DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is vague as the claim is trying to limit the conductive communication signals which have only been functionally recited and not positively claimed. It is suggested to put the limitations in terms of a positively recited element, such as “wherein the electrodes are configured to receive the conductive communication signals having a frequency of at least 100 kHz”.
In claim 10, “the…second electrodes” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Keuninckx (8315705). Keuninckx discloses the claim limitations as follows:
--external electrodes (e.g. figured 2a, elements 210a, 210b, etc.)
--a dielectric layer to form a capacitively coupled interface (e.g. col. 5, lines 27-33, etc.)
--a circuit connected to the external electrodes to output a differential signal corresponding to the communication signals (e.g. figure 2b, differential amplifier 218, col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 9, etc.). The differential amplifier is connected to the external electrodes through the communication signal—Note the claim does not say “directly connected” to the electrodes. In addition, Keuninckx states that the internal components can also be a separate item directly connected to the external electrodes to provide a bidirectional communication system.
For claim 6, Keuninckx discloses operating at 1 MHz (col. 7, line 23, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keuninckx in view of Forsell (10299700). Keuninckx discloses the claimed capacitively coupled device using two electrodes with dielectric cover, but not that each electrode is separately covered by a dielectric and the use of a passive/driven ground electrode (e.g. claims 2 and 3), and a processor and instructions in memory to identify a communications message transmitted by the IMD, such as by a pulse train having a first frequency followed by a pulse train with a second frequency (e.g. claims 7-9). Forsell teaches first and second electrodes each separately covered by a dielectric (e.g. figure 4, elements 26 and 27) and the use of a passive/driven ground electrode (e.g. claim 4, element 17, col. 7, line 59 to col. 8, line3, etc.), and a processor and instructions in memory to identify a communications message transmitted by the IMD, such as by a pulse train having a first frequency followed by a pulse train with a second frequency (e.g. figure 3, element 38, col. lines 31-53, where the microcontroller necessarily has a memory with instructions since the microprocessor must operate based on some stored/programmed instructions; col. 10, lines 36-48, col. 11, lines 30-53, etc.) in order to: allow the electrodes to be placed on different areas of the body to better transmit and receive signals from the IMD; allow the ground to be driven to make the transfer of information more secure; and to allow the system to be automated and use conventional frequency encoding/modulation of data so that the information can be passed between the two devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by Keuninckx, with each of the first and second electrode being separately covered by a dielectric and the use of a passive/driven ground electrode, and a processor and instructions in memory to identify a communications message transmitted by the IMD, such as by a pulse train having a first frequency followed by a pulse train with a second frequency, as taught by Forsell, since it would provide the predictable results of: allowing the electrodes to be placed on different areas of the body to better transmit and receive signals from the IMD; allowing the ground to be driven to make the transfer of information more secure; and allowing the system to be automated and use conventional frequency encoding/modulation of data so that the information can be passed between the two devices.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keuninckx in view of Forsell (i.e. “modified Keuninckx”). Modified Keuninckx discloses the claimed invention except for a feedback circuit to supply a feedback signal into the ground/patient to remove a common mode component within the conductive communication signals sensed by the first and second electrodes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by modified Keuninckx, with a feedback circuit to supply a feedback signal into the ground/patient to remove a common mode component within the conductive communication signals sensed by the first and second electrodes, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (mpep 2144I, 2144.03) since it would provide the predictable results of actively canceling common mode noise, such as 50/60 Hz powerline interference, that can overwhelm amplifiers, improves SNR, and prevents high common mode voltages.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keuninckx in view of Juola et al (7904180). Keuninckx teaches that it is known to allow frequencies over 100KHz to be used with the capacitive electrodes, but does not specifically teach partially attenuating signals below 100KHz. Juola teaches that it is known to use a capacitive electrode that passes signals of at least 100KHz and partially attenuate signals below 100KHz (e.g. figure 8, etc.) to provide a capacitive electrode that is tailored to the needs of the system to sense particular signals. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by ,Keuninckx with a capacitive electrode that passes signals of at least 100KHz and partially attenuate signals below 100KHz, as taught by Juola, since it would provide the predictable results of providing a capacitive electrode that is tailored to the needs of the system to sense particular signals.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keuninckx. Keuninckx discloses the claimed invention and the use of capacitive electrodes to be held proximate the skin but not using a garment including the dielectric layer to space the electrodes apart from the skin. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by Keuninckx, with the use of a garment including the dielectric layer to space the electrodes apart from the skin, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (mpep 2144I, 2144.03), since it would provide the predictable results of allowing the electrode to be held unobtrusively against the patient, such as in a hat/cap or shirt, so that they are not visible to other people and/or can hold the electrodes in the proper place on the patient.
Conclusion
/George R Evanisko/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792 3/17/26