DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-17, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano (JP2019145628, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on March 7th, 2023)
Regarding Claim 1 & 15, Sano discloses an electrochemical apparatus (power storage device, [001]), comprising two electrode assemblies and a packaging shell, wherein the two electrode assemblies are respectively disposed in independent cavities in the packaging shell (electrode bodies-4a/4b are disposed in separate shells, Fig. 1, [0026]);
Each electrode assembly comprises two tabs with opposite polarities (), wherein at least one tab of one electrode assembly is connected to one of two tabs of the other electrode assembly, and orthographic projections of the two connection tabs along a seal thickness direction Z overlap to form a tab overlapping region (Fig. 1, tab-50a and tab-52b are of opposite polarity and overlap, [0037]); and
Sano does not directly disclose wherein the a ratio α of an overlapping width O1 of the two connected tabs to a width W1 of either of the two connected tabs satisfies 40%<α≤100%, wherein the overlapping width O1 is an overlapping width of the two connected tabs along a seal length direction X at an outer edge of a seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z; and the width W1 of the tab is a width of either of the two connected tabs along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein the a ratio α of an overlapping width O1 of the two connected tabs to a width W1 of either of the two connected tabs satisfies 40%<α≤100%, wherein the overlapping width O1 is an overlapping width of the two connected tabs along a seal length direction X at an outer edge of a seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z; and the width W1 of the tab is a width of either of the two connected tabs along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein a distance between the two connected tabs at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D5; and a connecting region forms between the two connected tabs, a tab length of each of the two connected tabs between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D6, and 0<D5/D6≤1.7.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the instant specifications, “connecting region” can be any arbitrary region the forms between the two connected tabs. Therefore, “a tab length of each of the two connected tabs connected between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell id D6” can be interpreted to be any length that starts from the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell to any arbitrary region that forms between the two connected tabs.
The examiner further notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein a distance between the two connected tabs at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D5; and a connecting region forms between the two connected tabs, a tab length of each of the two connected tabs between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D6, and 0<D5/D6≤1.7.
Regarding Claim 2 & 16, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses herein each of the two connected tabs is provided with a tab adhesive (sealing member-60 acts tab adhesive formed of good adhesion material, [0041], Fig. 2).
Sano does not directly disclose wherein along the seal length direction X at an outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell, the tab adhesive extends beyond two side of the tab provided with the tab adhesive by a shoulder with D2, and D2/W1 ≥ 1/60; wherein the shoulder width D2 of the tab adhesive is a distance by which a side of the tab adhesive exceeds an edge of the tab provided with the tab adhesive on a same side along the direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein along the seal length direction X at an outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell, the tab adhesive extends beyond two side of the tab provided with the tab adhesive by a shoulder with D2, and D2/W1 ≥ 1/60; wherein the shoulder width D2 of the tab adhesive is a distance by which a side of the tab adhesive exceeds an edge of the tab provided with the tab adhesive on a same side along the direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell.
Regarding Claim 3 & 17, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein orthographic projections of the tab adhesives on the two connected tabs along the seal thickness direction Z overlap to form a tab adhesive overlapping region, and a ratio β of an overlapping width O2 of the tab adhesives to a width W2 of either of the tab adhesives satisfies 40%<β≤100%, wherein the overlapping width O2 of the tab adhesives is an overlapping width of the tab adhesives along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z; and the width W2 of the tab adhesives is a width of either of the tab adhesives along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations, where these dimensions claimed are directly related to the thickness of the tab structures. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein orthographic projections of the tab adhesives on the two connected tabs along the seal thickness direction Z overlap to form a tab adhesive overlapping region, and a ratio β of an overlapping width O2 of the tab adhesives to a width W2 of either of the tab adhesives satisfies 40%<β≤100%, wherein the overlapping width O2 of the tab adhesives is an overlapping width of the tab adhesives along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z; and the width W2 of the tab adhesives is a width of either of the tab adhesives along the seal length direction X at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell viewed along the seal thickness direction Z.
Regarding Claim 5, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein 3 mm≤D6≤30 mm.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein 3 mm≤D6≤30 mm.
Regarding Claim 6, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano does not directly disclose wherein 0.1 mm<D5≤(H1+H2)/2+5 mm, wherein H1 and H2 are respective thicknesses of the two connecting electrode assemblies.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein 0.1 mm<D5≤(H1+H2)/2+5 mm, wherein H1 and H2 are respective thicknesses of the two connecting electrode assemblies.
