DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11, 13-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US PG Pub. 20200292835) in view of Wang et al. (CN107861178) in view of Muira (US PG Pub. 20170285452).
Regarding claim 1, Lo discloses an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising:
a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL);
a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A);
a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A),
wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a),
a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A);
wherein a surface area of the second lens array (123) is greater than a surface area of the first lens array (121) (illustrated in fig. 2A, the surface area of the second lens array is larger than the first lens array).
Lo fails to teach a prism element, disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the second lens array is located between the condensing element and the prism element, wherein a surface area of the second lens array is greater than a surface area of the first lens array.
Wang discloses a projection device comprising lens array (lens array 204 of fig. 9), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9); and a prism element (triangular prism 20 of fig. 6), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9), wherein the second lens array (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below) is located between the condensing element and the prism element (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to replace the condensing lens 322b of fig. 2A of Lo with the condensing lens, lens array and prism of Wang in order to fold the light path of the illumination beam making the projection device more compact and further to uniformize.
Lo as modified by Wang fails to teach a spacing element, disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the spacing element is located between the second lens array and the prism element.
Muira discloses a spacing element (condenser lens 162 and the condenser lens 163 of fig. 1), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the spacing element is located between the second lens array and the prism element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Lo and Wang with the condensing lenses/”spacer” of Muira in order to focus the light onto the modulator because the light flux as it passes through the lens array becomes point sources and each of the point sources as it passes through the lens array diverges; therefore, the condensing element/”spacer” focuses the point sources onto the modulation device.
Regarding claim 3, Lo discloses wherein the second lens array (123) comprises a plurality of microlenses (microstructure 123u of fig. 1D), and the plurality of microlenses are disposed in a hexagonal arrangement, in a rectangular arrangement (illustrated in fig. 1D), or in a spiral arrangement.
Regarding claim 4, Lo discloses the second lens array (123).
Lo fails to teach wherein an included angle is formed by an extending direction of the second lens array and an extending direction of a light exit surface of the prism element.
Wang discloses wherein an included angle (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 9) is formed by an extending direction of the lens array (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 9) and an extending direction of a light exit surface of the prism element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to replace the condensing lens 322b of fig. 2A with the condensing lens, lens array and prism of Wang in order to fold the light path of the illumination beam making the projection device more compact and further to uniformize the light source.
Regarding claim 5, Lo discloses wherein the light source module (110) comprises a light emitting element (laser element 111) and a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 7, Lo discloses wherein the collimating lens group (312) comprises at least one optical lens (illustrated in fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 11, Lo discloses a projection device (para. 0005; projection apparatus), comprising: an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising:
a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL);
a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A);
a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A),
wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a),
a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A);
wherein a surface area of the second lens array (123) is greater than a surface area of the first lens array (121) (illustrated in fig. 2A, the surface area of the second lens array is larger than the first lens array).
Lo fails to teach a prism element, disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the second lens array is located between the condensing element and the prism element, wherein a surface area of the second lens array is greater than a surface area of the first lens array; a light valve, disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9), for converting the illumination beam into an image beam; and a projection lens, disposed on the transmission path of the image beam and configured for projecting the image beam out of the projection device .
Wang discloses a projection device comprising lens array (lens array 204 of fig. 9), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9); and a prism element (triangular prism 20 of fig. 6), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9), wherein the second lens array (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below) is located between the condensing element and the prism element (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below); a light valve device (DMD (Digital Micromirror Device) element 30 of fig. 9), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 9), for converting the illumination beam into an image beam (pg. 10 2nd para.; DMD element 30 is overlapping the spot of each point light source, so to obtain a square spot of uniform illumination); and a projection lens (although not explicitly disclosed projectors have projection lens), disposed on the transmission path of the image beam and configured for projecting the image beam out of the projection (although not explicitly disclosed projectors have projection lens to project the image out of the projection device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to replace the condensing lens 322b of fig. 2A with the condensing lens, lens array and prism of Wang in order to fold the light path of the illumination beam making the projection device more compact and further to uniformize the light source.
