This office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed 10/29/2025. Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 have been amended. Claim 3 has been cancelled, and new Claim 6 has been added. Any examiner’s note, objection, or rejection not repeated is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for priority from foreign application no. JP2022-080969 filed 05/17/2022
is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rice et al. (US 10173646 B1) in view of Brahma et al. (US 20210383209 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rice and Brahma, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Rice discloses A vehicle, comprising: a sensor from which data is to be collected (Col. 18, Lines 35-38- The vehicle computing system 102 can be configured to obtain data indicative of a weather condition the autonomous vehicle 10 is operating in by receiving data indicative of a weather condition from the LIDAR sensor.; Col. 19, Lines 45-46- the vehicle computing system 102 can obtain sensor data from one or more sensors 101. Please note that the autonomous vehicle 10 corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle, and the sensor 101 that can provide sensor data corresponds to the sensor from which data is to be collected.);
a wiper device that is disposed near a windshield of the vehicle, the wiper device further comprising a wiper controller configured to control an operating mode and a start time of operation of the wiper device (Col. 25, Lines 56-67- windshield wiper control device, […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine a sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of the sensor condition […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine the sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of a sensor condition. Please note that the windshield wiper corresponds to Applicant’s wiper device disposed near a windshield of the vehicle, and the control device for it corresponds to Applicant’s wiper controller configured to control an operating mode and a start time of operation of the wiper device, as it can determine a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time.);
and a data processor that is communicably connected to the wiper controller (Col. 12, Lines 49-51-In particular, the vehicle computing system 102 can receive sensor data from the one or more sensors 101; Col.12, Lines 58-59-The vehicle computing system 102.), the data processor further comprising: a memory (Col.12, Lines 58-59- The vehicle computing system 102 includes […] memory 114.) that stores a schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of the wiper device for each operating mode (Col. 23, Lines 39-45- cleaning of sensors according to a sensor cleaning sequence can allow for the prioritization of cleaning a particular sensor 232-236 once it is recognized that a sensor 232-236 requires cleaning […] periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning. Please note that scheduled sensor cleaning as part of periodic sensor cleaning corresponds to Applicant’s schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of the wiper device for each operating mode, i.e., the period of cleaning for a particular prioritized sensor, corresponding to each operating mode. Additionally, as is known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the schedule for sensor cleaning may be stored in memory.); and a processor (Col.12, Lines 58-59-The vehicle computing system 102 includes one or more processors 112.) configured to:
obtain the operating mode and the start time of operation from the wiper controller Col. 25, Lines 56-67- windshield wiper control device, […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine a sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of the sensor condition […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine the sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of a sensor condition. Please note that the processor of the vehicle computing system 102, in order to obtain the sensor cleaning sequence to carry out, is obtaining the operating mode and the start time from the wiper controller once it has determined it, as it has determined a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time.);
determine an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device (Col. 9, Lines 32-37-to be operated in an intermittent or continuous mode and/or data indicative of an operational frequency (i.e., windshield wiper cycles per time period). The computing system can be configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence. Please note that the computing system configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence, where there is data provided indicative of an operational frequency and wiper cycles per time period correspond to Applicant’s determining an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device, as there is a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time, and be carried out according to the timing chart, i.e., the operational frequency.);
during which a cause of inferiority of data obtained in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor is removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor (Col. 7, Lines 9-12- For example, the computing system can determine whether one or more of a gas cleaning unit, a liquid cleaning unit, or a sensor wiper device should be used to clean one or more sensors. Please note that a sensor wiper device being used to clean a sensor corresponds to Applicant’s cause of inferiority of the data in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor being removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor.);
