DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/15/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-2, 5 and 7-8 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-9 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
In light of Applicant's Amendment of 08/15/2025, the objection to the drawings set forth in the Office Action of 06/04/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim objection
In light of Applicant's Amendment of 08/15/2025, the objection to the claims 1-9 set forth in the Office Action of 06/04/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1: " A valve assembly for a fuel pump and comprising: " should be changed to --A valve assembly for a fuel pump
In claim 7, line 16: " each connecting the peripheral mounting portion to a corresponding shutting portion" should be changed to --each connecting the peripheral mounting portion to a corresponding shutting portion of the plurality of shutting portions--. (for clarity).
In claim 8, lines 6-7: " at the center of the shutting portions” should be changed to --at the center of the plurality of shutting portions--. (for clarity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. In light of Applicant's Amendment of 08/15/2025, the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 USC § 112, second paragraph, set forth in the Office Action of 06/04/2025, is moot.
7. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second wall" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as a second wall parallel to and opposite the first wall.
Further, claims 2-9 are rejected for their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SPIZZIRRI et al. (hereinafter “SPIZZIRRI”) (Pub. No.: WO2021234661 A1 cited in IDS filed 06/08/2023) in view of Kariya et al. (hereinafter “Kariya”) (Patent No.: US 5,295,469 A).
Regarding claim 1, SPIZZIRRI discloses a valve assembly (7) for a fuel pump (1) and comprising:
a one-way outlet closing valve (delivery valve 8, as stated in Abstract and page 6 of 33, lines 21-24), which only allows fuel to flow out (see page 6 of 33, lines 21-25);
a one-way pressure relief valve (pressure relief valve 9 that is arranged together with the delivery valve 8 and coaxially with the delivery valve 8 forming a single integrated assembly, see page 6 of 33, lines 20-31), which only allows fuel to flow in (which only allows a fuel flow flowing into the pumping chamber 4 through the delivery channel 6, see page 6 of 33, lines 20-31);
a connector (as stated on page 8 of 33, lines 10-17, the valve assembly 7 comprises a cylindrical and externally threaded connector 11 which is screwed into the containment cavity 10 and is adapted to connect the delivery channel 6 to a subsequent fuel supply duct; typically, the fuel supply duct is screwed around a spout of the connector 11), which has a housing (13) (the cylindrical connector 11 is inserted in the containment cavity 10 while has an internal housing 13 having an end near the pumping chamber 4, see page 8 of 33, lines 20-25);
a valve disc (valve disc 14 which is arranged in the housing 13 of the connector 11, as stated on page 8 of 33, lines 30-31), which engages the housing (engages the housing 13 of the connector 11, see page 9 of 33, line 1) of the connector (11) and has a plurality of through outlet holes (a series of through delivery holes 18 through which fuel can flow and are part of the delivery valve 8, as discussed at page 9 of 33, lines 12-6), which are part of the outlet closing valve (the series of through delivery holes 18 are undoubtedly being a part of the delivery valve 8 or outlet closing valve) and are each provided with a first valve seat (each delivery hole 18 is provided with a valve seat 19 which is obtained at the wall 16 of the valve disc 14, as detailed at page 9 of 33, lines 14-21 ) obtained in an area of a first wall 16 of the valve disc 14, and a through relief hole 20 (as stated in claim 1), which is part of the pressure relief valve 9 (as stated in claim 1) and is provided with a second valve seat 21 obtained in an area the valve disc, the second wall (15) parallel to and opposite the first wall (16);
an annular body (33), which is arranged in the housing (13) of the connector (11), engages the housing (13) without clearance (as stated on page 13 of 33, lines 13-20, the valve assembly 7 comprises an annular body 30, which is arranged in the housing 13 of the connector 11, engages the housing 13 without clearance (i.e., an outer wall of the annular body 30 is being in contact with an inner wall of the housing 13) and has a central through hole (having a cylindrical central through hole 31 which allows the fuel which flows directly and axially from the delivery channel 6 to flow axially towards the valve disc 14, see page 13 of 33, lines 18-25) with a cylindrical shape (the central through hole 31 is surely being cylindrical, as expressly stated in line 18 of page 13 of 33), which allows fuel to axially flow towards the valve disc (the cylindrical central through hole 31 clearly allows the fuel to flow directly towards the valve disc 14, see page 13 of 33, lines 18-22);