Regarding Claim 7, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein an area S1 of the connecting region on each of the two connected tabs ranges from 1 mm2 to 200 mm2.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can range from 50 to 1000um ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein an area S1 of the connecting region on each of the two connected tabs ranges from 1 mm2 to 200 mm2.
Regarding Claim 8, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein in a direction in which the two connected tabs extend out of the packaging shell, a distance D1 by which the tab adhesive exceeds an upper edge of the packaging shell along a seal width direction Y satisfies 0.2 mm≤D1≤5 mm, a thickness of the tab adhesive D3 satisfies 0.1 mm≤D3≤3 mm, and a thickness of the tab D4 satisfies 0.2 mm≤D4≤5 mm.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can range from 50 to 1000um ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein in a direction in which the two connected tabs extend out of the packaging shell, a distance D1 by which the tab adhesive exceeds an upper edge of the packaging shell along a seal width direction Y satisfies 0.2 mm≤D1≤5 mm, a thickness of the tab adhesive D3 satisfies 0.1 mm≤D3≤3 mm, and a thickness of the tab D4 satisfies 0.2 mm≤D4≤5 mm.
Regarding Claim 9 & 19, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Sano does not directly disclose wherein 50%≤α≤100%.
However, the examiner notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations, where these dimensions claimed are directly related to the thickness of the tab structures. Furthermore, Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein 50%≤α≤100%.
Regarding Claim 10 & 20, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses wherein the two connected tabs are two tabs with opposite polarities ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses wherein the two tabs of the each electrode assembly protrude from the packaging shell in different directions (see 112b rejection above for interpretation, Fig. 1, show tab-50b and tab52a to protrude separate from the connected tabs, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses a partition plate sandwiched between the two electrode assemblies, wherein a thickness of the parit5ition plate ranges from 2 um to 100 um (partition wall-6, can range from 10 to 100 um, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses wherein a structure of each electrode assembly comprises at least one of a winding structure or a stacked structure (wound body, [0026]).
Regarding Claim 14, Sano discloses the limitations as set forth above. Sano further discloses wherein the packaging shell comprises at least one of an aluminum-plastic film, an aluminum shell, a steel shell, or a plastic shell (exterior body acting as packaging shell can be made of aluminum or stainless steel, [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed March 31st, 2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of Claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of Claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed March 31st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sano does provide enough disclosure for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention specially that Sano does not disclose wherein a distance between the two connected tabs at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D5; and a connecting region forms between the two connected tabs, a tab length of each of the two connected tabs between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D6, and 0<D5/D6≤1.7.
Applicant argues that Sano only discloses a general adjustment, and provides example 14 and comparative example 4 as evidence of criticality.
Sano discloses wherein the length and width of the current collector and the tabs can be adjusted ([0046]). Sano further discloses wherein the thickness of the leads can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0037]). Sano further discloses wherein the wall thickness of the exterior body can have a wide range of thicknesses ([0040]). Sano further discloses wherein the electrode bodies can have their lengths adjusted through adjusting the length and width of the active material and current collectors ([0046]).
Sano does not directly disclose wherein a distance between the two connected tabs at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D5; and a connecting region forms between the two connected tabs, a tab length of each of the two connected tabs between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D6, and 0<D5/D6≤1.7.
The examiner notes that the claim language requires that the D5 be between 0 and D6*1.7. which provides a large range of values that can satisfy the D5 claim distance limitation.
The examiner further notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the instant specifications, “connecting region” can be any arbitrary region the forms between the two connected tabs. Therefore, “a tab length of each of the two connected tabs connected between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell of D6” can be interpreted to be any length that starts from the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell to any arbitrary region that forms between the two connected tabs.
The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the length and thickness of the tabs and current collectors can be adjusted to achieve the claimed range of distances for D5 and D6.
The examiner further notes that these limitations are relative dimension limitations that are directly related to the thickness of the packaging shell and the tab thickness.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Sano to have wherein a distance between the two connected tabs at the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D5; and a connecting region forms between the two connected tabs, a tab length of each of the two connected tabs between the connecting region and the outer edge of the seal of the packaging shell is D6, and 0<D5/D6≤1.7.
Therefore, since a specific length of the D6 length that is utilized in example 14 and comparative example 4 is not directly claimed, and because the distance D5 claimed is a relatively large range, Sano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728