DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term MYLAR, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashima et al. (US 8,369,736).
Regarding claim 1, Takashima et al. (hereinafter Takashima) developing device comprising: a storage portion 73 that stores a developer and has an exit 76 for the developer and a hole portion 78, the hole portion 78 including a limiting portion (inner surface of the hole portion) (Fig. 26C); a sealing member 88 with which the exit 76 of the storage portion is sealed (col. 18 lines 8-20); a loosening member 91 that is disposed in the storage portion 73 (col. 18 lines 63-66) so as to be pulled out through the hole portion 78 of the storage portion 73 and loosens the developer by being pulled out of the storage portion 73 (col. 20 lines 10-16); and a closing member 79 that is disposed in the hole portion 78 of the storage portion 73 (col. 20 lines 10-16), cleans the loosening member 91 that is pulled out of the hole portion 78 by being in contact with the loosening member 91, and closes the hole portion 78 of which the loosening member 91 has been pulled out (col. 24 lines 27-35), the closing member 79 including a caught portion (outer surface that contacts the inner surface of the hole portion (the limiting portion), wherein: the limiting portion of the hole portion 78 of the storage portion 73 limits a movement of the closing member 79 in a pull-out direction of the loosening member 91 by catching the caught portion (through friction).
Regarding claim 11, Takashima teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: a holding body PR that holds a latent image (Fig. 2); and the developing device G, according to claim 1, that develops the latent image (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima et al. (US 8,369,736) in view of Mokoto (JP2013-242512).
Regarding claim 2, Takashima teaches the developing device according to claim 1, but remains silent as to wherein: the limiting portion is a protruding portion provided on an inner surface of the hole portion.
Mokoto teaches a sealing member 202 wherein the limiting portion 212 is a protruding portion but is not provide on an inner surface of the hole portion (Fig. 12). Mokoto teaches that the limiting portion 212 prevents the sealing member from falling out of the developing frame while the sealing member is removed (fourth paragraph in (Example 2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hole portion to include the protruding portion instead of on the sealing member as doing so is merely a rearrangement of parts.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing member of Takashima to include the protruding portion in order to ensure the sealing member stays in the developing frame, as taught by Mokoto.
Regarding claim 9, Takashima as modified by Mokoto above teaches the developing device according to claim 1, wherein: the limiting portion 212 is a recessed portion provided in an inner surface of the hole portion.
Regarding claim 12 and 19, Takashima as modified by Mokoto teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a holding body PR that holds a latent image (Takashima, Fig. 2); and the developing device G, according to claim 2 and 9, that develops the latent image (Takashima, Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10, 13-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852