DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 09/26/2025. Claims 1, 3, and 5-15 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 12, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, and 5-15 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala et al. (US 2023/0100816, previously presented), Tijoriwala hereinafter, in view of Ugurlu et al. (US 2020/0267755, previously presented), Ugurlu hereinafter, and Mu et al. (US 2023/0075481), Mu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Tijoriwala teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for uplink resource allocation, the method comprising (Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; See also Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]):
receiving, from a base station (BS), a configured uplink grant configuration comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters (Fig. 7A, steps 704 and 708; Fig. 7B, step 710; Para. [0062] - At block 704, the UE URLLC module 512 may receive set of configured grant parameters corresponding to each of the one or more configured grant resources from a serving cell, i.e., the BS 504. The set of configured grant parameters includes modulation and coding scheme (MCS), frequency resources including number of resource blocks (N.sub.RB), and time resources including starting offset (T.sub.OFFSET), the number of uplink symbols, number of time domain symbols, and repetition factor (N.sub.REP). The UE URLLC module 512 may also receive downlink reference signals from the serving cell. The UE URLLC module 512 may receive the set of configured grant parameters from the BS 504 through the downlink channel; Para. [0064] - At block 708, the UE URLLC module 512 may shortlist and select the CGs that satisfy the transport block (TB) size requirement and transmit (Tx) power requirement from all the available multiple configured grants (CGs). Let such CGs be in set S_1; Para. [0066] - Accordingly, referring to FIG. 7B, at block 710, the UE URLLC module 512 may obtain the CGs that satisfy latency requirement based on packet arrival time and the time resources required for each CG. Let these CGs be in set S_2 that are obtained from the set S_1; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
The examiner interprets Fig. 7A, steps 704 and 708 and Para. [0062, 0064, 0066] as the base station transmits to the UE a set of configured grant parameters which are then grouped into sets S_1 and S_2.
activating the configured uplink grant configuration (Para. [0049] - In accordance with the embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 providing URLLC services support grant-free uplink transmission with multiple configured grants (CGs) and as the UE 502 and the BS 504 may select configure grant resources for the UE 502 for URLLC UL transmissions. Accordingly, in some embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 may use configured resources for a grant-free URLLC UL transmission. As such, the UE 502 may determine a set of configured grant resources from one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502 for uplink transmission based on a plurality of transmission parameters and a plurality of Uplink Transmission Parameters for the uplink transmission satisfying a plurality of requirements. The UE 502 may select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources based on a determination that the uplink transmission is associated with one of a first type of application and a second type of application. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the BS 504 may allocate URLLC-specific grant-free resources for the UE 502 for URLLC UL transmission. As such, the BS 504 may obtain information related to channel conditions for one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502. The BS 504 may determine a set of configured grant resources from the one or more configured grant resources for the uplink transmission based on the information and a set of configured grant parameters corresponding to each of the one or more configured grant resources. The BS 504 may transmit information corresponding to the set of configured grant resources to the UE 502 for UL transmission. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 may then again select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources, as per aforementioned embodiments; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
The examiner interprets “the UE 502 may determine a set of configured grant resources from one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502” and “UE 502 may select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources” as activating the configured uplink grant configuration.
applying the first set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
The examiner interprets “the UE 502 may determine a set of configured grant resources from one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502” and “UE 502 may select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources” as applying the first set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration.
determining a first uplink resource based on the configured uplink grant configuration and the first set of parameters (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
The examiner interprets “the UE 502 may determine a set of configured grant resources from one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502 for uplink transmission based on a plurality of transmission parameters and a plurality of Uplink Transmission Parameters for the uplink transmission satisfying a plurality of requirements” and “UE 502 may select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources based on a determination that the uplink transmission is associated with one of a first type of application and a second type of application” as determining a first uplink resource based on the configured uplink grant configuration and the first set of parameters.
