DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US 9,698,272, as cited by Applicant on 3/7/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda et al. teaches (Figure 21) a semiconductor device comprising: a channel 15 (Column 10, Line 48, "oxide semiconductor layer") filling a through via hole and including an oxide semiconductor; a first electrode 15-BL (Column 11, Line 17 - 20, "supplemental layer") disposed on the channel 15 and formed of a conductive oxide (also Column 3, Line 11 - 19); and a second electrode BL (Column 11, Line 40, "bit line") disposed on the first electrode 15-BL and formed of a metal (Column 5, Line 12 - 13); an insulating film 17-2 (Column 10, Line 23 -24, "interlayer insulating layer") disposed around the first electrode 15-BL, including the conductive oxide, and having insulating properties. Please note that "including the conductive oxide" appears to be in reference to "the first electrode" where 15-BL was shown to include conductive oxide in claim 1; the first electrode 15-BL and the insulating film 17-2 are disposed in one layer (Figure 21 shows them flush), and the channel 15 (Column 10, Line 48, "oxide semiconductor layer") and the insulating film insulating film 17-2 (Column 10, Line 23 -24, "interlayer insulating layer") are disposed in different layers.
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda et al. teaches that the first electrode has higher oxygen
permeability than the second electrode. The second electrode can be tungsten (Column 5, Line 12 - 13) which is known to have barrier properties.
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda et al. teaches that the first electrode (conductive oxide) and the insulating film (interlayer insulating layer) have higher oxygen permeability than the second electrode (tungsten).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda et al. teaches a semiconductor substrate 11; and a capacitor Cij (Column 10, Line 23) disposed on the semiconductor substrate and electrically connected to the channel.
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda et al. teaches an insulating film 17-1 disposed around the channel; a control electrode WL configured to generate an electric field in the channel; and a semiconductor element SA disposed on the semiconductor substrate and electrically connected to the control electrode WL (see also Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. in view of Lee (US 2005/0280123) and Saito et al. (US 2019/0237581).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda et al. does not teach that the insulating film further includes Mg, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, and Bi. Lee teaches that Bi can be included in an interlayer insulating layer (Paragraph 0043). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Bi in the insulating film of Ikeda et al. in the manner as taught by Lee since doing so may help prevent parasitic capacitance.
Ikeda et al. does not teach that the conductive oxide includes O, In, and Sn, however, Saito et al. teaches that a conductive oxide 19 can include O, In, and Sn (at least claim 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the conductive oxide of Ikeda et al. such that it contains O, In, and Sn, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. V. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), also see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, (1960)). Please also see MPEP $2144.07
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a device wherein the first electrode and the insulating film are disposed in one layer, and the channel and the insulating film are disposed in different layers.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ikeda et al. teaches (Figure 21) that the first electrode 15-BL and the insulating film 17-2 are disposed in one layer (Figure 21 shows them flush), and the channel 15 (Column 10, Line 48, "oxide semiconductor layer") and the insulating film insulating film 17-2 (Column 10, Line 23 -24, "interlayer insulating layer") are disposed in different layers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813