Lo as modified by Wang fails to teach a spacing element, disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the spacing element is located between the second lens array and the prism element.
Muira discloses a spacing element (condenser lens 162 and the condenser lens 163 of fig. 1), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the spacing element is located between the second lens array and the prism element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Lo and Wang with the condensing lenses/”spacer” of Muira in order to focus the light onto the modulator because the light flux as it passes through the lens array becomes point sources and each of the point sources as it passes through the lens array diverges; therefore, the condensing element/”spacer” focuses the point sources onto the modulation device.
Regarding claim 13, Lo discloses wherein the second lens array (123) comprises a plurality of microlenses (microstructure 123u of fig. 1D), and the plurality of microlenses are disposed in a hexagonal arrangement, in a rectangular arrangement (illustrated in fig. 1D), or in a spiral arrangement.
Regarding claim 14, Lo discloses the second lens array (123).
Lo fails to teach wherein an included angle is formed by an extending direction of the second lens array and an extending direction of a light exit surface of the prism element.
Wang discloses wherein an included angle (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 9) is formed by an extending direction of the lens array (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 9) and an extending direction of a light exit surface of the prism element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to replace the condensing lens 322b of fig. 2A with the condensing lens, lens array and prism of Wang in order to fold the light path of the illumination beam making the projection device more compact and further to uniformize the light source.
Regarding claim 15, Lo discloses wherein the light source module (110) comprises a light emitting element (laser element 111) and a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 17, Lo discloses wherein the collimating lens group (312) comprises at least one optical lens (illustrated in fig. 2B).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US PG Pub. 20200292835) in view of Wang (CN107861178) in view of Muira (US PG Pub. 20170285452) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (JP2011048187) herein referred to as Wang ‘187.
Regarding claim 2, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system for a projection device (illustrated in fig. 2A).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the second lens array comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are located on two opposite sides of the second lens array.
Wang ‘187 discloses wherein the second lens array comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are located on two opposite sides of the second lens array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the lens array of Lo, Wang and Muira with the lens array having structure on two opposing sides as shown in Wang ‘187 in order to achieving a diffusing effect with good light beam uniformity (Wang ‘187 last para.).
Regarding claim 12, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system for a projection device (illustrated in fig. 2A).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the second lens array comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are located on two opposite sides of the second lens array.
Wang ‘187 discloses wherein the second lens array comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are located on two opposite sides of the second lens array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the lens array of Lo, Wang and Muira with the lens array having structure on two opposing sides as shown in Wang ‘187 in order to achieving a diffusing effect with good light beam uniformity (Wang ‘187 last para.).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US PG Pub. 20200292835) in view of Wang (CN107861178) in view Muira (US PG Pub. 20170285452) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Cheng (US PG Pub. 20190377185).
Regarding claim 6, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses wherein the light emitting element (at least one light emitting diode 311 of fig. 2B).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to explicitly teach wherein the light emitting diode is formed by an arrangement of red, green, green and blue light-emitting diodes.
Cheng discloses an illumination system wherein the light emitting diode (light source array 152 of fig. 2) is formed by an arrangement of red, green, green and blue light-emitting diodes (para. 0027; illuminating source array 152 includes red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source of Lo, Wang and Muira with the red, green and blue LEDs of Cheng in order to increase the color gamut of the illumination device.
Regarding claim 16, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses wherein the light emitting element (at least one light emitting diode 311 of fig. 2B).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to explicitly teach wherein the light emitting diode is formed by an arrangement of red, green, green and blue light-emitting diodes.
Cheng discloses an illumination system wherein the light emitting diode (light source array 152 of fig. 2) is formed by an arrangement of red, green, green and blue light-emitting diodes (para. 0027; illuminating source array 152 includes red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source of Lo, Wang and Muira with the red, green and blue LEDs of Cheng in order to increase the color gamut of the illumination device.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US PG Pub. 20200292835) in view of Wang (CN107861178) in view of Muira (US PG Pub. 20170285452) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Schadenhofer et al. (US PG Pub. 20210123578).