a spring (spring 28 of the pressure relief valve 9, as presented on page 14 of 33, lines 4-5), which is part of the pressure relief valve (as discussed on page 14 of 33, lines 4-5 & 18-28), is arranged in the central hole (cylindrical central through hole 31) of the annular body (annular body 30, as shown in annotated Figure 3) and pushes a first shutter (shutter 27, as detailed on page 13 of 33, lines 20-25) of the pressure relief valve (of the pressure relief valve 9, as best seen in annotated Figure 3) against the second valve seat (normally resting on the valve seat 21 of the relief hole, as expressly stated on page 14 of 33, lines 22-28);
a striker body (striker body 32, as presented on page 14 of 33, lines 15-28), which is cup-shaped so as to contain (the striker body 30 which, as stated at page 14 of 33, is preferably cup-shaped (in essence it is a "bowl") to contain one end of the spring 28), on the inside, one end of the spring (one end of the spring 28, as depicted Figure 3), has a centrally perforated base wall (as discussed on page 14 of 33, lines 23-28, the cup-shaped striker body 32 houses therein one end of the spring 28, has a centrally perforated base wall against which rests the spring 28, is arranged in the central hole 31 of the annular body 30, and is fixed inside the annular body 30), against which the spring (28,see page 14 of 33, lines 23-28) rests, is arranged in the central hole (31, see page 14 of 33, lines 23-28) of the annular body (30) and is fixed inside the annular body (30, as best seen in annotated Figure 3); and
a connection element (connection element 29, which, as stated at page 14 of 33, lines 6-11, is shaped and sized so as not to fully engage the central hole 31 so that the fuel can flow along the central hole 31 passing around the connection element 29), which is interposed between the first shutter (the connection element 29 is clearly being interposed between the shutter 27 of the pressure relief valve 9 and the spring 28, as best seen in annotated Figure 3) of the pressure relief valve (9) and the spring (28).
Particularly, SPIZZIRRI demonstrates as how: The valve assembly 7 comprises an annular body 30, which is arranged in the housing 13 of the connector 11, engages the housing 13 without clearance (i.e., an outer wall of the annular body 30 is in contact with an inner wall of the housing 13), is compressed between the valve disc 14 and the main body 2, and has a cylindrical central through hole 31 which allows the fuel which flows directly and axially from the delivery channel 6 to flow axially towards the valve disc 1 . The annular body 30 is not screwed in the housing 13 of the connector 11 and it can therefore axially slide in the housing 13 of the connector 11; furthermore, as mentioned above, the annular body 30 is compressed axially between the valve disc 14 and the main body 2, i.e., at one end it is in contact with the valve disc 14 and at the opposite end it is in contact with the main body 2. The connector 11 is inserted (screwed) into the containment cavity 10 without axially abutting against the main body 2 and pushes axially, with the interposition of the valve disc 14, the annular body 30 to abut against the main body 2; i.e., the connector 11 does not axially touch the main body 2, but pushes it axially, with the interposition of the valve disc 14, the annular body 30 abutting against the main body 2 (see page 13 of 33, lines 13-31 & page 14 of 33, lines 1-3).
Although SPIZZIRRI discloses the majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention, he is silent as to the fact that the central hole of the annular body has an annular protuberance, which projects from a wall of the central hole and constitutes a limit stop that limits travel of the connection element.
Nevertheless, Kariya in the same field of endeavor teaches another valve assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 3 of SPIZZIRRI, wherein, as stated in column 7 lines 8-16, “The connecting portion 276 is connected to a return piping for returning the fuel dis charged through the safety valve 25 to a fuel tank once more. In the housing 275, a spring chamber 277 for containing a spring and a valve body chamber 278 for containing a valve body are also formed therein, in which an abutting surface 279 for restricting movement of the valve body is formed between the spring chamber 277 and the valve body chamber 278”
Kariya, in column 7 lines 37-50, then goes on to describe as how: The valve containing space 218 of the connecting pipe 215 contains the ball valve 225. The ball valve 225 abuts the seat surface 325 so as to shut off a fuel passage connected to the throttle passage 315. In this case, since a movement stroke of the valve body 235 is restricted by the abutting surface 279, the small diametral portion 237 does not entirely go out of the valve body containing space 218. Therefore, the ball valve 225 is surely held in the valve body containing space 218. The spring chamber 277 of the housing 275 contains a shim 265 and a spring 245 for biasing the valve body 235.
Most importantly, however, is the specific structure and/or arrangement of the valve body, wherein the abutting surface 279 is clearly forming an annular step.
