DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, -11, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DESAI et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0400022 A1; hereinafter DESAI) in view of Jorasch et al (Pub. No. US 2021/0399911 A1; hereinafter Jorasch)
Consider claims 1, 11, and 19, DESAI clearly shows and discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and a device, and A communication device comprising: a communications subsystem that enables the communication device to communicatively connect to one or more second communication devices (First, second, and third communication devices 100a-100c are communicatively coupled via network 204 during a video communication session, network server 208 executes enterprise video conference application 105 that facilitates setup of video conference sessions. Enterprise video conference application 105 provides an interface between communication networks 151. Communication devices 100a-100c, managed by respective controllers 101) (paragraphs: 0033and fig. 2A, labels: 204, 208, and 100a, 100b, and 100c); a microphone; an output device (User communication devices such as mobile phones, desktop workstations, laptops, and tablets are often equipped with a front side camera and a microphone to enable online human communication)(paragraphs:0002 and 0014 and fig. 2A, labels: 104, 103, 108a); and a controller communicatively connected to the communications subsystem, the microphone, and the output device (Communication device 100 is managed by controller 101, which is communicatively coupled to image capturing device 102 and to at least one user interface device 103 that includes at least one microphone 104) (paragraph 0020, fig. 1), and which: establishes, via the communications subsystem, a communication session with the one or more second communication devices (controller 101 executes video conference application 105 stored in device memory 106 to configure communication device 100 to enable communication between participants in a video communication session) (paragraphs: 0020, 0022; and fig. 2A, label 101, 100a, 100b, and 100c); receives audio input from the microphone (monitoring a communication status of a video communication session between an electronic device and the at least one second electronic device) (paragraphs: 0052, and fig. 5, label: 502 ); transmits the audio input to the communication session (In response to determining that a gesture by the particular participant is identified as the particular participant wanting to present an audio input to the video communication session, method 400 returns to block 422 ) (paragraphs: 0052, and fig. 5, label: 502); receives an input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input (Presenting user interface 108b includes mute button 315 to locally turn off microphone 104 (FIG. 1) of communication device 100b) (paragraphs:0045 ); in response to receiving the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input, determines whether subsequently received audio input contains continuing speech that has a high probability of being speech intended to be transmitted to the communication session (in response to determining that a speaking movement of the mouth of the particular participant is identified within the particular image stream, method 400 includes determining whether an audio input from the particular second electronic device for the particular participant is soft muted (decision block 412). The availability of the audio input to the controller of the electronic device can be used for confirmation of a visually recognized attempt to speak; triggering one or more alert(s) that the particular participant is attempting to speak within the video communication session) (paragraphs: 0048 and fig. 4A, labels: 412, 414, and 416; and fig. 5, labels: 502-506); and generates a prompt via the output device indicating the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input has been activated (triggering one or more alert(s) that the particular participant is attempting to speak within the video communication session) (paragraphs: 0048 and fig. 4A, labels: 412, 414, and 416; and fig. 5, labels: 502-506); however, DESAI does not disclose an another example for generates receives an input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input; a prompt via the output device indicating the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input has been activated.
In the same field of endeavor, Jorasch specifically discloses an another example for receives an input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input (paragraph 0227); generates a prompt via the output device indicating the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input has been activated (user inputs might include instructions to mute or unmute the user; the headset could have a camera that detects whether or not the users mouth is moving and then check with virtual meeting technology to determine whether or not that user is currently muted. If they are currently muted, the headset could send a signal to unmute the user after a period of time (such as 10 seconds), or it could trigger the virtual meeting technology to output a warning that it appears the user is talking but that they are currently muted) (paragraphs: 1148 and 1958).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Jorasch into teaching of DESAI for the purpose of implementing the teaching providing another example for identifying a first conference participant of a conference that includes a whiteboard.
