a in the WLAN or WPAN network 16 (i.e., first communication protocol) of FIG. 2 via an antenna 31a. The relay module 30a further includes a second transceiver 32 for wirelessly communicating with the access point 40 over the WWAN via an antenna 32a (i.e., second communication protocol). Each of the transceivers 31, 32 is in communication with a data processing circuit 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use a second wireless transceiver to communicate wirelessly, and wherein the first and second communication protocols are different as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby receiving and transmitted data among a plurality of network devices efficiently ([0005], [0007]).
13. Regarding claim 16, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein the at least one control circuit is further adapted to, in response to receiving from the at least one computing device, via the second wireless transceiver, a third message formatted according to the second communication protocol and comprising second data, transmit via the first wireless transceiver to the at least one sensor device a fourth message formatted according to the first communication protocol and comprising the second data (Abstract, [0028]-[0029]: the site controller comprises a transceiver configured to communicate with the plurality of communication devices via the second communication network; a network interface device configured to communicate with the host computer via the first communication network; and logic configured to: manage communication with each of the plurality of communication devices, via a first communication protocol, based on one or more communication paths for each of the plurality of communication devices, each communication path comprising one or more communication devices involved in the communication link between the transceiver and each of the plurality of communication devices; and manage communication with the host computer via a second communication protocol…[Further], [0027]: the site controller 150 may receive, via WAN 120, information in the form of data and/or control signals from applications server 110, laptop computer 155, workstation 160, and any other device in communication with WAN 120. Site controller 150 may then communicate the data and/or control signals to remote sensor/actuators 130 and/or remote sensors 140).
Davis does not disclose:
the second wireless transceiver.
However, Gaines discloses:
the second wireless transceiver ([0029]: The relay module 30a of Fig. 3(a) includes a first transceiver 31 for wirelessly communicating with interface circuits 15 and other relay modules 30, 30a in the WLAN or WPAN network 16 (i.e., first communication protocol) of FIG. 2 via an antenna 31a. The relay module 30a further includes a second transceiver 32 for wirelessly communicating with the access point 40 over the WWAN via an antenna 32a (i.e., second communication protocol). Each of the transceivers 31, 32 is in communication with a data processing circuit 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use the second wireless transceiver as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby receiving and transmitted data among a plurality of network devices efficiently ([0005], [0007]).
14. Regarding claim 17, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 16, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein: the first data comprises a sensor reading of an environmental parameter sensed by one of the at least one sensor ([0031], [0067]); and
the second data comprises configuration settings for the at least one sensor device ([0027]: the site controller 150 may receive, via WAN 120, information in the form of data and/or control signals from applications server 110,... Site controller 150 may then communicate the data and/or control signals to remote sensor/actuators 130 and/or remote sensors 140).
15. Regarding claim 18, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein the at least one control circuit comprises: at least one processor; and at least one storage medium having encoded thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 2, items 230, 235), cause the at least one processor to perform a method comprising: transmitting the second message via the second wireless [network] in response to receiving the first message ([0024], [0026], [0040], Fig. 2: site controller 150 is preferably interconnected permanently on WAN 120 and configured to receive data signals from the wireless communication devices and translate the data signals for transfer to applications servers 110 via WAN 120. Site controller 150 may translate the received data signals into any appropriate protocol for delivery via WAN 120); and
transmitting the fourth message via the first wireless transceiver in response to receiving the third message ([0027]: the site controller 150 may receive, via WAN 120, information in the form of data and/or control signals from applications server 110,... Site controller 150 may then communicate the data and/or control signals to remote sensor/actuators 130 and/or remote sensors 140).
Davis does not disclose:
the second wireless transceiver.
However, Gaines discloses:
the second wireless transceiver ([0029]: The relay module 30a of Fig. 3(a) includes a first transceiver 31 for wirelessly communicating with interface circuits 15 and other relay modules 30, 30a in the WLAN or WPAN network 16 (i.e., first communication protocol) of FIG. 2 via an antenna 31a. The relay module 30a further includes a second transceiver 32 for wirelessly communicating with the access point 40 over the WWAN via an antenna 32a (i.e., second communication protocol). Each of the transceivers 31, 32 is in communication with a data processing circuit 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use the second wireless transceiver as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby receiving and transmitted data among a plurality of network devices efficiently ([0005], [0007]).