Regarding claim 8, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system comprising an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising: a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A), wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a), a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); and further comprising: a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator.
Schadenhofer discloses a projection device for a headlight wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator (Parabolic Concentrators (CPC) 7 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the collimating lens of Lo, Wang and Muira with the parabolic concentrator of Schadenhofer in order to allow free positioning of the light source within a projection system (Schadenhofer; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 9, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); and further comprising: a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator.
Schadenhofer discloses a projection device for a headlight wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator (Parabolic Concentrators (CPC) 7 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the collimating lens of Lo, Wang and Muira with the parabolic concentrator of Schadenhofer in order to allow free positioning of the light source within a projection system (Schadenhofer; para. 0019).
Lo as modified by Wang, Muira and Schadenhofer fails to teach wherein the first lens array is directly connected to the compound parabolic concentrator; however,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to directly connect the parabolic concentrator to the collimating lens in order to increase illumination efficiencies, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 18, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system comprising an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising: a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A), wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a), a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); and further comprising: a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator.
Schadenhofer discloses a projection device for a headlight wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator (Parabolic Concentrators (CPC) 7 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the collimating lens of Lo, Wang and Muira with the parabolic concentrator of Schadenhofer in order to allow free positioning of the light source within a projection system (Schadenhofer; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 19, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); and further comprising: a collimating lens group (collimating lens 312 of fig. 2B), wherein the light emitting element provides red light (red laser element 111R of fig. 2C), green light (green laser element 111G of fig. 2C), and blue light (blue laser element 111B of fig. 2C).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator.
Schadenhofer discloses a projection device for a headlight wherein the collimating lens group comprises a compound parabolic concentrator (Parabolic Concentrators (CPC) 7 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the collimating lens of Lo, Wang and Muira with the parabolic concentrator of Schadenhofer in order to allow free positioning of the light source within a projection system (Schadenhofer; para. 0019).
Lo as modified by Wang, Muira and Schadenhofer fails to teach wherein the first lens array is directly connected to the compound parabolic concentrator; however,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to directly connect the parabolic concentrator to the collimating lens in order to increase illumination efficiencies, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US PG Pub. 20200292835) in view of Wang (CN107861178) in view of Muira (US PG Pub. 20170285452) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Alasaarela (US PG Pub. 20090190101).
Regarding claim 10, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising: a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a), a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the condensing element has a reflective surface for reflecting the illumination beam to be transmitted to the second lens array.
Alasaarela discloses wherein the condensing element (mirror surface 720 is cylindrically curved in this case and further para. 0084; The purpose of the relay optics is to match or focus this rectangular illumination to the micro-display and at the same time to match or focus the illumination pupil to the entrance pupil of the projection lens) has a reflective surface for reflecting the illumination beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Lo, Wang and Muira with the reflective focusing element of Alasaarela in order to match the illumination to the display device (Alasaarela; para. 0084).
Regarding claim 20, Lo as modified by Wang and Muira discloses an illumination system (illumination system 300A of fig. 2A), comprising: a light source module (light source module 110 of fig. 2A), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0020; light source module 110 is adapted to emit at least one beam CL); a first lens array (lens element 121 of fig. 2A), configured on a transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); a condensing element (second lens element 322a of fig. 2A), disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A); wherein the first lens array (121) is located between the light source module (110) and the condensing element (322a), a second lens array (element 123 of fig. 2A) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam (illustrated in fig. 2A).
Lo as modified by Wang and Muira fails to teach wherein the condensing element has a reflective surface for reflecting the illumination beam to be transmitted to the second lens array.
Alasaarela discloses wherein the condensing element (mirror surface 720 is cylindrically curved in this case and further para. 0084; The purpose of the relay optics is to match or focus this rectangular illumination to the micro-display and at the same time to match or focus the illumination pupil to the entrance pupil of the projection lens) has a reflective surface for reflecting the illumination beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Lo, Wang and Muira with the reflective focusing element of Alasaarela in order to match the illumination to the display device (Alasaarela; para. 0084).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 6 February 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882