DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 11/21/25, the following has occurred: Claims 1 and 7 have been amended.
The objection to the title has been withdrawn with respect to the amendment.
Claims 1-19 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 11/21/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0309110 A1 in view of CN 110289379 A.
As to Claim 1:
US ’110 discloses:
a battery module comprising: a cell stack (100S) in which a plurality of unit cells 110 are stacked ([0042], Figs. 1–2);
a busbar assembly (busbar unit 130 including busbars 131 and holder 132) electrically connected to the cell stack ([0065], [0070]–[0071], Fig. 1);
a protective cover 140 covering the busbar unit ([0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–2);
at least one of the unit cell assemblies includes at least two-unit cells 110 disposed face-to-face, i.e., opposing each other in the stack ([0042], [0153], Figs. 1–2), and that the unit cells are supported by first spacers 121 and second spacers 122, which are insulating resin members serving as support members ([0065], [0072], Figs. 2, 6–7); and
the busbar holder 132 includes support portions 132a that are fitted to the side surfaces of the first spacers 121, thereby coupling the busbar assembly to the support members ([0072], Fig. 7).
However, US ’110 does not disclose a support member disposed between the two battery cells, the busbar assembly being coupled to the support member, or first and second lead tabs that are bent along the support member and disposed between the support member and the busbar assembly in a second direction.
CN’379 discloses a battery module in which two battery cells are arranged opposing each other (Page 6, lines 3–10; Fig. 5), with a support member disposed between the opposing battery cells to support and position the cells (Page 5, lines 20–28; Fig. 5). CN ’379 further discloses that a busbar assembly is coupled to the support member via a busbar bracket structure (Page 8, lines 10–18; Figs. 7–9). CN ’379 also teaches that a first battery cell includes a first lead tab and a second battery cell includes a second lead tab adjacent each other, wherein portions of the lead tabs are bent along the support member (Page 7, lines 13–18; Fig. 5) and disposed between the support member and the busbar assembly in the stacking (second) direction (Page 7, lines 19–25; Page 8, lines 1–6; Fig. 5).
US ’110 and CN ’379 are analogous art because both references are directed to battery modules having stacked battery cells, busbar assemblies for electrical interconnection, and structural members for supporting and positioning battery cells within a module. Both address similar design considerations, including mechanical stability, electrical connection of lead tabs to busbars, and compact module construction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery module of US ’110 to include the opposing battery cell arrangement, interposed support member, and bent lead tab configuration taught by CN ’379 in order to improve mechanical support of adjacent battery cells, stabilize lead tab routing, and facilitate reliable electrical connection to the busbar assembly.
As to Claim 3:
US ’110 teaches that the plurality of battery cell assemblies includes a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly arranged adjacent to each other within the stacked body ([0042], Fig. 2). US ’110 further teaches that the support member of the first battery cell assembly (first spacer 121) includes a positioning pin 121c formed on its surface, and that the support member of the second battery cell assembly (adjacent spacer 121) includes a positioning hole 121d into which the positioning pin 121c is inserted ([0072], Fig. 7). The positioning pin corresponds to the claimed coupling protrusion, and the positioning hole corresponds to the claimed coupling groove into which the protrusion is accommodated.
As to Claim 4:
US ’110 teaches that the module further comprises a double-sided adhesive tape 160 provided between stacked cell subassemblies, wherein the lower surface of the tape is adhered to the unit cells of the first cell subassembly (100M) and the upper surface of the tape is adhered to the unit cells of the second cell subassembly (100N) ([0055], Figs. 4–5). The double-sided adhesive tape corresponds to the claimed first adhesive member, the one surface being attached to the first battery cell assembly and the opposite surface being attached to the second battery cell assembly.
As to Claim 5:
US ’110 teaches that the busbar unit 130 includes busbars 131 that are laser welded to the electrode tabs of the unit cells to electrically connect the plurality of battery cell assemblies ([0065], [0070]–[0071]). US ’110 further teaches that the busbars 131 are integrally held by a busbar holder 132, which is a resinous frame structure that supports the busbars ([0071], Figs. 6–7). The busbar corresponds to the claimed busbar electrically connected to the plurality of battery cell assemblies, and the busbar holder corresponds to the claimed busbar frame supporting the busbar.