Consider claim 3, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the communication device, wherein the controller generates the prompt for the user to undo the input and re-enable transmission of the received audio to the communication session. via the user interface to modify a response associated with the particular touch control to mitigate at least one of a current instance and a future instance of an inadvertent touch input (DESAI: paragraphs: 0024, 0048 and fig. 4A, labels: 412, 414, and 416; and fig. 5, labels: 502-506; Jorasch: paragraphs: 0083, 0131, 1148 and 1958).
Consider claim 4, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the communication device, wherein the particular touch control is a call control from a group comprising: (i) a mute control; (ii) an airplane mode control; (iii) an add user control; and (iv) hold call control (it is well known a smartphone has all these touch control) (DESAI: paragraphs: 0015; Jorasch: paragraphs: 0227 and 2158).
Consider claims 5, and 13, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller prompts for selection of a setting to hide the particular touch control on the user interface (design choice) (Jorasch: paragraphs: 0138, 0245, and 0292).
Consider claims 6, and 14, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller generates the prompt comprising a setting that changes behavior of the particular touch control from a single-input touch operation to a multiple-input touch operation before interrupting the at least the transmission of the outgoing portion of the communication session (Jorasch: paragraphs: 0138, 0245, and 0292).
Consider claims 7, and 15, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller presents a toggle control that restores the single-input touch operation of the particular touch control in response to receiving an input (Jorasch: paragraphs: 0138, 0245, and 0292 and figs.: 44, 45, 47).
Consider claims 8, and 16, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller: identifies a language contained in the audio input; and identifies a high probability of being speech not intended to be transmitted to the communication session based at least in part on a change from a first language to a second language (Jorasch: paragraphs: 2242 and 2266).
Consider claims 9 and 17, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller: identifies an audio level of background noise contained in the audio input; and determines the high probability of being speech intended to be transmitted to the communication session based, at least in part, on an increase in the audio level of the background noise above a threshold noise level (DESAI: paragraphs: 0024, 0048 and fig. 4A, labels: 412, 414, and 416; and fig. 5, labels: 502-506; Jorasch: paragraphs: 1148 and 1958).
Consider claims 10 and 18, DESAI and Jorasch clearly show the method, and the communication device, wherein the controller: identifies an audio level of spoken content contained in the audio input; and determines a high probability of being speech not intended to be transmitted to the communication session based, at least in part, on a decrease in the audio level of the spoken content below a threshold speech level (when a dog starts to bark, it is natural for participants who are not muted to look in the direction of the dog or child making noise, which would automatically mute that person, They could be muted for a fixed period of time and then automatically be taken off mute, or the participant could be required to go back off mute when they are ready) (Jorasch: paragraph: 1107).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2, 12, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on December 17, 2025. Applicants amended claims 2, 12, and 20. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Applicant argues on the Applicant’s Response that DESAI and Jorasch failed to teach the limitation " in response to receiving the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input, determines whether subsequently received audio input contains continuing speech that has a high probability of being speech intended to be transmitted to the communication session; and generates a prompt via the output device indicating the input that turns off transmission to the communication session of at least the received audio input has been activated.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ arguments, in DESAI there is a different between hard muted (no audio) and soft muted (there is an audio). DESAI teaches in response to determining that a speaking movement of the mouth of the particular participant is identified within the particular image stream, method 400 includes determining whether an audio input from the particular second electronic device for the particular participant is soft muted (decision block 412). The availability of the audio input to the controller of the electronic device can be used for confirmation of a visually recognized attempt to speak; triggering one or more alert(s) that the particular participant is attempting to speak within the video communication session; If the particular second electronic device is hard muted, then the audio input is not available (paragraphs: 0048 and fig. 4A, labels: 412, 414, and 416; and fig. 5, labels: 502-506). DESAI teaches controller 101 autonomously generates and presents an alert on user interface 108 that the remote participant is attempting to speak, the alert can be accentuated with contrasting, flashing, or brighter colors or of a large size to gain the attention of the presenting participant (paragraph 0020, 0049). As a result, DESAI and Jorasch teaches all the limitation of claims 1, 11, and 19.
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693