CTNF 18/180,855 CTNF 99883 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election of Group 1 in the reply filed on March 19 th 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “wherein the polymer”. It is not immediately clear if Applicant is referring to the “polymer binder” or the “random polymer” previously recited in claim 1, or introducing a new and different “polymer” in Claim 3, and thus the claim is unclear and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 & 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Mimura et al. 2016/0204465 A1 . Regarding Claim 1, Mimura discloses an inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition (a solid electrolyte composition) [0010] comprising An inorganic solid electrolyte having an ion conductivity of a metal belonging to group 1 or group 2 [0010-1] A polymer binder (binder particles formed of a polymer) [0010-1] And a dispersion medium [0010-1]. Mimura discloses that the polymer binder (binder particles formed of a polymer) includes a polymer binder consisting of a random polymer (main chain component) [0046-0047] that has a halogen atom directly connected to a main chain (comprises a functional group attached to main chain [0048] that can comprise a halogen [0057, 0059]). Mimura discloses that the polymer binder additionally comprises a macromonomer [0045] that includes a carbon-carbon double bond (unsaturated bond [0098, 0134]), and more specifically discloses that the macromonomer is included in the polymer binder in an amount of 1000 to 30000 g/mol (molecular weight of the macromonomer in the polymer binder) [0076]. Based on the molecular weight of the macromonomer included in the polymer binder as disclosed by Mimura, and the macromonomer containing a carbon-carbon double bond, this would result in the following content of double bonds in the binder: MW of macromonomer: 1000 g/mol [0076] # of non-aromatic carbon-carbon double bonds: 1 # of bonds/MW of macromonomer = 1/1000 g/mol * 1000 mmol/mol = 1.0 mmol/g MW of macromonomer: 30000 g/mol [0076] # of non-aromatic carbon-carbon double bonds: 1 # of bonds/MW of macromonomer = 1/30000 g/mol * 1000 mmol/mol = 0.03 mmol/g Thus, based on the amount of macromonomer in the binder disclosed by Mimura, there would be ~0.03-1.0mmol/g of double bonds in the binder, which falls within the claimed range Regarding Claim 2, Mimura discloses that the halogen atom is fluorine [0059]. Regarding Claim 5, Mimura discloses that the random polymer has an oxygen atom or a sulfur atom connected to the main chain [0048]. Regarding Claim 6, Mimura discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition further comprises an active material (active substance) [0012-12]. Regarding Claim 7, Mimura discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition further comprises a conductive auxiliary agent [0209]. Regarding Claim 8, Mimura discloses that the binder particles can be used singly or two or more types can be used in combination [0141], thus Mimura discloses that the polymer binder includes a polymer binder other than the polymer binder consisting of the random polymer. Regarding Claim 9, Mimura discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte is a sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte [0027-0031]. Regarding Claim 10, Mimura discloses an electrode sheet for batteries [0012-15, 0019] obtained by forming a film of the solid electrolyte composition [0014, 0019], thus Mimura discloses a sheet comprising a layer formed of the inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition according to claim 1. Regarding Claim 11, Mimura discloses an all-solid state secondary battery [0019] comprising, in order, a positive electrolyte active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode active material layer [0019], see also Mimura Figure 1 below. Mimura discloses that the solid electrolyte composition is preferably used in the solid electrolyte layer, the positive electrode active material layer, or the negative electrode active material layer [0019] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al. 2016/0204465 A1 . Regarding Claim 3, Mimura discloses that the polymer has a constitutional component (main chain component) [0046-0048] that is a monomer having a vinyl-based or acryl-based structure [0047]. Mimura discloses that the constitutional component (main chain component) having a vinyl-based monomer structure can be represented by Formula b-1 [0056]. PNG media_image1.png 197 320 media_image1.png Greyscale Mimura Formula b-1 Mimura discloses that and R 1 can be a hydrogen [0057], R 2 is a halogen atom such as a fluorine atom [0059], and L 1 can be a linking group such as an alkenylene group (carbon-carbon double bond group) [0062]. Thus, Mimura suggests that the vinyl-based monomer in Formula b-1 can have the following structure: PNG media_image2.png 270 750 media_image2.png Greyscale The modified structure of Mimura’s constitutional component (main chain