DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Correa et al. (US Pub. No. 20030056729).
Regarding claim 1, the Correa et al. (hereinafter Correa) reference discloses a transfer assembly (Fig. 43) comprising:
a distribution plate (746) having a first surface and a second surface (Fig. 43);
a projection (727) extending from the first surface and defining a throughhole (732) that extends through the distribution plate;
an egg picking pad (754) coupled to the projection, wherein the throughhole extends through the projection so as to be in fluid communication with the egg picking pad (Fig. 43); and
a flexible bellows (752) coupled to the second surface of the distribution plate (Fig. 43).
Regarding claim 2, the Correa reference discloses the egg picking pad comprises a sleeve (e.g. 730) that is configured to surround the projection.
Regarding claim 8, the Correa reference discloses a method of transporting eggs (e.g. Para. [0111]), the method comprising:
descending a transfer assembly to interact with an egg (Para. [0217]), the transfer assembly comprising:
a distribution plate (746) having a first surface and a second surface (Fig. 43);
a projection (727) extending from the first surface and defining a throughhole (732) that extends through the distribution plate;
an egg picking pad (754) coupled to the projection, wherein the throughhole extends through the projection so as to be in fluid communication with the egg picking pad (Fig. 43); and
a flexible bellows (752) coupled to the second surface of the distribution plate;
contacting the at least one egg picking pad with the egg (Para. [0217]);
applying a vacuum via the throughole (Para. [0217]); and
ascending the transfer assembly so as to transport the egg (Para. [0217]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Correa.
Regarding claim 3, the Correa reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 2.
However, the Correa reference fails to explicitly disclose the egg picking pad further comprises: a spherical egg contact pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the contact pad be spherical, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art and in order to accommodate irregular shaped eggs. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, the Correa reference, as modified in claim 3, discloses the spherical egg contact pad comprises: a peripheral surface (peripheral surface of 754) surrounding the throughhole (Fig. 43).
Regarding claim 5, the Correa reference, as modified in claim 4, discloses the throughhole is a vacuum conduit (Para. [0217]).
Regarding claim 6, the Correa reference, as modified in claim 4, discloses a plurality of section grooves (732) are defined in the peripheral surface (Fig. 43).
Regarding claim 7, the Correa reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses a lip (748) extends from the second surface and, when coupled to the distribution plate, the flexible bellows surrounds the lip (Figs. 42,43).
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675