DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (figs 1-6) in the reply filed on 1/6/26 is acknowledged. Applicant submits that claims 1-11 are drawn to the elected group. However, claim 8 includes specifics of the functional module which are not in the elected group. Therefore, claim 8 is also withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 and 9-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a functional module" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the support structure" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites, “further comprising carbon fibers” which is vague and indefinite because it is unclear, as written, what structure(s) further includes the carbon fibers. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the support structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,002,103 to Wheeler.
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler ‘103 discloses an arrangement for supportingly accommodating a functional module 10, comprising: a modular support structure 17 which is formed with carrier elements which are provided with a hollow cross-section and profile elements 11/12 lying opposite one another (figs 1 and 2 – see below annotation), wherein the profile elements 11/12 each have a middle half-tube portion 13/14 and partial wing portions integrally formed thereon on both sides with profile element openings (fig. 1 – flat portions with bolt openings – fig. 2), and the partial wing portions of the profile elements 11/12 are arranged flat on top of one another in such a way that the profile element openings are assigned to one another in pairs, the half-tube portions 13/14 of each of the carrier elements form a tube portion (fig. 1 – 13/14 together), and the partial wing portions of each of the carrier elements each form a wing portion, and a functional module 10 which is mounted on the support structure 17.
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the wing portions each extend in the longitudinal direction of the tube portion and are substantially planar (figs 1 and 2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the tube portion has a substantially round or oval cross-section, and the wing portions extend radially from the tube portion (figs 1 and 2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the partial wing portions are each arranged in alignment with one another and are non-releasably connected to one another (via bolts 16 and secondarily by welds 15).
Regarding claim 5, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the half-tube portions 13/14 of each of the profile elements 11/12 are each arranged in a common plane.
Regarding claim 6, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the tube portion (fig. 1 – 13/14 together) has a constant tube portion thickness, and the wing portions each have a constant wing portion thickness (figs 1-2 – annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler ‘103 discloses, wherein the wing portions each have a wing portion width of between 25% and 100% of a tube portion width (fig 2 – annotated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,002,103 to Wheeler.
Regarding claim 9, Wheeler discloses an arrangement for supporting a module or conduit 10. There are various components of Wheeler’s arrangement including the profile elements, support structure, bolts and foundation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use carbon fibers in a certain component, as needed and selected, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejects, as applicable.
The list of supports is as follows: US-20190063918-A1 OR US-20160353022-A1 OR US-20230065062-A1 OR US-20200207279-A1 OR US-20120138763-A1 OR US-20190154194-A1 OR US-3069189-A OR US-5358283-A OR US-4429497-A OR US-6241199-B1 OR US-5915132-A OR US-10178209-B1 OR US-6349905-B1.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632