transmitting, to the BS, pending uplink data on the first uplink resource (Fig. 5; Para. [0047] - The UE 502 may communicate with the BS 504 using antenna(s) 506-1 to 506-2…Similarly, the BS 504 may receive signals from the UE 502, e.g., uplink transmission, through the antenna 508-1 and may transmit signals to the BS 504, e.g., downlink transmission, through the antenna 508-2…Examples of the uplink channel include a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel) and a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel), PRACH (Physical Random Access Channel), etc. For example, the PUSCH may be used for transmitting uplink data (i.e., Transport Block(s), MAC PDU, and/or UL-SCH (Uplink-Shared Channel)); Para. [0049] - In accordance with the embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 providing URLLC services support grant-free uplink transmission with multiple configured grants (CGs) and as the UE 502 and the BS 504 may select configure grant resources for the UE 502 for URLLC UL transmissions. Accordingly, in some embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 may use configured resources for a grant-free URLLC UL transmission. As such, the UE 502 may determine a set of configured grant resources from one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502 for uplink transmission based on a plurality of transmission parameters and a plurality of Uplink Transmission Parameters for the uplink transmission satisfying a plurality of requirements. The UE 502 may select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources based on a determination that the uplink transmission is associated with one of a first type of application and a second type of application. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the BS 504 may allocate URLLC-specific grant-free resources for the UE 502 for URLLC UL transmission. As such, the BS 504 may obtain information related to channel conditions for one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502. The BS 504 may determine a set of configured grant resources from the one or more configured grant resources for the uplink transmission based on the information and a set of configured grant parameters corresponding to each of the one or more configured grant resources. The BS 504 may transmit information corresponding to the set of configured grant resources to the UE 502 for UL transmission. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the UE 502 may then again select at least one configured grant from the set of configured grant resources, as per aforementioned embodiments; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
The examiner interprets Para. [0047] as the UE 502 may transmit with uplink resources to the base station; Para. [0049] explains that the UE uses an uplink resource to perform the uplink transmission described in Para. [0047].
The examiner interprets the uplink resource described in Para. [0049] as the first or second resource described in FIGS. 7A-7C, PARA. [0060-0074] and in other cited portions of Tijoriwala.
and in response to determining that an amount of the pending uplink data is greater than threshold (Para. [0058] - Accordingly, the UE URLLC module 512 may determine a set of configured grant resources from the one or more configured grant resources available to the UE 502 for uplink transmission based on a plurality of transmission parameters and a plurality of Uplink Transmission Parameters for the uplink transmission satisfying a plurality of requirements. The plurality of transmission parameters include a transport block size of a transport block (TB) for transmission using one or more configured grant resources, a transmission power required for transmission of the transport block, a latency for transmission of the transport block, and a reliability for transmission of the transport block. The set of parameters corresponding to the uplink data packet include a size of the uplink data packet, an arrival time of the uplink data packet, and a transmission power required for transmitting the uplink data packet. The plurality of requirement includes a transport block size requirement wherein the transport block size is one of greater than or equal to the size of the uplink data packet; a transmission power requirement wherein the transmission power required is one of less than or equal to the available transmission power of the UE; a latency requirement wherein the latency is one of less than or equal to a predetermined latency for the uplink transmission; and a reliability requirement wherein the reliability is one of greater than or equal to a predetermined block error rate for the uplink transmission. The plurality of requirement can be applied in any order as explained in below paragraphs; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0059, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]):
The examiner interprets the transport block size requirement as a threshold for the size of the uplink data packet, i.e., the uplink data packet size is constrained or cannot exceed the transport block size.
determining a second uplink resource based on the configured uplink grant configuration and the second set of parameters (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]),[[;]]
The examiner interprets the uplink resource described in Para. [0049] as the first or second resource described in FIGS. 7A-7C, PARA. [0060-0074] and in other cited portions of Tijoriwala.
and transmitting the pending uplink data on the second uplink resource (Fig. 5; Para. [0047]; Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]).
The examiner interprets the uplink resource described in Para. [0049] as the first or second resource described in FIGS. 7A-7C, PARA. [0060-0074] and in other cited portions of Tijoriwala.
Yet, Tijoriwala does not expressly teach in response to receiving the acknowledgment, stopping applying the first set of parameters and applying the second set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration.
