DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the remarks filed on March 2, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, 14-15, 19 and 20 are rejected.
Claims 2-8, 10-13, and 16-18 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 11-13, filed March 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1, 5 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Chisci have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as follows:
The combination of references does not form a valid 103 rejection for the reasons below.
There is no teaching of "selecting, based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources."
The Office Action relies on Xue as teaching this element, citing para. 0178-0180, and 0203. (Office Action, page 5, paragraph 1). Applicants respectfully disagree.
First, Xue, in the cited paragraph listed resource selection/exclusion factors, WITHOUT teaching anything related to the selection is based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process.
Specifically, in the cited para. 0178-0180 specifically discloses "The PHY layer 304 may identify the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window by excluding resources in the resource selection window based on SCI decoding SCI decoding and signal measurements in the sensing window and traffic priority associated with a MAC PDU to be transmitted over the sidelink channel..." None of the factor in the resource selection is based on completion time point the first-type LBT process. The sensing time (T1 T2) and selection time is based on projected LBT completion time. It is NOT the resource selection that factors in the projected LBT completion time. Further, the projected LBT completion time is NOT the a completion time point of the first-type LBT process.
Further, Cited Para. 0230 is expressly about determining windows based on a projected completion time-not selecting a resource. Para. 0092 defines LBT complete time 430 as follows: the UE 215 may anchor the resource selection trigger 420 to the projected LBT completion time 430 instead of to the time (slot n) when the MAC PDU 410 is generated.
Second, Xue as a whole does not teach the claimed "selecting...based on...completion time point" limitation.
Projected LBT completion time" in Xue is used for timing/planning-still not "selection based on completion time point." Elsewhere (except for para. 0143 for FIG. 8A/8B) in Xue, (FIG. 5 - FIG.12) after the selection trigger, actual resource selection is random (or otherwise not tied to LBT completion time point). Para. 0143 for FIG. 8A/8B discloses a non-random selection rule.
Specifically "exclude any resource in the candidate resources that are at an earlier time than the projected LBT completion time as shown in FIG. 8B. Xue's pruning is based on a projected LBT completion time, not the claimed "completion time point of the first-type LBT process." Therefore, this exclusion rule would NOT apply when the condition is for LBT completion time point instead of the projected LBT completion time.
Third, Chisci does not cure the above deficiency. Chisci is relied upon for aspects of random backoff/LBT counter. The Office Action does not identify (and Applicant is unaware of) any teaching in Chisci that would modify Xue to perform resource selection from candidate sidelink resources based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT.
For at least the reasons above, claim 1 is patentable over the cited references. Claims 5 and 10 recite similar features, and are therefore, patentable.
Allowances for claims 1, 5, and 10 are respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, Examiner notes as detailed in Applicants specification Paragraph [00292] “The completion time point can be a predicted completion time point of the LBT process, or an actual completion time point of the LBT process. Examiner notes given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in light of the specification selected resources on a predicted completed time point of the LBT process reads on the completion time point. Further examiner notes at least dependent claim 6 which discloses predicting a completion time point and selecting based on the predicted completion time point.
