DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 14-15, 17, and 19-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2020/0226752 in view of Gregson et al., US 2019/0164287.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a learning apparatus (fig. 2; para 0072-0073; a medical image processing apparatus) comprising at least one processor (fig. 2, element 220; para 0073 and 0081; one or more processors),
the processor being configured to
generate a first learning model (fig. 6, element 630; para 0127; a second neural network (i.e., a first learning model)) by performing first learning using normality data (fig. 6, element 320; para 0127; a normal medical image) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0128; the second neural network may be trained by using, as training data, normal medical image) or by performing first learning using only mask data as learning data, wherein the normality mask data is generated by performing masking on a part of the normality data (the Examiner takes the position of rejecting the “normality data” above based on the “or” condition, therefore this limitation “normality mask data” is not addressed), and
generate second training data (fig. 6, element 632; para 0127; a first medical image) to be applied to a second learning model (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130; a third neural network (i.e., second learning model)) that identifies identification target data (fig. 6; para 0130; the third neural network may perform processing for extracting characteristics of a lesion region in the first medical image), by using output data output from the first learning model (fig. 6, element 632; para 0127 and 0129; the second neural network generates and outputs the first medical image) in response to input of abnormality data to the first learning model (fig. 6, elements 622; para 0127; the second neural network may receive the virtual lesion image (i.e., abnormality data) to generate the first medical image).
Lee discloses claim 1 as enumerated above, but Lee does not explicitly disclose using only normality data as claimed.
However, Gregson discloses an anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality (fig. 3; para 0013, 0016, and 0037).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Lee and Gregson as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality as taught by Gregson into the invention of Lee for the benefit of providing automated screening of histopathology tissue samples via an analysis of a normal model (Gregson: para 0002).
Regarding claim 2, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the first learning model that outputs, for input data having a masked part, output data in which the masked part is compensated for (fig. 4, element 318; para 0114-0116).
Regarding claim 3, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the first learning model that reduces a dimension of input data and outputs output data for which the reduced dimension is restored (para 0098).
Regarding claim 4, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the first learning model that outputs output data having a size the same as a size of input data (para 0104).
Regarding claim 5, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the first learning model to which a generative adversarial network is applied (para 0128), by performing the first learning using only the normality mask data as learning data (the examiner takes the position of rejecting the normality image as stated in claim 1 above based on the “or” condition, therefore the normality mask data is not addressed).
Regarding claim 6, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the first learning model to which an autoencoder is applied, by performing the first learning using only the normality data as learning data (fig. 6, element 630; para 0128; an autoencoder is a type of neural network).
Regarding claim 7, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the second training data by using a difference between input data and output data for the first learning model (fig. 6, element 632; para 0127).
Regarding claim 9, the learning apparatus according to claim 1, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the second learning model (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130) by performing second learning using a set of the abnormality data (fig. 3, element 342 and fig. 6, element 654; para 0100 and 0129) and the second training data (fig. 3, element 318 and fig. 6, element 632; para 0099 and 0129) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0129-0132).
Regarding claim 10, the learning apparatus according to claim 9, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to perform the second learning using a set of the normality data (figs. 3 and 6, element 320; para 0100 and 0127) and first training data (fig. 6, elements 602, 604, and 622; para 0125-0128; first input and virtual lesion image) corresponding to the normality data as learning data (fig. 6; para 0127-0128).
Regarding claim 11, the learning apparatus according to claim 10, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to perform the second learning for the second learning model (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130) by using as the second training data (fig. 3, element 318 and fig. 6, element 632; para 0100 and 0129), a hard label that has discrete training values indicating the normality data (figs. 3 and 6, element 320; para 0100 and 0127) and the abnormality data (fig. 3, element 344 and fig. 6, element 654; para 0102 and 0129) and that is applied to the first learning and a soft label that has continuous training values indicating an abnormality-likeness and that is generated by using output data from the first learning model (figs. 3 and 6; para 0106-0108 and 0127-0132).