However, Ugurlu teaches
in response to receiving the acknowledgment, stopping applying the first set of parameters (Fig. 6, step 620; Para. [0066] - At 620, process 600 may involve processor 512 activating or deactivating, according to the dynamic signaling, one or more grant configurations associated with one or more configured grants of a plurality of configured grants related to transmissions or receptions with respect to apparatus 510. Process 600 may proceed from 620 to 630 or 640; See also Para. [0069-0074]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0075-0082])
Examiner’s Note: In Mu, the acknowledgement received from the base station is an uplink grant that reflects the network’s response to the UE’s threshold-based notification and thus indicates how uplink transmission should proceed. Ugurlu teaches that receipt of such network signaling causes the UE to deactivate one configured grant configuration and activate another, so that the acknowledgement in Mu functions as the trigger that stops use of the first configured-grant parameters and causes the UE to apply the second configured-grant parameters for subsequent uplink transmission.
and applying the second set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration (Fig. 6, steps 630 and 640; Para. [0067-0068] - [0067] At 630, process 600 may involve processor 512 configuring one or more activation or deactivations states. In such cases, each of the one or more states may correspond to a single grant configuration or a set of multiple grant configurations of the one or more grant configurations. In some implementations, each of the one or more grant configurations may be associated with a unique configuration identifier or index. Moreover, each of the one or more activation or deactivation states may be mapped to the respective configuration identifier or index of the single grant configuration or the set of multiple grant configurations of the one or more grant configurations. [0068] At 640, process 600 may involve processor 512 configuring one or more activation state lists or one or more deactivation state lists. In such cases, each entry in the one or more activation state lists or the one or more deactivation state lists may correspond to a single grant configuration state or a set of multiple grant configuration states of activation or deactivation. In some implementations, each entry in the one or more activation state lists or the one or more deactivation state lists may be associated with a unique state identifier or index. Additionally, each of the one or more grant configurations is mapped to one or more of state identifiers or indices in the one or more activation state lists or the one or more deactivation state lists. In some implementations, in activating or deactivating the one or more grant configurations, process 600 may involve processor 512 mapping a value in an indicator field in the dynamic signaling and an activation state or a deactivation state of a single configuration grant or each of multiple configuration grants of the plurality of configured grants according to the one or more activation state lists or the one or more deactivation state lists; See also Para. [0069-0074]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0075-0082]),
The examiner interprets “configuring one or more activation or deactivations states” and “configuring one or more activation state lists or one or more deactivation state lists” as applying the second set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration.
The examiner interprets switching uplink grant configuration as applying a different set of parameters because the uplink grant configuration defines various parameters that control uplink transmission and switching the configuration involves applying an alternative set of these predefined parameters to modify how uplink transmissions are handled, thereby switching parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tijoriwala’s invention of a method of resource selection by a user equipment (Tijoriwala §Abstract) to include Ugurlu’s invention of “techniques pertaining to multiple semi-static grant activation and deactivation by a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission in mobile communications” (Ugurlu Para. [0002]) because Ugurlu’s invention provides methods where “a single DCI may be used to activate or deactivate multiple configurations simultaneously” which in turn may lead to “better resource utilization, lower Layer 1 (L1) activation/deactivation signaling overhead, and faster configured grant activation/deactivation leading to improved latency performance” (Ugurlu Para. [0025]).
Yet, Tijoriwala nor Ugurlu expressly teach transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold, receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification.