Prior art reference Xu is directed to a system and method related to Listen Before Talk (LBT) aware autonomous sidelink sensing for sidelink. Figure 12 illustrates a LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing method. As detailed in Paragraph [0176-0181] Sensing request may include a first LBT type indication indicating a set of one more or more LBT types. In some instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a first LBT type (e.g., a CAT4 LBT or a type 1 LBT); The MAC layer 302 sends a resource selection trigger (e.g., the resource selection trigger 420) to the PHY layer 304. For instance, the MAC layer 302 may have generated a MAC PDU at a slot n and may have determine a time to send the resource selection trigger based on a projected LBT completion time, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed above at action 514. . For instance, the MAC layer 302 may have generated a MAC PDU at a slot n and may have determine a time to send the resource selection trigger based on a projected LBT completion time, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed above at action 514 of the method 500. The T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the MAC layer 302 as discussed above at action 516 of the method 500 or at action 616 of the method 600. Alternatively, the T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the PHY layer 304 as discussed above at action 712 of the method 700. The PHY layer 304 may identify the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window by excluding resources in the resource selection window based on SCI decoding SCI decoding and signal measurements in the sensing window and traffic priority associated with a MAC PDU to be transmitted over the sidelink channel, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed in relation to action 524 of FIG. 5; Paragraph [0203] Further discloses selection of resources in sensing procedure based on the projected LBT completion time; Paragraph [0207] the LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing module 1408 is further configured to filter resources in the resource selection window based on the projected LBT completion time as discussed above in relation to FIGS. 8A-8B; Paragraph [0210] , the processor 1402 is configured to communicate with one or more components of the UE 1400 to determine at least one of a sensing window or a first resource selection window based on a projected LBT completion time, sense in a sidelink resource pool within a shared radio frequency band during the sensing window based on the determining, identify a subset of resources from the sidelink resource pool that are within the first resource selection window based on the sensing, and select at least a first resource from the subset of resources.
That is the device determines a resource selection window and identifying and selects a resources from the sidelink resource pool that within the resource selection window which is determined based on the projected LBT completion time. Thus at least based on the completion time point of the first-type LBT process a sidelink resource is selected from the plurality of candidate resources.
Thus the references do teach “selecting, based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources”. The rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13-14, filed March 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 2 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claim 2 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 has been withdrawn.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, supra, with regard to independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0061095, hereinafter Xue, in view of Chisci et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0267947, hereinafter Chisci.
Regarding Claim 1, Xue discloses a method for performing sidelink transmission over an unlicensed band (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 7 and 12-15), comprising:
performing a first-type listen-before-talk (LBT) process on the unlicensed band to obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for the sidelink transmission (Figure 12; Paragraph [0177-0178] sensing request may include a first LBT type indication indicating a set of one more or more LBT types. In some instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a first LBT type (e.g., a CAT4 LBT or a type 1 LBT). In some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a second LBT type (e.g., a CAT2 LBT or a type 2 LBT). In yet some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate the first LBT type and the second LBT type. In some aspects, when the first LBT type indicator includes a type 2 LBT, the MAC layer 302 may also indicate a CAPC associated with a MAC PDU ready for transmission and/or a transmission power to be used for transmitting the MAC PDU. The PHY layer 304 may continuously sense or monitor resources in the sidelink resource pool prior to receiving the sensing request from the MAC layer 304. Additionally, the PHY layer 304 may monitor the resources in the sidelink resource pool for information associated with COT sharing opportunities. For instance, a sidelink UE may also include a COT-SI in SCI in addition to reservation and/or scheduling information. The COT-SI may provide COT sharing information, for example, indicating the time and the duration during which another sidelink UE may share the COT. Accordingly, the PHY layer 304 can also record LBT type or COT-sharing information associated with a resource upon successfully decoding SCI including COT sharing duration from a PSCCH of the resource),
where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process (Paragraph [0047] In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure)),
determining, based on a result from a sensing operation performed on the unlicensed band within a sensing window, a plurality of candidate sidelink resources on the unlicensed band within a sidelink resource selection window (Paragraph [0180] At action 1216, in response to the resource selection trigger, the PHY layer 304 identifies candidate resources within a resource selection window (e.g., the resource selection window 1204 shown in FIG. 12) based on sensing results in a sensing window (e.g., the sensing window 402). The PHY layer 304 may determine the resource selection window and the sensing window based on T1 and T2 durations);
selecting, based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources (Paragraph [0178-0180] a resource selection trigger (e.g., the resource selection trigger 420) to the PHY layer 304. For instance, the MAC layer 302 may have generated a MAC PDU at a slot n and may have determine a time to send the resource selection trigger based on a projected LBT completion time, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed above at action 514 of the method 500. The T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the MAC layer 302 as discussed above at action 516 of the method 500 or at action 616 of the method 600. Alternatively, the T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the PHY layer 304 as discussed above at action 712 of the method 700. The PHY layer 304 may identify the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window by excluding resources in the resource selection window based on SCI decoding SCI decoding and signal measurements in the sensing window and traffic priority associated with a MAC PDU to be transmitted over the sidelink channel, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed in relation to action 524 of FIG. 5; Paragraph [0203] Selection of resources in sensing procedure based on LNT completion time);
and performing the sidelink transmission within the obtained COT on the selected sidelink resource (Paragraph [0175-0178 and 0219-0227] Sidelink transmission in channel occupancy time acquired and using selected sidelink resource selected based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process).
