This Office action is in response to communications filed on 11/27/2025.
Claims 1-12 and 29-36 are pending.
Claims 13-28 have been cancelled.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/27/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Enrico et al. (US 20200382308 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-12, 29, 31, 33-34, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Enrico et al. (US 20200382308 A1, hereinafter Enrico).
Regarding claim 1, Enrico discloses a method for non-custodial cryptographic key storage (abstract, "method"), comprising:
receiving, by a first computing device via an input device, an identifier of a user (¶[0015], "capture a plurality of images by means of an image sensor comprised in said apparatus, generate a sensor fingerprint on the basis of said plurality of images"; ¶[0016], "in order to decrypt said encrypted private key it is necessary to possess the fingerprint of the image sensor that, in order to be determined needs to have access to the user terminal with sufficient access rights to use the image sensor of said user apparatus" - note the images act as an identifier because they are taken to "make it possible to authenticate said user apparatus 1 at said device 1" (see ¶[0043] and further ¶[0101], "authenticate a user apparatus 1 using few images [...] it makes it practically impossible to authenticate another user apparatus having a different image sensor"));
generating, by the first computing device, a seed value (¶[0095], "a new random bit string (seed)" - generating inherent);
enciphering, by the first computing device, the identifier of the user and the seed value to generate a cipher value (¶[0043], "a registration fingerprint calculation phase E2, in which a registration sensor fingerprint is generated, through the processing means 11 of the user apparatus 1, on the basis of said plurality of images captured during said phase E1, and where said at least a portion of said registration sensor fingerprint is encoded (compressed), through the processing and control means of the user apparatus 1, using an algorithm of random projections, in such a way as to generate a compressed fingerprint W of said at least a portion of said registration sensor fingerprint"; ¶[0090], "user apparatus 1 can be configured to calculate a compressed version of each of the sensor fingerprints calculated by it through random projections, in other words through a multiplication (matrix product) between a compression matrix and a matrix that represents said sensor fingerprint (or vice-versa)"; ¶[0094], "the security of the system can be further increased by the method for generating random projections since it is based on the use of a pseudo-random number generator that is initialized by a seed kept secret on the device of the user"; ¶[0095], " it is advantageously possible to use a compressed fingerprint generated with a new random bit string (seed)");
retrieving, by the first computing device, a private key of a cryptographic key pair (¶[0046], "a key preparation phase E3, in which a copy of keys, i.e., a public key and a private key, is generated […] the private key is encrypted" (i.e., provided as an input after generation));
encrypting, by the first computing device, the private key with the cipher value (¶[0046], "a key preparation phase E3, in which a copy of keys, i.e., a public key and a private key, is generated and the public key is transmitted to the application server 2, whereas the private key is encrypted, preferably through a symmetrical cryptography algorithm, using said compressed fingerprint W as a key, so as to generate an encrypted private key "); and
storing, by the first computing device, the encrypted private key and the seed value in association with a public key of the cryptographic key pair (¶[0094], "seed kept secret on the device of the user"; ¶[0046], "generate an encrypted private key (also called ‘sketch’) that is stored in the memory means 12,13"; ¶[0034], "FIG. 2, the user apparatus […] comprises the following components:"; ¶[0036], "volatile memory means 12"; ¶[0037], "mass memory means 13").
Regarding claim 2, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifier of the user comprises a user-generated key (¶[0015], "capture a plurality of images by means of an image sensor comprised in said apparatus, generate a sensor fingerprint on the basis of said plurality of images"; ¶[0016], "in order to decrypt said encrypted private key it is necessary to possess the fingerprint of the image sensor that, in order to be determined needs to have access to the user terminal with sufficient access rights to use the image sensor of said user apparatus" - note the images act as an identifier because they are taken to "make it possible to authenticate said user apparatus 1 at said device 1" (see ¶[0043] and further ¶[0101], "authenticate a user apparatus 1 using few images [...] it makes it practically impossible to authenticate another user apparatus having a different image sensor" i.e., essentially a key)).
Regarding claim 4, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the seed value comprises a random number or a pseudo-random number (¶[0095], "it is advantageously possible to use a compressed fingerprint generated with a new random bit string (seed)").
Regarding claim 6, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the private key further comprises generating, by the first computing device, the cryptographic key pair (¶[0046], "a key preparation phase E3, in which a copy of keys, i.e., a public key and a private key, is generated").
Regarding claim 7, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein storing the encrypted private key and the seed value further comprises storing the encrypted private key in a first database in association with the public key (¶[0046], "encrypted private key (also called ‘sketch’) that is stored in the memory means", wherein the private key is a counterpart of the public key), and
storing the seed value in a second database in association with the public key (¶[0094], "seed kept secret on the device of the user").
Regarding claim 9, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising discarding the private key after encrypting the private key with the cipher value (¶[0017], encrypting the private key; ¶[0018], the keys are stored in the user device but can only be used if the fingerprint is available, suggesting the plaintext key is not stored in the apparatus, but since the private key was used to generate the encrypted key at the user device (see Fig. 3), the plain text private key was at some point stored at least in transient memory of the user device, thus it was discarded - see also ¶[0051], recovering the private key from the encrypted key in order to use it, further suggesting the plaintext key is no longer in the user device after encryption).