However, Mu teaches
transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7, S710; Para. [0068] - As shown in FIG. 7, in step S710, the UE transmits to a base station a SR, the SR indicating whether the volume of whole uplink data to be transmitted by the user equipment is greater than a threshold. The step may correspond to step S210 shown in FIG. 2. The SR may explicitly or implicitly indicate whether the volume of the whole uplink data to be transmitted by the user equipment is greater than the threshold; See also Fig. 7, S750; Para. [0069-0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0035-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0040-0045]; Fig. 6, Para. [0056-0066]; Fig. 8, Para. [0082-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0124]; Fig. 12, Para. [0136-0145]; Fig. 14, Para. [01547-0160]),
receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification (Fig. 7, S740; Para. [0072] - When the volume of the whole uplink data to be transmitted by the user equipment is greater than the threshold, the base station may allocate scheduling information to the uplink data with a volume equal to the threshold, so that the UE may firstly transmit to the base station the uplink data with a volume equal to the threshold by employing the scheduling information. In this case, in step S740, the uplink grant indicating the scheduling information for transmitting the uplink data with a volume equal to the threshold is received from the base station. Then, in order to notify the base station of the volume of remaining uplink data, in step S750, the UE transmits to the base station the uplink data (that is, the uplink data with a volume equal to the threshold) by employing the scheduling information allocated by the base station, and when transmitting the uplink data, the UE may also indicate the volume of the remaining uplink data to be transmitted by the UE to the base station by employing the transmitted uplink data. The volume of the remaining uplink data to be transmitted by the UE to the base station may be explicitly or implicitly indicated in the uplink data. It should be noted that, although it is described here that the base station allocates scheduling information for the uplink data with a volume equal to the threshold, it is merely illustrative. The base station may also allocate scheduling information for uplink data with other volume (e.g., less than the threshold); See also Fig. 7, S720 and S760; Para. [0069-0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0035-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0040-0045]; Fig. 6, Para. [0056-0066]; Fig. 8, Para. [0082-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0124]; Fig. 12, Para. [0136-0145]; Fig. 14, Para. [01547-0160]),
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner interprets the schedule request in Fig. 7, S710 as a notification. Also, the Examiner also interprets the base station response of an uplink grant as an acknowledgement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold, receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification as taught by Mu, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu, so that it would provide means to reduce “power consumption and time delay during an uplink data transmission process” (Mu Para. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tijoriwala teaches a user equipment (UE), the UE comprising (Fig. 5, element 502; Fig. 6; Para. [0044-0049]):
at least one processor (Fig. 6, element 604; Para. [0012, 0052-0053]);
and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to (Fig. 6, element 606; Para. [0052-0054, 0057]):
receive, from a base station (BS), a configured uplink grant configuration comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters (Fig. 7A, steps 704 and 708; Fig. 7B, step 710; Para. [0062]; Para. [0064]; Para. [0066]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
activating the configured uplink grant configuration (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
applying the first set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
determining a first uplink resource based on the configured uplink grant configuration and the first set of parameters (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
transmitting, to the BS, pending uplink data on the first uplink resource (Fig. 5; Para. [0047]; Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]);
and in response to determining that an amount of the pending uplink data is greater than threshold (Para. [0058]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0059, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]):
determining a second uplink resource based on the configured uplink grant configuration and the second set of parameters (Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]),[[;]]
and transmitting the pending uplink data on the second uplink resource (Fig. 5; Para. [0047]; Para. [0049]; See also Para. [0047-0049, 0058, 0062-0074]; Figs. 7A-7C, Para. [0060-0074]; Figs. 8A-8B, Para. [0075-0078]; Figs. 9A-9B, Para. [0093-0098]; Fig. 17, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 18B, Para. [0018-0121], Tables 3-5; Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0136]; Fig. 20, Para. [0137-0145]; Fig. 21, Para. [0146-0155]).
Yet, Tijoriwala does not expressly teach stopping applying the first set of parameters and applying the second set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration.
However, Ugurlu teaches
in response to receiving the acknowledgment, stopping applying the first set of parameters (Fig. 6, step 620; Para. [0066]; See also Para. [0069-0074]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0075-0082])
and applying the second set of parameters in the configured uplink grant configuration (Fig. 6, steps 630 and 640; Para. [0067-0068]; See also Para. [0069-0074]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0075-0082]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tijoriwala’s invention of a method of resource selection by a user equipment (Tijoriwala §Abstract) to include Ugurlu’s invention of “techniques pertaining to multiple semi-static grant activation and deactivation by a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission in mobile communications” (Ugurlu Para. [0002]) because Ugurlu’s invention provides methods where “a single DCI may be used to activate or deactivate multiple configurations simultaneously” which in turn may lead to “better resource utilization, lower Layer 1 (L1) activation/deactivation signaling overhead, and faster configured grant activation/deactivation leading to improved latency performance” (Ugurlu Para. [0025]).