As to Claim 7:
US’110 discloses a battery module including a cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked, a support structure for positioning the battery cells, and a busbar assembly electrically connected to the battery cells and arranged along a stacking direction ([0014], [0028], [0030]–[0032]; Figs. 1–2). US’110 therefore teaches the structural environment, including first and second battery cells, a support member region, and a busbar assembly arranged along a second (stacking) direction.
However, US’110 does not disclose that at least a portion of the first battery cell and the second battery cell are in direct contact with each other, nor that such contact occurs between the support member and the busbar assembly in the second direction.
CN’379 discloses a battery module in which two battery cells arranged opposing each other are configured such that portions of the battery cell bodies are in direct contact with each other (Page 6, lines 3–10; Fig. 5). CN’379 further teaches that this cell-to-cell contact region is located between an internal support member and a busbar assembly along the stacking direction (Page 6, lines 11–18; Page 7, lines 1–6; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery module of US’110 to include the direct cell-to-cell contact arrangement taught by CN’379, so that portions of adjacent battery cells are in contact with each other between the support member and the busbar assembly, in order to improve mechanical stability, reduce component count, and simplify the internal structure of the battery module.
As to Claim 8:
US ’110 teaches that each unit cell 110 includes electrode tabs 113A, 113K extending from the laminate film end portions 112a, with the distal ends (113d) bent toward the stacking direction Z for electrical connection ([0108]–[0112], Fig. 1). US ’110 further teaches that the busbar 131 is laser-welded to the distal ends of the electrode tabs from adjacent cells, thereby placing the first connection portion of the first lead tab and the second connection portion of the second lead tab in electrical contact with one another through the common busbar ([0065], [0070]–[0071]). US ’110 additionally teaches that the distal ends (connection portions) of the electrode tabs are arranged between the support member (first spacer 121, supporting portion 121j) and the busbar assembly (busbar 131 held by holder 132), such that the tab distal ends are overlapped in the stacking direction (Z), i.e., in the direction from the support member toward the busbar assembly ([0063], [0072], Figs. 6–7).
As to Claim 9:
US ’110 teaches that the first spacer 121 includes a supporting portion 121j that abuts the electrode tab (distal end portion/connection portion 113d) from the side opposite the busbar 131, such that the distal ends of the electrode tabs are sandwiched between the supporting portion of the spacer and the busbar 131 ([0063], Fig. 7). In this way, the first connection portion and the second connection portion (distal ends of the lead tabs of adjacent cells) are disposed between the support member (spacer 121) and the busbar assembly (busbar 131/holder 132).
As to Claim 17:
US ’110 teaches that the module includes at least two-unit cells opposing each other in a first direction (stacking direction Z) ([0042], [0153], Figs. 1–2). US ’110 further teaches that each unit cell 110 has a cell body portion 110H accommodating a power generation element 111 (electrode assembly) ([0108]–[0109], Fig. 1). US ’110 also teaches that each cell includes a plurality of lead tabs 113A (anode tab) and 113K (cathode tab) disposed on opposite ends of the cell body along the lateral direction (Y), which is perpendicular to the stacking direction (Z) ([0048]–[0052], Figs. 1–2).
As to Claim 18: US ’110 teaches that the busbar holder 132 (busbar assembly) is fitted to the side surfaces of the first spacer 121 disposed at the lateral side of the stacked unit cells, such that the busbar assembly opposes the cell stack in the second direction (lateral direction Y, perpendicular to stacking direction Z) ([0072], Fig. 7). US ’110 further discloses that the busbar 131 of the busbar assembly is welded to the distal ends of the electrode tabs 113A, 113K of the unit cells, thereby being electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of lead tabs ([0065], [0070]–[0071], Fig. 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of CN 110289379 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3142166 A1.
US ’110 discloses a battery module as recited in claim 1 ([0042], [0065], [0070]–[0072], [0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–2, 6–7). US ’110 further teaches spacers 121, 122 disposed between and supporting stacked unit cells ([0065], Fig. 6), which are insulating resin members that provide separation between adjacent cells. However, US ’110 does not explicitly disclose that such members are configured to prevent heat propagation between adjacent cells.
