DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 18 December 2025, regarding application number 18/181,329.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-26 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-4, 9-11 and 16-18 are cancelled. Claims 21-26 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11-14, filed 18 December 2025, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and with respect to new claims 21-26, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of at least newly cited refence High et al. (US 20170148324 A1). See full details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beihai et al. (CN 111754801 A and Beihai hereinafter), in view of High et al. (US 20170148324 A1 and High hereinafter) and Zhu (CN 108717801 A and Zhu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Beihai teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0001], [0010] and [0020]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference CN_111754801_A), comprising:
determining that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0014 "In some embodiments, the position of the user's vehicle was obtained from satellite navigation positioning data of the user's terminal wherein after the user's vehicle enters the parking lot, the position of the vehicle is obtained by following steps, including..."] and [0048]-[0050]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, accessing a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising at of near-entrance (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060 "...the system automatically finds the entrance and exit closest to the user's position and find the nearby empty parking space (combined with the parking space navigation)."] and [0063]);
determining at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
determining availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010 "The parking space detection module is configured to detect a state of the corresponding parking space, to generate parking space state information corresponding to the state of the parking space, and to trigger the ETC read/write module when the state of the parking space is occupied. In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0048] and [0060]);
selecting a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state 15 navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
navigating the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0012 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured 10 to generate parking space state navigation information based on the parking space state indication message transmitted from each integrated terminal and provide the parking space state navigation information to a user of the management platform."]-[0014], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]);
determining, by sensing with an object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking space being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 5, step S110; [0010], [0015], [0036]-[0038] and [0047]-[0048], especially [0038 “In one embodiment, the parking space detection module is an infrared detection module, which detects whether a vehicle is parked in the corresponding parking space using an infrared detection method. The parking space detection module generates a state signal corresponding to the state of the parking space. The method of using infrared detection to detect the state of the parking space is merely an example. Other methods such as geomagnetic detection, camera detection may also be used according to specific conditions, and the present application is not limited thereto."]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."], [0050 “...generate state navigation information of the parking lot based on the parking space state indication messages, and provide the user of the management platform with the parking space state navigation information, so that the user can manually select a parking space. The management platform provides a parking navigation information to the user based on the positions of the selected parking space and the user's vehicle, so that a navigation at a parking space level can be realized.”] and [0061 “(2) Parking space navigation: the user uses the mobile APP to locate the current position in the parking lot, plan a path from the current position to the target parking space, and realize real-time navigation.”]);
obtaining a first radio-frequency ID (RFID) associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see Fig. 5, step S120; [0010 "In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0017] "In some embodiments, the ETC read/write module uses radio frequencies to read the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information corresponding to the vehicle in the parking space."]-[0018], [0041] and [0047]-[0049]);
the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."]); and
communicating the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see Fig. 5, steps S130-S140; [0010 "The integrated terminal transmits a parking space state indication message that includes a parking space ID and parking space state information to a management platform via the self-organizing Bluetooth network."]-[0011], [0042] and [0049]).
Beihai is silent regarding the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user;
selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space; and
re-determining, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle.
High teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0024]), comprising:
determining that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see Fig. 3, step 301; [0024], [0044], [0061 "Parking space availability module 202 can identify customer 291 as being in closest proximity to the store location based on vehicle location information 224."] and [0085 "The central computer system can process the customers' parking requests. From the customers' requests, the central computer system can identify the customer in need of a parking space first. The identified customer can be based on customers already in parking lot 451, customers in closer proximity to store 461, when customers are due to arrive at store 461, etc.']);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, accessing a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising at least one of near-entrance or spacious (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0046 "In some embodiments, customer 291 may also specify customer preferences 226 indicating preferences for candidate parking spaces, such as, for example, a compact parking space, a space designated for wider vehicles, a space that is within 100 feet of the store location entrance, or a space designated for handicap vehicles, etc."]-[0051], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304)."]-[0062] and [0086]);
determining at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304). For example, in response to parking direction request 221, parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 for customer 291. Parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 based on the location of customer 291 relative to the store location, customer preferences 226 and/or 208, and a queue of other parking space requests."]-[0064] and [0086]-[0088]);
determining availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 303-304; [0024], [0038], [0049 "For example, in response parking direction request 221, database access module 203 can access parking space availability data 209 from parking lot database 204. Parking space availability data 209 can indicate whether a parking space is currently occupied, currently empty, and the duration of time a particular spot has been either occupied or empty."]-[0064] and [0084]);
selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 305 and 308; [0024], [0062 "In one aspect, parking space availability module 202 selects an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291 from among candidate parking spaces 262. An appropriate (optimal) parking space may be an available parking space that is closest to the main entrance of the store location. In some embodiments, parking space availability module 202 can also utilize customer preferences 226, customer shopping list 227, and or customer preferences 208 (resident in parking lot database 204) to further refine selection of an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291."]-[0064], [0069] and [0093]);
navigating the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 3, step 308; [0024], [0069], [0074 "In response to submitting the request to the store location, method 300 includes receiving directions indicating how to navigate to a selected parking space, the selected parking space selected from among the one or more candidate parking spaces (308)."] and [0095]);
determining, by sensing with an object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking space being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 4, camera system 446; [0035 "Each parking lot map can also numerically identify each parking space."], [0049] and [0052 "For example, camera system 246 can be configured to monitor the parking spaces in a parking lot. Camera system 246 can provide camera data 242 to parking space availability module 202."]-[0053 "Parking space availability module 202 can utilize image processing routines to process camera data 242 and identify which parking spaces are currently utilized and which camera spaces are currently available."], [0071] and [0090]),
wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 4, all; [0090 "In other aspects, components utilized for parking navigation can include: (1) store area maps with parking spaces identified, (2) parking lot cameras or other sensors which can detect the presence of a car in each parking space, (3) the association of parking space images or sensor data with parking spaces identified on the store map, (4) the identification of aisle ways for navigation and also for association with camera imagery, (5) customer smart devices utilizing loaded applications for purposes of transmitting and receiving communications, (6) a store network available for customer use, and (7) a central computer to process the imagery and route the customers to the candidate parking spaces."]);
obtaining a first radio-frequency ID (RFID) associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0049]-[0071] and [0054 "In some embodiments, other sensors can also be utilized to update parking space availability 209 contained in parking lot database 204. For example, sensor system 247 can provide sensor data 243 to parking space availability module 202. Sensor system 247 can be configured to detect the presence of a vehicle in a parking space. Sensor system 247 can include, for example, sensors embedded in the parking lot pavement, such as inductance sensors utilized at traffic lights, light sensors, such as safety sensors utilized by automatic garage doors, RFID sensors, such as sensors utilized by vehicles with express passes for toll roads, and the like. Parking space availability module 202 can use sensor data 243 to update parking space availability data 209 contained in parking lot database 204."]); and
communicating the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0038], [0054] and [0090]).
Zhu teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0009]-[0012]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference CN_108717801_A ), comprising:
determining that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0038] and [0064]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, accessing a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0032]-[0033], [0035 "After the user terminal 20 establishes communication with the parking management system, parking space information can be displayed on the user terminal 20, including, for example, location information of the parking space 103 , occupancy information, and size of the parking space 103 (eg, parking spaces 103 for different types of vehicles)."] and [0064]-[0065]);
determining at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park."], [0033]-[0035] and [0064]-[0065]);
determining availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010], [0012 "The parking space information includes at least occupancy information and location information of the plurality of parking spaces."], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0045] and [0064]-[0065]);
selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
navigating the first vehicle to the first parking space (see [0012 "Furthermore, the plurality of first wireless broadcasters broadcast location information of the corresponding parking spaces, enabling the user terminal to navigate to the selected empty parking space."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
determining, by sensing with an object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first availability of the first parking space being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Figs. 1-2, detectors 12; [0010 "a plurality of detectors, respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces in the parking area, wherein each of the detectors is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space is occupied and upload occupancy information of the corresponding parking space"], [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103 ... For example, if the detector 12 detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an occupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 1; if it detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an unoccupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 0."], [0041]-[0042] and [0046]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially the arrows, detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0015], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."], [0033 "For example, the management system plans at least one route using the parking spaces 103 that the vehicle may pass through to reach the selected empty parking space and the first wireless broadcaster 11 installed thereon, and the vehicle navigates to the selected empty parking space according to the planned route using the instructions of the first wireless broadcaster 11 of the parking space 103 passed through."] and [0043]-[0044]);
re-determining, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0042 "Of course, the detector 12 may be an infrared detector, for example, using infrared rays to detect whether a vehicle occupies the parking space 103 within a certain period of time, so as to determine that the parking space 103 is occupied. Or a gravity sensor, for example, a general car weighs more than 1 ton, and when it senses that a car weighing more than 1 ton continuously occupies the parking space 103 for a certain period of time, it is determined that the parking space 103 is occupied."), the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."] and [0042]-[0043]); and
communicating the first parking space to a storage device via a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0010] and [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103."]-[0030 "In this embodiment, for example, the occupancy information detected by the detector 12 is uploaded to a portion of the management system that can be used to store data, such as a memory on the server 15. The server 15 can be a local area server or a cloud server."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Beihai to further include steps for determining at least one candidate parking space with each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user and selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space, as taught by High, in order to direct a user to a parking space based on their preferences such as to a parking space near a store entrance or an extra wide parking space.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of Beihai to include a step of re-determining, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle, as taught by Zhu, in order to report that the vehicle has been parked long-term.
