DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim to priority from Foreign Application EP16177973.1 filed 07/05/2016 and US Application No. 15/642,270 filed 07/05/2017 (now abandoned) is hereby acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/642,270, filed on 07/05/2017.
This Application is a DIV of US Application No. 15/642,270 filed 07/05/2017.
Application Status
This Office Action is in response to Amendments and Remarks filed 07/21/2026.
Amendments to claims filed 07/21/2026 are hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-2 and 12 are currently amended. Claims 10 and 11 are cancelled. Claim 14 is withdrawn. Therefore claims 1-9 and 12-14 are pending and claims 1-9 and 12-13 are under consideration in this office action.
Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendments and is therefore withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Office Action on 04/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Drawing submitted on 03/06/2023 are hereby acknowledged and are acceptable.
Specification
The Substitute Abstract filed 07/21/2026 is hereby acknowledged and is acceptable.
The Substitute Specification filed 07/21/2026 is hereby acknowledged and is acceptable.
The following rejections are new/modified as necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments filed 07/21/2026:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, as being unpatentable over van Ommen 1 (van Ommen, G-J. B. et al. US Patent 7,973,015 B2, published July 5, 2011; cited on IDS submitted 07/25/2023), in view of van Ommen 2 (van Ommen, G-J.B. et al. US 2006/0099616 A1, published May 11, 2006; previously cited; cited on IDS filed 07/21/2026), Sazani (Sazani, P. et al. US 8,871,918 B2, published October 28, 2014, benefitting from priority of US Application No. 12/605,276 filed October 23, 2009 and publication (US2010/0130591 A1) on May 27, 2010; previously cited, listed on IDS filed 07/21/2026), Kurreck (Kurreck, J. et al. “Design of antisense oligonucleotides stabilized by locked nucleic acids”. Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 30, No. 9 (2002), pp: 1911-1918; previously cited) and Mitsuoka (Mitsuoka, Y. et al. “A bridged nucleic acid, 2’, 4’-BNAcoc: synthesis of fully modified oligonucleotides bearing thymine, 5-methylcytosine, adenine and guanine 2’,4’-BNAcoc monomers and RNA-selective nucleic-acid recognition”. Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 37, No. 4 (2009), pp: 1225-1238; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, van Ommen 1 teaches using antisense oligonucleotide for exon-skipping in dystrophin pre-mRNA in cells and animal model mdx mouse, model for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (see column 1, lines 46-65). Van Ommen 1 teaches an antisense oligonucleotide that comprises the base sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 590 in the form of SEQ ID NO: 20 (see column 12, line 42 and alignment below; Q = Query: instant SEQ ID NO: 590; Db = database: SEQ ID NO: 20 of US Patent No. 7,973,015).
RESULT 16
US-10-395-031-20
(NOTE: this sequence has 24 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 20, US/10395031
Patent No. 7973015
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: van Ommen, Garrit-Jan Boudewijn
APPLICANT: van Deutekom, Judith Christina Theodora
APPLICANT: den Dunnen, Johannes Theodorus
TITLE OF INVENTION: INDUCTION OF EXON SKIPPING IN EUKARYOTIC CELLS
FILE REFERENCE: 2183-5910US (REN/P54258US10)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/395,031
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-03-21
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/NL01/00697
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2001-09-21
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: EP 002063283.7
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2000-09-21
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 36
SEQ ID NO 20
LENGTH: 20
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Human
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; Length 20;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 18; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
Therefore, Van Ommen 1 teaches an oligonucleotide with the same DNA sequence than instant SEQ ID NO: 590. In preferred embodiments, Van Ommen 1 teaches a limit number of sequences, i.e., hAON #4, #6, #8, #9, #11 and/or one or more of hAON #21-30 (see column 5, lines 36-41; see sequences in column 10, lines 5-30; column 12, lines 35-51; columns 13 (lines 25-40)-14 (lines 1-14).
Van Ommen 1 also teaches that 2’-O-methyl oligoribonucleotides can be used, stating that these ribonucleotides are more resistant to RNAse action than conventional oligonucleotides (see column 3, lines 28-32).
Van Ommen 1 teaches 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate RNA as antisense molecules for targeting splicing regulatory sequence in Dystrophin Exon 46 for example (see Figure 2; see column 7, lines 64-67; column 9, lines 59-61; see claim 2, column 24).