Regarding claim 12, the learning apparatus according to claim 11, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to
perform the second learning a plurality of times (figs. 4 and 6; para 0113), and not increase a weight used for the hard label and not decrease a weight used for the soft label as the number of times the second learning is performed increases (para 0114).
Regarding claim 13, the learning apparatus according to claim 8, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the second learning model to which a convolutional neural network is applied (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130).
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses an image processing apparatus (fig. 2; para 0072-0073; a medical image processing apparatus) comprising at least one processor (fig. 2, element 220; para 0073 and 0081; one or more processors),
the processor being configured to
generate a second learning model (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130; a third neural network (i.e., second learning model)) by performing second learning using a set of second training data (fig. 6, element 632; para 0129; a first medical image) and an abnormality image (fig. 6, element 654; para 0129; abnormal medical image) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0129-0132; the third neural network is trained using at least one or a combination of the first medical image, the abnormal medical image, or a determination result value from the discriminator), the second training data being generated by using an output image output from a first learning model (fig. 6, element 632; para 0127 and 0129; the second neural network (i.e., a first learning model) generates and outputs the first medical image) in response to input of an abnormality image to the first learning model (fig. 6, elements 622; para 0127; the second neural network may receive the virtual lesion image (i.e., abnormality data) to generate the first medical image), the second training data being applied to the second learning model that identifies presence or absence of an abnormality in an identification target image (fig. 6; para 0130; the third neural network may perform processing for extracting characteristics of a lesion region (i.e., presence of an abnormality) in the first medical image), the first learning model being generated by performing first learning using a normality image (fig. 6, element 320; para 0127; a normal medical image) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0128; the second neural network may be trained by using, as training data, normal medical image) or by performing first learning using only a normality mask image as learning data, wherein the normality mask image is generated by performing masking on a part of the normality image (the Examiner takes the position of rejecting the “normality data” above based on the “or” condition, therefore this limitation “normality mask data” is not addressed), and
determine whether an identification target image is a normality image by using the second learning model (para 0130-0132; the third neural network may output a determination result value indicating a result of determining whether the first medical image is a real medical image. For example, the determination result value may correspond to the probability that the first medical image is a real medical image or a value representing ‘true’ or ‘false’).
Lee discloses claim 15 as enumerated above, but Lee does not explicitly disclose using only normality data as claimed.
However, Gregson discloses an anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality (fig. 3; para 0013, 0016, and 0037).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Lee and Gregson as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality as taught by Gregson into the invention of Lee for the benefit of providing automated screening of histopathology tissue samples via an analysis of a normal model (Gregson: para 0002).
Regarding claim 16, the image processing apparatus according to claim 15, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the second learning model (fig. 3, element 330 and fig. 6, element 662) performs segmentation of an abnormal part for the identification target image (figs. 3 and 6; para 0103-0107 and 0130).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a system (fig. 2; para 0072-0073; a medical image processing system) comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 2, element 220; para 0073 and 0081; one or more processors),
the processor being configured to
generate a second learning model (fig. 6, element 662; para 0130; a third neural network (i.e., second learning model)) by performing second learning using a set of second training data (fig. 6, element 632; para 0129; a first medical image) and an abnormality image (fig. 6, element 654; para 0129; abnormal medical image) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0129-0132; the third neural network is trained using at least one or a combination of the first medical image, the abnormal medical image, or a determination result value from the discriminator), the second training data being generated by using an output image output from a first learning model (fig. 6, element 632; para 0127 and 0129; the second neural network (i.e., a first learning model) generates and outputs the first medical image) in response to input of an abnormality image to the first learning model (fig. 6, elements 622; para 0127; the second neural network may receive the virtual lesion image (i.e., abnormality data) to generate the first medical image), the second training data being applied to the second learning model that identifies presence or absence of an abnormality in an identification target image (fig. 6; para 0130; the third neural network may perform processing for extracting characteristics of a lesion region (i.e., presence of an abnormality) in the first medical image), the first learning model being generated by performing first learning using a normality image (fig. 6, element 320; para 0127; a normal medical image) as learning data (fig. 6; para 0128; the second neural network may be trained by using, as training data, normal medical image) or by performing first learning using only a normality mask image as learning data, wherein the normality mask image is generated by performing masking on a part of a normality image (the Examiner takes the position of rejecting the “normality data” above based on the “or” condition, therefore this limitation “normality mask data” is not addressed), and
determine presence or absence of an abnormality in an endoscopic image acquired from the endoscope, by using the second learning model (fig. 6; para 0130; the third neural network may perform processing for extracting characteristics of a lesion region (i.e., presence of an abnormality) in the first medical image).
