DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 13, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the vacuum cleaner (as in claim 19), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haman (2012/0304836) in view of Falzone (2006/0107798) and Feuerstack et al. (DE 102018202326, translation included herewith).
In reference to claims 1 and 14, Haman discloses a power tool/device (10, Figures 1-2) comprising:
a housing (14, Figure 2); and
a motor (20) positioned within the housing (Figure 2);
wherein the housing is at least partially made of a polymeric material (i.e. a fiber reinforced polymeric material, see paragraph 24 disclosing that, “…housing 14 constructed of a rigid material such as plastic, metal, or composite materials such as a fiber-reinforced polymer.” ).
Haman lacks specifically disclosing that the polymeric material includes;
graphene; and
a polymer,
wherein the polymer is impregnated with the graphene; and
wherein the graphene polymeric material attenuates radiated emissions, and prevents electrostatic charge accumulation.
However, Falzone teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to form a housing (3, similar to the housing 14, of Haman) from a polymeric material including carbon fiber (see paragraph 25 for disclosing that, “…housing 3 may be made of metal, high impact polymeric material, fiber such as carbon fiber, or combinations of these, or any other high strength materials that hand and power tools may be constructed.”).
In addition, Feuerstack et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to form a housing (1) from a polymeric material (i.e. from 3 and 4, Figure 1) that includes carbon fibers (3) and graphene fibers (see following portion of translation for disclosing that, “It is particularly preferred that the carbon fibers comprise graphene fibers and / or carbon nanotubes.”. Thereby meeting the limitation of including graphene) a polymer (4), wherein the polymer is impregnated with the graphene (see following portion of translation for disclosing that, “The reinforcing component is at least partially embedded or arranged in the plastic component.” ); and since all of the structural limitations of the polymeric material have been met, the graphene polymeric material will similarly attenuate radiated emissions, and prevent electrostatic charge accumulation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fiber-reinforced polymeric housing material, of Haman, with the known technique of forming a fiber-reinforced polymeric housing material comprising carbon, graphene and a polymer, wherein the polymer is impregnated with the graphene, as taught by Falzone and Feuerstack et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile housing having increased strength (see paragraph 25, of Falzone) and that is more mechanically stable, more thermally resistant and/or conductive and/or is more effective in EMC shielding (see following portion of translation, “It is a consideration of the invention to provide a plastic molding which is suitable for housing of electronic components and can be mechanically stable, thermally resistant and / or conductive and / or EMC shielding.”).
In reference to claim 2, Feuerstack et al. disclose that the polymer is a thermoplastic polymer (see following portion of translation, “The plastic component itself can be a multi-component mixture. In particular, the plastic component is formed as a resin or a plastic…The plastic component is constructed, for example, of a thermoplastic or of a duroplastic. Polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, polystyrene, liquid crystal polymer, polycarbonate, polyester, polyphenylene sulfide, polyamide, WMC and epoxy resin are particularly suitable as the plastic component.” ).
In reference to claim 3, Feuerstack et al. disclose that the thermoplastic polymer comprises at least one polymer selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl chloride, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, polyamide, polypropylene, and high-density polyethylene (see following portion of translation, “Polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, polystyrene, liquid crystal polymer, polycarbonate, polyester, polyphenylene sulfide, polyamide, WMC and epoxy resin are particularly suitable as the plastic component.” ).
In reference to claim 4, Feuerstack et al. disclose that thermoplastic polymer is a thermoplastic polyurethane polymer (see following portion of translation, “The plastic component is constructed, for example, of a thermoplastic or of a duroplastic. Polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, polystyrene, liquid crystal polymer, polycarbonate, polyester, polyphenylene sulfide, polyamide, WMC and epoxy resin are particularly suitable as the plastic component.” ).
In reference to claim 5, modified Haman disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack specifically disclosing that;
the graphene polymeric material comprises 50 wt% to 99 wt% polymer and 1 wt% to 50 wt% graphene.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the weight percentage of the polymer and graphene of the polymeric material would result in a difference in function of the Haman device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the polymeric material, of Haman, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed range of weight percentages. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the claimed range of weight percentages of the polymeric material “may” be within the claimed range, and offering multiple other acceptable ranges (see specification paragraph 27) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight percentage of the polymer and graphene of the polymeric material, of modified Haman, to have a graphene polymeric material that comprises 50 wt% to 99 wt% polymer and 1 wt% to 50 wt% graphene, as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
In reference to claim 6, Feuerstack et al. disclose that the graphene polymeric material is in the form of pellets (i.e. cylindrical or tubular pellets, see following portion of translation, “…the reinforcing component can also form a three-dimensional shape, for example a tubular or cylindrical shape.” ).
In reference to claim 7, modified Haman disclose that the entire housing is made of the graphene polymeric material (see Figure 2 showing the entire housing 14).
