DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 10/22/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, and 9 are amended. Claims 11-20 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. (US 20210135935 A1, hereinafter “Krishnamurthy”), in view of Kapadekar et al. (US 20070093243 A1, hereinafter “Kapadekar”).
RE Claim 1, Krishnamurthy discloses:
A device information processing system (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22), comprising:
a server (Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations of the NMS, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28); and
a device information processing apparatus (Control Unit of the NMS comprises a User and Network Interface Module, Configuration Module, and Management Module. ¶¶0038-0039, 0045-0046 Fig. 2: 32, 38, 26, 24), wherein
the server includes processing circuitry (Server is part of the NMS. Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28; User and Network Interface Module, Configuration Module, and Management Module. ¶¶0038-0039, 0045-0046 Fig. 2: 32, 38, 26, 24; Modules may be implemented as hardware units, software/firmware, or a combination. ¶0041; Methods described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware or a combination thereof. ¶0070) configured to
acquire a plurality of pieces of device identification information (Device ID stored in NMS memory may be an alphanumeric identifier such as 39f5bb9f-be78-4097-b725. ¶0034; NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046), the device identification information including (1) an individual identification code (Configuration database includes information indicating device identifiers such as MAC address, unique individual identifier for a specific device. ¶0046), which is unique to a device (Configuration database includes information indicating device identifiers such as MAC address, unique individual identifier for a specific device. ¶0046), and (2) a piece of class identification information (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046), which identifies a class identification code (Activation configuration may be a type-length-value, TLV, for vendor specific attributes, class identification code. ¶0030; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033), which is unique to a device class (Device ID may be unique to the bulk activation configuration, but not unique to any network device with the bulk activation configuration. Each network device having the bulk activation configuration may have the same device ID that identifies it as having the bulk activation configuration, a device class. ¶0033; The device ID may be an alphanumeric identifier, such as 39f5bb9f-be78-4097-b725. ¶0034), and
transmit the plurality of pieces of the device identification information to the device information processing apparatus (Management module receives configuration instructions for a set of managed network devices from a user interface. ¶0045; NMS may receive a device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, indicative of network devices. ¶0063; NMS receives input via network interface that connects to the network of devices. Control unit which includes the management module of the NMS receives requests, determines other network devices to determine bulk activation configurations. ¶0044, 0059, Fig. 4), and
the device information processing apparatus includes processing circuitry (User and Network Interface Module, Configuration Module, and Management Module. ¶¶0038-0039, 0045-0046 Fig. 2: 32, 38, 26, 24; Modules may be implemented as hardware units, software/firmware, or a combination. ¶0041) configured to
receive the plurality of pieces of the device identification information from the server (Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28; ),
acquire, from among the plurality of pieces of the device identification information received from the server, a first piece of the device identification information that fulfills a condition (NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices. ¶0063),
acquire a first class identification code that is identified by the first piece of the class identification information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033), and
acquire one or more configuration entries of a device corresponding to the first class identification code using the acquired first class identification code (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033).
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
extract a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information,
However, Kapadekar discloses:
extract a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046)
RE Claim 2, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing system, wherein
the processing circuitry of the server is further configured to store, in a memory, relation between:
a bulk identification code, which identifies a plurality of devices that is introduced in a lump (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Device ID stored in NMS memory may be an alphanumeric identifier such as 39f5bb9f-be78-4097-b725. ¶0034;), and
another plurality of pieces of the device identification information (Management module receives configuration instructions for a set of managed network devices from a user interface. ¶0045; NMS may receive a device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, indicative of network devices. ¶0063; NMS receives input via network interface that connects to the network of devices. Control unit which includes the management module of the NMS receives requests, determines other network devices to determine bulk activation configurations. ¶0044, 0059, Fig. 4),
the processing circuitry of the device information processing apparatus is configured to receive a first bulk identification code (Management module receives configuration instructions for a set of managed network devices from a user interface. ¶0045; NMS may receive a device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, indicative of network devices. ¶0063; NMS receives input via network interface that connects to the network of devices. Control unit which includes the management module of the NMS receives requests, determines other network devices to determine bulk activation configurations. ¶0044, 0059, Fig. 4), and
the condition is that the first piece of the device identification information corresponds to the first bulk identification code (NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices. ¶0063).