16. Regarding claim 19, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein: receiving the third message comprises receiving a third message comprising the second data and an identifier for one of the at least one sensor device ([0024]-[0027], [0030]-[0031]); and
transmitting the fourth message to the at least one sensor device comprises transmitting the fourth message to the one of the at least one sensor device ([0027]: the site controller 150 may receive, via WAN 120, information in the form of data and/or control signals from applications server 110,... Site controller 150 may then communicate the data and/or control signals to remote sensor/actuators 130 and/or remote sensors 140).
17. Regarding claim 20, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 19, as disclosed above.
Davis does not disclose:
wherein the second wireless transceiver is a cellular transceiver to communicate via a cellular network.
However, Gaines discloses:
wherein the second wireless transceiver is a cellular transceiver to communicate via a cellular network ([0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use wherein the second wireless transceiver is a cellular transceiver to communicate via a cellular network as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby, implementing the use of reliable and low-cost cellular transceivers ([0052]).
18. Regarding claim 24, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein receiving the first message from the at least one sensor device comprises receiving a message formatted ([0026], [0040]).
Davis does not disclose:
receiving a message formatted as a broadcast message.
However, Gaines discloses:
receiving a message formatted as a broadcast message ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use receiving a message formatted as a broadcast message as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the broadcast message methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby, receiving and transmitted data among a plurality of network devices efficiently ([0005], [0007]).
19. Regarding claim 25, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein receiving the first message from one of the at least one sensor device ([0026], [0040]).
Davis does not disclose:
receiving a message that does not identify a specific recipient of the message.
However, Gaines discloses:
receiving a message that does not identify a specific recipient of the message ([0045]: message may again be broadcasted to all devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use receiving a message that does not identify a specific recipient of the message as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the broadcast message methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby, receiving and transmitted data among a plurality of network devices efficiently ([0005], [0007]).
20. Regarding claim 26, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses transmit communications at higher power than the first wireless transceiver ([0025]: outgoing signal may be any wireless transmission signal, such as, for example, a low-power RF transmission signal, or a higher-power RF transmission signal).
Davis does not disclose:
wherein the second wireless transceiver is configured to transmit communications at higher power than the first wireless transceiver.
However, Gaines discloses:
wherein the second wireless transceiver is configured to transmit communications at higher power than the first wireless transceiver ([0029]: The relay module 30a of Fig. 3(a) includes a first transceiver 31 for wirelessly communicating with interface circuits 15 and other relay modules 30, 30a in the … WPAN network 16 (i.e., lower power) of FIG. 2 via an antenna 31a. The relay module 30a further includes a second transceiver 32 for wirelessly communicating with the access point 40 over the WWAN via an antenna 32a (i.e., higher power)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use wherein the second wireless transceiver is configured to transmit communications at higher power than the first wireless transceiver as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby, building wide coverage and high data speed ([0052]).
21. Regarding claim 27, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses transmit communications at higher power than the first wireless transceiver ([0025]: outgoing signal may be any wireless transmission signal, such as, for example, a low-power RF transmission signal, or a higher-power RF transmission signal).
Davis does not disclose:
wherein the second communication protocol is a higher-power protocol than the first communication protocol.
However, Gaines discloses:
wherein the second communication protocol is a higher-power protocol than the first communication protocol ([0029]: The relay module 30a of Fig. 3(a) includes a first transceiver 31 for wirelessly communicating with interface circuits 15 and other relay modules 30, 30a in the … WPAN network 16 (i.e., lower power) of FIG. 2 via an antenna 31a. The relay module 30a further includes a second transceiver 32 for wirelessly communicating with the access point 40 over the WWAN via an antenna 32a (i.e., higher power)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis to use wherein the second communication protocol is a higher-power protocol than the first communication protocol as taught by Gaines. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the second wireless transceiver methodology of a wireless relay system as known in the art and as taught by Gaines in a wireless gateway system such as that of Davis, thereby, building wide coverage and high data speed ([0052]).
22. Regarding claim 28, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein receiving the first message from one of the at least one sensor device comprises directly receiving, with the first wireless transceiver, a wireless transmission emitted by the one of the at least one sensor device ([0024], [0026], Figs.1-2).
23. Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, in view of Gaines, in further view of Morjaria et al. GB 2501765 A (hereinafter, Morjaria).