Xue discloses a random back off process but may not explicitly disclose where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter.
However, Chisci more specifically teaches where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter (Paragraph [0072-0074] In one example, the first time configuration may be a random backoff-based time configuration. In this regard, block 503 illustrates a maximum potential length of the LBT 504 if performed according to the first time configuration, which may involve a random backoff counter (e.g., CAT4 LBT). Block 504 illustrates the LBT performed based on an upgraded time configuration, which may be indicated explicitly or implicitly. In the illustrated example, the second CCA timing configuration may be indicated dynamically with the DCI 502. In other aspects, the BS 105 may transmit a semi-static configuration (e.g., RRC configuration) indicating a second CCA timing configuration for performing the LBT 504. Thus, the duration of the CCA based on the second CCA timing configuration may be 8 μs. By comparison, the first CCA timing configuration may indicate an initial defer period of 16 μs+m*9 μs, followed by a random backoff period of N*9 μs. The value m may range from 1 to 4, and may be based on a priority class of the BS-UE communications. N may be a randomly-generated counter in the first CCA timing configuration. Thus, even if the UE randomly generates N as 0, the shortest duration allowed by the first CCA timing configuration may be 25 μs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chisci. Chisci provides a solution which may reduce overhead in the shared frequency communications, and prevent the chance that other wireless communication devices contend for the time resources and interfere with the BS-UE communications. Accordingly, aspects of the present disclosure can improve network efficiency and reduce power consumption of the UE and/or BS (Chisci Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0018, 0043 and 0072]).
Regarding Claim 15, Xue discloses an apparatus for performing sidelink transmission over an unlicensed band (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 7 and 13-15), comprising circuitry configured to:
perform a first-type listen-before-talk (LBT) process on the unlicensed band to obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for the sidelink transmission (Figure 12; Paragraph [0177-0178] sensing request may include a first LBT type indication indicating a set of one more or more LBT types. In some instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a first LBT type (e.g., a CAT4 LBT or a type 1 LBT). In some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a second LBT type (e.g., a CAT2 LBT or a type 2 LBT). In yet some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate the first LBT type and the second LBT type. In some aspects, when the first LBT type indicator includes a type 2 LBT, the MAC layer 302 may also indicate a CAPC associated with a MAC PDU ready for transmission and/or a transmission power to be used for transmitting the MAC PDU. The PHY layer 304 may continuously sense or monitor resources in the sidelink resource pool prior to receiving the sensing request from the MAC layer 304. Additionally, the PHY layer 304 may monitor the resources in the sidelink resource pool for information associated with COT sharing opportunities. For instance, a sidelink UE may also include a COT-SI in SCI in addition to reservation and/or scheduling information. The COT-SI may provide COT sharing information, for example, indicating the time and the duration during which another sidelink UE may share the COT. Accordingly, the PHY layer 304 can also record LBT type or COT-sharing information associated with a resource upon successfully decoding SCI including COT sharing duration from a PSCCH of the resource),
where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process (Paragraph [0047] In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure)),
