DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon (WO2019221397A1, refer to English equivalent US 2021/0226260A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses a battery cell contacting device for a battery module having a plurality of battery cells and/or battery cell groups electrically coupled to one another via a plurality of cell connectors (bus bars 15, circuit board C and connection line S, see Title, Abstract, [0043], Fig. 1-11), the battery cell contacting device comprising:
a plurality of contact elements (connection lines S [0047]);
a sensor (board connection pad SO correspond to a portion through which the state information about the battery cell B is output to circuit board C [0056]);
a printed circuit board which, in a region next to the plurality of cell connectors, is disposed over the battery cells and/or the battery cell groups and is connected to the plurality of cell connectors via said plurality of contact elements (circuit board C with connection lines S [0047]);
wherein each of said plurality of contact elements has a first end section in a direction towards said printed circuit board and a second end section, being opposite said first end section, in a direction towards a respective one of the plurality of cell connectors (connection lines S includes a cell connection pad SI and a board connection pad SO [0055]-[0060], Fig. 3-7); and
wherein each of said plurality of contact elements is formed from an electrically conductive wire, wherein said electrically conductive wire runs between said first and said second end sections of a respective one of said contact elements, wherein, at said first end section of said respective contact element, said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board, and wherein, at said second end section of said respective contact element, said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to the respective cell connector and/or is coupled to said sensor which is brought into contact with the respective cell connector (connection lines S includes a cell connection pad SI and a board connection pad SO [0055]-[0060], Fig. 3-7).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses said electrically conductive wire of each of said plurality of contact elements is configured to be able to be welded to a surface of the respective cell connector at said second end section of said respective contact element (welded [0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses at least one said electrically conductive wire of said plurality of contact elements runs in polyphase fashion between said first and said second end sections of said respective contact element, wherein ends of said electrically conductive wire are electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board at said first end section of said respective contact element, and a bend in said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to the respective cell connector at said second end section of said respective contact element (Fig. 5-6 show connection lines S running in a polyphase fashion, i.e., curved, U-shape; electrically connected [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses at least one said electrically conductive wire of said plurality of contact elements runs in polyphase fashion between said first and said second end sections of said respective contact element, wherein a bend in said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board at said first end section of said respective contact element, and ends of said electrically conductive wire are electrically conductively connected to the respective cell connector at said second end section of said respective contact element (Fig. 5-6 show connection lines S running in a polyphase fashion, i.e., curved, U-shape; electrically connected [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses at least one signal management circuit mounted on said printed circuit board or is connected to said printed circuit board (circuit board C collects and transmits state information to separate battery management system [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses said printed circuit board has at least one ventilation opening formed therein (Fig. 1-4 show vent holes in circuit board C).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses a battery module (battery pack, see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-11), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells and/or battery cell groups disposed next to one another and each having electrode terminals including at least one positive electrode terminal and at least one negative electrode terminal (battery cells B including electrodes 10 [0043], Fig. 1-3);
a plurality of cell connectors each electrically connecting said electrode terminals of adjacent ones of said plurality of battery cells and/or said battery cell groups to one another (bus bars 15 [0043], Fig. 1-4); and
a battery cell contacting device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein, in said region next to said plurality of cell connectors, said printed circuit board is disposed over said battery cells and/or said battery cell groups, and, at said second end section of said respective contact element, said electrically conductive wire of each of said plurality of contact elements is electrically conductively connected to said respective cell connector and/or are coupled to said sensor in contact with said respective cell connector (circuit board C disposed over battery cells B, see Fig. 1-4; connection lines S includes cell connection pad SI connected to a side of battery cell B and board connection pad SO connected to circuit board C and a link line SC connecting the cell connection pad SI and board connection pad SO, electrically connected [0055]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Moon further discloses said electrically conductive wire of each of said plurality of contact elements is welded to said respective cell connectors at said second end section of said respective contact element by means of an ultrasound welding method (ultrasonically welded [0058], [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon (WO2019221397A1, refer to English equivalent US 2021/0226260A1), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-11 above, in view of Szopko (US 2012/0163635A1).
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Although Moon further discloses circuit board C including pads for connection with board connection pads SO ([0061]), the reference does not disclose said printed circuit board has a plurality of plated-through holes formed therein; and said electrically conductive wire of each of said plurality of contact elements is electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board at said first end section of said respective contact element in at least one of said plated-through holes through said printed circuit board.
Since the prior art of Szopko recognizes the equivalency of a conductive copper pad and a conductive copper-plated through hole in the field of soldering a wire to a PCB, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace a pad of Moon with a plated through hole of Szopko as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent connections between a wire and PCB recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Although Moon further discloses at least one contact panel disposed on a surface of said printed circuit board (pads of circuit board C [0061]); and wherein said electrically conductive wire of each of said plurality of contact elements is electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board at said first end section of said respective contact element in at least one of said plated-through holes through said printed circuit board or at said at least one contact panel (board connection pads SO connected to pads of the circuit board C [0061]), the reference does not disclose said printed circuit board has a plurality of plated-through holes formed therein.
Since the prior art of Szopko recognizes the equivalency of a conductive copper pad and a conductive copper-plated through hole in the field of soldering a wire to a PCB, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace a pad of Moon with a plated through hole of Szopko as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent connections between a wire and PCB recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (WO2019221397A1, refer to English equivalent US 2021/0226260A1), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-11 above.
Regarding claim 4, Moon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Moon does not further disclose at least one said electrically conductive wire of said plurality of contact elements runs in single-phase fashion between said first and said second end sections of said respective contact element, wherein one end of said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to said printed circuit board at said first end section of said respective contact element, and another end of said electrically conductive wire is electrically conductively connected to the respective cell connector at said second end section of said respective contact element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of a connection line S to run in a ‘single-phase fashion’ since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component and not perform differently than the prior art. In Gardner v.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 12/22/2025