Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erkkilä et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190339514 A1), hereinafter Erkkilä.
Regarding claim 1, Erkkilä teaches an optical scanning device comprising:
a mirror device that has a mirror portion, which is swingable around a first axis and a second axis intersecting each other, having a reflecting surface reflecting incident light (Fig. 5; [0053] FIG. 5 shows an example of a reflector system for an optical device configured for a controlled scan pattern that provides a broadened image area. The reflector system includes a support 500, and a reflector 502, and suspenders 504, 506, 508, 510 of a spring structure),
a first actuator causing the mirror portion to swing around the first axis by applying a rotational torque around the first axis to the mirror portion, and a second actuator causing the mirror portion to swing around the second axis by applying a rotational torque around the second axis to the mirror portion ([0053] Each suspender 504, 506, 508, 510 of the second spring structure may include an actuator element and a sense element (not shown). Each actuator element may extend on a suspender and be configured to deflect the suspender according to an actuation signal. On the same suspender may extend a corresponding sense element configured to output a sense signal according to deflections of the suspender. Actuation signals are generated in a signal processing element (not shown) and input to actuators of the reflector system. Sense signals are generated in the reflector system and input to the signal processing element.); and
at least one processor ([0041] Embodiments of this disclosure include an optical device that includes a reflector system and a signal processing element.),
wherein the processor applies a first driving signal Vx(t) including two components of different frequencies f1 and f2 represented by the following equation (A) to the first actuator and a second driving signal Vy(t) including components of the frequencies f1 and f2 represented by the following equation (B) to the second actuator to cause the mirror portion to excite main scanning, which is a sinusoidal swing vibration of the frequency f1 around the first axis and the second axis and sub scanning, which is a sinusoidal swing vibration of the frequency f2 around the first axis and the second axis, Vx(t)=Ax1sin(2f1t)+Ax2sin(2πf2t+γ3) . . . Vy(t)=Ay1sin(2f1t+γ1)+Ay2sin(2πf2t+γ3+γ2) . . . ([0075] The first mode of oscillation for the circular tilt motion in a first frequency F1 and a first amplitude A1 can now be maintained by feeding to an actuator of at least one suspender an actuation signal (drive signal) that is in −90 degrees phase shift to the sense signal of that actuator. Correspondingly, the second mode of oscillation for the circular tilt motion in a second frequency F2 and a second amplitude A2 can be maintained by feeding to an actuator of at least one suspender an actuation signal (drive signal) that is in −90 degrees phase shift to the respective sense signal of that actuator. A sum of a separately amplitude and phase-controlled actuation signal component for the first mode of oscillation, and a separately amplitude and phase controlled actuation signal component for the second mode of oscillation may be provided to an actuator of a suspender.)
in the equations (A) and (B), a relationship of f1>f2, −π≤γ1 , γ2, and γ3≤π is satisfied, and γ1 and γ2 are phase differences adjusted such that a phase difference γ4 between the swing around the first axis and the swing around the second axis in the main scanning of the mirror portion and a phase difference γ5 between the swing around the first axis and the swing around the second axis in the sub scanning of the mirror portion satisfy a relationship of γ4=γ5, γ5=γ4+π, or γ5=γ4−π ([0060] Exemplary amplitude (reflector angle) and frequency values applied for the pattern in FIG. 7 are: A1=7.5 deg, A2=5 deg, and F1=2000 Hz, F2=1015 Hz, n=2 and fFR=30 Hz.; [Fig. 7]; [0051] For the circular scan trajectory, the suspenders are optimally actuated such that all coupling points oscillate in the out-of-plane direction with the same amplitude, but with a phase difference that corresponds to the position of the coupling point in the edge of the reflector. Advantageously the coupling points are symmetrically positioned in the edges of a circular reflector. In practice, the full circle of 360 degrees of the circle of the reflector may then be divided by the number of actuating suspenders, and the phase difference in actuation corresponds to the angle between radii crossing the coupling points. For example, the phase difference for three suspenders is 120 degrees, for four suspenders 90 degrees, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Erkkilä teaches the optical scanning device according to claim 1,
wherein a maximum commitment number of the frequencies f1 and f2 is an integer F, and F>10 ([0059] Exemplary amplitude (reflector angle) and frequency values applied for the pattern in Figure 7 are: A1=7.5 deg, A2 =5 deg, and F1=2000 Hz, F2=1015Hz, n=2 and fFR=30 Hz.).