determine, based on a result from a sensing operation performed on the unlicensed band within a sensing window, a plurality of candidate sidelink resources on the unlicensed band within a sidelink resource selection window (Paragraph [0180] At action 1216, in response to the resource selection trigger, the PHY layer 304 identifies candidate resources within a resource selection window (e.g., the resource selection window 1204 shown in FIG. 12) based on sensing results in a sensing window (e.g., the sensing window 402). The PHY layer 304 may determine the resource selection window and the sensing window based on T1 and T2 durations);
select, based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources (Paragraph [0178-0180] a resource selection trigger (e.g., the resource selection trigger 420) to the PHY layer 304. For instance, the MAC layer 302 may have generated a MAC PDU at a slot n and may have determine a time to send the resource selection trigger based on a projected LBT completion time, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed above at action 514 of the method 500. The T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the MAC layer 302 as discussed above at action 516 of the method 500 or at action 616 of the method 600. Alternatively, the T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the PHY layer 304 as discussed above at action 712 of the method 700. The PHY layer 304 may identify the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window by excluding resources in the resource selection window based on SCI decoding SCI decoding and signal measurements in the sensing window and traffic priority associated with a MAC PDU to be transmitted over the sidelink channel, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed in relation to action 524 of FIG. 5; Paragraph [0203] Selection of resources in sensing procedure based on LNT completion time);
and perform the sidelink transmission within the obtained COT on the selected sidelink resource (Paragraph [0175-0178 and 0219-0227] Sidelink transmission in channel occupancy time acquired and using selected sidelink resource selected based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process).
Xue discloses a random back off process but may not explicitly disclose where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter.
However, Chisci more specifically teaches where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter (Paragraph [0072-0074] In one example, the first time configuration may be a random backoff-based time configuration. In this regard, block 503 illustrates a maximum potential length of the LBT 504 if performed according to the first time configuration, which may involve a random backoff counter (e.g., CAT4 LBT). Block 504 illustrates the LBT performed based on an upgraded time configuration, which may be indicated explicitly or implicitly. In the illustrated example, the second CCA timing configuration may be indicated dynamically with the DCI 502. In other aspects, the BS 105 may transmit a semi-static configuration (e.g., RRC configuration) indicating a second CCA timing configuration for performing the LBT 504. Thus, the duration of the CCA based on the second CCA timing configuration may be 8 μs. By comparison, the first CCA timing configuration may indicate an initial defer period of 16 μs+m*9 μs, followed by a random backoff period of N*9 μs. The value m may range from 1 to 4, and may be based on a priority class of the BS-UE communications. N may be a randomly-generated counter in the first CCA timing configuration. Thus, even if the UE randomly generates N as 0, the shortest duration allowed by the first CCA timing configuration may be 25 μs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chisci. Chisci provides a solution which may reduce overhead in the shared frequency communications, and prevent the chance that other wireless communication devices contend for the time resources and interfere with the BS-UE communications. Accordingly, aspects of the present disclosure can improve network efficiency and reduce power consumption of the UE and/or BS (Chisci Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0018, 0043 and 0072]).
