DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 and 19-20 in the reply filed on November 3, 2025 is acknowledged. Group II, Claims 10-18 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wait, D. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0228163, hereinafter Wait) in view of Ma, Z. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0298822, hereinafter Ma).
In regards to Claim 1, Wait discloses a system (#120) comprising:
a particle receiver (#26) containing a heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles (#22) or molten salt, the particle receiver (#26) configured to receive solar energy and transfer the solar energy to the heat transfer fluid, thereby heating the heat transfer fluid (#22) (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0037] and [0041]; Wait discloses apparatus #120 is a solar-based system with regard to the source of thermal energy. The concentrated solar receiver #26 is arranged to receive solar energy and heats the particulate thermal transfer media #22.);
a heat exchanger (#28) downstream of the particle receiver (#26), the heat exchanger (#28) configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid to a working fluid (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and [0041]; Wait discloses the particulate thermal transfer media #22 circulates through the closed loop circuit between the concentrated solar receiver #26 and heat exchanger #28. The heat exchanger #28 is in fluid communication with a sub-system #36. Within the sub-system #36, a working fluid #38 circulates through the heat exchanger #28 to thereby absorb thermal energy from the heated particulate thermal transfer media #22.); and
a reactor (#154) comprising:
a first compartment (solid/gas compartment side) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the heat exchanger (#28) (see figure 3 and paragraph [0044] and [0046]-[0047]);
a second compartment (heat compartment side) configured to receive a reaction feed stream (#158) (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0044]-[0045]); and
a heat transfer barrier (wall separating solid/gas compartment side and heat compartment side) separating the first compartment from the second compartment (see figure 3).
Wait fails to disclose an electric generator configured to receive the working fluid and generate electrical power as the working fluid expands through the electric generator.
However, Ma teaches a concentrated solar power plant comprising a receiver configured to contain a chemical substance for a chemical reaction and an array of heliostats. Each heliostat is configured to direct sunlight toward the receiver. The receiver is configured to transfer thermal energy from the sunlight to the chemical substance in a reduction reaction. The CSP plant further comprises a first storage container configured to store solid state particles produced by the reduction reaction and a heat exchanger configured to combine the solid state particles and gas through an oxidation reaction. The heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat produced in the oxidation reaction to a working fluid to heat the working fluid. The CSP plant further comprises a power turbine coupled to the heat exchanger, such that the heated working fluid turns the power turbine, and a generator coupled to and driven by the power turbine to generate electricity (see figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs [0011] and [0029]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the system as disclosed by Wait by further including an electric generator configured to receive the working fluid and generate electrical power as the working fluid expands through the electric generator, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ma teaches a concentrated solar power plant (CSP) comprising a receiver configured to contain a chemical substance for a chemical reaction and an array of heliostats, wherein the receiver is configured to transfer thermal energy from the sunlight to the chemical substance in a reduction reaction, whereby the CSP plant further comprises a first storage container configured to store solid state particles produced by the reduction reaction and a heat exchanger configured to combine the solid state particles and gas through an oxidation reaction, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat produced in the oxidation reaction to a working fluid to heat the working fluid and the CSP plant further comprises a power turbine coupled to the heat exchanger, such that the heated working fluid turns the power turbine, and a generator coupled to and driven by the power turbine to generate electricity (see figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs [0011] and [0029]).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma, Z. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0298822, hereinafter Ma).
In regards to Claim 1, Ma discloses a system (#100) comprising:
a particle receiver (#104) containing a heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles or molten salt, the particle receiver (#104) configured to receive solar energy and transfer the solar energy to the heat transfer fluid, thereby heating the heat transfer fluid (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0022]-[0023]; Ma discloses the particle receiver is configured to hold chemical substances for a chemical reaction and to transfer heat from the reflect sunlight to the chemical substance. An exemplary receiver which can be implemented in the system #100 is described in more detail in co-pending application 13/855088, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety. App.13/855088 discloses the particle receiver as a solid particle receiver #102 configured to heat granular solid particles, i.e. heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles, flowing therethrough using energy from solar flux incident thereon.);
a heat exchanger (#110) downstream of the particle receiver (#104), the heat exchanger (#11) configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid to a working fluid (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028]);
an electric generator (#116) configured to receive the working fluid and generate electrical power as the working fluid expands through the electric generator (#116) (see figures 1-4 and paragraph [0029]); and
a reactor comprising:
a first compartment (#126) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the heat exchanger (#110) (see figures 1-4 and paragraph [0032]);
a second compartment (#106) configured to receive a reaction feed stream (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0025] and [0032]); and
a heat transfer barrier (wall between #126 and #106) separating the first compartment (#126) from the second compartment (#106) (see figure 4).
