DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-9, 16-17, 19-20 are withdrawn. Claims 13-15 are canceled. Claim 10 is currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are not found persuasive because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-12,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO2021212428A1, US equivalent US20220109180A1 was used for citation/translation).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for forming a metal battery comprising an anode, a cathode, and an electrolyte ([0085]), the method comprising:
selecting a cathode (“positive electrode plate” [0086]);
selecting an electrolyte comprising a solid-state electrolyte ([0069-0074]);
selecting an anode (“negative electrode plate” [0085-0088]; see Fig 1)
Li further discloses that the negative electrode plate comprises a lithium-based metal layer comprising a lithium alloy, preferably a lithium silver alloy [0040], wherein the mass ratio of lithium element to silver element in the lithium-silver alloy is preferably from 90-99.9:0.1-10 [0040] to promote uniform deposition of lithium ions, improve safety performance of the battery, and also improve cycle performance of the battery [0040]. Such Li-Ag mass ratio of 90-99.9:0.1-10 [0040] overlaps with the claimed range of “about 90% lithium and 10% silver by weight of the lithium-silver alloy”.
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected Li-Ag alloy with the overlapping Li-Ag mass ratio, with a reasonable expectation to promote uniform deposition of lithium ions, improve safety and cycle performance of the battery [0040].
Li further discloses:
stacking the electrolyte between the anode and the cathode to form the metal battery [0107].
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the anode further comprises an anode active (i.e., the upper lithium-based metal layer 20 that serves as a negative electrode active layer [0026], comprising Li-Ag alloy), an anode interlayer (i.e., polymer base layer 10), and an anode coating (i.e., the lower lithium-based metal layer 20 that serves as a current collector [0026], comprising Li-Ag alloy).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the anode active and the anode coating comprise the metal alloy (i.e., the lithium-based metal layers 20 comprising Li-Ag alloys in Fig 1; [0040]).
However, Li does not disclose wherein the anode interlayer (i.e., polymer base layer 10) comprises the metal alloy. However, Li recognizes that the lithium-silver alloy in the anode promotes uniform deposition of lithium ions, thereby improving safety and cycle performance of the battery [0040-0041]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added the lithium-silver alloy in the anode interlayer with a reasonable expectation to promote lithium ions throughout the entire negative electrode plate while also improving safety and cycle performance of the battery [0040-0041].
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the method of claim 10, but does not disclose a homologue temperature of the Li-Ag alloy. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would use the phase diagram of Li-Ag alloy provided in Fig 2A of the instant application and recognize that the Li-Ag alloy having a mass ratio of 90:10 has a eutectic temperature of about 90°C (i.e., 363.15K), and further recognize that TH is 0.82 using the following formula: TH=298K/Teutectic (provided in PG Pub [0060] of the instant application), which falls within the claimed range of “greater than 0.65”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751