DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes reference characters. The following reference characters should be removed:
Line 1, “1001”
Line 3, “VR”
Line 5, “VR” and “Ub”
Line 6, “Ub” and “Vo”
Line 7, “100”
Line 8, “501”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see Paragraph 128, line 5). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the term TEXAS INSTRUMENTS®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application (See Paragraph 23, Description of Fig. 24, line 2 and Paragraph 128, line 4). The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation "a variable temperature coefficient of a gain" in lines 13-14 and 12-13, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Amending the limitation to “the variable temperature coefficient of the gain” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claims 2-17 and 19-20 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependencies on claims 1 or 18.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a gain” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “the gain” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claims 12, 14, and 16 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a current output is used” in line 3. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear what the current output is used for. Amending the limitation to “a current output is used for the buffer amplifier” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claims 13, 15, and 17 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependency on claim 3.
Claims 4, 12, and 13 recite numerous limitations with insufficient antecedent basis. Amending the limitation as follows is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitations will be treated for examination purposes:
Amend “a temperature coefficient resistor” on lines 7-8, 10, 13, and 16 to “the temperature coefficient resistor”.
Amend “a feedback resistor” on lines 7, 10, 13, and 16 to “the feedback resistor”.
Amend “a gain resistor” on lines 7, 10, 13, and 16 to “the gain resistor”.
Amend “a non-inverting amplifier circuit” on lines 9, 12, and 15 to “a second non-inverting amplifier circuit”, “a third non-inverting amplifier circuit”, and “a fourth-non-inverting amplifier circuit”, respectively.
Amend “a buffer amplifier” on lines 17-18 to “the buffer amplifier”.
Claims 6, 16, and 17 recite the limitation “a temperature coefficient of another amplifier circuit having a temperature coefficient in an output is compensated” in lines 2-3, 3-4, and 3-4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Amending the limitation to “a temperature coefficient of the another amplifier circuit is compensated” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitation “the input” in line 4 of both claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Amending the limitation to “the input of the amplifier circuit” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the common connection” in lines 18-19 and 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation “the inverting input of the first operational amplifier and the inverting input of the second operational amplifier are connected in common” in lines 16-17 of claim 9 to “the inverting input of the first operational amplifier and the inverting input of the second operational amplifier are connected in a common connection” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitations will be treated for examination purposes.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the whole or a part of the amplifier circuit” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “a whole or a part of the amplifier circuit” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the temperature coefficient” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “the variable temperature coefficient” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “an output of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “the output of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claim 20 is likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of its dependency on claim 18.
Claims 2, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein when an impedance of a load connected to an output of the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of a gain is higher than an impedance of the variable resistor seen from the variable output, the buffer amplifier is omitted” in lines 2-5, which suggests not including a buffer amplifier in a circuit design where the impedance of the load is expected to be higher than the output impedance of the variable resistor. However, claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends, previously recites “a buffer amplifier” (lines 4-5). Therefore, claim 2 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 12, 14, and 16 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a buffer amplifier is provided” in lines 17-18. However, claim 2, upon which claim 12 depends, previously recites “wherein when an impedance of a load connected to an output of the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of a gain is higher than an impedance of the variable resistor seen from the variable output, the buffer amplifier is omitted” (lines 2-5), which suggests not including a buffer amplifier in a circuit design where the impedance of the load is expected to be higher than the output impedance of the variable resistor. Therefore, claim 12 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Natsumida et al. (Patent Number JP H0422565 Y2), hereafter referred to as Natsumida.
Regarding claim 1, Natsumida discloses:
An amplifier circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1) with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain (Page 1, line 1), wherein: a variable resistor (Fig. 1, 6) is connected between a first signal (Fig. 1, VA) and a second signal (Fig. 1, VB) having temperature coefficients of an amplification factor different from each other (Page 2, lines 4-6), a variable output of the variable resistor (Fig. 1, see output of 6 with signal VC) is connected to an input of a buffer amplifier (Fig. 1, see connection between variable resistor 6 and buffer amplifier 7), and an output of the buffer amplifier is used as an output (Fig. 1, see output of 7), wherein the first signal is an output of a first temperature coefficient circuit (Fig. 1, see signal VA as output of amplifier 4), and the second signal is an output of another amplifier circuit, an output of a second temperature coefficient circuit, an output of a temperature coefficient inverting circuit configured to use the first signal as an input, or an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain (Fig. 1, see signal VB as output of amplifier 5, meets limitations of “another amplifier circuit” and “second temperature coefficient circuit”).
