Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5, 9-14 and 17-21 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 9-14 and 17-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao (US 2025/0175301 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 17, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) and method performed by a user equipment (Figures 2 and 14, Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0070]) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station, a configuration on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources (Figure 2 receiving configuration information of an SRS resource); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to identify, based on the configuration, information on 8 antenna ports related with the one or more SRS resources (Figure 2, the SRS resource including 8 antenna ports),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to perform an SRS transmission based on the information on the 8 antenna ports (Figure 2, mapping SRS corresponding to at least two antenna port groups to physical resources corresponding to different transmission combs), and
wherein the information includes a cyclic shift and a transmission comb offset for the 8 antenna ports (Paragraph [0048] configuration includes transmission comb parameter and cyclic shift parameter).
wherein the 8 antenna ports include a plurality of antenna groups (Paragraph [0045] at least two antenna port groups are obtained based on grouping the 8 antenna ports), wherein each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift and a same set of transmission comb offsets (Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0068] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum value of cyclic shift parameter of the transmission comb), and wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective transmission comb offset (Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0070] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; calculates the cyclic shift parameter corresponding to all antenna ports within the group).
2. Regarding claim 9, Gao teaches a base station (BS) (Figure 15) comprising:
a processor configured to generate a configuration on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, wherein the configuration includes information on 8 transmit antenna ports related with the one or more SRS resources (Fig. 11, 1010 sending configuration information of an SRS resource); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the information on 8 antenna ports configuration (Fig. 11, 1020 sending configuration information of an SRS resource including 8 antenna ports); and receive an SRS transmission on the one or more SRS resources based on the information on 8 antenna ports (Fig. 11 receiving SRSs corresponding to at least two antenna port groups),
wherein the information includes a cyclic shift and a transmission comb offset for the 8 antenna ports (Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0068] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum value of cyclic shift parameter of the transmission comb),
wherein the 8 antenna ports include a plurality of antenna groups (Paragraph [0045] at least two antenna port groups are obtained based on grouping the 8 antenna ports), wherein each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift and a same set of transmission comb offsets (Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0068] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum value of cyclic shift parameter of the transmission comb), and wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective transmission comb offset (Paragraphs [0057] and [0066] to [0070] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; calculates the cyclic shift parameter corresponding to all antenna ports within the group).
3. Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Gao teaches wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 8 (Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0057] and [0067] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum number of cyclic shift parameters is 8, calculates the cyclic shift parameter corresponding to all antenna ports within the group).
4. Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Gao teaches wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 12, and each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift (Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0057] and [0068] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum number of cyclic shift parameters is 12, calculates the cyclic shift parameter corresponding to all antenna ports within the group).
5. Regarding claims 5, 13 and 21, Gao teaches wherein each antenna within each of the antenna groups is associated with a respective cyclic shift (Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0057] and [0067] each antenna port group corresponds to one transmission comb; maximum number of cyclic shift parameters is 8, calculates the cyclic shift parameter corresponding to all antenna ports within the group).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 2025/0175301 A1) in view of Jacobsson et al. (US 2024/0187188 A1)
6. Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6.
Jacobsson teaches a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6 (Figure 15, Paragraph [0039] and [0170] max number of cyclic shifts is 6; transmission comb 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a maximum number of cyclic shifts = 6, as taught by Jacobsson in the system of Gao for improving the NR Rel-16 framework for determining cyclic shifts see Paragraph [0042] of Jacobsson.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Gao (US 2025/0192946 A1) Paragraphs [0088] and [0092]
Gao (US 2025/0141628 A1) Paragraphs [0316] and [0451]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466