DETAILED ACTION
Notice as to Grounds of Rejection and Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 11 and 12
Claim 1 recites an information processing apparatus and is one of the statutory categories.
Claim 11 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium and is one of the statutory categories.
Claim 12 recites a method and is one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following, for which the bolded items are interpreted to encompass steps that fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion.
An information processing apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to:
detect a specific noncontact state established by a user for an operation surface; and.
present, if the specific contact state is detected, an explanation of an operation method used for the operation surface or a function of an object displayed on the operation surface.
More specifically, the whole limitation may be practically performed in the human mind. For example, a human can mentally detect a noncontact surface and can write an explanation about the operation for the noncontact surface.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim recites additional elements/limitations “a processor configured to …”.
With regards to the additional element/limitation “a processor” this additional element is considered as merely reciting the words ‘apply it’ with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer/sensor, or merely using a computer/sensor as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The courts have identified this type of limitation is insufficient to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Thus, these additional elements identified above when considered individually and in combination, do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, there are no additional elements.
Claims 2-10
With regards to claims 2-10, they recite additional elements of displaying information using gesture and positioning of display are determined to be insiginificant limitations as necessary data gathering/outputting. The courts have found limitations that add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception as insufficient to qualify as ‘significantly more’ when recited in a claim with a judicial exception.
Thus, when considered, individually and in combination, these additional elements fail to amount to ‘significantly more’.
Claims 11, 12 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 12 recite “present[ing] if the specific contact state is detected…” “the specific contact state” lacks antecedent basis” and it is not clear which specific contact state is being referred to? For the purpose of examination, examiner has interpreted to “the specific noncontact state”.
Dependent claims 2-10 are rejected incorporating the deficiencies of claims 1, 13 and 20 respectively upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIMA (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0338975 hereinafter Shima)
With regard to claims 1, 11, 12, Shima teaches an information processing apparatus, a non-transitory computer readable medium, a method for processing information, respectively, comprising:
a processor configured to <fig 3 item 50>:
detect a specific noncontact state established by a user for an operation surface; and <proximity (non-contact) operation is detected on a touch panel para 0077>.
present, if the specific contact state is detected, an explanation of an operation method used for the operation surface or a function of an object displayed on the operation surface <button information is displayed upon detection of a proximity information para 0079, 0082, figs 8b, 9b item 11>.
With regard to claim 2, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Shima teaches wherein the specific noncontact state is a state where proximity to the operation surface has been detected for a certain period of time but an operation has not been performed on the object displayed on the operation surface <predetermined time is used to detect proximity touch para 0082>.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Nakao et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0123592 A1 hereinafter Nakao).
With regard to claim 3, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakao in combination of Shima teaches wherein the explanation differs depending on a trajectory of detection of the proximity to the operation surface <based upon the vertical direction (trajectory) and proximity state appropriate button can be selected para 0173-0179, fig 13a, 13b>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Nakao before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Nakao, in order to obtain limitations taught by Nakao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides convenience for a user to correctly select a button for operation.
Claims 4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Bari et al (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0220247 A1 hereinafter Bari).
With regard to claim 4, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation of the operation method is an explanation of a method for performing a gesture operation based on a movement of the user with respect to the operation surface <see fig 3C where information about performing operations is provided upon proximity input and gesture operation can be performed para 0070, 0089>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides convenience for a user to use gesture to perform operations and is well known in the art.
With regard to claim 5, this claim depends upon claim 4, which is rejected above. In addition, Bari teaches wherein the explanation of the operation method is an explanation of a method for performing a gesture operation based on a movement of the user performed without contact with the operation surface <see fig 3C where information about performing operations is provided upon proximity input (without touch) and gesture operation can be performed para 0070, 0089>.
With regard to claim 6, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation is displayed outside an area where proximity to the operation surface has been detected <see fig 3C item 330 is shown outside of the area of proximity operation>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides better visualization of the information provided as a result of proximity operation.
With regard to claim 7, this claim depends upon claim 2, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation is displayed outside an area where proximity to the operation surface has been detected <see fig 3C item 330 is shown outside of the area of proximity operation>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides better visualization of the information provided as a result of proximity operation.
With regard to claim 9, this claim depends upon claim 4, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation is displayed outside an area where proximity to the operation surface has been detected <see fig 3C item 330 is shown outside of the area of proximity operation>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides better visualization of the information provided as a result of proximity operation.
With regard to claim 10, this claim depends upon claim 5, which is rejected above. Shima does not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation is displayed outside an area where proximity to the operation surface has been detected <see fig 3C item 330 is shown outside of the area of proximity operation>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides better visualization of the information provided as a result of proximity operation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Nakao in view of Bari et al (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0220247 A1 hereinafter Bari).
With regard to claim 8, this claim depends upon claim 3, which is rejected above. Shima, Nakao do not appear to explicitly disclose limitation of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Bari teaches wherein the explanation is displayed outside an area where proximity to the operation surface has been detected <see fig 3C item 330 is shown outside of the area of proximity operation>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shima, Nakao, Bari before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Shima, Nakao to include the teachings of Bari, in order to obtain limitations taught by Bari. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides better visualization of the information provided as a result of proximity operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
/ANIL K BHARGAVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172