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beihai further teaches wherein the navigating the first vehicle to the first parking space comprises:
generating a find-parking route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the vacant parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0061]);
identifying locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0014] and [0050]); and
providing the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-parking route and the identified locations of the first user device (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beihai further teaches further comprising:
identifying the first parking space based on an association between the first RFID and the first parking space ID (see Fig. 5, step S140; [0010], [0044] and [0047]-[0048]);
generating a find-car route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step S150; [0010], [0044], [0047]-[0048] and [0064]);
identifying locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0048]); and
providing the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-car route and the identified locations of the first user device (see [0010], [0048] and [0072]).
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beihai further teaches wherein the plurality of parking spaces are properties of different entities (see Fig. 3, all; [0010] and [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 8
Beihai teaches a system (see all Figs.; [0001] and [0010]), comprising:
a hardware processor (the hardware processor is inherent);
an object detector (see Fig. 1, parking space detection module; [0010], [0015] and [0036]-[0038]);
an RFID reader (see Fig. 1, ETC Read/Write module; [0010], [0017] and [0039]);
an antenna (see Fig. 1, Bluetooth module; [0010] and [0042]); and
a storage device storing instructions that, when executed by the hardware processor (the storage device is inherent), configure the system to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0014 "In some embodiments, the position of the user's vehicle was obtained from satellite navigation positioning data of the user's terminal wherein after the user's vehicle enters the parking lot, the position of the vehicle is obtained by following steps, including..."] and [0048]-[0050]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising near-entrance (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060 "...the system automatically finds the entrance and exit closest to the user's position and find the nearby empty parking space (combined with the parking space navigation)."] and [0063]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010 "The parking space detection module is configured to detect a state of the corresponding parking space, to generate parking space state information corresponding to the state of the parking space, and to trigger the ETC read/write module when the state of the parking space is occupied. In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0048] and [0060]);
select, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state 15 navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0012 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured 10 to generate parking space state navigation information based on the parking space state indication message transmitted from each integrated terminal and provide the parking space state navigation information to a user of the management platform."]-[0014], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]);
determine, by sensing with the object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 5, step S110; [0010], [0015], [0036]-[0038] and [0047]-[0048], especially [0038 “In one embodiment, the parking space detection module is an infrared detection module, which detects whether a vehicle is parked in the corresponding parking space using an infrared detection method. The parking space detection module generates a state signal corresponding to the state of the parking space. The method of using infrared detection to detect the state of the parking space is merely an example. Other methods such as geomagnetic detection, camera detection may also be used according to specific conditions, and the present application is not limited thereto."]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."], [0050 “...generate state navigation information of the parking lot based on the parking space state indication messages, and provide the user of the management platform with the parking space state navigation information, so that the user can manually select a parking space. The management platform provides a parking navigation information to the user based on the positions of the selected parking space and the user's vehicle, so that a navigation at a parking space level can be realized.”] and [0061 “(2) Parking space navigation: the user uses the mobile APP to locate the current position in the parking lot, plan a path from the current position to the target parking space, and realize real-time navigation.”]);
obtain, by the RFID reader, a first RFID associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see Fig. 5, step S120; [0010 "In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0017] "In some embodiments, the ETC read/write module uses radio frequencies to read the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information corresponding to the vehicle in the parking space."]-[0018], [0041] and [0047]-[0049]);
the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."]); and
communicate, by the hardware processor, the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via the antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see Fig. 5, steps S130-S140; [0010 "The integrated terminal transmits a parking space state indication message that includes a parking space ID and parking space state information to a management platform via the self-organizing Bluetooth network."]-[0011], [0042] and [0049]).
Beihai is silent regarding the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user;
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space; and
re-determine, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle.