In the same field of endeavor, EP ’166 is directed to battery modules and teaches inter-cell insulating mats, like ceramic wool, used to prevent thermal propagation, which is directly relevant to the insulating spacers of US ’110. EP ’166 teaches that inter-cell insulating mats and barrier members (e.g., ceramic-fiber nonwoven mats such as ceramic wool) are well known in the art and are specifically provided between adjacent battery cells to act as thermal barriers to prevent or reduce heat transfer from an overheated cell to its neighbors (EP ’166, [0025], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the insulating spacer of US ’110 to include the heat-propagation prevention function taught by EP ’166 by selecting a material known for thermal insulation between adjacent cells.
Claims 6, 13-14, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of CN 110289379 A, as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of KR 20220012045 A.
As to Claim 6:
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 5, including a busbar assembly with busbars 131 welded to the tabs of the unit cells and a busbar holder 132 supporting the busbars ([0065], [0070]–[0072], Fig. 7). US ’110 further discloses that the busbar holder 132 includes support portions 132a that are fitted to the side surfaces of the first spacer 121 (support member) ([0072], Fig. 7). Thus, US ’110 teaches protruding members (support portions) on one part (the busbar frame) that engage an opposing part (the support member), corresponding to the claimed “first hook.” However, US ’110 does not explicitly disclose that the opposing member includes a hooking groove into which the hook is inserted.
In the same field of endeavor, KR ’045 is directed to battery modules and discloses structural coupling and thermal management components such as insulating covers, cooling pads, and busbar frames, which correspond to the cover and busbar structures of US ’110. KR ’045 teaches complementary protrusion-and-groove coupling between module components, namely, a protrusion 500a1 on an insulating cover inserted into a groove 700a of a cooling block so that the parts are securely coupled together ([0046], Fig. 5). This is an express disclosure of a hook and hooking groove arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s engagement between the busbar holder and the spacer to employ the hook-and-groove insertion scheme taught by KR ’045, in order to provide a more secure, repeatable, and easily assembled coupling between the busbar frame and the support member.
As to Claim 13:
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 1, including a cell stack 100S, busbars 131, busbar holder 132, and a protective cover 140 that covers the busbar unit ([0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–3). The protective cover is coupled to the busbar assembly and therefore corresponds to a cover frame coupled to at least one of the busbar assembly or support member. However, US ’110 does not explicitly disclose that a second heat insulating member is disposed between the cover frame and the busbar assembly.
KR ’045 discloses an insulating cover 500 interposed between an end plate 300 and the busbar frame 400 ([0035], [0039]) and further teaches a cooling block 700 and cooling pad 800 disposed between the insulating cover and the busbar frame/busbars to dissipate heat from the busbars and electrode leads ([0039]–[0044], Figs. 3–5). The cooling pad 800 is a thermally insulating/heat-transferring member located between the cover frame and busbar assembly, corresponding to the claimed second heat insulating member.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the module of US ’110 by incorporating the insulating/cooling arrangement of KR ’045, i.e., disposing a second heat insulating member between the cover frame and the busbar assembly, in order to improve thermal management and safety by reducing heat buildup near the busbars.
As to Claim 14:
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 13, including a busbar assembly 130 (busbars 131 held by busbar holder 132) and a protective cover 140 that covers the busbar unit ([0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–3). The protective cover 140 corresponds to the claimed cover frame, which is coupled to the busbar assembly. However, US ’110 does not disclose that either the cover frame or the busbar assembly includes a hook and that the other includes a hooking groove into which the hook is inserted.
KR ’045 discloses complementary coupling structures in which a protrusion 500a1 on an insulating cover (cover element) is inserted into a groove 700a of a cooling block to secure the parts together ([0046], Fig. 5). This is an explicit disclosure of a hook-and-groove coupling mechanism between cover-related and module components.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s cover-to-busbar coupling (protective cover 140 attached to busbar unit 130) to incorporate the hook-and-groove coupling structure taught by KR ’045, thereby allowing the cover frame to be more securely and easily attached to the busbar assembly.
As to Claim 19:
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 18, including a cell stack of unit cells 110, spacers 121, and a busbar assembly 130. US ’110 further teaches that the busbar holder 132 is disposed at a lateral side of the stack (i.e., in the second direction, perpendicular to the stacking direction Z) and that the busbars 131 are electrically connected to the tabs of the cells ([0065], [0070]–[0072], Figs. 1–2, 6–7). Thus, US ’110 shows the busbar assembly on one side of the stack in the second direction. However, US ’110 does not disclose that the busbar assembly is disposed on both ends of the stack in the second direction.