In other words, with reference to annotated Figure 13, Kariya explicitly exhibits as how the central hole of the annular body or cylindrical housing 275 is having an annular protuberance and being projected from a wall of the central hole while surely constitutes a limit stop that limits travel of the connection element 235, as instantly claimed.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using an annular step portion, as taught by Kariya, with the valve assembly of SPIZZIRRI, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a valve body comprising an annular stepped bore in a check valve to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the fluid flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the central hole of the annular body would be further having an annular step portion or annular protuberance, which would be further projecting from the wall of the central hole or cylindrical central through hole and/or would be further constituting a limit stop that would be directly and/or indirectly limiting the travel of the connection element, as instantly claimed.
Thus, the combination of SPIZZIRRI and Kariya appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant's claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, SPIZZIRRI discloses that: the connection element 29 is shaped and sized so as not to fully engage the central hole 31 so that the fuel can flow along the central hole 31 passing around the connection element 29. Furthermore, a side wall of the connection element 29 is arranged at least one point (preferably at least three distinct points) in contact with a wall of the central hole 31 of the annular body 30 to rub against the wall of the central hole 31 and therefore guide the axial sliding of the shutter 27 (see page 14 of 33, lines 4-14).
As best seen immediately above, SPIZZIRRI evidently illustrates as how the connection element 29 comprises: a central pin or central pin portion CP29, which is inserted inside the spring 28 and ends at a seat S27 of the first shutter 27; and a guide ring or guide ring portion GR29, which has an outer side wall OSW29, which is in contact with a wall of the central hole 31 of the annular body 30 so as to guide sliding of the connection element 29 inside the central hole 31, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 3, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
In addition, according to the combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would surely recognize that the annular protuberance or abutting surface, as disclosed by Kariya, would be further limiting the travel of the connection element 29 by coming into contact with the guide ring portion or guide ring GR29, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claim 4, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as stated in claim 1, SPIZZIRRI explicitly teaches that: the valve assembly (7) comprises a cylindrical valve disc (14) which engages the housing (13) of the connector (11) and has at least one through delivery hole (18) which is part of the delivery valve (8) and is provided with a first valve seat (19) formed at a first wall (16) of the valve disc (14) and a through relief hole (20) which is part of the pressure relief valve (9) and is provided with a second valve seat (21) formed at a second wall (15) of the valve disc (14) parallel and opposite to the first wall (16); wherein the delivery valve (8) comprises a first shutter which engages the first valve seat (19) of the delivery hole (18) and is movable to detach from the first valve seat (19) when the pressure of the fuel downstream of the valve disc (14) is sufficiently lower than the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc (14); and wherein the pressure relief valve (9) comprises a second shutter (27) which engages the second valve seat (21) of the relief hole (20) and is movable to detach from the second valve seat (21) when the difference between the pressure of the fuel downstream of the valve disc (14) and the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc (14) is higher than a predetermined intervention threshold; the fuel pump (1) is characterized in that: the first shutter consists of a flexible foil (22) which is fixed to the valve disc (14) next to the delivery hole (18); and the flexible foil (22) is pre-deformed so that in the absence of external stresses it squeezes against the first valve seat (19) of the delivery hole (18) with a non-zero pre-load force.
Further, as best seen in annotated Figure 4, SPIZZIRRI evidently demonstrates as how the connection element 29 comprises a plurality of ribs or bars or spokes from the center to the rim or plurality of spokes.