Regarding claim 4, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein the first temperature coefficient circuit and the second temperature coefficient circuit are each an inverting amplifier circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1, 4/5) in which a temperature coefficient resistor (Fig 1, 44/54) is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see that 44/54 form feedback resistors for 4/5), a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a first attenuator is provided to an input and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the first attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a second attenuator is provided to an output and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the second attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, or a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a third attenuator is provided to an output, a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the third attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, and a buffer amplifier is provided to an output of the third attenuator (Fig. 1, see that temperature coefficient circuits of Natsumida meet the limitations of the inverting amplifier circuit).
Regarding claim 6, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein a temperature coefficient of another amplifier circuit having a temperature coefficient in an output is compensated (Natsumida, Page 2, lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 8, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein a direct voltage source (Natsumida, Fig. 1, 1) having a temperature coefficient in an output voltage is connected to the input (Page 1, lines 10-13), and the temperature coefficient of the direct voltage source is compensated and output (Page 2, lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 10, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein the whole or a part of the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of a gain is configured as a circuit module (Fig. 1, see circuit configuration of Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takashi (Patent Publication Number JP H03243012 A), hereafter referred to as Takashi.
Regarding claim 2, Natsumida fails to disclose:
wherein when an impedance of a load connected to an output of the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of a gain is higher than an impedance of the variable resistor seen from the variable output, the buffer amplifier is omitted.
However, Takashi teaches wherein when an impedance of a load connected to an output of the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of a gain is higher than an impedance of the variable resistor seen from the variable output, the buffer amplifier is omitted (Takashi, Page 3, lines 2-7).
Natsumida and Takashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Takashi to omit the buffer of Natsumida when the load impedance of Natsumida is large, which would have the effect of removing an unnecessary circuit component (Takashi, Page 3, lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 5, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein in the temperature coefficient inverting circuit, an inverting input (Natsumida, Fig. 1, see negative input of 51) of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to one end of a feedback resistor and one end of a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between negative input of 51, feedback resistor 54, and gain resistor 52), an output of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an opposite end of the feedback resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 51 and feedback resistor 54), an output of the first temperature coefficient circuit is connected to an opposite end of the gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 4 and gain resistor 52 via resistors 3, 42, and 44), and the feedback resistor and the gain resistor have substantially same resistance values (Page 1, lines 37-40), but fails to disclose a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit.
However, Takashi teaches a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit (Takashi, Fig. 1, 2a) is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit (Fig. 1, see connection between 2a and VI).
Natsumida and Takashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Takashi to couple the positive input of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit of Natsumida to the input of the circuit of Natsumida, which would have the effect of providing a non-inverting amplifier.
Regarding claim 12, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein the first temperature coefficient circuit and the second temperature coefficient circuit are each an inverting amplifier circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1, 4/5) in which a temperature coefficient resistor (Fig 1, 44/54) is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see that 44/54 form feedback resistors for 4/5), a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a first attenuator is provided to an input and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the first attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a second attenuator is provided to an output and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the second attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, or a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a third attenuator is provided to an output, a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the third attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, and a buffer amplifier is provided to an output of the third attenuator (Fig. 1, see that temperature coefficient circuits of Natsumida meet the limitations of the inverting amplifier circuit).
Regarding claim 14, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein in the temperature coefficient inverting circuit, an inverting input (Natsumida, Fig. 1, see negative input of 51) of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to one end of a feedback resistor and one end of a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between negative input of 51, feedback resistor 54, and gain resistor 52), an output of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an opposite end of the feedback resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 51 and feedback resistor 54), an output of the first temperature coefficient circuit is connected to an opposite end of the gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 4 and gain resistor 52 via resistors 3, 42, and 44), and the feedback resistor and the gain resistor have substantially same resistance values (Page 1, lines 37-40), but fails to disclose a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit.
However, Takashi further teaches a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit (Takashi, Fig. 1, 2a) is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit (Fig. 1, see connection between 2a and VI).
Natsumida and Takashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Takashi to couple the positive input of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit of Natsumida to the input of the circuit of Natsumida, which would have the effect of providing a non-inverting amplifier.
Regarding claim 16, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein a temperature coefficient of another amplifier circuit having a temperature coefficient in an output is compensated (Natsumida, Page 2, lines 35-37).
Claims 3, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Angelici et al. (Patent Number JP 4,176,886 B2), hereafter referred to as Angelici.
Regarding claim 3, Natsumida fails to disclose:
wherein a voltage-current converting circuit is used as the buffer amplifier and a current output is used.
However, Angelici teaches wherein a voltage-current converting circuit is used as the buffer amplifier and a current output is used (Angelici, Paragraph 15, lines 4-6).
