Response to Amendment
Claims 2-5, 8-10, and 14-17 were previously withdrawn from consideration. However Examiner notes claims should not have been restricted.
Because all claims previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 have been rejoined, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on December 2, 2025 is hereby withdrawn. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-7,11-12,and 14-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl (US 2022/0369287 A1) in view of Jung et al (WO2022/149109 A1, hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1, Abotabl discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:a memory one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the memory one or more memories and configured to cause the first UE to (figure 9):transmit, to a network node, an indication that a bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and a second UE is feasible;
transmit, to the network node, sidelink scheduling information that is recommended for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (figure 9, ¶[0094]-¶[0096], sidelink resource selection report indicates the selected resources or a subchannel associated with the scheduled resources);
receive, from the network node, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via a sidelink grant, the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible (¶[0094]-¶[0096], figure 9, the base station receives the SL resource selection report information when managing overlapping communications, after receiving the report the BS confirms that a DL transmission overlaps with the sidelink transmission and provides signaling to control the transmission ). Abotabl does not disclose transmit, to the second UE, the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the DCI.
Jung discloses transmit, to the second UE, the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the DCI (¶[0097],¶[0223]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Regarding claim 3, Abotabl discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission and the DCI is a first DCI, a second DCI scheduling a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the second UE and the first UE, and the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission overlapping in a time domain with the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission. Jung discloses , wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission and the DCI is a first DCI, a second DCI scheduling a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the second UE and the first UE, and the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission overlapping in a time domain with the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (¶[0006]-¶[0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Regarding claim 4, Abotabl discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission on is a physical sidelink control channel transmission or a physical sidelink shared channel transmission. Jung discloses wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission on is a physical sidelink control channel transmission or a physical sidelink shared channel transmission ( par. 4-7, par. 40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Regarding claim 5, Abotabl discloses wherein the indication indicates multiple neighbor UEs for which bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmissions are feasible, and each neighbor UE, of the multiple neighbor UEs, being identified by a corresponding UE identifier (abstract , figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Abotabl discloses , wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates a sidelink time-frequency resource for the sidelink grant, the sidelink scheduling information indicating relative information between two allocated sidelink resources associated
with two sidelink grants for the first UE and the second UE, and the sidelink scheduling information indicating whether the two allocated sidelink resources are non-overlapping in frequency, partially overlapping in frequency, or fully overlapping in frequency (abstract , figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Abotabl discloses, wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates non-time-frequency allocation information for a sidelink resource associated with the sidelink grant, and the non-time-frequency allocation information indicating one or more of: a sidelink transmit beam, a transmission configuration indicator identifier, power information, timing information, ranking information, precoding matrix information, a multiple-input multiple-output scheme, or a multiple transmission reception point scheme (figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Abotabl discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information is a partial sidelink scheduling information, remaining sidelink scheduling information being exchanged between the first UE and the second UE via an inter-UE coordination signaling, and the remaining sidelink scheduling information being autonomously applied by the first UE for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, Abotabl discloses the partial sidelink scheduling information indicates a sidelink time-frequency resource for the sidelink grant, the partial sidelink scheduling information indicating relative information between two allocated sidelink resources associated with two sidelink grants for the first UE and the second UE, and the partial sidelink scheduling information indicating whether the two allocated sidelink resources are non-overlapping in frequency, partially overlapping in frequency, or fully overlapping in frequency; and the remaining sidelink scheduling information indicates non-time-frequency allocation information for a sidelink resource associated with the sidelink grant, and the non-time- frequency allocation information indicating one or more of: a sidelink transmit beam, a transmission configuration indicator identifier, power information, timing information, ranking information, precoding matrix information, a multiple-input multiple-output scheme, or a multiple transmission reception point scheme (figure 1) .
Regarding claim 14, Abotabl discloses, wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates a set of full duplex transmit and receive beams associated with the first UE, the set of full duplex transmit and receive beams indicating at least one transmit beam to at least one neighbor UE and at least one receive beam for at least one neighbor UE, and each transmit beam or receive beam being identified by a reference signal identifier or a transmission configuration indicator identifier (figs 4A-4C).
Regarding claim 15, Abotabl discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates a preferred multiple transmission reception point scheme or a multiple panel transmit or receive scheme (figs 4A-4C).
