Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on February 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the This is not found persuasive because the properties and parameters in claims 9-16 may be found in batteries and electrodes that are commonly made with processes that are completely different than the method .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonchev (US 2013/0176699 A1) and further in view of Nowak (US 6025110 A).
Regarding claim 17, Tonchev discloses a method [0012] comprising forming a composition (i.e. the claimed donor material that forms a donor layer) on a transparent support ([0016], [0054], and [0078]) wherein the composition is adjacent and spaced apart from a receiving substrate ([0016] and [0051]). A laser beam, having a wavelength between 800 nm and 2000 nm [0077], then passes through the transparent support (transparent to 800-2000 nm light; [0078]) to eject portions of the composition to contact the receiving substrate [0050] and form a printed object [0073]. This printed object may form the claimed solid body with a multilayered structure [0073].
Tonchev teaches that a lithium-ion battery may be formed using their deposition method where the solid body may comprise a transition metal oxide [0096], a well-known electrode active material. Tonchev also teaches that the receiving substrate may be a metal foil [0032], and metal foils are well-known within the art to be current collectors. See MPEP 2144.03. Therefore, Tonchev teaches that their deposition method may deposit a coating comprising active material onto a current collector, forming an electrode.
Tonchev fails to teach the usage of processor to direct the laser beam. Nowak is analogous art to Tonchev because both teach the usage of lasers to irradiate a substrate which then causes material to be ejected from that substrate (Tonchev, abstract; Nowak, abstract). Nowak a controller of a laser that accurately tracks the two-dimensional position of the laser as it irradiates the transfer carrier to eject transfer material onto a receiver (abstract; column 4, lines 47-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Novak’s controller in Tonchev’s system to ensure that the laser is irradiating the appropriate position of the transparent support to achieve the desired ejection/deposition.
Regarding claim 18, Tonchev discloses a printed object (the claimed solid body) that is one of a plurality of spaced apart solid bodies on a receiving substrate as seen in the annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 19, by placing printed bodies in multiple locations (Fig. 1 above), Tonchev segments the solid body into more than one portion and the coating of the current collector comprises all of the printed bodies.
Regarding claim 20, Tonchev fails to explicitly disclose a step that comprises installing the formed electrode into a battery. Tonchev, however, teaches that electrodes formed using this deposition method may be used in lithium-ion batteries [0096]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that electrodes must be installed in a battery in order for that battery to function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to install Tonchev’s fabricated electrode into a battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fernandez-Pradas (Laser-Induced Forward Transfer: A Method for Printing Functional Inks) discusses applications of laser-induced forward transfer, the method used by the Applicant, in areas beyond electronics such as tissue engineering (Section 5: Printing of Functional Materials).
Serra (Laser-Induced Forward Transfer: Fundamentals and Applications) discusses the technique at length and relevant underlying scientific principles.
Germain (Electrodes for microfluidic devices produced by laser induced forward transfer) teaches gold-based electrodes that they created using laser-induced forward transfer.
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722