Natsumida and Angelici are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Angelici to use a voltage-current converting circuit for the buffer amplifier of Natsumida, which would have the effect of providing a matched output current (Angelici, Paragraph 15, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 13, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein the first temperature coefficient circuit and the second temperature coefficient circuit are each an inverting amplifier circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1, 4/5) in which a temperature coefficient resistor (Fig 1, 44/54) is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see that 44/54 form feedback resistors for 4/5), a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a first attenuator is provided to an input and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the first attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a second attenuator is provided to an output and a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the second attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, or a non-inverting amplifier circuit in which a third attenuator is provided to an output, a temperature coefficient resistor is used for one or more of a resistor configuring the third attenuator, a feedback resistor or a gain resistor, and a buffer amplifier is provided to an output of the third attenuator (Fig. 1, see that temperature coefficient circuits of Natsumida meet the limitations of the inverting amplifier circuit).
Regarding claim 17, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein a temperature coefficient of another amplifier circuit having a temperature coefficient in an output is compensated (Natsumida, Page 2, lines 35-37).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bainamu (Patent Number JP S6398159 A), hereafter referred to as Bainamu.
Regarding claim 7, Natsumida fails to disclose:
wherein the temperature coefficients of an amplification factor are adjusted to temperature coefficients proportional to an absolute temperature.
However, Bainamu teaches wherein the temperature coefficients of an amplification factor are adjusted to temperature coefficients proportional to an absolute temperature (Bainamu, Page 1, last line-Page 2, line 2).
Natsumida and Bainamu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Bainamu to make the temperature coefficients proportional to an absolute temperature, which would have the effect of providing a stable output voltage (Bainamu, Page 2, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, Natsumida further discloses:
A direct voltage generating circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1) using the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of the gain according to Claim 7 (see above), the direct voltage generating circuit being configured to output a voltage proportional to an absolute temperature by connecting a direct voltage source to an input (Fig. 1, see direct voltage source 1 at input of Fig. 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi et al. (Patent Number CN 110,296,761 B), hereafter referred to as Shi, and Lum et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2008/0197271 A1), hereafter referred to as Lum.
Regarding claim 9, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein a direct voltage source having a temperature coefficient in an output voltage is connected to the input (Natsumida, Fig. 1, Element 1, see also Page 1, lines 10-13), but fails to disclose a first variable resistor and a second variable resistor are provided as the variable resistor, the buffer amplifier is not provided, a variable output of the first variable resistor is connected to a non-inverting input of a first operational amplifier, a variable output of the second variable resistor is connected to a non-inverting input of a second operational amplifier, an output of the first operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the first operational amplifier via a first diode, an output of the second operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the second operational amplifier via a second diode, the inverting input of the first operational amplifier and the inverting input of the second operational amplifier are connected in common, a constant current source or a resistor is provided between the common connection and a voltage source, and the common connection is used as an output, so that the temperature coefficient of the direct voltage source is independently compensated and output at temperatures higher and lower than a reference temperature.
However Shi teaches a first variable resistor (Shi, Fig. 7, R1) and a second variable resistor (Fig. 7, R2) are provided as the variable resistor (Fig. 7, consider series combination of R1 and R2), the buffer amplifier is not provided (Fig. 7, see that circuit 2051 of Fig. 7 of Shi does not include a buffer amplifier between the variable resistor and the output), a variable output of the first variable resistor is connected to a non-inverting input of a first operational amplifier (Fig. 7, see connection between R1 and positive input of OPA1), a variable output of the second variable resistor is connected to a non-inverting input of a second operational amplifier (Fig. 7, see connection between R2 and positive input of OPA2), the inverting input of the first operational amplifier and the inverting input of the second operational amplifier are connected in common (Fig. 7, see connection between negative inputs of OPA1 and OPA2 via resistors R3 and R4), a constant current source or a resistor is provided between the common connection and a voltage source (Fig. 7, see resistors R3/R4 between negative inputs of OPA1/OPA2 and voltage source Vcm0), and the common connection is used as an output (Fig. 7, see outputs from resistors R3/R4 that form common connection), so that the temperature coefficient of the direct voltage source is independently compensated and output at temperatures higher and lower than a reference temperature (Page 10, Paragraph 6, lines 9-12), but fails to disclose an output of the first operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the first operational amplifier via a first diode, an output of the second operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the second operational amplifier via a second diode.
However, Lum teaches an output of the first operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the first operational amplifier via a first diode (Lum, Fig. 2, see connection between output of op amp 24 and input of op amp 24 via diode 25), an output of the second operational amplifier is connected to an inverting input of the second operational amplifier via a second diode (Fig. 2, see connection between output of op amp 24 and input of op amp 24 via diode 25).
Natsumida, Shi, and Lum are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Shi and Lum to include the variable resistor circuit of Shi as the variable resistor of Natsumida, which would have the effect of enabling temperature drift compensation (Shi, Page 10, Paragraph 6, lines 9-12), and to include diodes in the feedback paths of the operational amplifiers of Shi, which would have the effect of providing a temperature dependent output (Lum, Paragraph 16, lines 5-8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (Patent Number CN 201,805,584 U), hereafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 11, Natsumida fails to disclose:
wherein a range of the temperature coefficient is switchable.