KR ’045 teaches a module in which busbar frames 400 with busbars 410 are disposed at opposite sides of the cell stack, namely, at the front and rear ends of the stack in the direction perpendicular to the stacking direction ([0033]; Figs. 2–3). This is an express disclosure of busbar assemblies at both ends of the stack in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s module by placing busbar assemblies on both ends of the stack in the second direction, as taught by KR ’045, in order to balance current distribution, shorten conduction paths, and provide symmetric electrical connections.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of CN 110289379 A, as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of KR 101023184 B1.
As to Claim 10: US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 9, including unit cells 110 with electrode tabs 113A, 113K, spacers (support members 121), and a busbar assembly 130, 131, 132 ([0063], [0065], [0070]–[0072], Figs. 1–2, 6–7). US ’110 further teaches that the spacers 121 include positioning pins 121c and holes 121d ([0072]). These features are recesses adjacent to the tab connection region but US ’110 does not disclose welding tab connection portions along such features.
In the same field of endeavor, KR ’184 is directed to battery modules and teaches guide grooves for welding electrode tabs, which is directly relevant to the tab connection and busbar welding structure of US ’110. KR ’184 discloses a welding structure in which a lead count bar (220) includes a guide groove (221) and the opposed lead tabs are overlapped and welded together along the groove to form a reliable electrical connection ([0042], [0076], Fig. 4). KR ’184 therefore expressly teaches a first welding region formed along a guide groove where two connection portions are welded to each other.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply KR ’184’s groove-guided welding scheme to US ’110’s tab connection arrangement, using the existing tab connection area of US ’110 in combination with grooves as in KR ’184 to improve weld precision and reliability.
As to Claim 11:
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 10, including a stack of unit cells 110 with electrode tabs 113A, 113K, spacers (support members 121), and a busbar assembly comprising busbars 131 held by busbar holder 132 ([0063], [0065], [0070]–[0072], Figs. 1–2, 6–7). US ’110 further teaches that the busbars 131 are laser welded to the distal ends of electrode tabs from adjacent unit cells, thereby electrically connecting those cells ([0065], [0070]–[0071], [0108]). Thus, US ’110 discloses a busbar assembly including a busbar electrically connected to the first and second cells, with welding at their distal ends. However, US ’110 does not explicitly identify this as a second welding region distinct from the first welding region (tab-to-tab weld) of claim 10.
KR ’184 discloses a welding system for battery modules in which opposed leads are bent and overlapped so their ends are in contact and are welded to each other along a guide groove in a lead count bar ([0042], [0076]). KR ’184 further describes that after this first weld region (tab-to-tab), the outermost leads are then welded to busbars (137, 138) in a separate weld site, effectively providing a second welding region distinct from the tab-to-tab weld ([0035]–[0037], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s teaching by incorporating KR ’184’s distinct welding regions, interpreting US ’110’s busbar-to-tab weld as the second welding region in addition to the tab-to-tab weld along a groove (first welding region). The motivation would have been to enhance weld accuracy and reliability by providing clear separation between tab-to-tab and tab-to-busbar weld zones, improving electrical conduction and mechanical joint strength.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of in view of CN 110289379 A and KR 101023184 B1, as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of CN 213243054.
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 11, including a cell stack of unit cells 110 and spacers 121, busbars 131 supported by holder 132, and tab connection portions sandwiched between the support member and the busbar assembly, with the busbar welded to the tabs ([0063], [0065], [0070]–[0072], Figs. 1–2, 6–7). US ’110 further teaches that the spacers 121 include positioning pins and holes (121c, 121d), i.e., recess features adjacent to the tab connection regions ([0072]). However, US ’110 does not disclose multiple parallel grooves or welding regions formed along respective grooves.
KR ’184 discloses a welding system in which a lead count bar 220 has a guide groove 221 such that opposed tabs are welded to each other along the groove ([0042], [0076]). KR ’184 therefore teaches a first welding region formed along a groove.