Regarding claim 16, Abotabl discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates other scheduling information per transmit beam or receive beam per neighbor UE, and the other scheduling information indicating one or more of: a time-frequency resource, power information, timing information, ranking information, precoding matrix information, or a multiple-input multiple-output scheme (figs 4A-4C).
Regarding claim 17, Abotabl discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit one or more of the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink
transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible or the sidelink scheduling information based at least in part on one of: a network node scheduled report, a first UE autonomous report, or an event triggered report (abstract , figure 1, providing reports associated with selected SL resources to a network node).
Regarding claim 18, Abotabl discloses wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to:
transmit, to the second UE, an indication of selected resources associated with the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission;
receive, from the second UE, an indication of selected resources associated with a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission;
determine time overlapped resources for the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the selected resources associated with the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission and the selected resources associated with the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission; and
apply full duplex transmit parameters for the time overlapped resources, the full duplex transmit parameters indicating one or more of: a transmission configuration indicator identifier, power information, timing information, ranking information, precoding matrix information, a multiple-input multiple-output scheme, or a multiple transmission reception point scheme (abstract , figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Abotabl discloses wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to:
transmit, to the second UE, a request for resources available for a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission associated with the second UE;
receive, from the second UE, an indication of the resources available for the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission; and
transmit, to the network node, the indication of the resources available for the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, the DCI that schedules the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via the sidelink grant indicating time overlapped resources for the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission that corresponds to at least some of the resources available for the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (abstract, figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Abotabl discloses wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, the DCI that schedules the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via the sidelink grant indicating resources scheduled for the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to:
transmit, to the second UE, an indication of the resources scheduled for the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission as a preferred or non-preferred sidelink resources report (abstract, figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Abotabl discloses wherein the DCI is a first DCI and the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from the network node, a second DCI associated with the second UE, the second DCI indicating a relayed sidelink grant for the second UE;
transmit, to the second UE and via sidelink control information, the relayed sidelink grant; and
receive, from the second UE, a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the relayed sidelink grant (abstract , figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Abotabl discloses wherein the first UE and the second UE are in-coverage UEs, or the first UE is an in-coverage UE and the second UE is an out-of-coverage UE (abstract , figure 1).
Regarding claim 23, Abotabl discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the memory one or more memories and configured to cause the network node to (figure 9):
receive, from a first user equipment (UE), an indication that a bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and a second UE is feasible (figure 9, ¶[0094]-¶[0096], sidelink resource selection report indicates the selected resources or a subchannel associated with the scheduled resources (¶[0094]-¶[0096])
receive, from the first UE, sidelink scheduling information that is recommended for the bidirectional full duplex transmit, to the first UE, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via a sidelink grant (¶[0094]-¶[0096]),
Abotabl does not disclose the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible.
Jung discloses the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible (¶[0097],¶[0223]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Regarding claim 24, Abotabl discloses wherein the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is a first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission and the DCI is a first DCI, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, to the second UE, a second DCI that schedules a second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the second UE and the first UE, and the first bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission overlapping in a time domain with the second bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 25, Abotabl discloses wherein: the sidelink scheduling information indicates a sidelink time-frequency resource for the sidelink grant, the sidelink scheduling information indicating relative information between two allocated sidelink resources associated with two sidelink grants for the first UE and the second UE, and the sidelink scheduling information indicating whether the two allocated sidelink resources are non-overlapping in frequency, partially overlapping in frequency, or fully overlapping in frequency; orthe sidelink scheduling information indicates non-time-frequency allocation information for a sidelink resource associated with the sidelink grant, and the non-time-frequency allocation (figures 1-2).information indicating one or more of: a sidelink transmit beam, a transmission configuration indicator identifier, power information, timing information, ranking information, precoding matrix information, a multiple-input multiple-output scheme, or a multiple transmission reception point scheme (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 26, Abotabl discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information is a partial sidelink scheduling information, remaining sidelink scheduling information being exchanged between the first UE and the second UE via an inter-UE coordination signaling, and the remaining sidelink scheduling information being autonomously applied by the first UE for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (abstract, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Abotabl discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates a set of full duplex transmit and receive beams associated with the first UE, the set of full duplex transmit and receive beams indicating at least one transmit beam to at least one neighbor UE and at least one receive beam for at least one neighbor UE, and each transmit beam or receive beam being identified by a reference signal identifier or a transmission configuration indicator identifier (abstract, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Abotabl discloses wherein the DCI is a first DCI, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, to the first UE, a second DCI associated with the second UE, the second DCI indicating a relayed sidelink grant for the second UE (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 29, Abotabl discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:transmitting, to a network node, an indication that a bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and a second UE is feasible (¶[0094]-¶[0096]);
transmitting, to the network node, sidelink scheduling information that is recommended for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (¶[0094]-¶[0096]) ;
receiving, from the network node, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via a sidelink grant, the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible (¶[0094]-¶[0096]). Abotabl does not disclose transmitting, to the second UE, the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the DCI.