Yet, Tijoriwala nor Ugurlu expressly teach transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold, receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification.
However, Mu teaches
transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7, S710; Para. [0068]; See also Fig. 7, S750; Para. [0069-0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0035-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0040-0045]; Fig. 6, Para. [0056-0066]; Fig. 8, Para. [0082-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0124]; Fig. 12, Para. [0136-0145]; Fig. 14, Para. [01547-0160]),
receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification (Fig. 7, S740; Para. [0072]; See also Fig. 7, S720 and S760; Para. [0069-0081]; Fig. 2, Para. [0035-0039]; Fig. 3, Para. [0040-0045]; Fig. 6, Para. [0056-0066]; Fig. 8, Para. [0082-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0124]; Fig. 12, Para. [0136-0145]; Fig. 14, Para. [01547-0160]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the BS, a notification indicating that the amount of the pending uplink data exceeds the threshold, receiving, from the BS, an acknowledgment in response to the notification as taught by Mu, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu, so that it would provide means to reduce “power consumption and time delay during an uplink data transmission process” (Mu Para. [0168]).
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (2021/0153176, previously presented), Lee hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a switching indication from a network.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a switching indication from a network (Fig. 14 & Para. [0346] - In step S1404, the network may indicate a command corresponding to activation or deactivation of at least one of the configured grants to the UE. For example, RX UE may receive, from the BS, CG activation command for CG1 and CG2. Fig. 14 & Para. [0348] - In step S1405, upon receiving the command, the UE may trigger one or more configured grant confirmations. Fig. 14 & Para. [0349] - each confirmation may correspond to a different configured grant which is activated or deactivated by the command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a switching indication from a network as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to efficiently confirm activation or deactivation for a configured grant for a wireless device performing transmission or reception (Lee Para. [0019]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a downlink assignment.
Lee further teaches
wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a downlink assignment (Para. [0011] - A wireless device receives activation command or deactivation command on Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for at least one of the multiple configured grants).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: receiving a downlink assignment as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to efficiently confirm activation or deactivation for a configured grant for a wireless device performing transmission or reception (Lee Para. [0019]).
Regarding, Claim 12, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: transmitting information to the BS.
However, Lee further teaches
wherein the trigger event further comprises: transmitting information to the BS (Fig. 14 & Para. [0346] - In step S1404, the network may indicate a command corresponding to activation or deactivation of at least one of the configured grants to the UE. For example, RX UE may receive, from the BS, CG activation command for CG1 and CG2; Fig. 14 & Para. [0348] - In step S1405, upon receiving the command, the UE may trigger one or more configured grant confirmations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: transmitting information to the BS as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to efficiently confirm activation or deactivation for a configured grant for a wireless device performing transmission or reception (Lee Para. [0019]).
Claim(s) 5-7, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (2015/0237648, previously presented), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer expiring.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer expiring (Fig. 4, 175 and 180, Para.[0115-0116] - [0115] When the first timer is a time alignment timer TAT, optionally, when a TA value of the user equipment remains unchanged, the user equipment may also not perform the random access procedure, but releases the uplink signal configuration when the TAT expires, so as to facilitate effective utilization of the uplink and downlink resources. Therefore, optionally, in another embodiment, as shown in FIG. 4, the method 100 further includes the following steps. [0116] S175. Release the uplink signal configuration information when the time alignment timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer expiring as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to prevent an unnecessary uplink signal from being sent, which in turn, improves delays in sending uplink and downlink data, system overhead waste, user equipment power usage, and user experience (Zhang Para.[0006]).