Regarding Claim 20, Xue discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method for performing sidelink transmission over an unlicensed band (Abstract; Figure 1-4, 7 and 13-15), the method comprising:
performing a first-type listen-before-talk (LBT) process on the unlicensed band to obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for the sidelink transmission (Figure 12; Paragraph [0177-0178] sensing request may include a first LBT type indication indicating a set of one more or more LBT types. In some instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a first LBT type (e.g., a CAT4 LBT or a type 1 LBT). In some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate a second LBT type (e.g., a CAT2 LBT or a type 2 LBT). In yet some other instances, the first LBT type indication may indicate the first LBT type and the second LBT type. In some aspects, when the first LBT type indicator includes a type 2 LBT, the MAC layer 302 may also indicate a CAPC associated with a MAC PDU ready for transmission and/or a transmission power to be used for transmitting the MAC PDU. The PHY layer 304 may continuously sense or monitor resources in the sidelink resource pool prior to receiving the sensing request from the MAC layer 304. Additionally, the PHY layer 304 may monitor the resources in the sidelink resource pool for information associated with COT sharing opportunities. For instance, a sidelink UE may also include a COT-SI in SCI in addition to reservation and/or scheduling information. The COT-SI may provide COT sharing information, for example, indicating the time and the duration during which another sidelink UE may share the COT. Accordingly, the PHY layer 304 can also record LBT type or COT-sharing information associated with a resource upon successfully decoding SCI including COT sharing duration from a PSCCH of the resource),
where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process (Paragraph [0047] In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure)),
determining, based on a result from a sensing operation performed on the unlicensed band within a sensing window, a plurality of candidate sidelink resources on the unlicensed band within a sidelink resource selection window (Paragraph [0180] At action 1216, in response to the resource selection trigger, the PHY layer 304 identifies candidate resources within a resource selection window (e.g., the resource selection window 1204 shown in FIG. 12) based on sensing results in a sensing window (e.g., the sensing window 402). The PHY layer 304 may determine the resource selection window and the sensing window based on T1 and T2 durations);
selecting, based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources (Paragraph [0178-0180] a resource selection trigger (e.g., the resource selection trigger 420) to the PHY layer 304. For instance, the MAC layer 302 may have generated a MAC PDU at a slot n and may have determine a time to send the resource selection trigger based on a projected LBT completion time, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed above at action 514 of the method 500. The T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the MAC layer 302 as discussed above at action 516 of the method 500 or at action 616 of the method 600. Alternatively, the T1 and T2 durations can be determined based on a projected LBT completion time at the PHY layer 304 as discussed above at action 712 of the method 700. The PHY layer 304 may identify the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window by excluding resources in the resource selection window based on SCI decoding SCI decoding and signal measurements in the sensing window and traffic priority associated with a MAC PDU to be transmitted over the sidelink channel, for example, using similar mechanisms as discussed in relation to action 524 of FIG. 5; Paragraph [0203] Selection of resources in sensing procedure based on LNT completion time);
and performing the sidelink transmission within the obtained COT on the selected sidelink resource (Paragraph [0175-0178 and 0219-0227] Sidelink transmission in channel occupancy time acquired and using selected sidelink resource selected based on a completion time point of the first-type LBT process).
Xue discloses a random back off process but may not explicitly disclose where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter.
However, Chisci more specifically teaches where the first-type LBT process includes a random backoff process, and duration of the random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated LBT counter (Paragraph [0072-0074] In one example, the first time configuration may be a random backoff-based time configuration. In this regard, block 503 illustrates a maximum potential length of the LBT 504 if performed according to the first time configuration, which may involve a random backoff counter (e.g., CAT4 LBT). Block 504 illustrates the LBT performed based on an upgraded time configuration, which may be indicated explicitly or implicitly. In the illustrated example, the second CCA timing configuration may be indicated dynamically with the DCI 502. In other aspects, the BS 105 may transmit a semi-static configuration (e.g., RRC configuration) indicating a second CCA timing configuration for performing the LBT 504. Thus, the duration of the CCA based on the second CCA timing configuration may be 8 μs. By comparison, the first CCA timing configuration may indicate an initial defer period of 16 μs+m*9 μs, followed by a random backoff period of N*9 μs. The value m may range from 1 to 4, and may be based on a priority class of the BS-UE communications. N may be a randomly-generated counter in the first CCA timing configuration. Thus, even if the UE randomly generates N as 0, the shortest duration allowed by the first CCA timing configuration may be 25 μs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chisci. Chisci provides a solution which may reduce overhead in the shared frequency communications, and prevent the chance that other wireless communication devices contend for the time resources and interfere with the BS-UE communications. Accordingly, aspects of the present disclosure can improve network efficiency and reduce power consumption of the UE and/or BS (Chisci Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0018, 0043 and 0072]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Chisci as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Khoryaev et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0073930, hereinafter Khoryaev.