RE Claim 3, Krishnamurthy discloses:
A device information processing apparatus (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22) comprising:
processing circuitry Modules may be implemented as hardware units, software/firmware, or a combination. ¶0041;) configured to
access a first database (Server is part of the NMS. Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28;), which stores relation between (1) a bulk identification code, which identifies a plurality of devices that is introduced in a lump (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Device ID stored in NMS memory may be an alphanumeric identifier such as 39f5bb9f-be78-4097-b725. ¶0034;), and (2) a plurality of pieces of device identification information, each of which includes (a) an individual identification code, which is unique to each of the introduced devices (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046), and (b) a piece of class identification information, which identifies a class identification code, which is unique to a device class (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046;);
receive a first bulk identification code (Management module receives configuration instructions for a set of managed network devices from a user interface. ¶0045; NMS may receive a device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, indicative of network devices. ¶0063; NMS receives input via network interface that connects to the network of devices. Control unit which includes the management module of the NMS receives requests, determines other network devices to determine bulk activation configurations. ¶0044, 0059, Fig. 4);
acquire, from among the plurality of pieces of the device identification information in the first database (Server is part of the NMS. Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28;), a first piece of the device identification information that corresponds to the first bulk identification code (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033;);
acquire a first class identification code that is identified by the first piece of the class identification information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033); and
acquire one or more configuration entries of a device corresponding to the first class identification codes using the acquired first class identification code (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033).
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
extract a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information,
However, Kapadekar discloses:
extract a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046),
RE Claim 4, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing apparatus (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22), wherein
the first piece of the device identification information is selected from the plurality of pieces of the device identification information by a user (Administrator, a user, interacts with the NMS by GUI or other interfaces. ¶0022, Fig. 1:12, 10; Administrators uses NMS to configure, select, network devices to specify certain operational characteristics, e.g. specify for a device, device identification. ¶0024; NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033), and
the processing circuitry is further configured to:
acquire a piece of functionality information of the device from a second database (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like, functionality information. ¶0046;), which stores relation between the first class identification code and the piece of the functionality information of the device (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices, a relationship. ¶0063); and
output data of a window showing at least one of the one or more configuration entries of the device based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 5, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing apparatus, wherein
the processing circuitry is further configured to output data of a window showing all the configuration entries of the one or more configuration entries, based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 6, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing apparatus, wherein
the processing circuitry is further configured to output data of a window showing configuration entries common to all the devices, each of which corresponds to each piece of the device identification information, based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 9, Krishnamurthy discloses:
A device information processing method comprising:
accessing a first database (Server is part of the NMS. Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28;), which stores relation between (1) a bulk identification code, which identifies a plurality of devices that is introduced in a lump (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Device ID stored in NMS memory may be an alphanumeric identifier such as 39f5bb9f-be78-4097-b725. ¶0034;), and (2) a plurality of pieces of device identification information, each of which includes (a) an individual identification code, which is unique to each of the introduced devices (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046), and (b) a piece of class identification information, which identifies a class identification code, which is unique to a device class (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046;);
receiving a first bulk identification code (Management module receives configuration instructions for a set of managed network devices from a user interface. ¶0045; NMS may receive a device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, indicative of network devices. ¶0063; NMS receives input via network interface that connects to the network of devices. Control unit which includes the management module of the NMS receives requests, determines other network devices to determine bulk activation configurations. ¶0044, 0059, Fig. 4);
acquiring, using processing circuitry, from among the plurality of pieces of the device identification information in the first database (Server is part of the NMS. Configuration database and records of bulk activation configurations, a server. ¶0046, Fig. 2: 40, 28;), a first piece of the device identification information that corresponds to the first bulk identification code (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033;);
acquiring, using the processing circuitry, a first class identification code that is identified by the first piece of the class identification information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033); and
acquiring, using the processing circuitry, one or more configuration entries of a device corresponding to the first class identification codes using the acquired first class identification code (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033).
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
extracting, using the processing circuitry, a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information;
However, Kapadekar discloses:
extracting, using the processing circuitry, a first piece of the class identification information from a subset of the individual identification code of the first piece of the device identification information (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046);
RE Claim 10, Krishnamurthy discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having recorded thereon a program that causes a computer to execute the device information processing method (¶¶0008-0009, 00420043, Fig. 2).