However, Li teaches wherein a range of the temperature coefficient is switchable (Li, Paragraph 20, lines 1-3 and 9-11).
Natsumida and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Li to make the range of the temperature coefficient of Natsumida switchable, which would have the effect of improving efficiency (Li, Paragraph 20, lines 6-7).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida in view of Angelici as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Takashi.
Regarding claim 15, Natsumida further discloses:
wherein in the temperature coefficient inverting circuit, an inverting input (Natsumida, Fig. 1, see negative input of 51) of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to one end of a feedback resistor and one end of a gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between negative input of 51, feedback resistor 54, and gain resistor 52), an output of the operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an opposite end of the feedback resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 51 and feedback resistor 54), an output of the first temperature coefficient circuit is connected to an opposite end of the gain resistor (Fig. 1, see connection between output of 4 and gain resistor 52 via resistors 3, 42, and 44), and the feedback resistor and the gain resistor have substantially same resistance values (Page 1, lines 37-40), but fails to disclose a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit.
However, Takashi teaches a non-inverting input of an operational amplifier configuring the temperature coefficient inverting circuit (Takashi, Fig. 1, 2a) is connected to an input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain, or an output of another amplifier circuit (Fig. 1, see connection between 2a and VI).
Natsumida, Angelici, and Takashi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Takashi to couple the positive input of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit of Natsumida to the input of the circuit of Natsumida, which would have the effect of providing a non-inverting amplifier.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sobukawa (Patent Publication Number US 2013/0057341 A1), hereafter referred to as Sobukawa.
Regarding claim 18, Natsumida further discloses:
A circuit (Natsumida, Fig. 1) for generating a voltage with a variable temperature coefficient (Page 1, line 1), which becomes a reference potential at a reference temperature (Page 1, lines 10-13), by: using the amplifier circuit with the variable temperature coefficient of the gain according to Claim 1 (see above) in which the second signal is set to an output of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit (Fig. 1, see signal VB at output of circuit 5), and the variable resistor is connected between the second signal and the third signal (Fig. 1, see variable resistor 6 between signals VB and VA), which have temperature coefficients of an amplification factor different from each other (Page 2, lines 4-6), and applying a direct voltage to the input of the amplifier circuit with a variable temperature coefficient of a gain (Fig. 1, see input voltage source 1), but fails to disclose a third signal is set to a signal in which a polarity of the output of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is inverted, or a reference potential.
However Sobukawa teaches a third signal is set to a signal in which a polarity of the output of the temperature coefficient inverting circuit is inverted, or a reference potential (Sobukawa, Fig. 5F, see output of amplifier U3 forms Vout with node coupled to a reference potential).
Natsumida and Sobukawa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Sobukawa to couple the variable resistor of Natsumida to a signal from a reference potential, which would have the effect of providing an amplifying circuit that can suppress offset error and temperature drift (Sobukawa, Paragraph 133, lines 9-13).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsumida in view of Sobukawa as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Shi.
Regarding claim 20, Natsumida and Sobukawa fail to disclose:
A circuit using the circuit for generating the voltage with the variable temperature coefficient, which becomes the reference potential at the reference temperature, according to Claim 18, the circuit being configured: to apply an output of the circuit for generating a voltage with a variable temperature coefficient to an input of another amplifier circuit, and to compensate for a temperature drift of the other amplifier circuit.
However, Shi teaches [a] circuit using the circuit for generating the voltage with the variable temperature coefficient, which becomes the reference potential at the reference temperature (Shi, Fig. 7), according to Claim 18 (see above), the circuit being configured: to apply an output of the circuit for generating a voltage with a variable temperature coefficient to an input of another amplifier circuit (Shi, Fig. 7, see connection between voltage generating circuit 2051 and 2052), and to compensate for a temperature drift of the other amplifier circuit (Shi, Page 10, Paragraph 6, lines 7-12).
Natsumida, Sobukawa, and Shi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Natsumida to incorporate the teachings of Shi to include the voltage generating circuit of Shi in the circuit of Natsumida, which would have the effect of enabling temperature drift compensation (Shi, Page 10, Paragraph 6, lines 9-12)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Satoh (Patent Number US 5,387,879 A) discloses (Fig. 2) a switchable attenuation resistor.
Oguchi et al. (Patent Number US 4,352,053 A) discloses (Fig. 10) a temperature compensation circuit with variable resistors.
Carter et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2016/0099694 A1) discloses (Fig. 4F) a switchable attenuation resistor.
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843