DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first frame plate" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the limiting strip" in line 11 of the claim and “the mounting plate” in line 7 of the claim . There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second frame plate" and “the third frame plate” in the second and third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “slightly less” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly less” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the ratio between the width of the inlet grill and the length of third frame plates is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the shell" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-4 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 2 and claims 7-8 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 6.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the shell" in the fourth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "preconfigured packaging sheet" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polidoro (US 20200289698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Polidoro teaches a sterilizing panel lamp (ceiling-mounted decontamination unit, abstract): at least one housing (abstract); at least one frame body (frame-like device, paragraph [0032]), wherein the frame body is arranged at the bottom peripheral side of the housing, the frame body encloses to form a mounting surface (Figure 6 housing flange “1a” mounts housing to ceiling grid “37”), an inlet grille (Figure 10 intake aperture “2a” with vent cover “3”), a lighting assembly (Figure 7 room luminaire “100”), and an outlet grille (Figure 10 exhaust aperture “2b” with vent cover “3”) are arranged in sequence along the transverse direction or the longitudinal direction of the mounting surface (Figure 7 room luminaire “100” arranged in the frame “1a” between the intake aperture “2a” and the exhaust aperture “2b”), the inlet grille is detachably arranged between the frame body and the lighting assembly (Figure 7 intake aperture “2a” attached to frame “1a” via latch “8” and hinge “7”), and the housing, the frame body, the inlet grille, the lighting assembly and the outlet grille enclose to form an air flow passage (Figure 14 air stream “19” through closed housing “1”); at least one sterilization assembly is provided in the air flow passage (Figure 14 internal air decontamination source “16” in air flow path “19”); and at least one fan disposed in the air flow path, the fan rotating to increase the speed at which air enters from the inlet grille and blows out of the outlet grille through the air flow path (internal fan to draw air into the decontamination system and recirculate room air, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Polidoro teaches wherein the portion of the frame body defined to contact only the inlet grille is the first frame plate the inlet grille comprises a first connection portion, a second connection portion, and a grille portion between the first connection portion and the second connection portion (Figure 7 intake aperture “2a” attached to frame “1a” via latch “8” and hinge “7” with vent cover “3” between latch “8” and hinge “7”), the first connection portion rotatably inserted into the first frame plate (hinge allows intake aperture to pivot open, paragraph [0126]); wherein the second connection portion is fixed in cooperation with the lighting assembly via at least one locking and releasing structure; or a fixing plate substantially parallel to the first frame plate is provided between the inlet grille and the lighting assembly, and the second connection portion is fixed in cooperation with the fixing plate via at least one locking and releasing structure (intake aperture secured to housing by latch mechanism, paragraph [0126]).
Regarding claim 3, Polidoro teaches wherein the sterilizing panel lamp is defined to have an up and down direction (Figure 4 air stream “19” enters up into housing “1” and exits “20” down from housing) and the second connection portion is provided with at least one through-hole (Figure 4 latch “8” protrudes through intake aperture “2c”); and the locking and releasing structure comprises: at least one rotating member penetrating the through-hole and exposed to the lower surface of the second connection portion (Figure 4 latch “8” protrudes through intake aperture “2c”), the rotating member being rotatable along the central axis of the through-hole (secured to housing by latch mechanism engaging the latch slot, paragraph [0126]); and at least one limiting member, wherein one end of the limiting member is fixed to the rotating member, and the other end extends from the rotating member to the side of the rotating member, so as to partially protrude to the upper surface of the lighting assembly as the rotating member rotates or retracts to above the second connection portion as the rotating member rotates (latch provision can include pivot, lift-and-slide, screws, bolts, or spring clips, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Polidoro teaches wherein the upper surface of the second connection portion is provided with at least one boss, the top surface of the boss is arranged higher than the upper surface of the second connection portion, the top surface of the boss is provided with at least one through-hole, and the rotating member passes through the through-hole and is exposed to the lower surface of the second connection portion; and/or, the second connection portion comprises at least one plate body extending away from the first connection portion, the upper surface of the plate body is lower than the upper surface of the second connection portion, and when the limiting part protrudes to the upper surface of the lighting assembly, the upper surface of the plate body abuts the lower surface of the lighting assembly (Figure 4 latch “8” engages with end latch provision “8a” to close aperture, and latch provision can include pivot, lift-and-slide, screws, bolts, or spring clips, paragraph [0032]); and/or one side of the first frame plate facing the inlet grille is concavely provided with a groove, the cross section of the groove is in the shape of an arc, the first connection portion extends out of a convex strip in the direction of the groove, and the convex strip is rotatably inserted into the groove; and/or the grille portion comprises a plurality of grills, the grills are connected in a staggered manner at intervals to form grid holes, and the grills are obliquely arranged below towards the first frame plate; and/or the upper surface of the second connection portion is provided with two mutually perpendicular stoppers protruding upwards, and the two stoppers are provided on the rotation path of the limiting member, so that the limiting member rotates between 0-90 degrees.