Van Ommen 1 does not teach the modifications exactly as claimed in claim 1.
However, Van Ommen 2 teaches that oligonucleotides that are efficient in exon skipping (table 2, pages 27-28). Van Ommen teaches that these antisense oligonucleotides have at least one locked nucleic acid, i.e., a bicyclic nucleic acid, as locked nucleic acid displays a higher target affinity and reduced toxicity therefore a higher efficiency of exon skipping (see page 4, [0018]-[0019]) or can have a full-length phosphorothioate backbone and 2’-O-methyl modified ribose molecules (see pages 11-12, [0057], [0065]; see [0105], [0114], [0169]; Figure 15). Van Ommen 2 teaches that “compared to the most effective 2OMePS AON directed at exon 46, the LNA induced higher skipping levels in myotubes from a human control (85% vs. 20%)”, however a full-length LNA compared to 2OMePS AON containing up to three mismatches showed less sequence specificity, adding a risk of adverse effects elsewhere in the human genome (see [0167]). Therefore, one with ordinary skills in the art would be discouraged from using a full-length LNA.
Van Ommen does not teach 5-methylcytosine in the antisense oligonucleotide, specifically.
However, Sazani teaches that antisense oligonucleotides can be modified with 5-methylcytosines and 5-alkyluridines (see column 11, lines 50-67 and column 25, lines 16-23).
Sazani teaches performing a scan for exon skipping and Dystrophin exons 51 and 53 targeting oligonucleotides (see Fig. 2A and 2D, 4A and 4B).
Kurreck teaches that antisense oligonucleotides are stabilized by locked nucleic acids and are more effective in mRNA cleavage (see title, abstract and Table 1).
Mitsuoka teaches that constructing Bridged/bicyclic nucleic acids that confers specific RNA-selectivity in nucleic acid recognition, it is necessary to use thymine, 5-methylcytosine, adenine and guanine (see title and abstract). This specific nucleic acid recognition suggests avoiding possible off-target genomic modifications.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of van Ommen 1 with the teachings of van Ommen 2 and modified the antisense sequence with 5-methylcytosines as taught by Sazani. One with ordinary skills in the art motivated in synthesizing an antisense oligonucleotide that is specific to target RNA and that is highly stable, could have modified the antisense oligonucleotide taught by van Ommen 1 and incorporated the 5-methylcytosine taught by Sazani, into the locked nucleic acid as taught by Kurreck and Mitsuoka with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success and would arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Sazani teaches that in the sequence, the purine or pyrimidine base pairing moiety is typically adenine, cytosine, guanine, uracil, thymine or inosine, however, modifications can be performed on the bases, including 5-methylcytosine, 3-methyluracil and 5-alkyluridines (see column 11, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 3, Sazani teaches 5-methylcytosines (see column 25, lines 16-23). Mitsuoka teaches cytosines that are all 5-methylcytosines (see title and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date, to have tried all the known antisense oligonucleotides targeting exons 51 and 53, as taught by Sazani and van Ommen, and modified them according to Mitsuoka. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in increasing specificity and comparing the efficiency of modified oligonucleotides targeting these exons 51 and 53 in DMD gene, and producing highly specific and efficient gene therapy medicaments, could have modified the known oligonucleotides and incorporated 5-methylcytosines instead of cytosine in the oligonucleotides. One motivated in increasing specificity of nucleic acid recognition and stability, using already known oligonucleotide sequences
as taught by van Ommen and Sazani, could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, as shown above, the antisense in Van Ommen 1 has 18 contiguous nucleotides that are identical in DNA sequence to SEQ ID NO: 590; however, Van Ommen 1’s SEQ ID NO: 20 (hAON#25) is 20 nucleotides in length (see column 12, line 42).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 8 and 9, van Ommen 2 teaches full length locked nucleic acids (see [0167], [0170], [0188]).
