Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu CN112445000 in view of Jia US20200313299.
With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses a virtual reality device [paragraph n0002 and Figs. 1 and 16], comprising: a main body portion, having a first side eyeglass frame (120 – left/right side of 110), a second side eyeglass frame (120 – left/right side of 110), and a connection part 110 configured to connect the first side eyeglass frame and the second side eyeglass frame; a plurality of first-type antennas [Figs. 1 and 16 - a portion of the plurality of antenna array elements on either leg 120 or the connection part 110]; and a plurality of second-type antennas, wherein the plurality of second-type antennas and the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the plurality of second-type antennas are disposed on a first side of the first side eyeglass frame, on a second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and on the connection part, and each of the first side of the first side eyeglass frame, the second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and the connection part has at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas and at least one of the plurality of first- type antennas corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas corresponds to one of the plurality of first-type antennas, and the first side of the first side eyeglass frame is opposite to the second side of the second side eyeglass frame [paragraph n0031; Figs. 1 and 16 - a portion of the plurality of antenna array elements on the right leg 120, left leg 120, and the connection part 110]. Liu fails to disclose wherein one of the plurality of second-type antennas is a portion of a radiation element of one of the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the one of the plurality of second- type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas is electrically isolated from each of the plurality of first-type antennas.
Jia discloses a second-type antenna 231,233 is a portion of a radiation element of a first-type antenna 231,233 corresponding to the second- type antenna, wherein the second-type antennas is electrically isolated from the first-type antenna [paragraph 45 and Fig. 2-3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Jia into the device of Liu to improve bandwidth performance and smaller footprint as taught by Jia [paragraph 48].
With respect to claim 9, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein each of the plurality of first-type antennas is disposed on a first surface of the carrier [Figs. 1 and 16], and each of the plurality of second-type antennas is overlapped with one portion of each of the plurality of first-type antennas [folded state – the antenna elements in the legs/arms would overlap] and is electrically isolated from each of the plurality of first-type antennas [paragraph n0005 stop operating in the folded state].
With respect to claim 12, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein one of the plurality of first-type antennas and a corresponding second-type antenna of the plurality of second-type antennas are disposed on a periphery of the first side eyeglass frame and surround the first side eyeglass frame, and another of the plurality of first-type antennas and another corresponding second-type antenna of the plurality of second-type antennas are disposed on a periphery of the second side eyeglass frame, surround the second side eyeglass frame, and are physically isolated from the one of the plurality of first-type antennas and the corresponding second-type antenna of the plurality of second-type antennas disposed on the periphery of the first side eyeglass frame [Fig. 16 Liu].
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods JR US20220155604 in view of Jia US20200313299.
With respect to claim 1, Woods JR discloses a virtual reality device [Fig. 3 and paragraph 4], comprising: a main body portion, having a first side eyeglass frame [left/right side of 130c], a second side eyeglass frame [left/right side of 130c], and a connection part 130c configured to connect the first side eyeglass frame and the second side eyeglass frame; a plurality of first-type antennas 130a, 130b, 130c, and/or 130n [paragraph 39]; and a plurality of second-type antennas 130a, 130b, 130c, and/or 130n [paragraph 39], wherein the plurality of second-type antennas and the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the plurality of second-type antennas are disposed on a first side of the first side eyeglass frame, on a second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and on the connection part, and the first side of the first side eyeglass frame, the second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and the connection part has at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas and at least one of the plurality of first- type antennas corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas corresponds to one of the plurality of first-type antennas, and the first side of the first side eyeglass frame is opposite to the second side of the second side eyeglass frame [Fig 3 and paragraphs 39-42 and 79].
Woods JR fails to disclose wherein one of the plurality of second-type antennas is a portion of a radiation element of one of the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the one of the plurality of second- type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas is electrically isolated from each of the plurality of first-type antennas.
Jia discloses a second-type antenna 231,233 is a portion of a radiation element of a first-type antenna 231,233 corresponding to the second- type antenna, wherein the second-type antennas is electrically isolated from the first-type antenna [paragraph 45 and Fig. 2-3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Jia into the device of Woods JR to improve bandwidth performance and smaller footprint as taught by Jia [paragraph 48].
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US20160204839in view of Jia US20200313299.
