Priority date of 05/02/2017 from 15584691 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High et al. (20110290683) in view of Nishiguchi (JP20001095967).
[0058] .. the connectors 30 connect the edges of the banner 20 to the legs 12 of the golf bag stand 14. The connector 30 can be any type of clip, fastener, hook and loop,
[0059] ..In an example, the connector 30 can connect the banner to at least a part or portion of the golf bag. Other connectors can secure the banner 20 to the golf bag.
[0062] The golf bag banner 20 …. Such material can be many different colors, sizes, and thickness. The material is woven with a coarse, strong warp and filling yarns spaced at intervals so that tearing will not spread. In an example, the fabric is a water repellant fabric. In an example, the fabric is a water absorbing fabric, e.g., terry cloth, which a golfer can use to dry hands or clean/dry equipment.
[0063] The banner 20 can further include multiple layers of fabric. The outer layer of fabric can be water repellant (a synthetic material, e.g., nylon) and the inner layer(s) can be water absorbent, for example, terry cloth or other towel like fabric.
[0113].. The strap can also be provided with pockets and hook and loop fasteners to attach the ends of the strap to one another… One strap can be placed around the perimeter of the bag near the top and another strap can be placed around the perimeter of the bag near the bottom. The top and bottom of a golf bag generally are more substantial or reinforced than the rest of the length of the bag.
[0116]… Attached to a top edge 2424 of the banner 2420 is a collar 2430. The collar 2430, as shown in FIG. 24, includes a first end 2431 and a second end portion 2432. The first end 2431 of the collar 2430 includes a first portion of hook and loop fastener 2441 and the second end 2432 of the collar 2430 includes a second portion of hook and loop fastener 2442. The collar 2430 can then be attached to any bag with a range of peripheral d2istances associated with the top of the bag. Attached to the exterior surface of the collar 2430 is another first portion of hook and loop fastener dimensioned so that the golf towel 2490 can be removably attached thereto, as shown in FIG. 25.
[0130] FIG. 36 (SIC) shows a system for connecting a side banner 3620 to a bag 3610. The system would include a top collar 3630 and a bottom collar 3640. The top collar 3630 would be dimensioned to fit around the top of the bag 3610. The bottom collar 3640 would be dimensioned to fit around the bottom of the bag 3610. The top collar 3630 and the bottom collar 3640 could be made from an elastic material or could have a first end and a second end with the various parts of a hook and loop fastener so that the collars could be adjustably attached to the top and bottom of the bag 3610.
[0136] The banner described herein that extend to the golf bag container or attach at places other than the legs
Regarding claim 1, High teaches a golf bag comprising: a body defining a housing (e.g., fig. 1, fig. 19A, fig. 24) extending between a bottom portion and a top portion, a first side and a second side, the housing adapted to receive one or more golf clubs; a throat (note where the divider at the top opening) mounted to the top portion of the body, a pair of legs 12 pivotally coupled to the top portion of the body; an attachment mechanism (3630) coupled to the first side of the body and adjacent to the throat, the attachment mechanism configured to secure a first portion of a towel (note that 360 can be used as a towel cited above); and an auxiliary attachment mechanism (3640 fig. 35) coupled to the first side separately from the attachment mechanism, wherein the auxiliary attachment mechanism is located in the bottom portion of the body, and wherein both the attachment mechanism (52’) and the auxiliary attachment mechanism are spaced by a distance D measured along a longitudinal axis which extends from the top portion through the bottom portion of the golf bag, and the auxiliary attachment mechanism supports a second portion of the towel.
High meets all claimed limitations except for a pocket located in the bottom portion of the body between the first and second sides,
Also note that the reictation “configured to secure a first portion of a towel” does not require a towel, the claim merely require two attachments and the two loope in High meets this limitaiton.
Nishiguchi teaches that it is known in the art to provide pockets at 5 and 6 located in the bottom portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least pocket 6 of Nishiguchi to accessories and easy access contents.
Note that combination of High and Nishiguchi would provide pocket 6 would meet the limitation of “the auxiliary attachment mechanism is located adjacent to the pocket”.
In the alternative, High teaches the towel and the attachment in fig. 25
High teaches a golf bag with a body a housing extending between a bottom portion and a top portion, a first side and a second side, the housing adapted to receive one or more golf clubs; a pair of legs pivotally coupled to the top portion of the body; an attachment mechanism to the body (2430 the hook and loop in fig. 25), the attachment mechanism configured to secure a first portion of a towel (fig. 25). High does not teach a pocket in located in the bottom portion of the body between the first and second sides. As set forth above, Nishiguchi teaches that it is known in the art to provide pockets at 5 and 6 located in the bottom portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least pocket 6 of Nishiguchi to accessories and easy access contents, and the auxiliary attachment mechanism comprises attachment mechanisms at 30/31 and 22 in Nishiguchi and the attachment mechanisms coupled to the bag separately from the attachment mechanism, and the auxiliary attachment mechanism is located nearer the bottom portion of the body compared to the attachment mechanism, wherein the auxiliary attachment mechanism supports a second portion of the towel, i.e., it can wrap around a portion of a towel of fig. 25 as claimed.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, note the the auxiliary attachment mechanism are externally located on the body as set forth supra.
Regarding claims 4, note auxiliary attachment mechanism 3640 and 22 in Nishiguchi are loops.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, note a portion portion 3620 is within loops 3640.
Regarding claim 6, note the teaching of the loop 3640 and portion 22 is elastic.
Regarding claims 11, as set forth supra, High teaches a golf bag comprising: a body defining a housing (e.g., fig. 1, fig. 19A, fig. 24) extending between a bottom portion and a top portion, a first side and a second side, the housing adapted to receive one or more golf clubs; a throat (note where the divider at the top opening) mounted to the top portion of the body, a pair of legs 12 pivotally coupled to the top portion of the body; an attachment mechanism (3630) coupled to the first side of the body and adjacent to the throat, the attachment mechanism configured to secure a first portion of a towel (note that 360 can be used as a towel cited above); and an auxiliary attachment mechanism (3640 fig. 35) coupled to the first side separately from the attachment mechanism, wherein the auxiliary attachment mechanism is located in the bottom portion of the body the auxiliary attachment mechanism comprising a first member having a first end coupled to the body and a second end opposite the first end, and a second member having a first end coupled to the body and a second end opposite the first end and comprises complementary fasteners; and wherein both the attachment mechanism (52’) and the auxiliary attachment mechanism are spaced by a distance D measured along a longitudinal axis which extends from the top portion through the bottom portion of the golf bag, and the auxiliary attachment mechanism supports a second portion of the towel. High meets all claimed limitations except for a pocket located in the bottom portion of the body between the first and second sides. Nishiguchi teaches that it is known in the art to provide pockets at 5 and 6 located in the bottom portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least pocket 6 of Nishiguchi to accessories and easy access contents.
Regarding the limtiation “the auxiliary attachment mechanism releasably supports a second portion of the towel”, note that a) the reictation “configured to secure a first portion of a towel” does not require a towel, the claim merely require two attachments and the two loops in High meets this limitaiton, b) alternatively poriton 3620 comprise the towel since 3620 comprises the same matererial and can be used as a towel, as set forth supra. This limitation does not require the towel release from the attachment. In this case the “releasably supports” means the towel and the attachment mechanism both release from the bag.
Note the alterantive with the auxiliary attachment mechanism in Nishiguchi also meet this limitation.
Regarding claim 14, note the attachment mechanisms in High are loops.
Regarding claim 16, note the hook and loop in High.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733