DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 14-27 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22275029.1, filed on 03/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/08/2023 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goebels et al. (EP 3750767 A1, provided).
Regarding claim 20, Goebels teaches (Fig. 1 and 8-9): A convolute for a bellows (bellows 10) of a gangway (passage area 11), the convolute comprising a first rim (annotated Fig. 8 below) and a second rim (annotated Fig. 8 below) arranged next to the first rim; a sheet like convolute material (material of the bellows 10) that extends from the first rim to the second rim (annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein in an operational position of the convolute (10), the convolute material takes a trough-shaped form between the first rim and the second rim (Fig. 8); a drainage hole (defined by inlet 25 and outlet 26) in the convolute material (Fig. 8); a closure (valve body 14) to close the drainage hole (para. 0056); a connection (base body 20) between the first rim and/or the second rim and the closure (annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein increasing the distance between a part of the first rim and a part of the second rim (as the pressure difference decreases), causes the connection between the first rim and/or the second rim and the closure to at least partially move the closure (14) and to at least partially open the drainage hole (see explanation below).
Regarding claim 23, Goebels teaches (Fig. 1 and 8-9): A method for draining liquid from a convolute for a bellows (10) of a gangway (passage area 11)(Fig. 1), the convolute comprising a first rim and a second rim arranged next to the first rim (annotated Fig. 8 below), a sheet like convolute material (material of the bellows 10) that extends from the first rim to the second rim (annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein in an operational position of the convolute (10), the convolute material takes a trough-shaped form between the first rim and the second rim (Fig. 8); a drainage hole (defined by inlet 25 and outlet 26) in the convolute material (Fig. 8); a closure (valve body 14) to close the drainage hole (para. 0056); a connection (base body 20) between the first rim and/or the second rim and the closure (annotated Fig. 8 below), the method comprising: increasing the distance between a part of the first rim and a part of the second rim (as the pressure difference decreases), to thereby cause the connection between the first rim and/or the second rim and the closure to at least partially move the closure (14) and to at least partially open the drainage hole (see explanation below).
It is noted that Goebels teaches (Fig. 8): when pressure difference occurs, the bellows section 10’ is deflected and comes into contact with opposing surface bodies 35 from the inside, decreasing the distance between the rims and closing the inlet or outlet (para. 0056, lines 5-12). As the pressure difference subsides, the bellows section 10’ returns to its undeflected state, increasing the distance between the rims and at least partially open the drainage hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 and 21-22 are allowed
Claims 24-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14 and its depending claim(s) 15-19, the prior art fails to teach a drainage control band, wherein the closure forms part of the drainage control band or is attached to the drainage control band; wherein a first band point of the drainage control band is attached to or resting on a first convolute point, the first convolute point located on the first rim or on the convolute material, but closer to the first rim than to the second rim; wherein a second band point of the drainage control band is attached to or resting on a second convolute point, the second convolute point located on the second rim or on the convolute material, but closer to the second rim than to the first rim.
While the closest prior art reference Goebels teaches (Fig. 1 and 8): A convolute for a bellows (bellows 10) of a gangway (passage area 11)(Fig. 1), the convolute (10) comprising: a first rim and a second rim arranged next to the first rim (annotated Fig. 8 below); a sheet like convolute material (material of the bellows 10) that extends from the first rim to the second rim (annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein in an operational position of the convolute (10), the convolute material takes a trough-shaped form between the first rim and the second rim (Fig. 8); a drainage hole (defined by inlet 25 and outlet 26) in the convolute material (Fig. 8); a closure (valve body 14) to close the drainage hole (para. 0056), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Goebels such that a drainage control band for operating the closure is provided with two band points attached to the first and second rims respectively. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
It is noted that while Goebels teaches (Fig. 1): an actuating device (16) for actuating the closure (valve body 14) depending on the detected pressure difference (Goebels, Claim 3), Goebels does not describe the actuating device as a drainage control band. Goebels describes the valve body as electromagnetically actuated (para. 0014), and the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Goebel’s actuator motor to be a drainage control band connected to the rims and closure.
Claims 21-22 are allowable for the same reasons as claims 14-19 above.
Regarding claim 24 and its depending claim(s) 25-27, the prior art fails to teach connecting the first rim and/or the second rim and the closure via a drainage control band.
While the closest prior art reference Goebels teaches (Fig. 1 and 8): A convolute for a bellows (bellows 10) of a gangway (passage area 11)(Fig. 1), the convolute (10) comprising: a first rim and a second rim arranged next to the first rim (annotated Fig. 8 below); a sheet like convolute material (material of the bellows 10) that extends from the first rim to the second rim (annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein in an operational position of the convolute (10), the convolute material takes a trough-shaped form between the first rim and the second rim (Fig. 8); a drainage hole (defined by inlet 25 and outlet 26) in the convolute material (Fig. 8); a closure (valve body 14) to close the drainage hole (para. 0056), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Goebels such that a drainage control band for operating the closure is provided with two band points attached to the first and second rims. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
It is noted that while Goebels teaches (Fig. 1): an actuating device (16) for actuating the closure (valve body 14) depending on the detected pressure difference (Goebels, Claim 3), Goebels does not describe the actuating device as a drainage control band. Goebels describes the valve body as electromagnetically actuated (para. 0014), and the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Goebel’s actuator motor to be a drainage control band connected to the rims and closure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of rail vehicle gangway with bellows and drainage control: US-2468590-A, US-8297197-B2, US-8485108-B2, US-11718330-B2, US-12227043-B2, US-12485935-B2, KR-200396268-Y1, CN-202106979-U, CN-104512209-A, EP-4186771-A1.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615