Response to Amendment
A Pre-Brief Appeal Conference was held. The previous rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 17-21 are currently pending consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao (US 2025/0192946 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 17, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) and method performed by a user equipment (Fig. 2, 9 and 13 terminal/UE and method) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station, a configuration on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources (Fig.9 configuration parameter to the terminal/UE); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to identify, based on the configuration, information on 8 antenna ports related with the one or more SRS resources (Figure 2 configure and send an SRS of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to perform an SRS transmission based on the information on the 8 antenna ports (Figure 2 configure and send an SRS of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource), and
wherein the information includes a cyclic shift and a transmission comb offset for the 8 antenna ports (Paragraphs [0041] to [0046] transmission comb offset and cyclic shift parameter)
wherein the 8 antenna ports include a plurality of antenna groups (Paragraph [0051] antenna ports to M antenna panels), wherein each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift and a same set of transmission comb offsets (Figures 3 and 9 configure and send an SRS of 8 antenna ports; transmission comb offset), and wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective transmission comb offset (Fig. 3 and 9 transmission comb offset and antenna ports).
2. Regarding claim 9, Gao teaches a base station (BS) (Figure 14) comprising:
a processor configured to generate a configuration on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, wherein the configuration includes information on 8 transmit antenna ports related with the one or more SRS resources (Fig. 9, send configuration parameter corresponding to the SRS resource to a terminal); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the information on 8 antenna ports configuration (Fig. 9, , send configuration parameter corresponding to the SRS resource to a terminal); and receive an SRS transmission on the one or more SRS resources based on the information on 8 antenna ports (Fig. 8 receiving SRS of 8 antenna ports),
wherein the information includes a cyclic shift and a transmission comb offset for the 8 antenna ports (Paragraphs [0041] to [0046] transmission comb offset and cyclic shift parameter)),
wherein the 8 antenna ports include a plurality of antenna groups (Paragraph [0051] antenna ports to M antenna panels), wherein each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift and a same set of transmission comb offsets (Figures 3 and 9 configure and send an SRS of 8 antenna ports; transmission comb offset), and wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective transmission comb offset (Fig. 3 and 9 transmission comb offset and antenna ports).
3. Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Gao teaches wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 8 (Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0063] and [0116] ]maximum number of cyclic shift parameters is 8).
4. Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Gao teaches wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 12, and each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift (Paragraphs [064] and [0117] maximum number of cyclic shift parameters is 12).
5. Regarding claims 5, 13 and 21, Gao teaches wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift (Paragraphs [0114] to [0019] antenna ports; cyclic shift parameters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 2025/0192946 A1) in view of Jacobsson et al. (US 2024/0187188 A1)
6. Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6.
Jacobsson teaches a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6 (Figure 15, Paragraph [0039] and [0170] max number of cyclic shifts is 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6, as taught by Jacobsson in the system of Gao for improving the NR Rel-16 framework for determining cyclic shifts see Paragraph [0042] of Jacobsson.
Conclusion
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466