DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/24/2026.
It should be noted that this application has been transferred to another examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 12, the claim requires a second lens without having antecedent basis for a first lens. It is recommended to change the dependency of claim 12 from claim 6 to claim 7 in order to correct this issue.
Appropriate corrective action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (JP 2009133721 A – hereafter ‘721 with reference made to the enclosed machine translation) in view of Grinolds et al. (US 2015/0253355 A1 – hereafter ‘355).
‘721 discloses a scanning probe ([0001]) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A sample measurement apparatus for measuring a state of sample using a probe made of diamond or silicon carbide including a nitrogen-vacancy pair”: ‘721 discloses a sample measurement probe (probe 3; Fig. 1; [0002]; [0005]).
“an environment control mechanism configured to change the state of the sample by applying an external stimulus to the sample.”: ‘721 discloses a cover (cover 11; Fig. 1; [0007]) with a liquid discharge pipe (pipe 15; Fig. 1) that is being interpreted as the environmental control mechanism of the instant application and is the equivalent structure to the environmental control mechanism.
‘721 does not explicitly disclose the material used for the probe.
‘355 discloses a scanning probe (Abstract) that for claim 1 includes a probe made of diamond ([0019]). ‘355 also discloses that the probe has a nitrogen-vacancy defect center for the diamond probe ([0003]; [0070]). This diamond allows for the probe to be configured as an optical guide ([0086].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the diamond probe of ‘355 within ‘721 in order to sense the surface of a sample ([0010]). The suggestion for doing so a the time would have been in order to have the probe configured as an optical guide ([0086]).
For claim 2, ‘721 discloses a discharge pipe (pipe 15; [0007]) that is fully capable of determining a relative positional relation between the sample and the solution.
For claim 3, ‘721 discloses a liquid introduction pipe (pipe 14; Fig. 1; [0007]) that is fully capable to be inserted into the sample.
For claim 4, ‘721 discloses a discharge pipe (pipe 15; [0007]) that is fully capable of determining a relative positional relation between the sample and the solution. ‘721 further discloses a liquid introduction pipe (pipe 14; Fig. 1; [0007]) that is fully capable to be inserted into the sample. The liquid introduction pipe and the discharge pipe face each other at a predetermined angle with the probe (Fig. 1).
For claim 6, ‘721 discloses that the environmental control mechanism (liquid discharge port and liquid introduction port; ports 14 & 15; Fig. 1) are above the scanner (scanner 7 & 8; Fig. 1) where this scanner is being interpreted as the sample stage ([0006]; [0007]).
For claim 14, ‘721 does not explicitly disclose the radius of the probe.
For claim 14, ‘355 discloses that the nanopillar has a diameter of 100 to 300 nm which would have a radius less than 1 mm ([0019]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date using the same reasoning as claim 1.
For claim 16, ‘721 discloses a control device, but does not explicitly disclose that the control device analyzes the signal output and displays result.
For claim 16, ‘355 discloses a computer with a computer program that analyzes the day and is capable of displaying the results ([0100]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-11, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample measurement device that includes a sample stage configured to hold the sample, wherein the environment control mechanism includes a heater disposed inside the sample stage and configured to adjust a temperature of the sample, a flow path that is disposed inside the sample stage and through which a solution flows, and a pump configured to control a flow rate of the solution flowing through the flow path.
For claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample apparatus that includes at least a laser light source configured to excite the nitrogen-vacancy pair, a detector, and a first lens, wherein the laser light source, the detector, and the first lens are disposed below the sample stage.
Claim 8 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 7.
For claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample measurement apparatus where the sample stage is made of a material that transmits a laser light output from the laser light source, and the sample is irradiated with the laser light from a bottom surface of the sample stage.
Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 7.
For claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample measurement device that includes a probe has a length of 20 μm or more in an axial direction.
For claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample measurement apparatus where the probe has an axis perpendicular radius at a position of 100 nm from a tip of the probe which is equal to or less than a half of an axis perpendicular radius at a position of 1 μm from the tip.
The closest prior art is Kojima (JP 2009133721 A) discloses a sensor probe that includes a probe, a housing, an inlet tube and an outlet tube. However, Kojima does not disclose the limitations of claims 5, 7-11, 13 and 15.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a sample measurement device where a light source, a second lens, and a camera are disposed above the sample stage, illumination light emitted from the light source is emitted to the sample via the second lens, and fluorescence generated in the sample is imaged by the camera.
The closest prior art is Kojima (JP 2009133721 A) discloses a sensor probe that includes a probe, a housing, an inlet tube and an outlet tube. However, Kojima does not disclose the limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hollenberg et al. (US 2012/0019242 A1) discloses a sample monitoring device that monitors a property of a cell.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799