Regarding, Claim 6, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: a timer being started; [[a]]the timer being restarted; or [[a]]the timer being running.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: a timer being started; [[a]]the timer being restarted; or [[a]]the timer being running (Para. [0139] - In this embodiment, the USCT is used to control transmission of the uplink signal. Specifically, when the USCT (i.e., Uplink Signal Control Timer, see Para.0135) is running, the user equipment sends the uplink signal to the base station; when the USCT is not running, the UE does not send the uplink signal to the base station. Optionally, running and no running of the USCT (i.e., Uplink Signal Control Timer, see Para.0135) may also be used to control sending and no sending of the uplink signal. ….. The USCT (i.e., Uplink Signal Control Timer, see Para.0135) may be started when the trigger information from the base station is received, for example, the user equipment starts or restarts the USCT when receiving a PDCCH that is sent by the base station and that includes a downlink resource assignment or an uplink resource grant, or may start or restart the USCT (i.e., Uplink Signal Control Timer, see Para. [0135]) when starting or restarting a TAT of the user equipment.)
The examiner interprets that only one of the claimed limitations must be mapped within claim 6 because of the presence of the “at least one of.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: a timer being started; [[a]]the timer being restarted; or [[a]]the timer being running as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to prevent an unnecessary uplink signal from being sent, which in turn, improves delays in sending uplink and downlink data, system overhead waste, user equipment power usage, and user experience (Zhang Para.[0006]).
Regarding, Claim 7, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer not being running.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer not being running (Para.0139 - USCT is used to control transmission of the uplink signal. Specifically, when the USCT is running, the user equipment sends the uplink signal to the base station; when the USCT (i.e., Uplink Signal Control Timer, see Para.0135) is not running, the UE does not send the uplink signal to the base station. Optionally, running and no running of the USCT may also be used to control sending and no sending of the uplink signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: a timer not being running as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to prevent an unnecessary uplink signal from being sent, which in turn, improves delays in sending uplink and downlink data, system overhead waste, user equipment power usage, and user experience (Zhang Para.[0006]).
Regarding, Claim 11, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: entering a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time, or leaving [[a]]the DRX active time by the UE.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: entering a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time, or leaving [[a]]the DRX active time by the UE (Fig. 8, S196 and S131, Para.[0150] - S196. Start the discontinuous reception short cycle timer when the discontinuous reception inactivity timer expires, and before the discontinuous reception short cycle timer expires, send the uplink signal to the base station according to the uplink signal configuration information., Para.[0153] - S131. Stop sending the uplink signal to the base station when the discontinuous reception inactivity timer expires and the discontinuous reception short cycle timer expires).
Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed limitations must be mapped within claim 11 because of the presence of the “at least one of the followings.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of: entering a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time, or leaving [[a]]the DRX active time by the UE as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to prevent an unnecessary uplink signal from being sent, which in turn, improves delays in sending uplink and downlink data, system overhead waste, user equipment power usage, and user experience (Zhang Para.[0006]).
Regarding, Claim 14, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach the UE wherein the trigger event further comprises: the UE being operating on a preconfigured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises: the UE being operating on a preconfigured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Fig. 8, S195, Para. [0149] - S195. Receive timing durations, sent by the base station, of the discontinuous reception inactivity timer and a discontinuous reception short cycle timer of the user equipment). USCT is defined by Zhang in Para.[0135] as uplink signal control timer (USCT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: the UE being operating on a preconfigured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to prevent an unnecessary uplink signal from being sent, which in turn, improves delays in sending uplink and downlink data, system overhead waste, user equipment power usage, and user experience (Zhang Para.[0006]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Agiwal et al. (2023/0209504, previously presented), Agiwal hereinafter.
Regarding, Claim 8, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
However, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: a downlink channel quality measured by the UE being greater than a second threshold.
However, Agiwal explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises: a downlink channel quality measured by the UE being greater than a second threshold (Para. [0215] - UE selects the UL carrier (NUL or SUL) of the serving cell for SDT (currently camped cell is considered as serving cell for SDT). If SUL is not configured in the Serving cell for SDT (currently camped cell is considered as serving cell for SDT) UE selects NUL. If SUL is configured in the Serving cell for SDT and if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than sdt-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-SUL, UE selects SUL carrier. If SUL is configured in the Serving cell for SDT and if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is greater than or equal to sdt-RSRP-ThresholdSSB-SUL, UE selects NUL carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: a downlink channel quality measured by the UE being greater than a second threshold as taught by Agiwal, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide benefits such as reducing signaling overhead and UE power consumption by not transitioning to radio resource control (RRC)_CONNECTED and reducing latency by allowing fast transmission of small and infrequent packets (Agiwal Para.[0015]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rao et al. (2023/0337269, previously presented), Rao hereinafter.
