DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on March 10, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2022-0030329 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1 – 10, 20 in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Comsa et al. (US 2022/0377681).
Regarding Claim 1, Comsa teaches an electronic device comprising: a plurality of antennas (Figure 1B, WTRU (Section 0026), transmit/receive elements (Section 0029)); a transmitter configured to be selectively connected to at least one antenna of the plurality of antennas (Figure 1B, transceiver (Section 0026)); and a controller (Figure 1B, processor (Section 0026)) configured to: set a transmit power limit of the transmitter (SAR/MPE limits (Sections 0004, 0011)); calculate a residual total exposure ratio (TER) value for a TER measurement period based on transmit power of the transmitter output through the at least one antenna (the result of comparing the measured power density to a threshold is the residual SAR/MPE which reads on the TER (Section 0004)); set a power control mode of the electronic device, based on a comparison between the residual TER value and a first reference TER value (adjustment in power (Section 0005) based on the comparison (Section 0004)); and set the transmit power limit for a target window based on the power control mode (adjustment in power (Section 0005)).
Regarding Claim 2, Comsa teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Comsa further teaches wherein the TER measurement period is set based on a communication frequency band for the electronic device (can operate in a plurality of frequency bands (Section 0011) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SAR/MPE measurement period (Section 0004) is set based on a communication frequency band).
Regarding Claim 5, Comsa teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Comsa further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: set the power control mode based on a change in window TER values within the TER measurement period when the residual TER value is greater than or equal to the first reference TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, renders a scenario wherein the power is adjusted if over the maximum SAR/MPE); and set the power control mode as a power saving mode when the residual TER value is less than the first reference TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, renders a scenario wherein there is no need to adjust power if not over the maximum SAR/MPE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comsa et al. (US 2022/0377681) in view of Nadakaduti et al. (US 2020/0015171).
Regarding Claim 3, Comsa teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Comsa further teaches calculate the residual TER value, based on the TER value and a limited TER value (the result of comparing the measured power density to a threshold is the residual SAR/MPE which reads on the TER (Section 0004)).
Comsa does not teach wherein each of a plurality of windows within the TER measurement period is composed of a plurality of slots, and the controller is further configured to: for each window of the plurality of windows, calculate respective slot TER values for the plurality of slots of the window, based on transmit power of the transmitter; calculating a plurality of window TER values, each of the window TER values being calculated by summing together the slot TER values for the plurality of slots included in the window.
Nadakaduti, which also teaches the use of SAR, teaches wherein each of a plurality of windows within the SAR measurement period (Section 0164) is composed of a plurality of slots (Claim 3), and the controller is further configured to: for each window of the plurality of windows, calculate respective slot SAR values for the plurality of slots of the window (Claim 3), based on transmit power of the transmitter (Claim 3); calculating a plurality of window TER values, each of the window TER values being calculated by summing together the slot TER values for the plurality of slots included in the window (Claim 3, averaging the distributions for the time slots comprises summing the slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Comsa with the above features of Nadakaduti for the purpose of assessing RF exposure in real time in order to adjust power to comply with RF exposure limits as taught by Nadakaduti.
Regarding Claim 4, Comsa in view of Nadakaduti teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Comsa further teaches calculate the residual TER value by subtracting the TER value from the limited TER value (Section 0004, difference between measured power density (SAR/MPE) and the maximum power density (SAR/MPE)).
Comsa does not teach calculate an accumulated TER value by summing together the plurality of window TER values respectively corresponding to the plurality of windows included in the TER measurement period.
Nadakaduti, which also teaches the use of SAR, teaches calculate an accumulated TER value by summing together the plurality of window TER values respectively corresponding to the plurality of windows included in the TER measurement period (Claim 3, averaging the distributions for the time slots comprises summing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Comsa with the above features of Nadakaduti for the purpose of assessing RF exposure in real time in order to adjust power to comply with RF exposure limits as taught by Nadakaduti.
Regarding Claim 7, Comsa teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 5. Comsa further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: set a pre-saving mode as the power control mode based on the TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, renders a scenario wherein the power is adjusted based on comparison to maximum SAR/MPE) and set a maximum power mode as the power control mode based on the TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, renders a scenario wherein the power is adjusted based on comparison to maximum SAR/MPE).
Comsa does not teach window TER value is increasing within the TER measurement period the window TER value is decreasing within the TER measurement period.
