DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 20, in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-19 are withdrawn by applicant.
Claims 1-8 and 20 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drennan (US 20210330638 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 20, Drennan is drawn to a therapeutic oil blend comprising: cannabinoid content; and terpene content (claim 69); wherein the cannabinoid is selected from the group consisting of: cannabidiol (CBD), cannabidiolic acid (CBDA), cannabidiol monomethylether (CBDM), cannabidiol-C4 (CBD-C4), cannabidivarinic acid (CBDVA), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabidiorcol (CBD-C1), delta 9 tetrayhydrocannabinol (THC), and a combination thereof (claim 75); and 0.01%-5% w/w of a terpene selected from the list consisting of: bisabolol, borneol, caryophyllene, carene, camphene, camphor, cineol, citronellal, eucalyptol, geraniol, guaiol, humulene, isopropyltoluene, isopulegol, linalool, beta-myrcene, nerolidol, ocimene, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, phytol, pulegone, alpha-terpinene, gamma-terpinene, terpinolene, and thymol (claim 80).
Drennan discloses the therapeutic oil blend comprises about 0.01%-5% w/w of one or more terpenes selected from the list consisting of bisabolol, borneol, caryophyllene, carene, camphene, camphor, cineol, citronellal, eucalyptol, geraniol, guaiol, humulene, isopropyltoluene, isopulegol, linalool, beta-myrcene, nerolidol, ocimene, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, phytol, pulegone, alpha-terpinene, gamma-terpinene, terpinolene, thymol [0075]. Drennan discloses the formulation is a tincture [0097]. Drennan discloses the formulation comprises a carrier oil [0100]; “carrier oil” is an oil used to dilute, distribute, and generally carry another substance with which it is mixed. Common carrier oils include plant-derived oils, e.g., vegetable oils and nut oils, and MCT oil [0185].
Drennan discloses cannabinoids used in the composition can be derived from hemp e.g., hemp stalk, hemp stem [0227]. Drennan discloses cannabinoid-containing plant extracts may be obtained by various means of extraction. Such means include but are not limited to supercritical or subcritical extraction with CO2, extraction with cold gas [0181].
Drennan does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the formulation in a single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Drennan, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Drennan discloses all the required components and Drennan discloses therapeutic oil blends comprising one or more cannabinoids and one or more terpenes, wherein the therapeutic oil blends may exhibit increased stability and bioavailability [0002]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615