set a delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes that start at a predetermined time, is outside the estimated non-inferior interval, the delay time being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time (Col. 7, Lines 58-65- In some implementations, one or more sensors can be preferentially cleaned according to the sensor cleaning sequence. For example, a sensor facing forward along a direction of travel of the autonomous vehicle may be exposed to more precipitation and/or debris than a rear facing sensor. In some implementations, the forward facing sensor can be cleaned at a higher frequency than a rear facing sensor.; Col. 12, Lines 31-46- sensors experiencing increased accumulation of precipitation or debris can be prioritized for cleaning in a sensor cleaning sequence, and by cleaning one or more sensors sequentially, instances in which the all of the sensors 232-236 are simultaneously cleaned and therefore the entire sensor system is temporarily “blinded” can be eliminated […] Such is in contrast to periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning or until the next instance in which all sensors can safely be simultaneously cleaned. Please note that the time in between cycles of the sensor cleaning process according to the sensor cleaning sequence corresponds to Applicant’s delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time, as there is a delay in between each set of processes comprising the sensor cleaning, which is not longer than the period between one sensor cleaning and the next (the frequency length). For example, if a cleaning is performed every 5 seconds, there is a delay between each cleaning that is not longer than the 5 seconds that elapses between the scheduled end time of the first cleaning and the start time of the next. Furthermore, preferentially cleaning a dirtier sensor corresponds to setting a delay time during which none of the set of processes is executed, before execution of the first process, when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes started at a predetermined time is outside the estimated non-inferior interval. This is because a time outside the non-inferior interval would be when a particular sensor is clean and thus does not need to be cleaned in the current cycle, so the scheduled sensor cleaning cycle would not be carried out on that particular sensor as the sequence is preferentially cleaning another, i.e., being delayed, which is also before the execution of the first process on that particular processor.),
Rice does not explicitly disclose in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimate a non-inferior interval;
and the delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval.
However, Brahma discloses in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimate a non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the data collection module 1460 identifying a subset of sensor data to include from a period of time before time T where sensor data resulted in errors and a time after time T corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval in response to the determined operating of the wiper device, as identifying a period of time in which there are no sensor errors corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval, and is in response to when a situation occurred, which could include the corresponding operating timing of the wiper device as a result.);
and the delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the subset of sensor data from a period of time before time T corresponds to Applicant’s delay time being not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval, as the period of time following a cycle as previously disclosed by Rice that is before time T (the non-inferior interval starting at time T) could be utilized as the delay time in between the scheduled execution time of the cycles.).
Rice and Brahma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor data processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rice to incorporate the teachings of Brahma to modify the sensor cleaning system to estimate the non-inferior interval, allowing for anticipation of cleaning cycles for improved efficiency, as described in Brahma.
Regarding Claim 2, Rice-Brahma as described in Claim 1, Rice further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to forbid execution of a process using data obtained by the first process delayed by setting the delay time, when a scheduled execution time of the delayed first process precedes the non-inferior interval (Col. 7, Lines 58-65- In some implementations, one or more sensors can be preferentially cleaned according to the sensor cleaning sequence. For example, a sensor facing forward along a direction of travel of the autonomous vehicle may be exposed to more precipitation and/or debris than a rear facing sensor. In some implementations, the forward facing sensor can be cleaned at a higher frequency than a rear facing sensor.; Col. 12, Lines 31-46- sensors experiencing increased accumulation of precipitation or debris can be prioritized for cleaning in a sensor cleaning sequence, and by cleaning one or more sensors sequentially, instances in which the all of the sensors 232-236 are simultaneously cleaned and therefore the entire sensor system is temporarily “blinded” can be eliminated. Please note that prioritizing the cleaning of a dirty processor corresponds to Applicant’s forbidding execution of a process using data obtain by the first process delayed by setting the delay time, when a scheduled execution time of the delayed first process precedes the non-inferior interval. This is because the prioritization of the cleaning process for one sensor necessarily forbids the execution of the cleaning process for another since it is occurring sequentially, and it does so using sensor condition data corresponding to data obtained by the first process delayed by setting the delay time between cycles to decide the prioritization. Furthermore, the scheduled execution time of the delayed first process precedes the non-inferior interval, because the scheduled execution of the first process (reading sensor condition data to determine sensor cleaning sequences) occurs prior to the non-inferior interval in which cleaning is carried out.).
