DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 12-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US20160308188).
As to claim 1, Jang et al. discloses an electrochemical apparatus (figure 2 number 100), comprising a housing (15, 20) , an electrode assembly (10) and electrolyte, wherein the housing comprises a first part (15) and a second part (20) interconnected to each other, the electrolyte (paragraph 0040) is stored in the housing, the first part encloses an accommodating cavity, and the electrode assembly (10) is accommodated in the accommodating cavity; and the electrochemical apparatus (100) further comprises a first electrode (figure 5 number 22), wherein the first electrode comprises a first inserting portion and a first flange portion (30), wherein the first flange portion and the first inserting portion are integrally formed, the first flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second part (paragraph 0047), the first flange portion (30) is connected to the electrode assembly, and the first inserting portion extends away from the accommodating cavity and protrudes from an outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 2, Jang et al. discloses wherein the electrochemical apparatus (figure 2 number 100) further comprises a second electrode (21), the second electrode being spaced apart from the first electrode (22); and the second electrode comprises a second inserting portion and a second flange portion, wherein the second flange portion and the second inserting portion are integrally formed, the second flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second part, the second flange portion is connected to the electrode assembly, and the second inserting portion extends away from the accommodating cavity and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 3, Jang et al. discloses wherein the first inserting portion extends at the outer surface of the second part along a first direction; and the first flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in a second direction, the first flange portion is wider than the first inserting portion (figure 5 number 30 and paragraph 0050).
As to claim 4, Jang et al. discloses wherein the second inserting portion extends at the outer surface of the second part along the first direction; and the second flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in the second direction, the second flange portion is wider than the second inserting portion (figure 5 number 30, paragraph 0050)
As to claim 6, Jang et al. discloses wherein the second part (figure 5 number 20) is provided with a first snap-fit cavity (32) and a first extension hole, the first snap-fit cavity communicating with the first extension hole (paragraph 0053-0055); the first flange portion (30) embeddedly snap-fits into the first snap-fit cavity, and the first snap-fit cavity communicates with the accommodating cavity (paragraph 0047); the first inserting portion extends out of the first extension hole and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050); the second part (20) is further provided with a second snap-fit cavity (32) and a second extension hole, the second snap-fit cavity communicating with the second extension hole (paragraph 0053-0055); the second flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second snap-fit cavity and the second snap-fit cavity communicates with the accommodating cavity (paragraph 0047); and the second inserting portion extends out of the second extension hole and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 9, Jang et al. discloses wherein the first inserting portion and the second inserting portion are both configured for inserting into an external device, wherein the outer surfaces of the first inserting portion and the second inserting portion are both provided with a groove for snap fitting with the external device (paragraph 0047-0050).
As to claim 12, Jang et al. discloses an electronic device (paragraph 0005), comprising an electrochemical apparatus (figure 2 number 100), the electrochemical apparatus comprising a housing (15,20), an electrode assembly (10) and electrolyte (paragraph 0040), wherein the housing comprises a first part (15) and a second part (20) interconnected to each other, the electrolyte (paragraph 0040) is stored in the housing, the first part encloses an accommodating cavity, and the electrode assembly (10) is accommodated in the accommodating cavity; and the electrochemical apparatus (100) further comprises a first electrode (22), wherein the first electrode (figure 5 number 22) comprises a first inserting portion and a first flange portion (30), wherein the first flange portion (30) and the first inserting portion are integrally formed, the first flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second part (paragraph 0047), the first flange portion (30) is connected to the electrode assembly (10), and the first inserting portion extends away from the accommodating cavity and protrudes from an outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 13, Jang et al. discloses wherein the electrochemical apparatus (figure 2 number 100) further comprises a second electrode (21), the second electrode being spaced apart from the first electrode (22); and the second electrode comprises a second inserting portion and a second flange portion, wherein the second flange portion and the second inserting portion are integrally formed, the second flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second part, the second flange portion is connected to the electrode assembly, and the second inserting portion extends away from the accommodating cavity and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 14, Jang et al. discloses wherein the first inserting portion extends at the outer surface of the second part along a first direction; and the first flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in a second direction, the first flange portion is wider than the first inserting portion (figure 5 number 30 and paragraph 0050).
As to claim 15, Jang et al. discloses wherein the second inserting portion extends at the outer surface of the second part along the first direction; and the second flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in the second direction, the second flange portion is wider than the second inserting portion (figure 5 number 30, paragraph 0050)
As to claim 17, Jang et al. discloses wherein the second part (figure 5 number 20) is provided with a first snap-fit cavity (32) and a first extension hole, the first snap-fit cavity communicating with the first extension hole (paragraph 0053-0055); the first flange portion (30) embeddedly snap-fits into the first snap-fit cavity, and the first snap-fit cavity communicates with the accommodating cavity (paragraph 0047); the first inserting portion extends out of the first extension hole and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050); the second part (20) is further provided with a second snap-fit cavity (32) and a second extension hole, the second snap-fit cavity communicating with the second extension hole (paragraph 0053-0055); the second flange portion embeddedly snap-fits into the second snap-fit cavity and the second snap-fit cavity communicates with the accommodating cavity (paragraph 0047); and the second inserting portion extends out of the second extension hole and protrudes from the outer surface of the second part (paragraph 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 7-8,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view of Ledoux et al. (US20180269462).