Regarding claim 6, Polidoro teaches wherein the portion of the frame that is defined to contact only the outlet grille is the second frame plate (Figure 4 exhaust aperture “2d” secured to frame via latch “8” and hinge “7”) and the remaining portion of the frame is the third frame plate (Figure 1 ceiling tile in frame “9” attached with latch “5” and hinge “6”); the third frame plates are two in number and the two third frame plates are arranged in parallel (Figure 15 ceiling tile in frame “9” holding lens “103a” and LED module “46” plates in parallel), the third frame plates abut an edge of the lower surface of the lighting assembly to support the lighting assembly (Figure 15 ceiling tile in frame “9” abuts with frame), and the length of a connecting line between two ends of the inlet grille close to the third frame plates is slightly less than the distance between the two third frame plates (Figure 1 width of inlet aperture “2” is less than the total length of the ceiling tile in the frame “9”); the outlet grille is plugged to the second frame plate (Figure 10 exhaust aperture “2b” with vent cover “3”).
Regarding claim 7, Polidoro teaches wherein the upper surface of the shell is recessed downwardly at a position adjacent to the outlet grille to form a receiving cavity (Figure 3 decontamination chamber “15” extends down towards exhaust aperture “10”), the fan is arranged towards the lighting assembly (Figure 3 means for driving air “47”), at least one air inlet is provided at the bottom of the receiving cavity, at least one air outlet is provided at the bottom of the receiving cavity, at least one air outlet is provided at the side of the receiving cavity close to the outlet grille (Figure 3 air moving through decontamination chamber “14” through fan and out of the exhaust aperture “20”), and the fan rotates so as to suck air in the air flow passage from the air inlet and discharge the air from the air outlet to the outlet grille via the blades of the fan (fans inside the housing re-circulate the air in the room through the housing, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Polidoro teaches wherein at least one baffle is disposed between the upper surface of the lighting assembly and the bottom of the receiving cavity adjacent the side of the outlet grille to allow air entering the air flow passage to pass through the receiving cavity; and/or at least one cover is provided above the fan and is fixed by a screw so as to seal the receiving cavity; and/or the side of the outlet grille close to the second frame plate is provided with air-shaped air guiding plate, and the arc-shaped air guiding plate extends from the outlet grille towards the upper part of the air outlet (Figure 10 air deflector “64” extending up into the decontamination chamber “15”); and/or at least one negative ion air purifier is provided above the outlet grille corresponding to the air outlet.
Regarding claim 9, Polidoro teaches wherein the direction in which the inlet grille, the lighting assembly and the outlet grille are sequentially arranged is defined as the length direction and the shell is provided with pre-cut lines in the width direction (Figure 4 inlet aperture “2c”, lighting assembly “100”, and outlet aperture “2d” arranged in order and distinctly separated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polidoro in view of Watanabe (US 20180344890 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Polidoro teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the first connection portion of the inlet grille is provided with at least one bracket extending toward the top surface of the housing, the sterilization assembly comprising at least one ultraviolet lamp panel disposed on a side of the bracket facing the grille portion; and/or the first connection portion and the second connection portion of the inlet grille extend relatively upward out of the mounting plate, the sterilization assembly comprises at least one air filter, the air filter is inserted between the two mounting plates and is adhered to the upper surface of the grille portion, and the upper ends of the two mounting plates protrude relatively from the limiting strip so as to limit the upward movement of the air filter. However, Watanabe teaches wherein the first connection portion of the inlet grille is provided with at least one bracket extending toward the top surface of the housing, the sterilization assembly comprising at least one ultraviolet lamp panel disposed on a side of the bracket facing the grille portion; and/or the first connection portion and the second connection portion of the inlet grille extend relatively upward out of the mounting plate, the sterilization assembly comprises at least one air filter, the air filter is inserted between the two mounting plates and is adhered to the upper surface of the grille portion, and the upper ends of the two mounting plates protrude relatively from the limiting strip so as to limit the upward movement of the air filter (Figure 35 dust filter “5” held into frame “25C” with lugs “26” and fastening pieces “60”, and Figure 4 filter “5” positioned at inlet “11).
Polidoro and Watanabe are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of ultraviolet lamp air filters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the lamp assembly taught by Polidoro with the inlet filter assembly taught by Watanabe because Watanabe teaches that the fastening pieces maintain the dust collection filter in a stable position resulting in good workability (paragraph [0141]).
Regarding claim 10, Polidoro teaches all aspects of the current invention as discussed above including wherein the pre-cut line is disposed proximate one end of the inlet grille and extends through outer surface of the housing (Figure 4 inlet aperture “2c” distinguished by outer panel), but does not teach a connecting surface is provided along two sides of the pre-cut line, the outer surface of the connecting surface is provided slightly lower than the outer surface of the shell for fixedly connecting two ends of the pre-configured packaging sheet to the two connecting surfaces respectively after cutting and separating along the pre-cut line; the inner surface of the shell is provided with reinforcing convex ribs on both sides of the pre-cut line. However, Watanabe teaches a connecting surface is provided along two sides of the pre-cut line, the outer surface of the connecting surface is provided slightly lower than the outer surface of the shell for fixedly connecting two ends of the pre-configured packaging sheet to the two connecting surfaces respectively after cutting and separating along the pre-cut line (Figure 2 recessed portion “80” for connecting front cover “71” and upper body “70”; the inner surface of the shell is provided with reinforcing convex ribs on both sides of the pre-cut line (fastening hooks fit into corresponding insertion holes to allow front cover and upper body to be attached, paragraph [0076]).
Polidoro and Watanabe are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the lamp assembly taught by Polidoro with the frame attachment configuration taught by Watanabe because Watanabe teaches the detachable configuration allows for the frame parts to be accessible and easily maintained or replaced (paragraph [0076]).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799