DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/21/2026 and has been entered. Claim 2 is canceled, Claims 8-13, are newly added and Claims 1 and 3-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20210126256 A1), hereinafter “Shin”. Shin is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely active material coatings.
In regard to Claims 1 and 4-5, Shin et al. discloses a coated active material comprising: as active material which is a lithium transition metal composite oxide including Ni (Shin, Abstract, [0014]), wherein a content of Ni in the active material is 50 mol% or more with respect to a total of metal elements, excluding Li, included in the active material (Shin, [0064]) and further comprises a coating layer configured to coat at least a part of a surface of the active material wherein an NiO layer is formed between the active material and the coating layer (Shin, [0009, 0019]). Shin et al. also discloses wherein an average thickness of the NiO layer is 2.5 nm or less (Shin, [0067]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 6, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 1. Shin et al. also discloses wherein the lithium transition metal oxide active material may be represented by Formula 3 Li.sub.aNi.sub.bCo.sub.c′Mn.sub.c″O.sub.2 wherein in Formula 3, 0.9≤a≤1.1, 0.7≤b<1.0, 0<c′≤0.3, 0<c″≤0.3, 0<c′+c″≤0.3, and b+c′+c″=1 are satisfied (Shin, [0062-0063]), which anticipates the claimed formula.
In regard to Claim 12, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 1. Shin et al. also discloses when a coating is provided pores of the material is increased (Shin, [0046]), which would reasonably lead to a coating layer comprising holes, cavities, voids, or gaps.
Claims 3, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20210126256 A1), hereinafter “Shin”. Shin is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely active material coatings.
In regard to Claim 3 and 8-9, Shin et al. discloses a coated active material comprising: as active material which is a lithium transition metal composite oxide including Ni (Shin, Abstract, [0014]), wherein a content of Ni in the active material is 50 mol% or more with respect to a total of metal elements, excluding Li, included in the active material (Shin, [0064]) and further comprises a coating layer configured to coat at least a part of a surface of the active material wherein an NiO layer is formed between the active material and the coating layer (Shin, [0009, 0019]). Shin et al. also discloses wherein a maximum thickness of the NiO layer is 2.5 nm or less (Shin, [0067]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 10, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 1. Shin et al. also discloses wherein the lithium transition metal oxide active material may be represented by Formula 3 Li.sub.aNi.sub.bCo.sub.c′Mn.sub.c″O.sub.2 wherein in Formula 3, 0.9≤a≤1.1, 0.7≤b<1.0, 0<c′≤0.3, 0<c″≤0.3, 0<c′+c″≤0.3, and b+c′+c″=1 are satisfied (Shin, [0062-0063]), which anticipates the claimed formula.
In regard to Claim 13, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 1. Shin et al. also discloses when a coating is provided pores of the material is increased (Shin, [0046]), which would reasonably lead to a coating layer comprising holes, cavities, voids, or gaps.
Claim 7, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20210126256 A1), hereinafter “Shin” as applied to claim 1 above in view of Campbell et al. (US 20200373560 A1), hereinafter “Campbell. Shin and Campbell are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely active material coatings.
In regard to Claim 7, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 1. While Shin et al. discloses doping the cathode active material with Nb (Shin, [0059, 0061]), it is silent as to the coating layer comprising Nb. Campbell et al. discloses a similar nickel rich layered cathode comprising a beneficial coating comprising LiNbo3 which provides a passivation later which prevents degradation particularly when using a liquid-based electrolyte such as ethylene carbonate (EC):diethylene carbonate (DEC) 1:1 and decreases the space-charge resistance when using a solid-state electrolyte. (Campbell, [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a coating comprising Nb as taught in Campbell et al. to the cathode material of Shin et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Shin and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 11, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20210126256 A1), hereinafter “Shin” as applied to claim 3 above in view of Campbell et al. (US 20200373560 A1), hereinafter “Campbell. Shin and Campbell are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely active material coatings.
In regard to Claim 11, Shin et al. discloses the coated active material according to claim 3. While Shin et al. discloses doping the cathode active material with Nb (Shin, [0059, 0061]), it is silent as to the coating layer comprising Nb. Campbell et al. discloses a similar nickel rich layered cathode comprising a beneficial coating comprising LiNbo3 which provides a passivation later which prevents degradation particularly when using a liquid-based electrolyte such as ethylene carbonate (EC):diethylene carbonate (DEC) 1:1 and decreases the space-charge resistance when using a solid-state electrolyte. (Campbell, [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a coating comprising Nb as taught in Campbell et al. to the cathode material of Shin et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Shin and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725