Lee discloses claim 17 as enumerated above, but Lee does not explicitly disclose an endoscope system and using only normality data as claimed.
However, Gregson discloses the images can be whole slide images, single frame capture images from a microscope mounted camera, or images taken during endoscopic procedures (i.e., endoscopic procedures imply the use of an endoscope system). An anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality (fig. 3; para 0013, 0015-0016, and 0037).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Lee and Gregson as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the images can be whole slide images, single frame capture images from a microscope mounted camera, or images taken during endoscopic procedures (i.e., endoscopic procedures imply the use of an endoscope system). An anomaly detection system is trained on a plurality of training images. Each of the plurality of training images represents a tissue sample that is substantially free of abnormalities. Accordingly, the anomaly detection system is trained to represent a normal model, in which only tissue samples substantially free of abnormality (Gregson: para 0002).
Regarding claim 18, the endoscope system according to claim 17, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to perform the second learning by applying the second training data (fig. 6, element 632; para 0129; a first medical image) that is generated by using the first learning model for which the first learning is performed by applying an endoscopic image that is a normal mucous membrane image as the normality image (fig. 6, element 320; para 0127; a normal medical image), and by applying an endoscopic image that includes a lesion region as the abnormality image (fig. 6, element 654; para 0129; abnormal medical image).
Regarding claim 19, the endoscope system according to claim 18, Lee in the combination further disclose wherein the processor is configured to perform the second learning by using a set of the second training data (fig. 6, element 632; para 0129; a first medical image) and the abnormality image (fig. 6, element 654; para 0129; abnormal medical image) and a set of a normality image (fig. 6, element 320; para 0127) and first training data (fig. 6, elements 602, 604, and 622; para 0125-0128; first input and virtual lesion image) corresponding to the normality image as learning data (fig. 6; para 0127-0128), and generate the second learning model that performs segmentation of an abnormal part in an identification target image (figs. 3 and 6; para 0103-0107 and 0130), the second training data corresponding to the abnormality image (fig. 6, element 654; para 0129) and generated by normalizing difference data that is a difference between the abnormality image and an output image output from the first learning model (figs. 3 and 6; para 0103-0107 and 0130) in response to input of an abnormality mask image that is generated by performing masking on an abnormal part of the abnormality image to the first learning model (figs. 3-4, element 314 and fig. 6, element 622; para 0098, 0113, and 0127; a virtual lesion image), the first learning performed for the first learning model being learning for restoring the normal mucous membrane image from a normal mucous membrane mask image generated by performing masking on a part of the normal mucous membrane image be and for generating a normality restoration image (figs. 3-4 and 6; para 0098-0099, 0113-0116, and 0127).
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure, taken individually or in combination, does not teach the claimed invention having the following limitations, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations.
Regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having “generate abnormality mask data that is generated by performing masking on an abnormal part of the abnormality data, and generate the second training data by performing normalization on difference data, wherein the difference data is a difference between the abnormality data input to the first learning model and output data output in response to input of the abnormality mask data to the first learning model”, and a combination of other limitations thereof as recited in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665