Regarding, Claim 13, Tijoriwala in view Ugurlu and Mu teaches claim 1.
However, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach wherein the trigger event further comprises: performing a procedure for an extended reality (XR) service.
However, Rao explicitly discloses
wherein the trigger event further comprises: performing a procedure for an extended reality (XR) service (Fig. 4. 401 and 420, Para.[0266-0267] – [0267] While referring to FIG. 4, according to an embodiment related to the selection an alternative connectivity node, a WTRU (410) receives a configuration (400) XR-RRM measurement objects/events from the serving gNB (411). The WTRU (410) may send an indication in XR-RRM report (401) to the network when triggered by an XR-RRM event (420) (e.g., potential LOS link blockage). Receipt of the XR-RRM report (401) by the serving gNB (411) triggers an exchange of handover request/response (401a, 401b) between the serving gNB (411) and target connectivity node 1 (412) and/or target connectivity node 2 (413). In response, the WTRU (410) may receive, from the serving gNB (411), XR-RRM information (402) containing a first visual object (e.g., an image frame or a 3D object) of one or more alternative connectivity nodes. The WTRU (410) may perform local processing to derive a modified first visual object by applying corrections related to size and orientation based on latest WTRU positioning. Activation (421) of visual sensing of the connectivity node may then be triggered in the WTRU (410) by receipt by the WTRU (410) of XR-RRM information (402)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger event further comprises: performing a procedure for an extended reality (XR) service as taught by Rao, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means to proactively avoid link failure due to objects being in line of sight between the XR-WTRU and a network node with which the XR-WTRU has an established connection (Rao §Abstract).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Christoffersson et al. (US 2025/0097822), Christoffersson hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, Tijoriwala in view of Ugurlu and Mu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tijoriwala, Ugurlu, nor Mu expressly teach determining that the pending uplink data is received from a specific Logical Channel (LCH) or a specific Logical Channel Group (LCG).
However, Christoffersson teaches
determining that the pending uplink data is received from a specific Logical Channel (LCH) or a specific Logical Channel Group (LCG) (Para. [0204] - In a first embodiment, when a SDT procedure is initiated and some or all of the available UL data in DRBs configured for SDT is mapped to a LCH which is subject to LCH restrictions which do not allow transmission on a CG-SDT resource, the CG-SDT procedure is not selected. This embodiment can be implemented by adding a selection criteria for CG-SDT so that CG-SDT can only be selected if the data is on a LCH/DRB which is not restricted from CG-SDT. A LCH or DRB which is restricted from CG-SDT may be referred to as a “restricted LCH” or a “restricted DRB”. Similarly, for convenience, data that that belongs to a restricted LCH or a restricted DRB may be referred to as “restricted data” to denote it as data that is restricted from transmission on CG-SDT resources. rant; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0236-0242]; Fig. 4, Para. [0243]; Para. [0129-0182]; Fig. QQ6, Para. [0293-0302]).
Examiner’s Note:
Christofferson Para. [0204] is found in Para. [0036] of Provisional application 63/229,584.
CHRISTOFFERSSON explains that when uplink data is present, the UE identifies the logical channel to which that data is mapped in order to determine whether transmission restrictions apply. This necessarily requires the UE to determine that the pending uplink data is received from a specific logical channel, as recited in Claim 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining that the pending uplink data is received from a specific Logical Channel (LCH) or a specific Logical Channel Group (LCG) as taught by Christoffersson, in the combined system of Tijoriwala/Ugurlu/Mu, so that it would provide a means for the UE to determine whether pending uplink data is mapped to and received from a specific logical channel subject to transmission restrictions, thereby allowing the UE to identify the logical channel associated with the pending uplink data when evaluating uplink transmission behavior (Christoffersson Para. [0182-0185]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468