DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4 and 9-10 are amended. Claims 8 and 12-15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,002,103 to Wheeler in view of US 3,771,820 to Hoss, Sr. et al.
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler '103 discloses an arrangement for supportingly accommodating a
functional module 10, comprising: a modular support structure 17 which is formed with carrier elements which are provided with a hollow cross-section and profile elements 11/12 lying opposite one another (figs 1 and 2 - see below annotation), wherein the profile elements 11/12 each have a middle half-tube
portion 13/14 and partial wing portions integrally formed thereon on both sides with profile element
openings (fig. 1 - flat portions with bolt openings - fig. 2), and the partial wing portions of the profile
elements 11/12 are arranged flat on top of one another in such a way that the profile element openings
are assigned to one another in pairs, the half-tube portions 13/14 of each of the carrier elements form a
tube portion (fig. 1 - 13/14 together), and the partial wing portions of each of the carrier elements each
form a wing portion, and a functional module 10 which is mounted on the modular support structure 17.
Wheeler '103 is silent as to wherein the partial wing portions (as annotated; fig. 1 - flat portions with bolt openings - fig. 2) are glued to one another.
However, Hoss ‘820 teaches partial wing portions 16/18 (col. 4, lines 4-21) are glued to one another (via adhesive 15; Fig. 2; col. 4, line 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adhesively bond the opposing wing portions of Wheeler ‘103 as taught by Hoss ‘820 in order to provide a permanent structural connection while reducing the number of fastening components.
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler '103 discloses, wherein the wing portions each extend in the longitudinal direction of the tube portion and are substantially planar (figs 1 and 2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, wherein the tube portion has a substantially round or oval cross-section, and the wing portions extend radially from the tube portion (figs 1 and 2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, wherein the partial wing portions are each arranged in alignment with one another (as annotated above).
Regarding claim 5, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, wherein the half-tube portions 13/14 of each of the profile elements 11/12 are each arranged in a common plane.
Regarding claim 6, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, wherein the tube portion (fig. 1 - 13/14 together) has a constant tube portion thickness, and the wing portions each have a constant wing portion thickness (figs 1-2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, wherein the wing portions each have a wing portion width of between 25% and 100% of a tube portion width (fig 2 - annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, Wheeler '103, as modified, discloses, a modular support structure 17 which is formed with carrier elements, but is silent as to the carrier elements comprising carbon fibers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to use carbon fibers in a certain component, as needed and selected, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “having two metal parts being connected via bolts would lead the skilled person
away from using glue as claimed” and that “Wheeler also provides no suggestions on applying glue between any of the disclosed elements.”
The examiner disagrees. The current rejection relies on the combined teachings of Wheeler ‘103 in view of Hoss ‘820, not Wheeler ‘103 alone. Further, Hoss ‘820 expressly teaches wherein the partial wing portions are glued to one another. In addition, applicant’s own specification recognizes that wing portions may be joined by rivets or adhesive. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632