Kurreck teaches Locked monomers at different positions; see Table 1:
Kurreck teaches best results for oligonucleotides with at least 4 locked nucleic acid monomers providing they are not located in the middle of the complementary sequence, since the ones located at 5’ and 3’ ends forming end-blocks lead to more stable oligonucleotides (see page 1913, right column, “Results” section, fourth paragraph). Kurreck teaches 2, 3, 4 or 5 locked monomers at each 5’ and 3’ end of the oligonucleotides (end blocks) (see Table 1 and above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the antisense oligonucleotides taught by Van Ommen 1 modified by Van ommen 2, and Sazani and systematically substituted each residue with a locked nucleic acid (LNA) monomer as taught by Kurreck and obtained a series of antisense oligonucleotides with multiple LNA monomers at different positions. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in improving the stability and efficiency of the antisense oligonucleotides as medicaments for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, could have performed these modifications and screened for efficient exon skipping, as taught by van Ommen 1, van Ommen 2,and Sazani, with a reasonable expectation of success and would arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, As shown above, van Ommen 1 teaches a sequence, i.e., SEQ ID NO: 20 (hAON#25) that comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 590 (see alignment above and column 12, line 42).
Sazani also teaches a sequence that comprises instant Application’s SEQ ID NO: 4568 (Qy), in the form of Sazani’s SEQ ID NO: 332 (Db) (GTCGGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGCCCGG) (see columns 65-66). See alignment below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 25;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 18; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
||||||||||||||||||
Db 4 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 21
Sazani’s SEQ ID NO: 332 was designed to target exon 51 in human DMD gene.
Sazani’s SEQ ID NO: 332 (Db) also comprises a sequence 100% identical to instant Application’s SEQ ID NO: 6086 (Qy)- elected species in the reply filed on 03/13/2026-; see alignment below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 14; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 14; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 TAAGTTCTGTCCAA 14
||||||||||||||
Db 3 TAAGTTCTGTCCAA 16
In KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex, the Supreme Court, indicated that “The principles underlying [earlier] cases are instructive when the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious. When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability.” KSR Int'l v. Teleflex lnc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried all published antisense oligonucleotides targeting exons 51 and 53, as taught by Sazani and van Ommen 1, and modified them according to van Ommen 2, Sazani, Kurreck and Mitsuoka. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in increasing and comparing the efficiency of modified oligonucleotides targeting these exons 51 and 53 in DMD gene, and producing a highly specific and efficient gene therapy medicament, could have modified the known oligonucleotides targeting these exons and performed a systematic screen. One motivated in targeting exons 51 and 53 of DMD gene to find an efficient gene therapy medicament, using already known oligonucleotide sequences as taught by van Ommen 1 and Sazani, could have performed this screen and arrived at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, van Ommen teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antisense oligonucleotide (see Abstract; see page 30, claims 24 and 39; see ). Sazani also teaches a composition and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see column 27, lines 42-54; column 28, lines 45-67; and columns 29-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the antisense oligonucleotides taught by van Ommen 1 and Sazani, modified by van Ommen 2, Sazani, Kurreck and Mitsuoka, and formulated a composition comprising the nucleic acid molecule. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in providing a stable composition comprising the antisense oligonucleotides as medicaments for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, could have performed these modifications with a reasonable expectation of success and would arrived at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Of Note: Examiner also included a rejection referring to SEQ ID NO: 6086, since it was the elected species in the reply filed on 03/13/2026, prior to amendments. This species’ sequence is comprised within SEQ ID NO: 590 not recited in claim 1 after amendments filed 07/21/2026, although not the same, instant SEQ ID NO: 6086 is only 14 nucleotides in length.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments in Remarks filed 07/21/2026, on pages 10-12, against individual references, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Sazani teaches a sequence that is identical to SEQ ID NO: 590, as does van Ommen 1. The modifications themselves are taught in the combination of references van Ommen 2, Sazani, Kurreck and Mitsuoka. Van Ommen 1 and Van Ommen 2 specifically are directed to antisense used in exon skipping. The combination of references presents the state of the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The manipulations involved in applying different modification patterns can be performed using currently known high-throughput techniques, but the modifications and methods of making them are known in the art. Therefore, it is obvious to take a known sequence and apply different patterns of modifications for testing, as shown by van Ommen 1, van Ommen 2, Sazani and Kurreck. In KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex, the Supreme Court, indicated that “The principles underlying [earlier] cases are instructive when the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious. When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability.” KSR Int'l v. Teleflex lnc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-13 of U.S. Patent No.12,331,293 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claims 1 and 12, USPAT.’293’s claim 1 is drawn to oligonucleotides with sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14, which has the same sequences of instant SEQ ID NOs: 590 and 4568. USPAT.’293 teaches a sequence identical to the sequence claimed in instant claims 1 and 12, i.e., SEQ ID NO: 14 of USPAT.’293, corresponding to instant claims 1 and 12’s SEQ ID NOs: 590 and 4568 (see sequences in Tables 1- 2, columns 67-70).