Essentially, with reference to annotated Figure 4, SPIZZIRRI’s valve assembly is certainly designed such that each of the plurality of spokes or rims or bars connecting the guide ring GR29 to the central pin portion or central pin CP29 and between which there are respective passages or delivery holes 18, which allow fuel to flow towards the valve disc 14, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claim 7, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, SPIZZIRRI specifically teaches: the outlet closing valve (outlet closing valve or also called OCV - Outlet Closing Valve 8, as stated on page 6 of 20, lines 19-25) comprises a second shutter or shutter of the delivery valve 8 (shutter of the delivery valve 8, as presented on page 10 of 33, lines 10-15, which engages the first valve seat 19 of the outlet hole or delivery hole 18 (as presented on page 10 of 33, lines 9-15) and is movable so as to detach from the first valve seat 19 (as stated on page 10 of 33, lines 9-15, forms shutter of the delivery valve 8 that is being movable so as to detach from the first valve seat 19), when the fuel pressure downstream of the valve disc 14 is smaller (the pressure of the fuel downstream of the valve disc 14 is lower than the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc 14, as stated on page 10 of 33, lines 13-15) than the fuel pressure upstream of the valve disc (14);
the pressure relief valve (9) comprises the first shutter (27), which engages the second valve seat (second valve seat SVS27 of the relief hole 20, as best seen in annotated Figure 3 immediately below) and is movable so as to detach from the second valve seat (being movable to detach from the first valve seat (19), when the pressure of the fuel downstream of the valve disc (14) is sufficiently lower than the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc (14); and wherein the pressure relief valve (9) comprises a second shutter (27) which engages the second valve seat (21) of the relief hole (20) and is movable to detach from the second valve seat (21) when the difference between the pressure of the fuel downstream of the valve disc (14) and the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc (14) is higher than a predetermined intervention threshold, as expressly stated in claim 1), when the difference between the fuel pressure downstream of the valve disc (14) and the fuel pressure upstream of the valve disc (14) exceeds a predetermined intervention threshold (when the pressure of the fuel upstream of the valve disc (14) is higher than a predetermined intervention threshold, as stated in claim 1); and
the second shutter consists of a flexible sheet (flexible foil 22, see claim 1), which is fixed to the valve disc (flexible foil 22 is fixed to the wall 16 of the valve disc 14 it is necessary to apply the pre-load force to the flexible foil 22 to bring the mounting portion 24 coplanar with the shutter portion 23 to elastically deform of the connecting portions 25, as discussed on page 11 of 33, lines 7-12) and comprises a plurality of shutting portions (plurality of shutter portions 23, as depicted in annotated Figure 5), each having a circular shape, being arranged in the area of a first valve seat (first valve seat 19 formed at a first wall 16 of the valve disc 14, as stated in claim 1) of a corresponding outlet hole (corresponding delivery hole 18, as shown in annotated Figure 4) and being configured to prevent fuel from flowing through the corresponding outlet hole (18), when the outlet closing valve (delivery valve 8) is closed (the flexible foil 22 squeezes against the valve disc 14, sealing the delivery holes 18 and thus preventing the fuel from passing through the delivery holes 18);
a peripheral mounting portion (annular mounting portion 24 which is arranged peripherally, as shown in annotated Figure 5) with an annular shape (as best seen in annotated Figure 5), which is arranged along the outer edge of the valve disc (the mounting portion 24, which is peripherally arranged and rigidly connected to the valve disc 14, as stated in claim 3, and is undoubtedly arranged along the outer edge of the valve disc 14, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate); and
a plurality of outer connection portions (a plurality of thin connecting portions 25 (i.e., stems) which connect the shutter portion 23 to the mounting portion 24 and are adapted to elastically flex in use, see page 10 of 33, lines 16-27), each connecting the peripheral mounting portion (connecting portions 25) to a corresponding shutting portion (to a shutter portion 23 which is centrally arranged at the valve seats 19 of the delivery holes 18 and is centrally perforated so as not to interfere with the pressure relief valve 9 (note the six circular swellings of the shutter portion 23 arranged at the six delivery holes 18, as presented on page 10 of 33, lines 16-27).
Regarding claim 9, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, SPIZZIRRI discloses a fuel pump (a fuel pump (1) for a direct-injection system, as stated in Abstract) for a direct injection system; the fuel pump (1) comprises: a main body (main body 2, see Abstract); a pumping chamber (4) obtained in the main body (pumping chamber (4) obtained in the main body (2);
an outlet channel (delivery channel 6 which is connected to the pumping chamber (4), as stated in Abstract), which directly originates from the pumping chamber (the delivery channel 6 directly originates from a side wall of the pumping chamber 4, as discussed on page 6 of 33, lines 8-18);
a containing cavity (internally threaded containment cavity 10 which is coaxial with the delivery channel 6, see page 8 of 33, lines 6-18), which is coaxial with the outlet channel (6), directly communicates with the outlet channel (communicates directly with the delivery channel 6, see page 8 of 33, lines 6-18) and is arranged downstream of the outlet channel (see page 8 of 33, lines 6-18) relative to the pumping chamber (pumping chamber 4, see page 8 of 33, lines 1-5); and the valve assembly (valve assembly 7) according to claim 1 and arranged in the containing cavity (arranged in the internally threaded containment cavity 10, as detailed on page 8 of 33).
10. Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SPIZZIRRI in view of Kariya, and further in view of Yamaguchi (Pub. No.: US 2011/0226356 A1).
