Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 1817965, filed on 3-10-2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3-7-2023 was filed on the mailing date 3-7-2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU CN114391189A, hereinafter LU, and further in view of LEE EP-4254554-A1, hereinafter LEE.
Regarding Claim 1, LU teaches a positive electrode [0025] comprising:
a positive electrode active material layer [0026]; and
a positive electrode base material (second positive active material; [0026]), wherein
the positive electrode active material layer includes a positive electrode active material [0026],
the positive electrode active material includes a layered metal oxide [0026],
a ratio of nickel to metallic elements except lithium in the layered metal oxide is 70 mol % or more [0027].
LU does not teach a part of the positive electrode active material present near a surface of the positive electrode active material layer closer to the positive electrode base material has a crystallite diameter that is 200 Å to 500 Å (20 nm to 50nm) greater than a part of the positive electrode nickel containing active material present near a surface of the positive electrode active material layer opposite to the positive electrode base material. However, LEE teaches a positive electrode present near a surface of the positive electrode active material layer closer to the positive electrode base material active material [0018] has a difference between the average crystallite size of the core portion (positive electrode nickel containing active material layer) and the average crystallite size of the shell portion (positive electrode base material) in a range of 20 nm to 150 nm [0040]. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation the core is considered “near” a surface opposite the base material in that it is nearer than the shell closer to the base material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use LEE’s known crystallite size difference in LU’s electrode to improve life characteristics while maintaining initial capacity characteristics and output characteristics when used in a battery [0040].
Regarding Claim 2, LU teaches the layered metal oxide is represented by a formula:
Li1-a NixMe1-x O2--- [0030]
Where:
“a” satisfies a relationship of -0.3≤a≤0.3 [0032]
“X” satisfies a relationship of 0.7≤x≤1.0 [0033]
Me stands for at least one selected from the group consisting of Co, Mn, Al, Zr, B, Mg, Fe, Cu, Zn, Sn, Na, K, Ba, Sr, Ca, W, Mo, Nb, Ti, Si, V, Cr, and Ge [0034-0035]
Regarding Claim 3, LU teaches the positive electrode active material layer includes a first positive electrode active material layer and a second positive electrode active material layer, and the second positive electrode active material layer is positioned close (relative) to the positive electrode base material as compared to the first positive electrode active material layer [0021].
Regarding Claim 4 LU teaches the positive electrode according to claim 3, wherein a thickness of the second positive electrode active material layer is defined as T2, a thickness of the first positive electrode active material layer is defined as T1, and a ratio of T1 to T2 (T1/T2) is from 0.33 to 3.0 [0016].
Regarding Claim 5, LU teaches a battery comprising the positive electrode [0017].
Conclusion
/TELGE SHAVINDA PEIRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724