Regarding instant claims 1, 2 and 3, USPAT.’293’s claim 5 and 7 are drawn to a compound comprising a 5-methycytosine and/or a 5-methyluracil base.
Regarding instant claim 1, USPAT.’293’s claims 5 and 6 are drawn to a compound comprising phosphorothioate backbone.
Regarding instant claims 4-5, USPAT.’293’s SEQ ID NO: 14 claimed in claim 1 is 18 nucleotides in length.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 6-9, USPAT.’293’s claim 5 and 8-12 are drawn to compound comprising at least 1, 2, 3, or 4 BNA monomers, and 1, 2 , 3 or 4 LNA monomers at 5’ and/or 3’ end. USPAT’293’s claim 12 is drawn to SEQ ID NOs: 15911 and 15922 that are oligonucleotides having the same sequence than instant ‘s SEQ ID NO: 590 and also comprising 2 LNA monomers at each end terminal nucleotide. USPAT’293’s claim 12 is also drawn to SEQ ID NOs: 15977 and 15988 derived from a sequence (SEQ ID NO: 14) that is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 590, with different nucleotides positions bearing the LNA modified monomer and also comprising 5-methylcytosine modifications (see sequences in Table 1, columns 67-68; Table 2, columns 69-70).
Regarding instant claim 13, USPAT.’293’s claim 13 is drawn to a composition comprising a compound according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claims 1, 2, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 16, 23, 24 and 29 of copending Application No. 17/449,290 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claims 1 and 12, claim 1 of co-pending App. ‘290 is drawn to an antisense oligonucleotide having the same base sequence of instant SEQ ID NOs:590 and 4568, also depicted in instant claim 12. See alignment below:
Title: US-17-449-290A-22333
Perfect score: 18
Sequence: 1 gguaaguucuguccaagc 18
Scoring table: IDENTITY_NUC
Gapop 10.0 , Gapext 1.0
Searched: 1 seqs, 18 residues
Total number of hits satisfying chosen parameters: 2
Minimum DB seq length: 0
Maximum DB seq length: inf
Post-processing: Minimum Match 0%
Maximum Match 100%
Listing first 50 summaries
Database : US-18-179-064-4568.fasta:*
SUMMARIES
%
Result Query
No. Score Match Length DB ID Description
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 18 100.0 18 1 US-18-179-064-4568 Oligomers Having B
c 2 4.4 24.4 18 1 US-18-179-064-4568 Oligomers Having B
ALIGNMENTS
RESULT 1
US-18-179-064-4568
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 72.2%;
Matches 13; Conservative 5; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||:|||::|:|:||||||
Db 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
Regarding instant claim 1, copending App.’290’s claim 7 is drawn to a compound comprising phosphorothioate backbone.
Regarding instant claim 13, copending App.’290’s claims 16 and 29 are drawn to a composition comprising a compound comprising the antisense oligonucleotide and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Non-Statutory Double Patenting (NSDP) rejections over USPAT’293 are “obviousness-type” double patenting rejections, and that they are not proper.
An “obviousness-type” double patenting rejection requires a patent, in view of a secondary reference, which is not present in this instance. The NSDP is a direct NSDP rejection, with no obviousness-type of rationale attached.
Applicant argues that this is a “provisional” rejection. Only the second rejection over claims of copending application No. 17/449,290 is provisional. The first NSDP over USPAT’293 is not provisional.
Provisional NSDP rejections over copending app. ‘290 are proper and cannot be withdrawn until the instant claims are deemed allowable; this is not the case.
The Ex parte Baurin, Appeal 2024-002920 (ARP Aug. 6, 2026) has been finally adjudicated and designated as precedential in an Appeals review panel decision addressing obviousness-type double patenting. The decision recites that the double patenting rejections are proper, regardless of being later filed than the instant application.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot and are not relevant at this time. The NSDPs are proper and are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636