DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 11, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 4, and 18 Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajadieh et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0080051 A1), hereinafter known as Sajadieh, in view of Chen et al. (CN 209045768 U), hereinafter known as Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Sajadieh teaches (Fig. 5-6) An antenna device (Fig. 5-6) for transmitting or receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal, the antenna device comprising: a plurality of RF signal feeds (Fig. 5); and an array of MxN radiating elements (Fig. 6(c)), the array comprising: M rows (two rows of Fig. 6(c)) each having N radiating elements (8 radiating elements for each row of Fig. 6(c)), and N columns (8 columns of Fig. 6(c)) each having M radiating elements (two radiating elements for each column Fig. 6(c)), where M≥2 and N>M; wherein the array is subdivided into a plurality of clusters (H1), each cluster among the plurality of clusters comprises one or more radiating elements among the MxN radiating elements (Fig. 6(c)), and the one or more radiating elements of each cluster among the plurality of clusters are connected to one of the plurality of RF signal feeds (Fig. 5); and wherein the N columns include two outer columns (outer columns of Fig. 6(c)) and one or more inner columns (inner columns of Fig. 6(c)), but does not specifically teach each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K1≥1, and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1.
However, Chen teaches (Fig. 2) each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters (cluster 30), where K1≥1 (K1 = 1), and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters (cluster 20 and 40, K2 = 2) among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna device of Sajadieh with Chen to include “each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K1≥1, and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1,” as taught by Chen, for the purpose of enabling multiple frequencies and improving usage of space (see also [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6 and 14) wherein the M rows and the N columns in the antenna device are oriented along a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (horizontal and vertical direction of Fig. 14), respectively, the vertical direction (vertical direction of Fig. 14) is a direction toward the Earth's center from a position of the antenna device configured for operation, and the horizontal direction (horizontal direction of Fig. 14) is orthogonal to the vertical direction (vertical direction of Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the one or more inner columns (six inner columns of Fig. 6(c)) are N-2 columns among the N columns.
Regarding claim 5, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein M equals two (two rows of Fig. 6(c)).
Regarding claim 6, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 5) further comprising: a plurality of power transceivers ([0050]), wherein the plurality of RF signal feeds are each connectable to a respective power transceiver among the plurality of power transceivers ([0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein at least one of the N columns (columns of Fig. 8(c)) comprises two clusters (H1, H2) among the plurality of clusters, the two clusters (H1, H2) being arranged adjacent to one another.
Regarding claim 9, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 11) wherein each of the MxN radiating elements is dual polarized ([0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 14) wherein the antenna device (710) is configured to transmit the RF signal in a beam and to scan the beam at least in an azimuthal range ([0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 11, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 14) wherein the antenna device (710) is configured to scan the beam based on a location of one or more user equipment devices (720).
Regarding claim 12, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein a spacing between any two adjacent radiating elements among the MxN radiating elements is at least half a wavelength of the RF signal ([0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the wavelength corresponds a minimum frequency in an operating frequency band of the antenna device ([0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Sajadieh further teaches wherein the wavelength corresponds to an operation of the antenna device in a sub-6Ghz frequency band ([0106], 3GPP LTE is sub-6Ghz).
Regarding claim 15, Sajadieh further teaches wherein the antenna device is configured to transmit using a multiple-input-multiple-output, method ([0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 14) wherein the antenna device (710) is configured in a receive mode for receiving a cellular communication signal ([0104], MIMO includes receiving communication signals).
Regarding claim 18, Sajadieh teaches (Fig. 5-6 and 14) A base station (710) comprising one or more antenna devices each comprising: a plurality of RF signal feeds (Fig. 5); and an array of MxN radiating elements (Fig. 6(c)), the array comprising: M rows (two rows of Fig. 6(c)) each having N radiating elements (8 radiating elements for each row of Fig. 6(c)), and N columns (8 columns of Fig. 6(c)) each having M radiating elements (two radiating elements for each column Fig. 6(c)), where M≥2 and N>M; wherein the array is subdivided into a plurality of clusters (H1), each cluster among the plurality of clusters comprises one or more radiating elements among the MxN radiating elements (Fig. 6(c)), and the one or more radiating elements of each cluster among the plurality of clusters are all connected to one of the plurality of RF signal feeds (Fig. 5); wherein the N columns include two outer columns (outer columns of Fig. 6(c)) and one or more inner columns (inner columns of Fig. 6(c)), but does not specifically teach each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K1≥1, and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1; and wherein the K2 clusters in each of the two outer columns comprise a first cluster, and a second cluster adjacent the first cluster in a column direction of the N columns.
However, Chen teaches (Fig. 2) each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters (cluster 30), where K1≥1 (K1 = 1), and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters (clusters 20 and 40, K2 = 2) among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1; and wherein the K2 clusters (clusters 20 and 40) in each of the two outer columns comprise a first cluster (20), and a second cluster (40) adjacent the first cluster (20) in a column direction of the N columns.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna device of Sajadieh with Chen to include “each of the one or more inner columns comprises K1 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K1≥1, and each of the two outer columns is one column among the N columns and comprises K2 clusters among the plurality of clusters, where K2>K1; and wherein the K2 clusters in each of the two outer columns comprise a first cluster, and a second cluster adjacent the first cluster in a column direction of the N columns,” as taught by Chen, for the purpose of enabling multiple frequencies and improving usage of space (see also [0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6 and 14) wherein, for each of the one or more antenna devices, the M rows and the N columns in the antenna device are oriented along a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (horizontal and vertical direction of Fig. 14), respectively, the vertical direction (vertical direction of Fig. 14) is a direction toward the Earth's center from a position of the antenna device configured for operation, and the horizontal direction (horizontal direction of Fig. 14) is orthogonal to the vertical direction (vertical direction of Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 20, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 14) wherein each of the one or more antenna devices is configured to transmit the RF signal in a beam and to scan the beam at least in an azimuthal range ([0098]-[0099]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajadieh in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Zimmerman (US PGPUB 2020/0044345 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sajadieh does not specifically teach wherein N equals six.
However, Zimmerman teaches wherein N equals six ([0113])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna device of Sajadieh with Zimmerman to include “wherein N equals six,” as taught by Zimmerman, for the purpose of reducing size and implementing the antenna device for different applications (see also [0113]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajadieh in view of Chen as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Beaudin (US PGPUB 2012/0133557 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sajadieh further teaches (Fig. 6) and the number of clusters in the plurality of clusters is eight (H1 in Fig. 6(c)) but does not specifically teach wherein the number of power transceivers in the plurality of power transceivers is sixteen.
However, Beaudin teaches wherein the number of power transceivers in the plurality of power transceivers is sixteen ([0027], [0065]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna device of Sajadieh with Beaudin to include “wherein the number of power transceivers in the plurality of power transceivers is sixteen,” as taught by Beaudin, for the purpose of forming a desired beam (see also [0068]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajadieh in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lier et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0044223 A1), hereinafter known as Lier.
Regarding claim 16, Sajadieh does not specifically teach wherein each radiating element among the MxN radiating elements is configured to provide a substantially uniform illumination across an aperture thereof.
However, Lier teaches (Fig. 7A) wherein each radiating element among the MxN radiating elements is configured to provide a substantially uniform illumination across an aperture thereof (Fig. 7A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna device of Sajadieh with Lier to include “wherein each radiating element among the MxN radiating elements is configured to provide a substantially uniform illumination across an aperture thereof,” as taught by Lier, for the purpose of improving efficiency (see also [0049]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845