Examiner notes that although Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat transfer barrier configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid in the first compartment to the reaction feed stream in the second compartment, thereby maintaining an operating temperature of the reaction feed stream to at least a specified reaction temperature and converting at least one reactant in the reaction feed stream into at least one specified product, Ma discloses substantially similar structural limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Ma’s system will reasonably function in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 2, Ma discloses wherein the first compartment (#126) is defined by a first pipe (pipe-shaped first compartment #126) and the heat transfer barrier is a wall of the first pipe (wall between first compartment #126 and second compartment #106) (see figures 1 and 4).
Although Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein the second compartment is defined by an annulus between the first pipe and a second pipe and the second pipe surrounds the first pipe, changing the shape of the second compartment and making the first and second compartment integral, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved heat transfer between the first and second compartments through first and second pipes, as is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 3, Ma discloses wherein the first compartment (#126) is in fluid communication with the particle receiver (#104), and the particle receiver (#104) is configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the first compartment (#126) for re-using the heat transfer fluid (see figures 1-4 and paragraph [0032]).
In regards to Claim 4, Ma discloses the system as recited in claim 1. Ma discloses wherein the working fluid comprises air (see paragraph [0023]; Ma discloses the incorporation by reference of app.13/855088. Further app.13/855088 discloses on paragraph [0051] that the working fluid can be any appropriate fluid including air.).
In regards to Claim 5, Ma discloses wherein the particle receiver (#104) is configured to heat the heat transfer fluid, via transfer of solar energy, to a first specified temperature in a range of from about 750º Celsius to about 1000ºC (see paragraph [0023]).
In regards to Claim 6, Ma discloses the system as recited in claim 5. Although Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat transfer fluid exiting the heat exchanger has an operating temperature in a range of from about 600ºC to about 700ºC, Ma discloses substantially similar structural limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Ma’s system will reasonably function in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 7, Ma discloses the system as recited in claim 6. Although Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein the reaction feed stream comprises a hydrocarbon, a carbon dioxide, ammonia or any combination thereof, changing the reaction feed stream to another known reaction feed stream is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as to obtain a desired end-product for further use, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN21071866U, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Chen).
In regards to Claim 1, Chen discloses a system comprising:
a particle receiver (#2 ammonia decomposition reactor) containing a heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles or molten salt, the particle receiver (#2) configured to receive solar energy and transfer the solar energy to the heat transfer fluid, thereby heating the heat transfer fluid (see figures 1-2 and paragraph [0025]);
a heat exchanger (#6) downstream of the particle receiver (#2), the heat exchanger (#6) configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid to a working fluid (see figures 1-2 and paragraph [0025]);
an electric generator (#13) configured to receive the working fluid and generate electrical power as the working fluid expands through the electric generator (#3) (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]); and
a reactor (#9) comprising:
a first compartment (#901) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the heat exchanger (#6) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]);
a second compartment (#902) configured to receive a reaction feed stream (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]); and
a heat transfer barrier separating the first compartment (#901) from the second compartment (#902) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]).
Examiner notes that although Chen does not explicitly disclose that the heat transfer fluid comprises a plurality of solid particles or molten salt, Chen’s system is substantially identical to that of claim 1. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Chen’s system is capable of operating in the same manner as claimed utilizing a heat transfer fluid in solid particle form or molten salt form, and hence, arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2112.01.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to Claim 19, Ma, Z. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0298822)-which is considered the closest prior art of record, discloses a system comprising:
a particle receiver (#104) containing a heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles, the particle receiver (#104) configured to receive solar energy and transfer the solar energy to the heat transfer fluid, thereby heating the heat transfer fluid to a first specified temperature in a range of from about 750 degrees Celsius (°C) to about 1,200 °C (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0022]-[0023]; Ma discloses the combined sunlight reflected from the plurality of heliostats #103 in the array 1#02 provides temperatures of approximately 500ºC-1500ºC at the receiver #104. the particle receiver is configured to hold chemical substances for a chemical reaction and to transfer heat from the reflect sunlight to the chemical substance. An exemplary receiver which can be implemented in the system #100 is described in more detail in co-pending application 13/855088, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety. App.13/855088 discloses the particle receiver as a solid particle receiver #102 configured to heat granular solid particles, i.e. heat transfer fluid comprising a plurality of solid particles, flowing therethrough using energy from solar flux incident thereon.);
a heat exchanger (#110) downstream of the particle receiver (#104), the heat exchanger (#11) configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid to a working fluid (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028]);
an electric generator (#116) configured to receive the working fluid and generate electrical power as the working fluid expands through the electric generator (#116) (see figures 1-4 and paragraph [0029]); and
a reactor comprising:
a first pipe (#126) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the heat exchanger (#110) (see figures 1-4 and paragraph [0032]); and
a second compartment (#106) configured to receive a reaction feed stream (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0025] and [0032]).