Jang et al. discloses the electrochemical apparatus described above. Jang et al. fail to disclose wherein the electrochemical apparatus comprises a plurality of first flange portions and a plurality of first snap-fit cavities, wherein the plurality of first flange portions are stacked sequentially along a direction from the plurality of first snap-fit cavities to the first extension hole, two adjacent first flange portions have different lengths in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the plurality of first flange portions, and each first flange portion snap-fits into one of a matching first snap-fit cavity and wherein, the electrochemical apparatus comprises a plurality of second flange portions and a plurality of second snap- fit cavities, wherein the plurality of second flange portions are stacked sequentially along a direction from the plurality of second snap-fit cavities to the second extension hole, two adjacent second flange portions have different lengths in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the plurality of second flange portions, and each second flange portion snap-fits into one of a matching second snap-fit cavity.
Ledoux et al. teaches wherein the electrochemical apparatus comprises a plurality of first flange portions and a plurality of first snap-fit cavities, wherein the plurality of first flange portions are stacked sequentially along a direction from the plurality of first snap-fit cavities to the first extension hole, two adjacent first flange portions have different lengths in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the plurality of first flange portions, and each first flange portion snap-fits into one of a matching first snap-fit cavity and wherein, the electrochemical apparatus comprises a plurality of second flange portions and a plurality of second snap- fit cavities, wherein the plurality of second flange portions are stacked sequentially along a direction from the plurality of second snap-fit cavities to the second extension hole, two adjacent second flange portions have different lengths in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the plurality of second flange portions, and each second flange portion snap-fits into one of a matching second snap-fit cavity for the purpose of providing good sealing of the rechargeable battery interior relative to the environment (paragraph 0035 figure 1 number 70-73).
3. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view of Tian et al. (WO2021146870).
Jang et al. discloses the electrochemical apparatus described above. Jang et al. discloses wherein the housing further comprises a third part (bottom of the case in figure 2), wherein the third part is connected to the first part (15), and the third part is opposite the second part (20). Jang et al. fail to disclose the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode, wherein the third electrode is opposite the first electrode, and the fourth electrode is opposite the second electrode; and the third electrode comprises a third inserting portion and a third flange portion, and the fourth electrode comprises a fourth inserting portion and a fourth flange portion, wherein the third flange portion and the fourth flange portion both embeddedly snap- fit into the third part and are both connected to the electrode assembly, and the third inserting portion and the fourth inserting portion both protrude from an outer surface of the third part.
Tian et al. teaches the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode, wherein the third electrode is opposite the first electrode, and the fourth electrode is opposite the second electrode; and the third electrode comprises a third inserting portion and a third flange portion, and the fourth electrode comprises a fourth inserting portion and a fourth flange portion, wherein the third flange portion and the fourth flange portion both embeddedly snap- fit into the third part and are both connected to the electrode assembly, and the third inserting portion and the fourth inserting portion both protrude from an outer surface of the third part for the purpose of achieving the purpose of improving the overcurrent capacity of a battery and reducing the temperature rise (abstract).
As to claim 11, Jang et al. discloses wherein the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a first insulator and a second insulator; the first insulator is fixed to the second part and abuts or snap-fits between the first inserting portion and the second inserting portion; and the second insulator is fixed to the third part and abuts or snap-fits between the third inserting portion and the fourth inserting portion (paragraph 0060-0062).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,16,20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fail to teach or suggest wherein the first flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in the first direction, the first flange portion has a thickness of 0.05 mm to 3 mm, or in the first direction, two sides of the first flange portion abut against a first adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer having a thickness of 0.1 mm to 3 mm; and the second flange portion satisfies at least one of the following conditions: in the first direction, the second flange portion has a thickness of 0.05 mm to 3 mm, or in the first direction, two sides of the second flange portion abut against a second adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer having a thickness of 0.1 mm to 3 mm and wherein the first inserting portion and the second inserting portion are both configured for inserting into an external device, wherein the outer surfaces of the first inserting portion and the second inserting portion are both provided with a groove for snap fitting with the external device. Applicant teaches that the two flange portions having larger sizes than the inserting portions in the second direction and/or the third direction allows the two flange portions to provide good limiting effect so as to increase the contact area between the two electrodes and the housing and improve the grip force and bonding strength between the electrodes and the housing, thereby improving connection stability between the electrodes and the housing. Also, applicant teaches enough thickness of the first adhesive layer effectively guarantees that the second part can stably bear forces to reduce deformation or fracture of the second part. The same applies for the second adhesive layer.
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724