Regarding claim 10, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the private key is not stored (¶[0017], encrypting the private key; ¶[0018], the keys are stored in the user device but can only be used if the fingerprint is available, suggesting the plaintext key is not stored in the apparatus, but since the private key was used to generate the encrypted key at the user device (see Fig. 3), the plain text private key was at some point stored at least in transient memory of the user device, thus it was discarded - see also ¶[0051], recovering the private key from the encrypted key in order to use it, further suggesting the plaintext key is no longer in the user device after encryption).
Regarding claim 11, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifier of the user is not stored (¶[0048]-[0050], the fingerprint must be generated again, by the user device, by taking images using the camera in order to decrypt the private key, suggesting the previous images are not available at the user device - see also ¶[0016], "it is necessary to possess the fingerprint of the image sensor that, in order to be determined needs to have access to the user terminal with sufficient access rights to use the image sensor of said user apparatus", if previous images were available it would not be "necessary" to use the image sensor).
Regarding claims 12, 29, 31, 33-34, and 36, Enrico discloses a system for non-custodial cryptographic key storage, comprising: a first computing device comprising an input device and a processor ().
The remaining limitations of claims 12, 29, 31, 33-34, and 36 are similar in scope to those of claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9. Therefore, claims 12, 29, 31, 33-34, and 36 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enrico (US 20200382308 A1) in view of ZHOU et al. (CN 110855429 A, hereinafter ZHOU).
Regarding claim 3, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1.
Enrico does not disclose that the identifier of the user comprises a passphrase.
ZHOU discloses that an identifier of a user may comprise a passphrase (page 1, under summary of invention, "When the application software needs to generate a key, first a user is required to input a user password, and the password is remembered, a key seed is generated by using the password and the salt by means of a PBKDF 2 algorithm, a value of the salt is a fixed word "mnemonic", and then a HASH algorithm is used to generate a user key (USERKEY) by using a seed; at this time, a dense user key or a plaintext key is generated; after being encrypted later, the plaintext key needs to be deleted; and the encryption key method is generated by means of the user password, so that the key can be recovered after the key is lost").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Enrico and ZHOU to arrive at a system in which the identifier of the user comprises a passphrase.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enhance the system by enabling other identifiers to be used instead of images when a device is not capable of using images, as deciding what to use as identifier is a design choice.
Regarding claim 30, Enrico discloses the system of claim 12.
The remaining limitations of claim 30 are similar in scope to those of claim 3. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 3, above.
Claim(s) 5 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enrico (US 20200382308 A1) in view of Agrawal et al. (US 8831228 B1, hereinafter Agrawal).
Regarding claim 5, Enrico discloses the method of claim 1.
Enrico does not disclose that enciphering the identifier of the user and the seed value further comprises concatenating the first identifier and the seed value.
Agrawal discloses that enciphering an identifier of a user and a seed value comprises concatenating a first identifier and the seed value (col. 1, lines 53-54, "an encrypted content encryption key that is encrypted with a packaging key"; col. 12, lines 56-58, "an identifier (e.g., a unique identifier) to each of client systems 600. Such an identifier may be referred to herein as a packaging entity identifier (PEID)"; col. 13, lines 13-22, "a given client system's packaging key may be generated from both the PEID of that client system and a secret root seed 684 […] the key generator may perform an HMAC-SHA1 on the concatenation of the secret root seed and the client system's PEID").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Enrico and Agrawal to arrive at a system in which enciphering the identifier of the user and the seed value further comprises concatenating the first identifier and the seed value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enhance the system by enabling other unique identifiers to be used instead of images when a device is not capable of using images, as deciding what to use as identifier is a design choice.
Regarding claim 32, Enrico discloses the system of claim 12.
The remaining limitations of claim 32 are similar in scope to those of claim 5. Therefore, claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 5, above.
Claim(s) 8 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enrico (US 20200382308 A1) in view of Fontaine (US 12483397 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Enrico discloses the method of claim 7.
Enrico does not disclose that at least one of the first database and the second database is managed by a second computing device; and wherein storing the encrypted private key and the seed value further comprises transmitting at least one of the encrypted private key and the seed value to the second computing device for storage.
Fontaine discloses at least one of the first database and the second database is managed by a second computing device (col. 15, lines 6-14, "backup can be implemented as follows in accordance with one embodiment. Upon creation of a new Household Private/Public Key Pair, the Household app creates a Household Private Key Recovery Secret Key (HPKRSKey). The Household app encrypts the Household Private Key with the HPKRSKey, and sends the Encrypted Household Private Key to the Household microservice for backup in the central service"); and
wherein storing the encrypted private key and the seed value further comprises transmitting at least one of the encrypted private key and the seed value to the second computing device for storage (col. 15, lines 6-14, "backup can be implemented as follows in accordance with one embodiment. Upon creation of a new Household Private/Public Key Pair, the Household app creates a Household Private Key Recovery Secret Key (HPKRSKey). The Household app encrypts the Household Private Key with the HPKRSKey, and sends the Encrypted Household Private Key to the Household microservice for backup in the central service").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Enrico and Fontaine to arrive at a system in which at least one of the first database and the second database is managed by a second computing device; and wherein storing the encrypted private key and the seed value further comprises transmitting at least one of the encrypted private key and the seed value to the second computing device for storage.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide backup means for the private key.
Regarding claim 35, Enrico discloses the system of claim 34.
The remaining limitations of claim 35 are similar in scope to those of claim 8. Therefore, claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 8, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10554401 B1, which discloses "generates private key information (or seeds for private keys) and another, geographically independent, team (e.g., at a second facility) that generates encryption key information (or passphrases) for encrypting private keys" (col. 45, lines 44-48).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496