The differences between Ma and the instant invention is that Ma fails to disclose (1) wherein the heat transfer fluid exiting the heat exchanger has an operating temperature in a range of from about 600ºC to about 700°C, (2) wherein the second pipe surrounding the first pipe; and (3) a catalyst disposed within an annulus defined between the first pipe and the second pipe, the catalyst configured to, in response to contacting the reaction feed stream at a specified reaction temperature, accelerate a conversion of at least one reactant in the reaction feed stream into at least one specified product, wherein a wall of the first pipe is configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid in the first pipe to the reaction feed stream in the second pipe, thereby maintaining an operating temperature of the reaction feed stream to at least the specified reaction temperature and producing the at least one specified product.
Applicant discloses on paragraph [0020] of published specification that: “The reactor 140 is configured to receive the heat transfer fluid 115 from the heat exchanger 120 and receive heat from the heat transfer fluid 115 to maintain a reaction temperature for an endothermic reaction. The reactor 140 includes a first compartment 142, a second compartment 144, and a heat transfer barrier 146. In some implementations, the reactor 140 includes a catalyst 148. The heat transfer barrier 146 separates the first compartment 142 from the second compartment 144. The first compartment 142 is configured to receive the heat transfer fluid 115 from the heat exchanger 120. The second compartment 144 is configured to receive a reaction feed stream 145. The heat transfer barrier 146 is configured to transfer heat from the heat transfer fluid 115 in the first compartment 142 to the reaction feed stream 145 in the second compartment 144. The catalyst 148 can be disposed within the second compartment 144. The catalyst 148 is configured to accelerate a conversion of at least one reactant in the reaction feed stream 145 into at least one specified product.”
Applicant further discloses on paragraphs [0026]-[0028] of published specification that: “In some implementations, as shown in FIGS. 1B and 1C, the reactor 140 is a double pipe reactor that includes a first pipe 141 and a second pipe 143. The second pipe 143 surrounds the first pipe 141. The first compartment 142 can be defined by the first pipe 141. For example, the first compartment 142 is an inner bore of the first pipe 141. The second compartment 144 can be defined by an annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143. The catalyst 148 can reside in the annulus defined between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143. The heat transfer barrier 146 is the wall of the first pipe 141. The heat transfer fluid 115 flows through the inner bore of the first pipe 141. The reaction feed stream 145 flows through the annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143. In some implementations, the reactor 140 is in a parallel flow configuration, in which the heat transfer fluid 115 and the reaction feed stream 145 flow through the first pipe 141 and the annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143, respectively, in generally the same direction. In some implementations, the reactor 140 is in a counter flow configuration, in which the heat transfer fluid 115 and the reaction feed stream 145 flow through the first pipe 141 and the annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143, respectively, in generally opposite directions. In some implementations, the reactor 140 is in a cross flow configuration, in which the heat transfer fluid 115 and the reaction feed stream 145 flow through the first pipe 141 and the annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143, respectively, in generally perpendicular directions. In some cases, the counter flow configuration can exhibit the greatest heat transfer efficiency out of these flow configurations (parallel, counter, and cross). In some implementations, the catalyst 148 can instead reside in the first compartment 142, and the flow of the heat transfer fluid 115 and the reaction feed stream 145 can be switched between the first compartment 142 and the second compartment 144. For example, the catalyst 148 can reside in the inner bore of the first pipe 141, the reaction feed stream 145 can flow through the inner bore of the first pipe 141, and the heat transfer fluid 115 can flow through the annulus between the first pipe 141 and the second pipe 143. In such implementations, the second compartment 144 (as opposed to the first compartment 142) can be in fluid communication with the particle receiver 110 for recycling the heat transfer fluid 115 back to the particle receiver 110 for re-heating.”
There is no reason, motivation or suggestion in Ma, alone or in combination, which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to have a system with the above configuration, as claimed by the applicant, in order to arrive at the claimed invention. For this reason, the above claims are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774