Regarding claim 3, Erkkilä teaches the optical scanning device according to claim 1,
wherein a relationship of Ax1>Ax2 is satisfied in the equation (A), and a relationship of Ay1>Ay2 is satisfied in the equation (B) ([0059] A combination of the first mode of oscillation and the second mode of oscillation, as shown in equations (3) and (4) results into a circular tilt motion with a broadened image area. Minimum amplitude of the circular tilt motion, resulting from the combination of the first mode of oscillation and the second mode of oscillation is |A1−A2|, and maximum amplitude is |A1+A2|.; [0060] FIG. 7 shows an example of a pattern, formed by a beam reflected from a surface of a mirror in circular tilt motion of equations (3) and (4). In the pattern of FIG. 7, each position in the line corresponds to a coordinate in the system frame at a defined point of time.).
Regarding claim 4, Erkkilä teaches the optical scanning device according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where two resonance frequencies in a resonance mode with a mirror tilt swing around the first axis are fx1 and fx2 (fx1>fx2) and two resonance frequencies in a resonance mode with a mirror tilt swing around the second axis are fy1 and fy2 (fy1>fy2), the following relationships of equations (C) to (F) are satisfied, [fx1−f1]<f1/100... [fy1−f1]<f1/100... [fx2−f2]<f2/100... [fy2−f2]<f2/100 ([0057] F1 is the first resonance frequency, i.e. the resonance frequency for the first mode of oscillation, and F2 is the second resonance frequency, i.e. the resonance frequency for the second mode of oscillation.; [0059] If the first resonance frequency F1 and the second resonance frequency F2 are suitably selected in respect of each other, a broadened scan pattern that repeats itself with a defined system frame rate fFR can be achieved.)
Regarding claim 5, Erkkilä teaches a driving method of an optical scanning device including a mirror device that has a mirror portion, which is swingable around a first axis and a second axis intersecting each other, having a reflecting surface reflecting incident light (Fig. 5; [0053] FIG. 5 shows an example of a reflector system for an optical device configured for a controlled scan pattern that provides a broadened image area. The reflector system includes a support 500, and a reflector 502, and suspenders 504, 506, 508, 510 of a spring structure),
a first actuator causing the mirror portion to swing around the first axis by applying a rotational torque around the first axis to the mirror portion, and a second actuator causing the mirror portion to swing around the second axis by applying a rotational torque around the second axis to the mirror portion ([0053] Each suspender 504, 506, 508, 510 of the second spring structure may include an actuator element and a sense element (not shown). Each actuator element may extend on a suspender and be configured to deflect the suspender according to an actuation signal. On the same suspender may extend a corresponding sense element configured to output a sense signal according to deflections of the suspender. Actuation signals are generated in a signal processing element (not shown) and input to actuators of the reflector system. Sense signals are generated in the reflector system and input to the signal processing element.), the driving method comprising:
applies a first driving signal Vx(t) including two components of different frequencies f1 and f2 represented by the following equation (A) to the first actuator and a second driving signal Vy(t) including components of the frequencies f1 and f2 represented by the following equation (B) to the second actuator to cause the mirror portion to excite main scanning, which is a sinusoidal swing vibration of the frequency f1 around the first axis and the second axis and sub scanning, which is a sinusoidal swing vibration of the frequency f2 around the first axis and the second axis, Vx(t)=Ax1sin(2πf1t)+Ax2sin(2f2t+γ3) . . . Vy(t)=Ay1sin(2πf1t+γ1)+Ay2sin(2πf2t+γ3+γ2) . . . ([0075] The first mode of oscillation for the circular tilt motion in a first frequency F1 and a first amplitude A1 can now be maintained by feeding to an actuator of at least one suspender an actuation signal (drive signal) that is in −90 degrees phase shift to the sense signal of that actuator. Correspondingly, the second mode of oscillation for the circular tilt motion in a second frequency F2 and a second amplitude A2 can be maintained by feeding to an actuator of at least one suspender an actuation signal (drive signal) that is in −90 degrees phase shift to the respective sense signal of that actuator. A sum of a separately amplitude and phase-controlled actuation signal component for the first mode of oscillation, and a separately amplitude and phase controlled actuation signal component for the second mode of oscillation may be provided to an actuator of a suspender.)