In the same field of endeavor, CN ’054 is directed to battery modules and teaches busbar plates with multiple parallel welding grooves for tab connection, which is directly relevant to the busbar assembly of US ’110. CN ’054 discloses a busbar body 11 provided with a plurality of tab welding grooves 111 arranged side by side (parallel), with stress relief grooves 112 between them ([0006]–[0007], [0047]; Figs. 1–4). Tabs are inserted into these welding grooves and are laser welded in the grooves ([0063]). Thus, CN ’054 teaches the concept of multiple parallel grooves each defining a weld region.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the arrangement of US ’110 by (1) incorporating KR ’184’s guide-groove tab-to-tab weld region as a first welding region along a first groove, and (2) adopting CN ’054’s plural, parallel welding grooves for defining distinct weld regions along parallel grooves, with one groove for the first weld region and another groove for the second weld region. The motivation would have been to improve weld accuracy and quality by aligning both tab-to-tab and tab-to-busbar welds with guide grooves, and to standardize weld seam positions using parallel grooves, a predictable design improvement for manufacturability and reliability.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of in view of CN 110289379 A and KR 20220012045 A, as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of WO 2016/111762 A1.
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 14, including a busbar assembly (131, 132) and a protective cover 140 covering the busbar unit ([0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–3). The protective cover corresponds to a cover frame coupled to the busbar assembly. However, US ’110 does not disclose that the cover assembly further includes a second adhesive member for fixing a heat insulating member to the cover frame.
KR ’045 discloses an insulating/thermal management arrangement in which an insulating cover 500 is disposed between an end plate 300 and a busbar frame 400, and includes cooling/insulating pads 800 positioned between cover-related structures and busbar assemblies ([0035], [0039]–[0043], Figs. 3–5). This teaches the use of heat insulating members at the cover-to-busbar interface.
In the same field of endeavor, WO ’762 is directed to battery modules and teaches the use of adhesive layers for fixing insulating pads to cover frames, which corresponds to the cover and insulating member arrangement of US ’110. WO ’762 discloses an adhesive layer 82 that fixes a vent pad (76) to an upper cover (54) of a battery module housing ([0041]–[0043], [0047]–[0049], Figs. 6–8). The adhesive layer is expressly used to fix an insulating or protective pad to a cover frame surface.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s cover assembly to incorporate (i) the insulating member placement of KR ’045, thereby introducing a second insulating member between the cover and busbar assembly, and (ii) the adhesive fixation scheme of WO ’762, thereby securing the insulating member to the cover frame using an adhesive member. The motivation would have been to enhance thermal protection and module safety by preventing heat propagation through the busbar area, while using a reliable and low-cost adhesive attachment method for ease of assembly and manufacturability.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’110 in view of in view of CN 110289379 A, KR 20220012045 A, WO 2016/111762 A1, as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of EP 3142166 A1.
US ’110 discloses the battery module of claim 15, including a busbar assembly (131, 132), spacers (121), and a protective cover 140 that covers the busbar unit ([0063], [0070]–[0072], [0078]–[0080], Figs. 1–3, 6–7). However, US ’110 does not disclose that the cover assembly includes a second heat insulating member fixed to the cover frame and further does not disclose that such a member includes ceramic wool.
KR ’045 teaches a cover assembly with insulating components positioned between the cover frame (end plate 300/insulating cover 500) and the busbar frame 400, including cooling/insulating pad 800 ([0035], [0039]–[0043], Figs. 3–5). This provides support for the claimed “second heat insulating member.”
WO ’762 teaches the use of an adhesive layer 82 to fix an insulating vent pad 76 to an upper cover 54 of a battery housing ([0041]–[0043], [0047]–[0049], Figs. 6–8), which demonstrates securing a heat insulating member to a cover frame using adhesive, consistent with the parent limitation of claim 15.
EP ’166 expressly discloses ceramic or refractory fiber mats, including ceramic wool, as compressible insulating members used inside battery housings to prevent thermal propagation ([0022]–[0025]). In particular, EP ’166 teaches that the compressible mats may be non-woven ceramic fiber mats, ceramic wool, felt, or paper, used as thermal barriers within a battery ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US ’110’s cover assembly by (i) including a heat insulating member as taught by KR ’045, (ii) fixing that insulating member to the cover frame using an adhesive layer as taught by WO ’762, and (iii) selecting ceramic wool as the material for the insulating member as taught by EP ’166, in order to enhance thermal resistance and improve module safety against thermal runaway.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723