Regarding Claim 4, Rice discloses A method for processing data (Col 1, Lines 57-59- The method can include obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, data), comprising:
storing, by a memory (Col.12, Lines 58-59- The vehicle computing system 102 includes […] memory 114.), a schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of a wiper device for each operating mode of the wiper device (Col. 23, Lines 39-45- cleaning of sensors according to a sensor cleaning sequence can allow for the prioritization of cleaning a particular sensor 232-236 once it is recognized that a sensor 232-236 requires cleaning […] periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning. Please note that scheduled sensor cleaning as part of periodic sensor cleaning corresponds to Applicant’s schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of the wiper device for each operating mode, i.e., the period of cleaning for a particular prioritized sensor, corresponding to each operating mode. Additionally, as is known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the schedule for sensor cleaning may be stored in memory.);
obtaining, by a processor, ( Col.12, Lines 58-59-The vehicle computing system 102 includes one or more processors 112.) an operating mode and a start time of operation from the wiper device (Col. 25, Lines 56-67- windshield wiper control device, […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine a sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of the sensor condition […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine the sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of a sensor condition. Please note that the processor of the vehicle computing system 102, in order to obtain the sensor cleaning sequence to carry out, is obtaining the operating mode and the start time from the wiper device once it has determined it, as it has determined a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time.);
determining an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device (Col. 9, Lines 32-37-to be operated in an intermittent or continuous mode and/or data indicative of an operational frequency (i.e., windshield wiper cycles per time period). The computing system can be configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence. Please note that the computing system configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence, where there is data provided indicative of an operational frequency and wiper cycles per time period correspond to Applicant’s determining an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device, as there is a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time, and be carried out according to the timing chart, i.e., the operational frequency.);
during which a cause of inferiority of data obtained in a first process to obtain data from a sensor is removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor (Col. 7, Lines 9-12- For example, the computing system can determine whether one or more of a gas cleaning unit, a liquid cleaning unit, or a sensor wiper device should be used to clean one or more sensors. Please note that a sensor wiper device being used to clean a sensor corresponds to Applicant’s cause of inferiority of the data in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor being removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor.);
and setting a delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor, when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes started at a predetermined time is outside the non-inferior interval, the delay time being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time (Col. 7, Lines 58-65- In some implementations, one or more sensors can be preferentially cleaned according to the sensor cleaning sequence. For example, a sensor facing forward along a direction of travel of the autonomous vehicle may be exposed to more precipitation and/or debris than a rear facing sensor. In some implementations, the forward facing sensor can be cleaned at a higher frequency than a rear facing sensor.; Col. 12, Lines 31-46- sensors experiencing increased accumulation of precipitation or debris can be prioritized for cleaning in a sensor cleaning sequence, and by cleaning one or more sensors sequentially, instances in which the all of the sensors 232-236 are simultaneously cleaned and therefore the entire sensor system is temporarily “blinded” can be eliminated […] Such is in contrast to periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning or until the next instance in which all sensors can safely be simultaneously cleaned. Please note that the time in between cycles of the sensor cleaning process according to the sensor cleaning sequence corresponds to Applicant’s delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time, as there is a delay in between each set of processes comprising the sensor cleaning, which is not longer than the period between one sensor cleaning and the next (the frequency length). For example, if a cleaning is performed every 5 seconds, there is a delay between each cleaning that is not longer than the 5 seconds that elapses between the scheduled end time of the first cleaning and the start time of the next. Furthermore, preferentially cleaning a dirtier sensor corresponds to setting a delay time during which none of the set of processes is executed, before execution of the first process, when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes started at a predetermined time is outside the estimated non-inferior interval. This is because a time outside the non-inferior interval would be when a particular sensor is clean and thus does not need to be cleaned in the current cycle, so the scheduled sensor cleaning cycle would not be carried out on that particular sensor as the sequence is preferentially cleaning another, i.e., being delayed, which is also before the execution of the first process on that particular processor.).