Jung discloses transmitting, to the second UE, the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission based at least in part on the DCI.
(¶[0097],¶[0223]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Regarding claim 30 , Abotabl discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving, from a first user equipment (UE), an indication that a bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and a second UE is feasible (abstract , figure 1). Abotabl does not disclose receiving, from the first UE, sidelink schedulng information that is recommended for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission; and transmitting, to the first UE, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via a sidelink grant, the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible.
Jung discloses receiving, from the first UE, sidelink schedulng information that is recommended for the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission (¶[0004]-¶[0007]); and transmitting, to the first UE, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via a sidelink grant, the DCI being based at least in part on the sidelink scheduling information and the indication that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission between the first UE and the second UE is feasible (¶[0040]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate Jung’s sidelink transmission determination along with the system of Abotabl to provide improved resource utilization and enable reliable full duplex sidelink operation.
Claims 2,8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl and Jung in view of Ibrahim et al (US 2023/0125512 A1, hereinafter Ibrahim).
Regarding claim 2, Abotabl discloses , wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: determine that the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission is feasible based at least in part on a self-interference measurement (figures 4A and 4C discussion of self-interference and overlapping transmissions),
Abotabl and Jung does not explicitly disclose the self-interference measurement being based at least in part on a traffic transmission associated with the first UE or a dedicated reference signal.
Ibrahim discloses the self-interference measurement being based at least in part on a traffic transmission associated with the first UE or a dedicated reference signal (abstract, figure 9, where a UE may transmit CLI-SRS or measure cross link interference in a CLI -SRS resource and report measured interference.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the full duplex sidelink feasibility determination of Abotabl and Jung to utilize the interference measurement techniques taught by Ibrahim to determine whether simultaneous transmissions and reception can be supported under current interference conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Abotabl and Jung disclose all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates candidate combinations of sidelink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states of both the first UE and the second UE.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the sidelink scheduling information indicates candidate combinations of sidelink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states of both the first UE and the second UE (fig.9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the full duplex sidelink feasibility determination of Abotabl and Jung to utilize the interference measurement techniques taught by Ibrahim to determine whether simultaneous transmissions and reception can be supported under current interference conditions.
Regarding claim 9, Abotabl and Jung disclose all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the DCI that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via the sidelink grant is based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states .
Ibrahim discloses wherein the DCI that schedules the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission via the sidelink grant is based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states (fig.9) .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the full duplex sidelink feasibility determination of Abotabl and Jung to utilize the interference measurement techniques taught by Ibrahim to determine whether simultaneous transmissions and reception can be supported under current interference conditions.
Regarding claim 10, Abotabl and Jung disclose all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: transmit, to the second UE, a bidirectional full duplex sidelink feedback based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: transmit, to the second UE, a bidirectional full duplex sidelink feedback based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states (abstract, figure 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the full duplex sidelink feasibility determination of Abotabl and Jung to utilize the interference measurement techniques taught by Ibrahim to determine whether simultaneous transmissions and reception can be supported under current interference conditions.
Regarding claim 13, Abotabl and Jung discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the remaining sidelink scheduling information indicates candidate combinations of sidelink transmission configuration indicator
(TCI) states of both the first UE and the second UE, and the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission being transmitted based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the remaining sidelink scheduling information indicates candidate combinations of sidelink transmission configuration indicator
(TCI) states of both the first UE and the second UE, and the bidirectional full duplex sidelink transmission being transmitted based at least in part on the candidate combinations of sidelink TCI states(abstract, figure 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the full duplex sidelink feasibility determination of Abotabl and Jung to utilize the interference measurement techniques taught by Ibrahim to determine whether simultaneous transmissions and reception can be supported under current interference conditions.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412