Regarding claim 5, SPIZZIRRI and Kariya substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Further, as best seen in annotated Figure 3, SPIZZIRRI explicitly exhibits as how the connection element 29 comprises a cylindrical portion C29, which is integral with the central pin CP29, wherein the cylindrical portion C29 is wider than the central pin CP29 while this cup C29 is being narrower than the central hole 31 of the annular body (33) and originates from the central pin CP29 and defines the seat S27 of the first shutter 27.
However, although the combination of SPIZZIRRI and Kariya discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the specifics regarding the cup portion of the connection element.
Nonetheless, the use of valve assemblies having the claimed structure is well-known in the art, as taught by Yamaguchi.
Yamaguchi in the same field of endeavor successfully teaches a check valve which, as stated in Abstract, can reduce the operation noise.
As shown in annotated Figure 6, Yamaguchi clearly performs a positive-pressure valve 30, wherein, as discussed in Paragraphs [0080]-[0081], plural guide ribs 31a and plural guide ribs 33a are disposed radially at uniform intervals on outer circumferences of the small-diameter cylindrical portion 31 and the large-diameter cylindrical portion 33, respectively. These guide ribs extend along an axial direction so as to guide the positive-pressure valve 30 when the positive-pressure valve 30 slides within the valve chamber V. In addition, these guide ribs secures a gap between the small-diameter cylindrical portion 31 and the diametrically constricted inner circumferential portion 15 and between the large-diameter cylindrical portion 33 and the diametrically expanded inner circumferential portion 14, respectively, whereby flow paths to allow fuel vapor to flow therethrough are defined. Distal end portions of the guide ribs 31a, 33a each has a shape in which its height increases gradually as it extends towards the side of a proximal end thereof (…). As shown in FIG. 3, the outer circumference 32a of the connecting portion 32 to be attached to and detached from the positive-pressure valve seat 15a on the main-casing 10 is tapered to expand gradually as it extends towards the side of the large-diameter cylindrical portion 33. In the positive-pressure valve 30, the small and large cylindrical portions 31, 33 are connected together concentrically in the order in which the outside diameter decreases, and the connecting portion 32 has a tapered shape. Further, distal end portions of the guide ribs 31a, 33a also have tapered shapes. Thus, the positive-pressure valve 30 has an outer circumferential shape with fewer steps from the distal end side to the proximal end side.
Furthermore, as best seen in annotated Figure 6, Yamaguchi explicitly exhibits as how the central pin portion 37 ends in a cup portion 31 while this cup portion is forming a seat.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a connection element having a cup portion and/or central pin, as taught by Yamaguchi, in the SPIZZIRRI/ Kariya valve assembly, in order to further reduce abnormal noise by restraining the vibration of the positive-pressure valve, as explained by Yamaguchi in Paragraph [0051].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the connection element would be further comprising a cup, which is further integral with the central pin and/or would be further wider than the central pin and/or would be further narrower than the central hole of the annular body and/or would be further originating from the central pin and would be further defining the seat of the second shutter, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 6, SPIZZIRRI, Kariya and Yamaguchi substantially disclose the valve assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, with reference to annotated Figure 4, SPIZZIRRI’s valve assembly is certainly designed such that each of the plurality of spokes or rims or bars connecting the guide ring GR29 to the central pin portion or central pin CP29 and between which there are respective passages or delivery holes 18, which allow fuel to flow towards the valve disc 14, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
In fact, according to the combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would surely recognize that, with reference to annotated Figure 4 again, SPIZZIRRI evidently illustrates how the connection element 29 comprises a plurality of spokes or rims or bars, each connecting the guide ring GR29 to the cup C29, as instantly claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach a fluid flow pump having all the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 8, but more specifically wherein: the sheet comprises a corresponding outer connection portion for each shutting portion so that each shutting portion is always connected to one and only one outer connection portion, and vice versa, that is, each outer connection portion is always connected to one and only one shutting portion and/or the sheet comprises a central mounting portion which is arranged at the center of the shutting portions and/or the sheet comprises a plurality of inner connection portions, each connecting the central mounting portion to a corresponding shutting portion so that each shutting portion is connected to one and only one inner connection portion, and vice versa, that is, each inner connection portion is always connected to one and only one shutting portion and/or each shutting portion is supported exclusively by a single outer connection portion and a single inner connection portion and has no other connection than the corresponding outer connection portion and the corresponding inner connection portion and/or and each shutting portion is in no way directly connected to another shutting portion.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed 08/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied reference addresses the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746