component) therefore meets the limitations of Claim 3 for the formula VF as follows wherein R is a hydrogen atom: PNG media_image3.png 236 353 media_image3.png Greyscale Modified Mimura Constitutional Component 07-22-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al. 2016/0204465 A1 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Makino et al. WO 2019/065066 A1 (herein referred to as Makino ‘066) and Makino et al. WO 2018147051 A1 (herein referred to as Makino ‘051). Citations to Makino ‘066 and Makino ‘051 are mapped to the English machine translations provided . Regarding Claim 4, Mimura is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Mimura discloses that the polymer binder can further include a functional group [0048], however Mimura is silent as to the polymer binder containing 0.01% to 1% by mass of an organic base. Examiner notes that “organic base” was given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, which discloses that the organic base can be mixed with the polymer binder to form a chemical structure with the polymer binder [0039], and examples of the organic base include diazabicycloundecene [0071]. In a related disclosure, Makino ‘066 discloses a solid electrolyte composition for a battery [Page 1 Lines 13-14] comprising an inorganic solid electrolyte having conductivity of a metal in Group 1 or Group 2 [Page 3 Lines 4-5], and a binder polymer [Page 9 Lines 33-34], similar to the composition of Mimura comprising an inorganic solid electrolyte and polymer binder. Makino ‘066 further discloses that the polymer binder has a basic functional group [Page 10 Lines 1-2], wherein the basic functional group has the compound diazabicycloundecene as a partial structure [Page 10 Lines 1-16]. Thus, Makino ‘066 discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition comprises a polymer binder that further comprises an organic base (diazabicycloundecene is an organic base as disclosed by the instant specification, mentioned above). Makino ‘066 discloses that a binder including this functional group is more capable of more strongly binding with the solid particles of the solid electrolyte composition [Page 10 Lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the functional group of Mimura with the basic functional group of Makino ‘066 to provide a polymer binder with stronger binding capabilities with the solid particles of the solid electrolyte composition. Thus, modified Mimura discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte-containing composition comprises a polymer binder with an organic base (diazabicycloundecene as modified by Makino ‘066). Mimura and Makino ‘066 are both silent as to the specific amount of organic base included in the polymer binder as a functional group. In a related disclosure, Makino ‘051 discloses a solid electrolyte composition comprising an inorganic solid electrolyte having conductivity of a metal in Group 1 or Group 2 and a binder polymer [Page 2 Lines 19-21], similar to that of Mimura and Makino ‘066. Makino ‘051 discloses that the polymer binder comprises a component represented by “formula (1)” as shown in the disclosure [Page 2 Lines 22-24], and discloses that the component represented by “formula (1)” can further comprise a functional group [Page 9 Lines 5-27], similar to the functional groups disclosed in Mimura and Makino ‘066. Makino ‘051 further discloses that the content of the component represented by “formula (1)” comprising a functional group in the binder is preferably 1mass% to 10mass% [Page 14 Line 57 – Page 15 Line 1], which overlaps with the claimed range. In the absence of a direct teaching from Mimura of the specific content of a functional group in the binder, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the analogous art, such as Makino ‘051, to find a teaching of the content of a functional group in the binder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the suggested content of a functional group in the binder as taught by Makino ‘051 to specify the content of the organic base functional group of modified Mimura. Thus, modified Mimura discloses an organic base with a content of 1mass% to 10mass% in the polymer binder. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANNA E GOULD whose telephone number is (571)270-1088. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey T. Barton can be reached at (571) 272-1307. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.G.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 10 June 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 2 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 3 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 4 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 5 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 6 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 7 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 8 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 18/180,855 Page 9 Art Unit: 1726