Regarding Claim 9, Xue in view of Chisci disclose the method of Claim 1. Xue in view of Chisci disclose triggers for packet transmission including a first-type LBT process but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, and the step of determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources further comprises: planning, based on a predicted arrival time point of an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the sensing window, such that the sensing window is limited to a period immediately before the predicted arrival time point.
However, Khoryaev more specifically teaches wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, and the step of determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources further comprises: planning, based on a predicted arrival time point of an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the sensing window, such that the sensing window is limited to a period immediately before the predicted arrival time point (Paragraph [0315] the UE by implementation can predict the packet arrival time in case of periodic traffic and thus it can wake up right before the upcoming transmission of a TB and sense the radio environment. In this case, UE partial sensing can be triggered N=32 logical slots ahead of resource re-selection trigger, so that sensing data throughout one SCI signaling window are available before new TB/packet arrival).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue in view of Chisci with the teachings of Khoryaev. Khoryaev provides a solution which supports partial sensing and inter-UE coordination feedback for reliable sidelink communication with reduced power consumption in 5G NR networks (Khoryaev Abstract; Paragraph [0006-0008]).
Regarding Claim 19, Xue in view of Chisci disclose the apparatus of Claim 15. Xue in view of Chisci disclose triggers for packet transmission including a first-type LBT process but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, and the circuitry is further configured to: plan, based on a predicted arrival time point of an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the sensing window, such that the sensing window is limited to a period immediately before the predicted arrival time point.
However, Khoryaev more specifically teaches wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, and the circuitry is further configured to: plan, based on a predicted arrival time point of an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the sensing window, such that the sensing window is limited to a period immediately before the predicted arrival time point (Paragraph [0315] the UE by implementation can predict the packet arrival time in case of periodic traffic and thus it can wake up right before the upcoming transmission of a TB and sense the radio environment. In this case, UE partial sensing can be triggered N=32 logical slots ahead of resource re-selection trigger, so that sensing data throughout one SCI signaling window are available before new TB/packet arrival).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue in view of Chisci with the teachings of Khoryaev. Khoryaev provides a solution which supports partial sensing and inter-UE coordination feedback for reliable sidelink communication with reduced power consumption in 5G NR networks (Khoryaev Abstract; Paragraph [0006-0008]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Chisci as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0243749, hereinafter Hoang.
Regarding Claim 14, Xue in view of Chisci disclose the method of Claim 1. Xue in view of Chisci fail to explicitly disclose wherein the step of selecting the sidelink resource further comprises: performing resource overbooking by selecting one or more excessive sidelink resources from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources.
However, Hoang more specifically teaches wherein the step of selecting the sidelink resource further comprises: performing resource overbooking by selecting one or more excessive sidelink resources from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources (Paragraph [0106] The WTRU may select the subband which has the highest number of available resources for a possible transmission within the resource selection window. The WTRU may select the subband which has the longest consecutive available resources within the resource selection window. The WTRU may select the subband which has the earliest available resource within the resource selection window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xue in view of Chisci with the teachings of Hoang. Hoang provides a solution where collision handling before transmission of sidelink control information (SCI) notification avoids the collision of two WTRUs selecting the same resources where one WTRU does not have information of a transmission of another WTRU. The probability of collision for a large size packet is reduced, which reduces the resource wastage due to the congestion of large size packets. The WTRU selects a number of sidelink processes and distinct resource reservations which best meet the quality of service (QoS) requirements of the large packet to transmit, without requiring a large number of sidelink processes and without reserving a large amount of resources in a slot/symbol and potentially leaving available resources for low-latency WTRUs. The WTRU reduces the probability of collision in selecting patterns of TBs with different priorities (Hoang Abstract; Paragraph [0002 and 0160-0162]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10-13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2 and 16, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the step of performing the first-type LBT process further comprises upon arrival of a packet to be transmitted, initiating the first-type LBT process, the step of determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources further comprises upon completion of the first-type LBT process, determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, and the step of selecting the sidelink resource further comprises selecting an earliest sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, the step of performing the first-type LBT process further comprises: generating in advance, for an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the LBT counter, and initiating, based on the generated LBT counter, the first-type LBT process, such that the first-type LBT process is completed before a predicted arrival time point n of the upcoming packet, and the step of determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources further comprises upon the arrival of the upcoming packet, determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 4 and 5 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated objected to base claim.