Rice does not explicitly disclose in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimating a non-inferior interval;
and wherein the delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval.
However, Brahma discloses in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimating a non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the data collection module 1460 identifying a subset of sensor data to include from a period of time before time T where sensor data resulted in errors and a time after time T corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval in response to the determined operating of the wiper device, as identifying a period of time in which there are no sensor errors corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval, and is in response to when a situation occurred, which could include the corresponding operating timing of the wiper device as a result.);
and wherein the delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the subset of sensor data from a period of time before time T corresponds to Applicant’s delay time being not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval, as the period of time following a cycle as previously disclosed by Rice that is before time T (the non-inferior interval starting at time T) could be utilized as the delay time in between the scheduled execution time of the cycles.).
Rice and Brahma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor data processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rice to incorporate the teachings of Brahma to modify the sensor cleaning system to estimate the non-inferior interval, allowing for anticipation of cleaning cycles for improved efficiency, as described in Brahma.
Regarding Claim 5, Rice discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for processing data, the computer program causing a computer to execute processing (Col. 12, Lines 64-67 to Col. 13, Lines 1-3-memory 114 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums […] can store data 116 and instructions 118 which are executed by the processor 112 to cause vehicle computing system 102 to perform operations.) comprising:
storing, by a memory (Col.12, Lines 58-59- The vehicle computing system 102 includes […] memory 114.), a schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of a wiper device for each operating mode of the wiper device (Col. 23, Lines 39-45- cleaning of sensors according to a sensor cleaning sequence can allow for the prioritization of cleaning a particular sensor 232-236 once it is recognized that a sensor 232-236 requires cleaning […] periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning. Please note that scheduled sensor cleaning as part of periodic sensor cleaning corresponds to Applicant’s schedule of a set of processes and a timing chart of the wiper device for each operating mode, i.e., the period of cleaning for a particular prioritized sensor, corresponding to each operating mode. Additionally, as is known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the schedule for sensor cleaning may be stored in memory.);
obtaining, by a processor ( Col.12, Lines 58-59-The vehicle computing system 102 includes one or more processors 112.), an operating mode and a start time of operation from the wiper device (Col. 25, Lines 56-67- windshield wiper control device, […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine a sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of the sensor condition […] The one or more computing devices 350 can determine the sensor cleaning sequence based at least in part on the data indicative of a sensor condition. Please note that the processor of the vehicle computing system 102, in order to obtain the sensor cleaning sequence to carry out, is obtaining the operating mode and the start time from the wiper device once it has determined it, as it has determined a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time.);
determining an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device (Col. 9, Lines 32-37-to be operated in an intermittent or continuous mode and/or data indicative of an operational frequency (i.e., windshield wiper cycles per time period). The computing system can be configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence. Please note that the computing system configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence, where there is data provided indicative of an operational frequency and wiper cycles per time period correspond to Applicant’s determining an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device, as there is a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time, and be carried out according to the timing chart, i.e., the operational frequency.);
during which a cause of inferiority of data obtained in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor is removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor (Col. 7, Lines 9-12- For example, the computing system can determine whether one or more of a gas cleaning unit, a liquid cleaning unit, or a sensor wiper device should be used to clean one or more sensors. Please note that a sensor wiper device being used to clean a sensor corresponds to Applicant’s cause of inferiority of the data in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor being removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor.);
