DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Election of species in Applicant’s reply filed on 02/19/2026 of the first structure of T as shown in claim 1 is acknowledged. Upon further consideration election of species of constituent T is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaye (US 2014/0315862, October 2014, cited from IDS) and in further view of Watanabe et al (US 2013/0211062, August 2013) and Hanson (US 2012/0289457, November 2012, cited from IDS).
Kaye teaches compositions for treatment of muscular dystrophy (see Abstract), such as antisense oligomer eteplirsen with the following structure (see paragraph [0063]):
Such antisense oligomer satisfies structural requirements of instant claims 1-4, 6 and 8 with the first T substituent as presented in instant Formula (I), but missing the targeting peptide on 3’ end. Kaye teaches that the oligomer can be conjugated to arginine-rich peptides (see paragraph [0031]).
Kaye further teaches that thymine in the oligomer can be uracil (see paragraph [0132]). Kaye teaches hydrochloride (HCl) salts of the oligomer (see paragraph [0179]). Kaye teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the oligomer comprising pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see paragraph [0031]).
Kaye do not teach oligomers comprising two other T substituents as in Formula (I) or conjugation to specific peptide at 3’ end as in Formulas (I) and (II).
Watanabe teach antisense oligomers for treatment of Duchenne muscular dystrophy (see paragraphs [0001-0002]). Watanabe teach modifying 5’ end of such oligomer with groups (1)-(3) from paragraph [0028], which are identical to T substituents as in instant Formula (I) and presented in the same order, wherein R1 is CH3.
Hanson teaches conjugation of oligonucleotides to arginine-rich peptides to increase such oligomer cellular uptake (see Abstract, paragraph [0008]). Hanson suggests attaching peptide comprising six arginines through glycine moiety at the carboxy terminus of the peptide (see paragraphs [0014, 0111]) and acetylating amino terminus of the peptide (see paragraph [0133]). Hanson exemplifies such peptides as AcR6G, which comprises six arginines, the last one acetylated, which are connected to oligomer through glycine moiety (see paragraph [0477]), forming the exact same structure as at 3’ end of instant Formulas (I) and (II). Hanson points out that conjugate with six arginines is the most effective (see paragraph [0484]). Hanson also teach the same oligonucleotide for conjugation of SEQ ID NO: 32 (see Table 1 on page 26) as instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conjugate taught by Kaye at its 5’ and 3’ ends with modifications taught by Watanabe and Hanson, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Watanabe suggest two other ways to modify 5’ end of the conjugate, while Hanson teaches effective peptide modification of 3’ end of oligomer to improve such oligomer delivery to cells, such peptide modification is also suggested by Kaye.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 4, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 4, 6 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,642,364. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
With different wording and presentation of the sequence both claims, 4 and 1 from ‘364, recite identical oligomer conjugates.
Instant claim 6 recites the same conjugate or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof as in claim 4 from ‘364.
With different wording and presentation of the sequence both claims, 8 and 6 from ‘364, recite identical oligomer conjugates.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,888,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘578 recite methods of treatment of Duchenne muscular dystrophy by administering the same compounds as instantly claimed.
Claims 2-3, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3, 5, 7-10 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,642,364. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘364 recite the same compounds as in instant claims.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-81 of U.S. Patent No. 9,161,948 in view of Watanabe et al, above. Claims from ‘948 recite oligomer conjugates comprising 5’ group identical to the first T substituent from instant Formulas (I) and (II) and 3’ group identical to the same in instant Formulas (I) and (II). Specification of ‘948 further teach SEQ ID NO: 32 in Table 1, column 47, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Teachings of Watanabe are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify SEQ ID NO: 32 as described in ‘948 or with modifications discussed by Watanabe, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 9,506,058 in view of Watanabe et al and Hanson, above. Claims from ‘058 recite methods of treatment of Duchenne muscular dystrophy by administering eteplirsen, which has a structural formula (see columns 13-14) identical to instant Formulas (I) and (II), but without 3’ peptide group. Teachings of Watanabe and Hanson are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify eteplirsen with modifications discussed by Watanabe and Hanson, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 8,779,128 in view of Watanabe et al, above. Claims from ‘128 recite oligomer conjugates comprising 5’ group identical to the first T substituent from instant Formulas (I) and (II) and 3’ group identical to the same in instant Formulas (I) and (II). Specification of ‘128 further teach SEQ ID NO: 32 in Table 11, column 123, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Teachings of Watanabe are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify SEQ ID NO: 32 as described in ‘128 or with modifications discussed by Watanabe, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,202,602 in view of Watanabe et al, above. Claims from ‘602 recite oligomer conjugates comprising 5’ group identical to the first T substituent from instant Formulas (I) and (II) and 3’ group identical to the same in instant Formulas (I) and (II). Specification of ‘602 further teach SEQ ID NO: 32 in Table 11, column 123, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Teachings of Watanabe are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify SEQ ID NO: 32 as described in ‘602 or with modifications discussed by Watanabe, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,487,326 in view of Watanabe et al, above. Claims from ‘326 recite oligomer conjugates comprising 5’ group identical to the first T substituent from instant Formulas (I) and (II) and 3’ group identical to the same in instant Formulas (I) and (II). Specification of ‘326 further teach SEQ ID NO: 32 in Table 1, column 49, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Teachings of Watanabe are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify SEQ ID NO: 32 as described in ‘326 or with modifications discussed by Watanabe, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 27-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,259 in view of Watanabe et al, above. Claims from ‘259 recite oligomer conjugates comprising 5’ group identical to the first T substituent from instant Formulas (I) and (II) and 3’ group identical to the same in instant Formulas (I) and (II). Specification of ‘948 further teach SEQ ID NO: 32 in Table 1, column 35, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Teachings of Watanabe are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify SEQ ID NO: 32 as described in ‘259 or with modifications discussed by Watanabe, arriving at instant invention.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637