DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/19/2026. Claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, and 21-25 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajput et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0104112)
Referring to Claims 1, 10, and 19, Rajput et al. disclose a first device (pars 58-65, responding SEPP), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor; a method; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing an apparatus to cause the first device to/perform: receive, from a second device, a request for establishment of a connection between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message), the connection being associated with a first set of security parameters, the request comprising the first set of security parameters (pars 58-65, N32-f connection message, security, certificates); determine whether the first set of security parameters is identical to a second set of security parameters in a context which was created between the first device and the second device for a previous connection completed between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-c, match), perform the establishment of the connection; in accordance with a determination that the first set of security parameters associated with the connection is identical to the second set of security parameters in the context associated with the previous connection completed between the first device and the second device, perform the establishment of the connection (pars 58-65, cross-validation/look up of identifier, N32-c, match, allow messages).
Referring to Claims 4, 13, and 21 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein the connection is used for management of a communication interface between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, N32-f).
Referring to Claims 5, 14, and 22 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein the connection is used for transmission of protected messages between the first device and the second device (pars 58-65, security, certificates).
Referring to Claims 6, 15, and 23 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein each of the first and second sets of security parameters comprises at least one of the following: a Public Land Mobile Network identity of the second device, a Standalone Non-Public Network identity of the second device, or a Fully Qualified Domain Name of the second device (pars 58-65, PLMN identifier).
Referring to Claims 7, 16, and 24 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, wherein each of the first and second devices comprises a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) device (pars 58-65, SEPP).
Referring to Claims 8, 17, and 25 as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device, method, and non-transitory medium, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein the connection is a transport layer security connection (pars 58-65, TLS).
Referring to Claims 9 and 18 as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, Rajput et al. disclose the first device and method, wherein the certificate is a transport layer security certificate (pars 58-65, TLS, certificate).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but are
not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the Remarks that Rajput et al. do not disclose context for previously completed connection. The context, related to N32-c is interpreted as for the previous connection, as shown in pars 58-65 and also par 67, because N32-c communications/process occurs prior to N32-f communication..
Applicant argues on page 7 of the Remarks that Rajput et al. do not disclose establishment of connection as it is not same as allowing messages. Examiner would like to point out that as shown in pars 58-65 of Rajput et al., messages are allowed based on the cross-validation/identifier look up, and that is an indication that the connection establishment has been performed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642