and setting a delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor, when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes started at a predetermined time is outside the non-inferior interval, the delay time being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time (Col. 7, Lines 58-65- In some implementations, one or more sensors can be preferentially cleaned according to the sensor cleaning sequence. For example, a sensor facing forward along a direction of travel of the autonomous vehicle may be exposed to more precipitation and/or debris than a rear facing sensor. In some implementations, the forward facing sensor can be cleaned at a higher frequency than a rear facing sensor.; Col. 12, Lines 31-46- sensors experiencing increased accumulation of precipitation or debris can be prioritized for cleaning in a sensor cleaning sequence, and by cleaning one or more sensors sequentially, instances in which the all of the sensors 232-236 are simultaneously cleaned and therefore the entire sensor system is temporarily “blinded” can be eliminated […] Such is in contrast to periodic sensor cleaning techniques where a sensor that requires cleaning may remain contaminated until the next scheduled sensor cleaning or until the next instance in which all sensors can safely be simultaneously cleaned. Please note that the time in between cycles of the sensor cleaning process according to the sensor cleaning sequence corresponds to Applicant’s delay time for executing the first process to obtain the data from the sensor being not longer than a period from a scheduled end time of the set of processes until a start time of the set of processes that follows the set of processes started at the predetermined time, as there is a delay in between each set of processes comprising the sensor cleaning, which is not longer than the period between one sensor cleaning and the next (the frequency length). For example, if a cleaning is performed every 5 seconds, there is a delay between each cleaning that is not longer than the 5 seconds that elapses between the scheduled end time of the first cleaning and the start time of the next. Furthermore, preferentially cleaning a dirtier sensor corresponds to setting a delay time during which none of the set of processes is executed, before execution of the first process, when a scheduled execution time of the first process included in the set of processes started at a predetermined time is outside the estimated non-inferior interval. This is because a time outside the non-inferior interval would be when a particular sensor is clean and thus does not need to be cleaned in the current cycle, so the scheduled sensor cleaning cycle would not be carried out on that particular sensor as the sequence is preferentially cleaning another, i.e., being delayed, which is also before the execution of the first process on that particular processor.).
Rice does not explicitly disclose in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimating a non-inferior interval;
and wherein the set delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval.
However, Brahma discloses in response to the determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimating a non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the data collection module 1460 identifying a subset of sensor data to include from a period of time before time T where sensor data resulted in errors and a time after time T corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval in response to the determined operating of the wiper device, as identifying a period of time in which there are no sensor errors corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval, and is in response to when a situation occurred, which could include the corresponding operating timing of the wiper device as a result.);
and wherein the set delay time is not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval ([0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. Please note that the subset of sensor data from a period of time before time T corresponds to Applicant’s delay time being not shorter than a period from the scheduled execution time of the first process until a start time of the non-inferior interval, as the period of time following a cycle as previously disclosed by Rice that is before time T (the non-inferior interval starting at time T) could be utilized as the delay time in between the scheduled execution time of the cycles.).
Rice and Brahma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor data processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rice to incorporate the teachings of Brahma to modify the sensor cleaning system to estimate the non-inferior interval, allowing for anticipation of cleaning cycles for improved efficiency, as described in Brahma.
Regarding Claim 6, Rice-Brahma as disclosed in Claim 1, Rice further discloses wherein the data processor is an electronic control unit (ECU) (Col. 19, Lines 57-60- In some implementations, the vehicle computing system 102 can be configured to obtain additional data, such as data indicative of a speed of the autonomous vehicle 10 (e.g., ECU data). Please note that the ECU of the autonomous vehicle 10 that is capable of generating data for the vehicle computing system 102 corresponds to Applicant’s data processor being an ECU.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 have been sufficiently amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, as they are not directed to an abstract idea, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and do not comprise routine or conventional activity.
Regarding independent Claim 1,
Brahma merely discloses the identification of the subset of sensor data presence of delay time to include from a period of time before time T where sensor data resulted in errors, but does not disclose “an operating timing of the system of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device” and “in response to determined operating timing of the wiper device, estimate a non-inferior interval during which a cause of inferiority of data obtained in a first process to obtain the data from a sensor is removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor” of the amended Claim.
Furthermore, Brahma does not disclose the wipers, operating modes, or timing charts, and does not render obvious coordinating sensor data quality with a physical device like a wiper or estimating a non-inferior interval based on the physical device’s operation. Brahma is only concerned with identifying useful windows of sensor data for model training, and is a data handling system, not a sensor-quality control tied to wiper operation.
Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
Amended Claims 4 and 5 recite similar limitations to Claim 1; therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
Dependent Claim 2 and new Claim 6 are allowable under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on their dependencies from allowable base claims and for their additionally recited features.
Regarding A, the amended Claims 1-2 and 4-5 have been corrected sufficiently to overcome the basis for rejection. They now no longer contain an abstract idea as they require corresponding vehicle/computer components to carry out the operations, and furthermore integrate it into a practical application of avoiding sensor data degradation. Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn.
Regarding B, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding i, as stated above, the combination of Rice and Brahma discloses from Rice the newly added limitations of amended Claim 1. Col. 9, Lines 32-37-to be operated in an intermittent or continuous mode and/or data indicative of an operational frequency (i.e., windshield wiper cycles per time period). The computing system can be configured to determine a frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence. The frequency of the sensor cleaning sequence, where there is data provided indicative of an operational frequency and wiper cycles per time period corresponds to an operating timing of the wiper device based on the obtained operating mode, start time of operation, and the stored timing chart of the wiper device, as there is a sensor cleaning sequence, i.e., operating mode, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a start time of operation of the wiper device accordingly, since the operation would necessarily have to be initiated at a particular point in time, and be carried out according to the timing chart, i.e., the operational frequency. This is further supported by Applicant’s specification stating in [0029] that “a timing chart representing operating timing”, which is in effect a representation of the operational frequency.
Additionally, Brahma discloses [0065] The data collection module 1460 may identify or determine the subset of sensor data based on the time when a situation, scenario, etc., occurred and/or based on the time when the sensor data resulted in errors. For example, if a situation or scenario occurred at time T, the data collection module 1460 includes sensor data from a period of time before time T (e.g., 15 seconds before, 45 second before, or some other appropriate time period) through a period of time after time T (e.g., one minute after, twenty second after, or some other appropriate time period) in the subset of the sensor data. The data collection module 1460 identifying a subset of sensor data to include from a period of time before time T where sensor data resulted in errors and a time after time T corresponds to estimating a non-inferior interval in response to the determined operating of the wiper device, as identifying a period of time in which there are no sensor errors corresponds to Applicant’s estimating a non-inferior interval, and is in response to when a situation occurred, which could include the corresponding operating timing of the wiper device as a result. Rice then discloses Col. 7, Lines 9-12- For example, the computing system can determine whether one or more of a gas cleaning unit, a liquid cleaning unit, or a sensor wiper device should be used to clean one or more sensors. A sensor wiper device being used to clean a sensor corresponds to the cause of inferiority of the data in a first process to obtain the data from the sensor being removed by operation of the wiper device disposed near the sensor.
Regarding j, as stated above, Rice discloses the wipers, operating modes, and timing charts. Brahma is not cited as reciting these limitations; however, in response to applicant's argument that Brahma does not render obvious coordinating sensor data quality with a physical device like a wiper or estimating a non-inferior interval based on the physical device’s operation, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, as the system of Rice-Brahma contains these structures and is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the limitations, it discloses those limitations.
Therefore, the recited features can be found in the cited combination of references, and independent Claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated above, and the combinations cited would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Regarding C, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended independent Claims 4 and 5 contain similar limitations to rejected Independent Claim 1 and do not add limitations that overcome the rejection; therefore, they likewise remain rejected, and the application is not in condition for allowance. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Regarding D, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The dependent claims 2 and 6 depend on unpatentable claims and do not add limitations that overcome the rejection; therefore, they likewise remain rejected, and the application is not in condition for allowance. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seubert et al. (US 20190084526 A1) discloses exterior vehicle sensors that may accumulate debris reducing the quality of image data captured by the sensor, a debris detection system, and activating a wiper to remove the debris (see [0007, 0022, 0043]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAZ T AKBARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196