RE Claim 7, Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
The device information processing apparatus, wherein
the window further shows a candidate setting value for each of the one or more configuration entries in response to the candidate setting value being predefined.
However, Kapadekar discloses:
The device information processing apparatus, wherein
the window further shows a candidate setting value for each of the one or more configuration entries in response to the candidate setting value being predefined (Device Management System, DMS, supports management includes configure or reconfigure of devices. ¶0052, Fig. 2:105; Management of firmware and parameter initialization, predefined values, and update to a plurality of devices. ¶0043; DMS employs a user interface comprising a number of screen related to operations of the DMS. ¶0065; User bulk interface screen used in selecting devices for bulk queries and updates. ¶0092, Fig. 7A, 7B, 7C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, use of bulk activation configurations based on device attributes , with the teachings of Kapadekar, a user interface to support bulk activation process for configuration and monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008, 0013, 0043-0046)
RE Claim 8, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing apparatus, wherein
the processing circuitry is further configured to:
acquire a piece of functionality information of the device from a second database (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like, functionality information. ¶0046;), which stores relation between the first class identification code and the piece of the functionality information of the device (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices, a relationship. ¶0063);
receive a setting value for the one or more configuration entries corresponding to the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device Management System, DMS, supports management includes configure or reconfigure of devices. ¶0052, Fig. 2:105; Management of firmware and parameter initialization, predefined values, and update to a plurality of devices. ¶0043;); and
store, in a memory, relation between the acquired setting value for the one or more configuration entries and the first bulk identification code (Device management server includes a Configuration manager component. ¶0400; Configuration manager provides central source for setting and retrieving system parameters, database. Configuration data maintained as a set of name/value pairs, a relationship, within device management database and in memory. ¶0472).
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
receive a setting value for the one or more configuration entries corresponding to the acquired piece of the functionality information;
However, Kapadekar discloses:
receive a setting value for the one or more configuration entries corresponding to the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device Management System, DMS, supports management includes configure or reconfigure of devices. ¶0052, Fig. 2:105; Management of firmware and parameter initialization, predefined values, and update to a plurality of devices. ¶0043;);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Krishnamurthy, use of bulk activation configurations based on device attributes , with the teachings of Kapadekar, setting and retrieving system parameters.
The motivation in doing so would be to support additional granularity of device parameter setting to further configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008, 0013, 0043-0046)
RE Claim 11, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing system (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22), wherein:
the one or more configuration entries and at least one piece of functionality information of the device from a database are acquired by the server including the processing circuitry (Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021), the one or more configuration entries and the at least one piece of functionality information are correlated (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021), and
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (1) the individual identification code, which is unique to the device, and (2) the piece of class identification information, which identifies the class identification code, which is unique to the device class,
the first piece of the device identification information further comprises the device-specific serial number that fulfills the condition,
the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number,
the server including the processing circuitry outputs data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of information.
However, Kapadekar discloses:
the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (1) the individual identification code, which is unique to the device (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b), and (2) the piece of class identification information, which identifies the class identification code, which is unique to the device class (Partial values for IMEI, e.g. the first six digits that contain the TAC field. ¶0099; The TAC is the first six digits of the IMEI and specifies the device type, class, for make, model, manufacturer. ¶0121),
the first piece of the device identification information further comprises the device-specific serial number that fulfills the condition (Bulk submission configuration includes Job ID and device information including IMEI, includes a device-specific serial number. ¶0136, Fig. 9C; Job ID, a bulk configuration code, assigned to all tasks created for the bulk job operation. ¶0115, Fig. 9A),
the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13),
the server including the processing circuitry outputs data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of information (UI bulk selection detail screen provides detailed device information for the device categories, such as manufacturer, model, firmware versions source/target, MSISDN, and IMEI. ¶0096. Fig. 8A, 8B; Functionality information interpreted as identified by make, model, and firmware version of a device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification and provide a corresponding user interface.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, with a device management system that includes a user interface for an operator to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046, 0096, Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8A, 8B)
RE Claim 12, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing system (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22), wherein:
the first piece of the device identification information is selected from the plurality of pieces of the device identification information by a user (Administrator, a user, interacts with the NMS by GUI or other interfaces. ¶0022, Fig. 1:12, 10; Administrators uses NMS to configure, select, network devices to specify certain operational characteristics, e.g. specify for a device, device identification. ¶0024; NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033), and
the processing circuitry is further configured to:
acquire a piece of functionality information of the device from a second database (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like, functionality information. ¶0046;), which stores relation between the first class identification code and the piece of the functionality information of the device (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices, a relationship. ¶0063); and
output data of a window showing at least one of the one or more configuration entries of the device based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 13, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing system,
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output data of a window showing all the configuration entries of the one or more configuration entries, based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 14, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing system,
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output data of a window showing configuration entries common to all the devices, each of which corresponds to each piece of the device identification information, based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 15, Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
The device information processing system, wherein the window further shows a candidate setting value for each of the one or more configuration entries in response to the candidate setting value being predefined.
