DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajput et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0104112)
Referring to Claim 1, Rajput et al. disclose a first device (pars 58-65, responding SEPP), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor; cause the first device to: receive, from a second device, a request for establishment of a connection between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message), the connection being associated with a first set of security parameters, the request comprising the first set of security parameters (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message, security, certificates); determine whether the first set of security parameters is identical to a second set of security parameters in a context which was created between the first device and the second device for a previous connection completed between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-c, match), the creation of the context including a comparison of security capabilities of the second device to security capabilities of the first device (Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP); in accordance with a determination that the first set of security parameters associated with the connection is identical to the second set of security parameters in the context associated with the previous connection completed between the first device and the second device, perform the establishment of the connection (pars 58-65, cross-validation/look up of identifier, N32-c, match, allow messages).
Referring to Claim 10, Rajput et al. disclose a method (pars 58-65, responding SEPP), comprising: creating a context between a first device and a second device for a previous connection completed between the first device and the second device (Table 1 and pars 53-55, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP), creating the context comprising receiving security capabilities of the second device (Table 1 and pars 53-55, N32-c, security capabilities), comparing the security capabilities of the second device to supported security capabilities of the first device (Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP), selecting, based on a local policy of the first device, a security mechanism supported by both the first device and the second device, and determining a first set of security parameters based on the security capabilities received from the second device (Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP, initiate handshake); receiving, at a first device from a second device, a request for establishment of a current connection between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message), the current connection being associated with a second set of security parameters, the request comprising the second set of security parameters (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message, security, certificates); determine whether the second set of security parameters is identical to a the first set of security parameters in the context that was created between the first device and the second device for the previous connection (Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP; pars 58-65, N32-c, match), the creation of the context including a comparison of security capabilities of the second device to security capabilities of the first device (Table 1 and pars 53-54. storing security capabilities against the right SEPP); in accordance with a determination that the second set of security parameters associated with the connection is identical to the first set of security parameters in the context associated with the previous connection completed between the first device and the second device, establishment the current connection (pars 58-65, cross-validation/look up of identifier, N32-c, match, allow messages).
Referring to Claim 19, Rajput et al. disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing an apparatus to perform at least the following (pars 58-65, responding SEPP): receiving, at a first device from a second device, a request for establishment of a connection between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message), the connection being associated with a first set of security parameters, the request comprising a first subset of the first set of security parameters and a certificate associated with the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message, security, certificates), the certificate comprising a second subset of the first set of security parameters (PARS 58-65, certificates; Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP); determining whether the first subset of the first set of security parameters is identical to the second subset of the first set of security parameters in the certificate (pars 58-65, N32-c, match); in accordance with a determination that the first subset of the first set of security parameters is identical to the second subset of the first set of security parameters, determining whether the second subset of the first set of security parameters is identical to a second set of security parameters in a context which was created between the first device and the second device for a previous connection completed between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-c, match; Table 1 and pars 53-54, N32-c, storing security capabilities against the right SEPP), the creation of the context including a comparison of security capabilities of the second device to security capabilities of the first device (Table 1 and pars 53-54. storing security capabilities against the right SEPP); in accordance with a determination that the second subset of the first set of security parameters associated with the connection is identical to the second set of security parameters in the context associated with the previous connection completed between the first device and the second device, establishing the connection (pars 58-65, cross-validation/look up of identifier, N32-c, match, allow messages).
Referring to Claims 4, 13, and 21 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein the connection is used for management of a communication interface between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f).
Referring to Claims 5, 14, and 22 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein the connection is used for transmission of protected messages between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, security, certificates).
Referring to Claims 6, 15, and 23 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein each of the first and second sets of security parameters comprises at least one of the following: a Public Land Mobile Network identity of the second device, a Standalone Non-Public Network identity of the second device, or a Fully Qualified Domain Name of the second device (pars 58-65, PLMN identifier).
Referring to Claims 7, 16, and 24 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein each of the first and second devices comprises a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) device (pars 58-65, SEPP).
Referring to Claims 8, 17, and 25 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein the connection is a transport layer security connection (pars 58-65, TLS).
Referring to Claims 9 and 18 as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein the request includes a transport layer security certificate (pars 58-65, TLS, certificate).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, and 21-25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment. See the above citations.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642