Nadakaduti, which also teaches the use of SAR, teaches window TER value is increasing within the TER measurement period (Claim 3, renders a scenario wherein there are increasing number of time slots) the window TER value is decreasing within the TER measurement period (Claim 3, renders a scenario wherein there are a decreasing number of time slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Comsa with the above features of Nadakaduti for the purpose of assessing RF exposure in real time in order to adjust power to comply with RF exposure limits as taught by Nadakaduti. The combination of Comsa and Nadakaduti teaches set a pre-saving mode as the power control mode when window TER value is increasing within the TER measurement period and set a maximum power mode as the power control mode when the window TER value is decreasing within the TER measurement period.
Regarding Claim 8, Comsa teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Comsa further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to set an available TER value based on the power control mode, and set the transmit power limit based on the available TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, available SAR/MPE, limit based on maximum SAR/MPE).
Comsa does not teach TER value for the target window.
Nadakaduti, which also teaches the use of SAR, teaches TER value for the target window (Claim 3, SAR value for the target window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Comsa with the above features of Nadakaduti for the purpose of assessing RF exposure in real time in order to adjust power to comply with RF exposure limits as taught by Nadakaduti. The combination of Comsa and Nadakaduti teaches set a pre-saving mode as the power control mode when window TER value is increasing within the TER measurement period and set a maximum power mode as the power control mode when the window TER value is decreasing within the TER measurement period.
Regarding Claim 9, Comsa in view of Nadakaduti teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Comsa further teaches set the available TER value, based on a second reference TER value and a third reference TER value, when the power control mode is a power saving mode (Section 0004, threshold fraction can be different fractions thus leading to different maximum or threshold SAR/MPE values, which are the reference values); set the available TER value to a back-off TER value when the power control mode is a pre-saving mode (Sections 0004, 0005, power adjustment); and set a required TER value as the available TER value when the power control mode is a maximum power mode (Sections 0004, 0005, power can be adjusted to the maximum that complies with the SAR/MPE threshold); and wherein the second reference TER value is less than the first reference TER value, and the third reference TER value is less than the second reference TER value (Section 0004, threshold fraction can be different fractions thus leading to different maximum or threshold SAR/MPE values, which are the reference values).
Regarding Claim 20, Comsa teaches an operation method of an electronic device including a plurality of antennas (Figure 1B, WTRU (Section 0026), transmit/receive elements (Section 0029)), a transmitter configured to be selectively connected to at least one of the plurality of antennas (Figure 1B, transceiver (Section 0026)), and a controller (Figure 1B, processor (Section 0026)) configured to set a transmit power limit of the transmitter (SAR/MPE limits (Sections 0004, 0011)), the operation method comprising: performing, by the controller, operations comprising: calculating total exposure ratio (TER) values based on transmit power of the electronic device (Section 0004, SAR/MPE values); calculating a residual TER value for a TER measurement period, based on a TER value and a limited TER value (the result of comparing the measured power density to a threshold is the residual SAR/MPE which reads on the TER (Section 0004)); setting a power control mode of the electronic device, based on a comparison between the residual TER value and a first reference TER value (adjustment in power (Section 0005) based on the comparison (Section 0004)); setting an available TER value based on the power control mode (Sections 0004, 0005, SAR/MPE is set); and setting the transmit power limit based on the available TER value (Sections 0004, 0005, transmit power is limited by the maximum SAR/MPE).
Comsa does not teach slot total exposure ratio (TER) values; calculating a window TER value by summing together the slot TER values for a plurality of slots included in a window; setting an available TER value for a target window based on the power control mode; and setting the transmit power limit for the target window based on the available TER value for the target window.
Nadakaduti, which also teaches the use of SAR, teaches slot total exposure ratio (TER) values (Claim 3, slot SAR values); calculating a window TER value by summing together the slot TER values for a plurality of slots included in a window (Claim 3, averaging the distributions for the time slots comprises summing the slots); and target windows (Section 0164, Claim 3, time averaging windows are the target windows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Comsa with the above features of Nadakaduti for the purpose of assessing RF exposure in real time in order to adjust power to comply with RF exposure limits as taught by Nadakaduti. The combination of Comsa and Nadakaduti setting an available TER value for a target window based on the power control mode; and setting the transmit power limit for the target window based on the available TER value for the target window.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the following:
Claim 6, wherein the change in the window TER values within the TER measurement period is calculated based on the window TER values, a correlation coefficient between the plurality of antennas, and a back-off TER value.
Claim 10, when the power control mode is the power saving mode: set, as the available TER value, a value obtained by multiplying the back-off TER value by a ratio of the residual TER value to the first reference TER value when the residual TER value is less than the second reference TER value but is greater than or equal to the third reference TER value
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
March 23, 2026
/ANTHONY S ADDY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645