in the equations (A) and (B), a relationship of f1>f 2, −π≤γ1, γ2, and γ3≤π is satisfied, and γ1 and γ2 are phase differences adjusted such that a phase difference γ4 between the swing around the first axis and the swing around the second axis in the main scanning of the mirror portion and a phase difference γ5 between the swing around the first axis and the swing around the second axis in the sub scanning of the mirror portion satisfy a relationship of γ4=γ5, γ5=γ4+π, or γ5=γ4−π ([0060] Exemplary amplitude (reflector angle) and frequency values applied for the pattern in FIG. 7 are: A1=7.5 deg, A2=5 deg, and F1=2000 Hz, F2=1015 Hz, n=2 and fFR=30 Hz.; [Fig. 7]; [0051] For the circular scan trajectory, the suspenders are optimally actuated such that all coupling points oscillate in the out-of-plane direction with the same amplitude, but with a phase difference that corresponds to the position of the coupling point in the edge of the reflector. Advantageously the coupling points are symmetrically positioned in the edges of a circular reflector. In practice, the full circle of 360 degrees of the circle of the reflector may then be divided by the number of actuating suspenders, and the phase difference in actuation corresponds to the angle between radii crossing the coupling points. For example, the phase difference for three suspenders is 120 degrees, for four suspenders 90 degrees, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erkkilä in view of Steinberg et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20180143307 A1), hereinafter Steinberg.
Regarding claim 6, Erkkilä teaches a distance measurement device comprising:
the optical scanning device according to claims 1;
a light source that emits light to the mirror portion of the optical scanning device ([Fig. 1]; [0003] A laser emitter 11 emits a light beam 111.);
a deflecting optical member that deflects light reflected by the mirror portion of the optical scanning device in all directions ([0053] FIG. 5 shows an example of a reflector system for an optical device configured for a controlled scan pattern that provides a broadened image area. The reflector system includes a support 500, and a reflector 502, and suspenders 504, 506, 508, 510 of a spring structure.);
at least one processor ([0041] Embodiments of this disclosure include an optical device that includes a reflector system and a signal processing element.),
Erkkilä fails to teach the device comprising a light receiving element that outputs a signal corresponding to received light; a beam splitter that guides light deflected by the deflecting optical member, reflected by an object to be measured, and reflected by the mirror portion to the light receiving element; and wherein the processor derives a distance to the object to be measured based on a time difference between an emission timing of the light from the light source and an output timing of the signal from the light receiving element.
However, Steinberg teaches a light receiving element that outputs a signal corresponding to received light ([0134] directs the reflected light towards a sensor 116);
a beam splitter that guides light deflected by the deflecting optical member, reflected by an object to be measured, and reflected by the mirror portion to the light receiving element ([0134] As shown, both projected light 204 and reflected light 206 hits an asymmetrical deflector 216...One example of an asymmetrical deflector may include a polarization beam splitter.); and
wherein the processor derives a distance to the object to be measured based on a time difference between an emission timing of the light from the light source and an output timing of the signal from the light receiving element ([0132] Scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may also include detecting and characterizing various aspects of the reflected light. Characteristics of the reflected light may include, for example: time-of-flight (i.e., time from emission until detection),).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Erkkilä to comprise the conventional Lidar components including a receiver, beam splitter, and distance measurement system similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of incorporating the mirror into a known system setup conventional in the art of Lidar.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645