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein: for a packet to be transmitted, the sidelink transmission includes first sidelink transmission and second sidelink transmission, the step of performing the first-type LBT process further comprises: upon arrival of the packet, initiating a first first-type LBT process, where the first first-type LBT process includes a first random backoff process, and duration of the first random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated first LBT counter N1, and after initiation of the first first-type LBT process, initiating a second first-type LBT process, such that the first first-type LBT process and the second first-type LBT process are performed parallelly, where the second first-type LBT process includes a second random backoff process, and duration of the second random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated second LBT counter N2, the step of determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources further comprises upon the arrival of the packet, determining the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, and the step of selecting the sidelink resource further comprises, upon the arrival of the packet, predicting, based on the first LBT counter N1, a completion time point T1 of the first first-type LBT process, predicting, based on the second LBT counter N2, a completion time point T2 of the second first-type LBT process, selecting, based on an earlier one of the completion time points T1 and T2, an earliest sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, for the first sidelink transmission, and selecting, based on a latter one of the completion time points T1 and T2, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, for the second sidelink transmission.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claims 7 and 8 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated objected to base claim.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the step of performing the first-type LBT process further comprises: generating in advance, for the upcoming packet, the LBT counter, and within the planned sensing window, initiating the first-type LBT process.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 11 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated objected to base claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the step of performing the first-type LBT process further comprises upon completion of the first-type LBT process, starting a self-deferring period, and the step of performing the sidelink transmission further comprises: when a time interval between the completion of the first-type LBT process and the selected sidelink resource is longer than a length of a symbol and smaller than a length of the COT acquired by the first-type LBT process, performing a second-type LBT process to sense whether the unlicensed band is idle, and performing the sidelink transmission on the selected sidelink resource if a result of the second-type LBT process indicates an idle state, when the time interval is shorter than or equals to the length of a symbol, using a transmission on a cyclic prefix extension (CPE) starting position or a timing advance (TA) transmission to occupy the time interval, and then performing the sidelink transmission on the selected sidelink resource.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 13 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated objected to base claim.
Regarding Claim 17, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the sidelink transmission involves periodic traffic, and the circuitry is further configured to: generate in advance, for an upcoming packet of the periodic traffic, the LBT counter, initiate, based on the generated LBT counter, the first-type LBT process, such that the first-type LBT process is completed before a predicted arrival time point n of the upcoming packet, upon the arrival of the upcoming packet, determine the plurality of candidate sidelink resources.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein for a packet to be transmitted, the sidelink transmission includes first sidelink transmission and second sidelink transmission, and the circuitry is further configured to: upon arrival of the packet, initiate a first first-type LBT process, where the first first-type LBT process includes a first random backoff process, and duration of the first random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated first LBT counter N1, after initiation of the first first-type LBT process, initiate a second first-type LBT process, such that the first first-type LBT process and the second first-type LBT process are performed parallelly, where the second first-type LBT process includes a second random backoff process, and duration of the second random backoff process is determined by a randomly generated second LBT counter N2, and upon the arrival of the packet, determine the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, predict, based on the first LBT counter N1, a completion time point T1 of the first first-type LBT process, predict, based on the second LBT counter N2, a completion time point T2 of the second first-type LBT process, select, based on an earlier one of the completion time points T1 and T2, an earliest sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, for the first sidelink transmission, and select, based on a latter one of the completion time points T1 and T2, a sidelink resource from the plurality of candidate sidelink resources, for the second sidelink transmission.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409