With respect to claim 1, Liu et al. discloses a virtual reality device [paragraph 14 and Fig. 2], comprising: a main body portion, having a first side eyeglass frame [left/right side of 208], a second side eyeglass frame [left/right side of 208], and a connection part 208 configured to connect the first side eyeglass frame and the second side eyeglass frame [paragraph 0003]; a plurality of first-type antennas 104, 108, and/or 110 [paragraphs 19-20]; and a plurality of second-type antennas 104, 108, and/or 110 [paragraphs 19-20], wherein the plurality of second-type antennas and the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the plurality of second-type antennas are disposed on a first side of the first side eyeglass frame, on a second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and on the connection part, and the first side of the first side eyeglass frame, the second side of the second side eyeglass frame, and the connection part has at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas and at least one of the plurality of first- type antennas corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of second-type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas corresponds to one of the plurality of first-type antennas, and the first side of the first side eyeglass frame is opposite to the second side of the second side eyeglass frame [Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 26, 28, 30, and 39].
Liu et al. fails to disclose wherein one of the plurality of second-type antennas is a portion of a radiation element of one of the plurality of first-type antennas corresponding to the one of the plurality of second- type antennas, wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas is electrically isolated from each of the plurality of first-type antennas.
Jia discloses a second-type antenna 231,233 is a portion of a radiation element of a first-type antenna 231,233 corresponding to the second- type antenna, wherein the second-type antennas is electrically isolated from the first-type antenna [paragraph 45 and Fig. 2-3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Jia into the device of Liu et al. to improve bandwidth performance and smaller footprint as taught by Jia [paragraph 48].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu CN 112445000 and Jia US20200313299 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allin et al. US20200241611.
With respect to claim 3, Liu, as modified above, discloses the device as recited above in claim 1. Liu further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first-type antennas is coupled to a mainboard through a connector [paragraph n0059], and the virtual reality device further comprises: a radio frequency signal processing circuit 143, disposed on the mainboard and electrically coupled to each of the plurality of second-type antennas through a conductive wire [Fig. 10]. Liu fails to disclose a heat dissipation device.
Allin et al. discloses a heat dissipation device [paragraphs 11 and 24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Allin et al. into the device of Liu to prevent overheat thus improving performance as implied by Allin et al..
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu CN 112445000, Jia US20200313299, and Allin et al. US20200241611 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Liu et al. US20160204839.
With respect to claim 4, Liu, as modified above, discloses the device as recited above in claim 3. Liu, as modified above, fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of first-type antennas transmits and receives a first-type radio frequency signal through the connector.
Liu et al., in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein each of the plurality of first-type antennas transmits and receives a first-type radio frequency signal through the connector [paragraph 17, 19, and 28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Liu et al. into the device of Liu to improve communication data rates as implied by Liu et al..
With respect to claim 5, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein each of the plurality of second-type antennas transmits and receives a second-type radio frequency signal through the conductive wire and the radio frequency signal processing circuit [paragraph 17, 19, and 28 Liu et al.].
With respect to claim 6, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein a working frequency band of the first-type radio frequency signal is different from a working frequency band of the second-type radio frequency signal [paragraphs 5 and 13 Liu et al.].
With respect to claim 7, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein each of the plurality of first-type antennas and each of the plurality of second-type antennas are respectively coupled to two independent signal sources [paragraphs 37 and 42 Liu et al.].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu CN 112445000 and Jia US20200313299 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tellez US11342671.
With respect to claim 10, Liu, as modified above, discloses the device as recited above in claim 9. Liu fails to disclose wherein at least one slot is formed on each of the plurality of first-type antennas disposed on the first surface of the carrier, and the at least one slot is configured to divide each of the plurality of first-type antennas into a plurality of parts.
Tellez discloses wherein at least one slot is formed on each of the plurality of first-type antennas disposed on the first surface of the carrier [either the spacing between 401 and 409 or reference numeral 411], and the at least one slot is configured to divide each of the plurality of first-type antennas into a plurality of parts [Figs. 4 and 6]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Tellez into the device of Liu to improve the performance of the antenna as implied by Tellez.
With respect to claim 11, Liu, as modified above, discloses wherein the plurality of parts of each of the plurality of first-type antennas respectively have different lengths [Figs. 4 and 6; and Col. 17, Lines 49+ Tellez].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jia US20200335869 shows a stacked antenna (Fig. 1)
Stanley et al. US20210313703 shows a stacked antenna (Fig. 4)
Lee US20220013911 shows a stacked antenna (Fig. 1)
So et al. US20220123479 shows a stacked antenna (Fig. 1)
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845