However, Kapadekar discloses:
The device information processing system, wherein the window further shows a candidate setting value for each of the one or more configuration entries in response to the candidate setting value being predefined (Device Management System, DMS, supports management includes configure or reconfigure of devices. ¶0052, Fig. 2:105; Management of firmware and parameter initialization, predefined values, and update to a plurality of devices. ¶0043; DMS employs a user interface comprising a number of screen related to operations of the DMS. ¶0065; User bulk interface screen used in selecting devices for bulk queries and updates. ¶0092, Fig. 7A, 7B, 7C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, use of bulk activation configurations based on device attributes , with the teachings of Kapadekar, a user interface to support bulk activation process for configuration and monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008, 0013, 0043-0046)
RE Claim 16, Krishnamurthy discloses
The device information processing system, wherein
the processing circuitry is further configured to:
acquire a piece of functionality information of the device from a second database (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like, functionality information. ¶0046;), which stores relation between the first class identification code and the piece of the functionality information of the device (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices, a relationship. ¶0063);
and
store, in a memory, relation between the acquired setting value for the one or more configuration entries and the first bulk identification code (Device management server includes a Configuration manager component. ¶0400; Configuration manager provides central source for setting and retrieving system parameters, database. Configuration data maintained as a set of name/value pairs, a relationship, within device management database and in memory. ¶0472).
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
receive a setting value for the one or more configuration entries corresponding to the acquired piece of the functionality information;
However, Kapadekar discloses:
receive a setting value for the one or more configuration entries corresponding to the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device Management System, DMS, supports management includes configure or reconfigure of devices. ¶0052, Fig. 2:105; Management of firmware and parameter initialization, predefined values, and update to a plurality of devices. ¶0043;);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Krishnamurthy, use of bulk activation configurations based on device attributes , with the teachings of Kapadekar, setting and retrieving system parameters.
The motivation in doing so would be to support additional granularity of device parameter setting to further configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008, 0013, 0043-0046)
RE Claim 17, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing apparatus (Network management system, NMS, for devices includes a Control Unit, device information processing. ¶0038, Fig. 2: 10, 22), wherein:
the one or more configuration entries and at least one piece of functionality information of the device from a database are acquired by the processing circuitry (Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021), the one or more configuration entries and the at least one piece of functionality information are correlated (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021), and
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (1) the individual identification code, which is unique to the device, and (2) the piece of class identification information, which identifies the class identification code, which is unique to the device class,
the first piece of the device identification information further comprises the device-specific serial number that corresponds to the first bulk identification code,
the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number,
the processing circuitry outputs data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of functionality information.
However, Kapadekar discloses: the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (1) the individual identification code, which is unique to the device (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b), and (2) the piece of class identification information, which identifies the class identification code, which is unique to the device class (Partial values for IMEI, e.g. the first six digits that contain the TAC field. ¶0099; The TAC is the first six digits of the IMEI and specifies the device type, class, for make, model, manufacturer. ¶0121),
the first piece of the device identification information further comprises the device-specific serial number that corresponds to the first bulk identification code (Bulk submission configuration includes Job ID and device information including IMEI, includes a device-specific serial number. ¶0136, Fig. 9C; Job ID, a bulk configuration code, assigned to all tasks created for the bulk job operation. ¶0115, Fig. 9A),
the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13),
the processing circuitry outputs data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of functionality information (UI bulk selection detail screen provides detailed device information for the device categories, such as manufacturer, model, firmware versions source/target, MSISDN, and IMEI. ¶0096. Fig. 8A, 8B; Functionality information interpreted as identified by make, model, and firmware version of a device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification and provide a corresponding user interface.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, with a device management system that includes a user interface for an operator to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046, 0096, Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8A, 8B)
RE Claim 18, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing method, further comprising:
selecting the first piece of the device identification information from the plurality of pieces of the device identification information by a user (Administrator, a user, interacts with the NMS by GUI or other interfaces. ¶0022, Fig. 1:12, 10; Administrators uses NMS to configure, select, network devices to specify certain operational characteristics, e.g. specify for a device, device identification. ¶0024; NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033); acquiring, using the processing circuitry, a piece of functionality information of the device from a second database (NMS configuration database information indicating device identifiers (such as MAC and/or IP addresses), device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like, functionality information. ¶0046;), which stores a relation between the first class identification code and the piece of the functionality information of the device (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; NMS compares device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, ID for a group of devices, with device ID stored in the record, part of the configuration database/server, associated with the bulk activation configuration. Determination made if a device is one of N network devices, a relationship. ¶0063); and outputting data of a window showing at least one of the one or more configuration entries of the device based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 19, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing method, further comprising:
outputting data of a window showing all the configuration entries of the one or more configuration entries, based on the acquired piece of the functionality information (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021).