In reference to claim 8, Haman discloses a method of forming an article of manufacture (i.e. housing 14) from a polymeric material (i.e. a fiber reinforced polymeric material, see paragraph 24 disclosing that, “…housing 14 constructed of a rigid material such as plastic, metal, or composite materials such as a fiber-reinforced polymer.” ), the article of manufacture being a housing structure (14) of a device (10, Figures 1 and 2), the method comprising:
providing a polymeric material (paragraph 24); and
forming the housing structure of the device article of manufacture from the polymeric material (paragraph 24).
Haman lacks specifically disclosing that the polymeric material includes;
graphene impregnated within a polymer.
However, Falzone teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to form a housing (3, similar to the housing 14, of Haman) from a polymeric material including carbon fiber (see paragraph 25 for disclosing that, “…housing 3 may be made of metal, high impact polymeric material, fiber such as carbon fiber, or combinations of these, or any other high strength materials that hand and power tools may be constructed.”).
In addition, Feuerstack et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to form a housing (1) from a polymeric material (i.e. from 3 and 4, Figure 1) that includes carbon fibers (3) and graphene fibers (see following portion of translation for disclosing that, “It is particularly preferred that the carbon fibers comprise graphene fibers and / or carbon nanotubes.”. Thereby meeting the limitation of including graphene) impregnated within a polymer (4, see following portion of translation for disclosing that, “In particular, the reinforcing component is impregnated with the plastic component.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fiber-reinforced polymeric housing material, of Haman, with the known technique of forming a fiber-reinforced polymeric housing material comprising carbon and graphene impregnated within a polymer, as taught by Falzone and Feuerstack et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile housing having increased strength (see paragraph 25, of Falzone) and that is more mechanically stable, more thermally resistant and/or conductive and/or is more effective in EMC shielding (see following portion of translation, “It is a consideration of the invention to provide a plastic molding which is suitable for housing of electronic components and can be mechanically stable, thermally resistant and / or conductive and / or EMC shielding.”).
In reference to claim 9, Feuerstack et al. disclose injecting the graphene polymeric material into a mold (i.e. during injection molding, see following portion of translation, “Especially it is preferred that the reinforcing component is extrusion-coated with the plastic component, for example in an injection molding process step.” ).
In reference to claim 10, modified Haman disclose forming the housing structure of the device via injection molding because Feuerstack et al. teach the step of injection molding (see following portion of translation, “Especially it is preferred that the reinforcing component is extrusion-coated with the plastic component, for example in an injection molding process step.”).
In reference to claim 11, Haman disclose that the device is a power tool (i.e. impact wrench 10, Figure 1 and paragraph 23).
In reference to claims 12, 13 and 20, since all of the structural limitations of the polymeric material have been met by modified Haman, the graphene polymeric material will similarly attenuate radiated emissions, and prevent electrostatic charge accumulation.
In reference to claim 15, Haman disclose that the device (10) is a power source (at 24, Figure 2).
In reference to claim 16, Haman disclose that the device is a battery pack or battery pack (24, see paragraph 24).
In reference to claim 17, Haman disclose that the device is a power tool (10, see paragraph 23).
In reference to claim 18, Haman disclose that the device is a piece of outdoor (because the tool 10 can be used outdoors) power equipment (i.e. impact tool 10, see paragraph 23).
Claim 6, is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haman (2012/0304836) in view of Falzone (2006/0107798), Feuerstack et al. (DE 102018202326, translation included herewith) and Aitchison (CN 111108341, translation included herewith).
In further reference to claim 6, assuming arguendo that Haman lack,
forming the graphene polymeric material in the form of pellets, than Aitchison is used for such a teaching.
Aitchison teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to form graphene in the form of pellets (see following portion of translation disclosing that, “a fibre comprises graphene. fibre can be pellets or powder of a polymer formed by melt extrusion”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the graphene material, of modified Haman, with the known technique of providing graphene in the form of pellets, as taught by Aitchison, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that obtains a desired concentration of graphene in the fiber in the fusion extrusion process (see following portion of translation disclosing that, “the graphene polymer dispersion of the concentrated form mixed and diluted, to obtain desired concentration of graphene in the fiber in the fusion extrusion process.”).
Claim 19, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haman (2012/0304836) in view of Falzone (2006/0107798), Feuerstack et al. (DE 102018202326, translation included herewith) and Yang (4976173).
In reference to claim 19, Haman disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack,
the device is a vacuum cleaner.
However, Yang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a tool/device (Figure 2) that can include a vacuum cleaner (see vacuum cleaner attachment in Figure 4 that can be combined with the tool/device in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the tool/device, of Haman, with the known technique of providing a device that can include the vacuum cleaner, as taught by Yang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can be adapted to function in a multitude of uses and would be a great convenience and economic benefit to the user (Column 1, Lines 26-29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Langerak (2005/0005739) also teaches of forming a housing (2) by an injection molding technique (paragraph 6).
Yang (4962681) also shows various types of power tools that can be used in a single device (Figure 11) including a vacuum cleaner (Figure 12).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723