DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of the Amendments to the Claims and Applicant’s arguments, filed on 6/3/2026, is acknowledged.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 4, 5, and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 9-19 remain withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are included in the prosecution.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicants’ amendment to independent claim 1 requiring wherein the tincture is produced by cold extraction processing, comprising unaltered cannabinoids and unaltered terpenes cold-extracted from hemp changes the scope of the claims because these limitations were not previously examined, particularly the argument that the product by process with cold extraction ensures that the decarboxylation process of the cannabinoids does not occur.
The previous rejections using the teachings from Drennan (US 2021/0330638 A1) have been overcome by the amendment and are hereby withdrawn.
However, Examiner now relies on the teachings of Farokhi et al. (US20200398184A1) hereinafter Farokhi.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment; therefore, this action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farokhi et al. (US20200398184A1) hereinafter Farokhi.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-8, Farokhi is drawn to methods of producing extracts from cannabis plant material, where the extracts comprise cannabinoids and terpenes. The methods comprise extracting fresh or dried plant material with a cold organic solvent. The methods allow for the extraction of cannabinoids and terpenes, while leaving behind impurities such as waxes and chlorophyll that are commonly found in extractions with room temperature (RT) or warm solvent extraction methods (abstract).
Farokhi discloses the cannabinoid comprises a combination of THC and CBD. The terpene comprises myrcene, terpinolene [0022]. Farokhi discloses the extraction process of the invention is useful for the production of cannabis extracts, from hemp [0062]. Farokhi discloses the cannabis is industrial hemp [0020]. Farokhi discloses extracting and isolating compounds such as pure cannabinoids, cannabinoid acids, terpenes, terpenoids, or flavonoids from cannabis plant material at low temperature by using cold organic solvent [0043]. Farokhi discloses production of extracts having more than 99% or more total cannabinoids. [0062]. Farokhi discloses lipid solvents include hemp seed oil [0118].
Farokhi does not explicitly disclose each of the components and quantities of the composition in a single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Farokhi, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Farokhi discloses all the required ingredients and for the same purpose of extracts that comprise cannabinoids and terpenes extracted with cold organic solvent (abstract) and discloses extracting and isolating compounds such as pure cannabinoids, cannabinoid acids, terpenes, terpenoids, or flavonoids from cannabis plant material at low temperature by using cold organic solvent [0043]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A. Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615