RE Claim 20, Krishnamurthy discloses:
The device information processing method according, wherein:
the method further comprising:
acquiring one or more configuration entries and at least one piece of functionality information of the device from a database (Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033; Admins interact with NMS to locally or remotely monitor, ¶0003, and configure any network device, view configuration data of network devices, modify configurations, add or remote devices, or otherwise manipulate the enterprise network, output of data and input of commands. ¶0021), wherein the one or more configuration entries and the at least one piece of functionality information are correlated to the first class identification code (Configuration database includes device identifiers such as device type, device vendor, devices species (e.g., router, switch, bridge, hub, etc.), or the like and the current configuration information for the managed devices, class identification information. ¶0046; Device ID, a bulk activation configuration code, based on the device identifiers, indicates a network device being one of N number of network devices associated with a bulk activation configuration. ¶0033);
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly disclose:
the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (a) the individual identification code and (b) the piece of class identification information, and the acquiring of the first piece of the device identification information and the extracting of the first piece of the class identification information are based on the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number, and wherein the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number,
and outputting data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of functionality information.
However, Kapadekar discloses:
the device identification information further comprises a device-specific serial number that includes (a) the individual identification code and (b) the piece of class identification information (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Partial values for IMEI, e.g. the first six digits that contain the TAC field. ¶0099; The TAC is the first six digits of the IMEI and specifies the device type, class, for make, model, manufacturer. ¶0121), and the acquiring of the first piece of the device identification information and the extracting of the first piece of the class identification information are based on the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13; The TAC is the first six digits of the IMEI and specifies the device type, class, for make, model, manufacturer. ¶0121), and wherein the first piece of the class identification information is extracted from the subset of the individual identification code within the first piece of the device identification information comprising the device-specific serial number (An up-to-date mobile device data (IMEI – includes a device specific serial number, and MMV), individual identification code, in its database. The device detail display for that subset of the mobile device collection ¶0108, Fig. 8a, 8b; Device status may be reduced to show specific details for any combination of manufacturer, model, starting version, ending version, IMEI, MSISDN, and job status. Partial values may be supported for IMEI (e.g., TAC field), a subset of the individual identification code, and MSISDN (e.g., country and/or area code). ¶0176, Fig. 13; The TAC is the first six digits of the IMEI and specifies the device type, class, for make, model, manufacturer. ¶0121),
and outputting data of a configuration guide window showing the one or more configuration entries based on the acquired at least one piece of functionality information (UI bulk selection detail screen provides detailed device information for the device categories, such as manufacturer, model, firmware versions source/target, MSISDN, and IMEI. ¶0096. Fig. 8A, 8B; Functionality information interpreted as identified by make, model, and firmware version of a device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnamurthy, collection and exchange of various device identifying information, with the teachings of Kapadekar, extract device information to sort and organize into various subsets for group identification and provide a corresponding user interface.
The motivation in doing so would be to support efficient automated process, over a tedious manual method, with a device management system that includes a user interface for an operator to configure multiple devices in a set associated by their attributes to enable a bulk activation configuration to those selected devices. (Krishnamurthy: ¶¶0003-0005, 0008, 0015; Kapadekar: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0012, 0013, 0043-0046, 0096, Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8A, 8B)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 9, and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419