24. Regarding claim 21, Davis in view of Gaines disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 15, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein the at least one control circuit further: in response to receiving, via the second wireless [network] and from the at least one computing device that is remote from the wireless gateway apparatus and remote from the at least one sensor device, a fifth message formatted according to the second communication protocol and comprising second data, transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the first communication protocol (Abstract, [0027], [0040]: the site controller 150 may receive, via WAN 120, information in the form of data and/or control signals from applications server 110,... Site controller 150 may then communicate the data and/or control signals to remote sensor/actuators 130 and/or remote sensors 140).
Further, Gaines discloses the second transceiver ([0052]).
Davis in view of Gaines does not disclose:
in response to receiving a fifth message formatted according to the second communication protocol, the fifth message comprising an indication of whether the at least one computing device has determined that the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied a condition: transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the communication protocol and comprising the indication.
However, Morjaria discloses:
in response to receiving a fifth message formatted according to the second communication protocol, the fifth message comprising an indication of whether the at least one computing device has determined that the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied a condition: transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the communication protocol and comprising the indication (page 3: The relay may be configured to communicate with the server using a first wireless protocol
and to communicate with the thermostat using a second wireless protocol.
There is also provided a method to control a heating, ventilation and air-condition (HVAC) system, the method comprising detecting the ambient temperature using a thermostat; wirelessly transmitting the ambient temperature from the thermostat to a relay coupled to the HVAC system; transmitting HVAC status information from the relay to a remote server, the HVAC status information comprising the ambient temperature; analyzing at the remote server the HVAC status information and desired objectives provided by a user; generating at the remote server one or more instructions based on the analysis; transmitting the one or more instructions from the remote server to the relay; and processing at the relay the one or more instructions to control the operation of the HVAC system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis in view of Gaines to use in response to receiving a fifth message formatted according to the second communication protocol, the fifth message comprising an indication of whether the at least one computing device has determined that the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied a condition: transmitting, via the first wireless transceiver and to a first device controlling a second device, a sixth message formatted according to the communication protocol and comprising the indication as taught by Morjaria. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to control the sensor based on desired conditions (Morjaria, page 3).
25. Regarding claim 22, Davis in view of Gaines in view of Morjaria disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Davis further discloses wherein transmitting the sixth message to the first device controlling the second device (Abstract, [0027], [0040]).
Davis in view of Gaines does not disclose:
wherein transmitting the sixth message to the first device controlling the second device comprises transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to perform a control of the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition.
However, Morjaria discloses:
wherein transmitting the sixth message to the first device controlling the second device comprises transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to perform a control of the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition (page 3: The relay may be configured to communicate with the server using a first wireless protocol
and to communicate with the thermostat using a second wireless protocol.
There is also provided a method to control a heating, ventilation and air-condition (HVAC) system, the method comprising detecting the ambient temperature using a thermostat; wirelessly transmitting the ambient temperature from the thermostat to a relay coupled to the HVAC system; transmitting HVAC status information from the relay to a remote server, the HVAC status information comprising the ambient temperature; analyzing at the remote server the HVAC status information and desired objectives provided by a user; generating at the remote server one or more instructions based on the analysis; transmitting the one or more instructions from the remote server to the relay; and processing at the relay the one or more instructions to control the operation of the HVAC system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis in view of Gaines to use wherein transmitting the sixth message to the first device controlling the second device comprises transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to perform a control of the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition as taught by Morjaria. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to control the sensor based on desired conditions (Morjaria, page 3).
26. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, in view of Gaines, in view of Morjaria, in further view of Jiang et al. US 8576665 A (hereinafter, Jiang).
27. Regarding claim 23, Davis in view of Gaines in view of Morjaria disclose the wireless gateway apparatus of claim 22, wherein transmitting the message to the first device to cause the first device to perform a control of the second device, as disclosed above.
Davis in view of Gaines in view of Morjaria does not disclose:
transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to selectively supply power to the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition.
However, Jiang discloses:
transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to selectively supply power to the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition (column 4, line 59 - column 5, line 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Davis in view of Gaines in view of Morjaria to use transmitting a message to the first device to cause the first device to selectively supply power to the second device based on whether the value of the environmental parameter has satisfied the condition as taught by Jiang. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to supply power to wireless sensor network efficiently (Jiang, [0005]).
Conclusion
28. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857