DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andosca (PG Pub 20150256144).
Considering claim 1, Andosca (Figure 2) teaches a piezoelectric film integrated device comprising: a substrate (18a + paragraph 0058); an electrode (56 + paragraph 0088) provided on the substrate; a first piezoelectric element (30 + paragraphs 0088-0089) that is provided on the electrode and includes a first monocrystalline piezoelectric film (58 + paragraphs 0088-0089) and a first electrode film (60 + paragraphs 0088-0089) superimposed on the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film; and a second piezoelectric element (24 + paragraph 0101) that is provided on the first piezoelectric element and includes a second monocrystalline piezoelectric film (70 + paragraph 0101) and a second electrode film (72 + paragraph 0101) superimposed on the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film.
Considering claim 2, Andosca (Figure 2) teaches wherein the substrate includes a vibrating plate (90 + paragraph 0112) provided in a region under the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film.
Considering claim 4, Andosca (Figure 2) teaches wherein the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film is a monocrystalline PZT film (paragraph 0062), a monocrystalline KNN film or a monocrystalline barium titanate film and the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film is a monocrystalline AlN film (70 + paragraph 0101), a monocrystalline lithium tantalate film or a monocrystalline lithium niobate film.
Considering claim 5, Andosca (Figure 2) teaches wherein the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film is a monocrystalline AlN film (58 + paragraph 0092), a monocrystalline lithium tantalate film or a monocrystalline lithium niobate film and the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film is a monocrystalline PZT film (paragraph 0062), a monocrystalline KNN film or a monocrystalline barium titanate film.
Considering claim 12, Andosca teaches wherein a crystal c-axis direction of the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film and a crystal c-axis direction of the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film are in a parallel relationship (It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433)).
Considering claim 13, Andosca teaches one of the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film and the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film outputs an acoustic oscillatory wave made up of at least one of a sonic wave and an ultrasonic wave and the other one of the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film and the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film detects reflected waves of the acoustic oscillatory wave (It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andosca (PG Pub 20150256144) and in view of Yamazaki (PG Pub 20180175794).
Considering claim 3, Andosca teaches the piezoelectric film integrated device as described above.
However, Andosca does not teach wherein the substrate is an SOI substrate that includes a Si substrate, a SiO2 part and a monocrystalline Si part and the vibrating plate includes the SiO2 part and the monocrystalline Si part.
Yamazaki (Figure 5G) teaches wherein the substrate is an SOI substrate (10 + paragraph 0052) that includes a Si substrate (11 + paragraph 0052), a SiO2 (12 + paragraph 0052) part and a monocrystalline Si part (paragraph 0052) and the vibrating plate includes the SiO2 part and the monocrystalline Si part (paragraph 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the substrate is an SOI substrate that includes a Si substrate, a SiO2 part and a monocrystalline Si part and the vibrating plate includes the SiO2 part and the monocrystalline Si part into Andosca’s device for the benefit of achieving excellent frequency temperature characteristics.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andosca (PG Pub 20150256144) and in view of Kuroda (JP 2021166220, for English Translations purposes the examiner is using PG Pub 20230276711).
Considering claim 6, Andosca teaches the piezoelectric film integrated device as described above.
However, Andosca does not teach the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the electrode, and the first piezoelectric element is an epitaxial growth film stuck on the surface of the electrode.
Kuroda (Figure 10) teaches the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (001) surface (3A + paragraph 0046) as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the electrode, and the first piezoelectric element is an epitaxial growth film stuck on the surface of the electrode (The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight + paragraph 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the electrode, and the first piezoelectric element is an epitaxial growth film stuck on the surface of the electrode into Andosca’s device for the benefit of providing a piezoelectric element having a high performance.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andosca (PG Pub 20150256144) and in view of Kijima (PG Pub 20190013459).
Considering claim 7, Andosca teaches the piezoelectric film integrated device as described above.
However, Andosca does not teach an SRO film formed on the electrode, wherein the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the SRO film, and the first piezoelectric element is an epitaxial growth film formed on the surface of the SRO film.
Kijima (Figure 1) teaches an SRO film (14 + paragraph 0160) formed on the electrode, wherein the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (001) (paragraph 0160) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the SRO film, and the first piezoelectric element (15 + paragraph 0160) is an epitaxial growth film formed on the surface of the SRO film (The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight + paragraph 0160).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Considering claim 8, the prior art does not teach the second monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (0001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the electrode in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Considering claim 9, the prior art does not teach the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (0001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the electrode in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Considering claim 10, the prior art does not teach the first monocrystalline piezoelectric film has a (0001) surface as a crystal face parallel to a surface of the SRO film in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Furthermore, claim 11, which depends upon a dependent claim, would also be allowed would also be allowed if it depended an independent and allowable claim.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837