High teaches a system (see all Figs.; [0024]), comprising:
a hardware processor (see Fig. 1, processor 102; [0026]);
an object detector (see Fig. 4, camera system 446; [0049] and [0052 "For example, camera system 246 can be configured to monitor the parking spaces in a parking lot. Camera system 246 can provide camera data 242 to parking space availability module 202."]-[0053, [0071] and [0090]);
an RFID reader (see [0054 "Sensor system 247 can include, for example, sensors embedded in the parking lot pavement, such as inductance sensors utilized at traffic lights, light sensors, such as safety sensors utilized by automatic garage doors, RFID sensors, such as sensors utilized by vehicles with express passes for toll roads, and the like"]);
an antenna (see [0031]-[0034]); and
a storage device storing instructions that, when executed by the hardware processor (see Fig. 1, memory 104; [0027]-[0028]), configure the system to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see Fig. 3, step 301; [0024], [0044], [0061 "Parking space availability module 202 can identify customer 291 as being in closest proximity to the store location based on vehicle location information 224."] and [0085 "The central computer system can process the customers' parking requests. From the customers' requests, the central computer system can identify the customer in need of a parking space first. The identified customer can be based on customers already in parking lot 451, customers in closer proximity to store 461, when customers are due to arrive at store 461, etc.']);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising at least one of near-entrance or spacious (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0046 "In some embodiments, customer 291 may also specify customer preferences 226 indicating preferences for candidate parking spaces, such as, for example, a compact parking space, a space designated for wider vehicles, a space that is within 100 feet of the store location entrance, or a space designated for handicap vehicles, etc."]-[0051], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304)."]-[0062] and [0086]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304). For example, in response to parking direction request 221, parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 for customer 291. Parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 based on the location of customer 291 relative to the store location, customer preferences 226 and/or 208, and a queue of other parking space requests."]-[0064] and [0086]-[0088]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 303-304; [0024], [0038], [0049 "For example, in response parking direction request 221, database access module 203 can access parking space availability data 209 from parking lot database 204. Parking space availability data 209 can indicate whether a parking space is currently occupied, currently empty, and the duration of time a particular spot has been either occupied or empty."]-[0064] and [0084]);
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 305 and 308; [0024], [0062 "In one aspect, parking space availability module 202 selects an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291 from among candidate parking spaces 262. An appropriate (optimal) parking space may be an available parking space that is closest to the main entrance of the store location. In some embodiments, parking space availability module 202 can also utilize customer preferences 226, customer shopping list 227, and or customer preferences 208 (resident in parking lot database 204) to further refine selection of an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291."]-[0064], [0069] and [0093]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 3, step 308; [0024], [0069], [0074 "In response to submitting the request to the store location, method 300 includes receiving directions indicating how to navigate to a selected parking space, the selected parking space selected from among the one or more candidate parking spaces (308)."] and [0095]);
determine, by sensing with the object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 4, camera system 446; [0035 "Each parking lot map can also numerically identify each parking space."], [0049] and [0052 "For example, camera system 246 can be configured to monitor the parking spaces in a parking lot. Camera system 246 can provide camera data 242 to parking space availability module 202."]-[0053 "Parking space availability module 202 can utilize image processing routines to process camera data 242 and identify which parking spaces are currently utilized and which camera spaces are currently available."], [0071] and [0090]), wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 4, all; [0090 "In other aspects, components utilized for parking navigation can include: (1) store area maps with parking spaces identified, (2) parking lot cameras or other sensors which can detect the presence of a car in each parking space, (3) the association of parking space images or sensor data with parking spaces identified on the store map, (4) the identification of aisle ways for navigation and also for association with camera imagery, (5) customer smart devices utilizing loaded applications for purposes of transmitting and receiving communications, (6) a store network available for customer use, and (7) a central computer to process the imagery and route the customers to the candidate parking spaces."]);
obtain, by the RFID reader, a first RFID associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0049]-[0071] and [0054 "In some embodiments, other sensors can also be utilized to update parking space availability 209 contained in parking lot database 204. For example, sensor system 247 can provide sensor data 243 to parking space availability module 202. Sensor system 247 can be configured to detect the presence of a vehicle in a parking space. Sensor system 247 can include, for example, sensors embedded in the parking lot pavement, such as inductance sensors utilized at traffic lights, light sensors, such as safety sensors utilized by automatic garage doors, RFID sensors, such as sensors utilized by vehicles with express passes for toll roads, and the like. Parking space availability module 202 can use sensor data 243 to update parking space availability data 209 contained in parking lot database 204."]);
communicate, by the hardware processor, the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via the antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0038], [0054] and [0090]).
Zhu teaches a system (see all Figs.; [0009]-[0012]), comprising:
a hardware processor (see [0030 "For example, the server 15 also includes a processor having communication and control processing functions to control the operation of the entire parking management system."]);
an object detector (see Figs. 1-2, detectors 12; [0010 "a plurality of detectors, respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces in the parking area, wherein each of the detectors is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space is occupied and upload occupancy information of the corresponding parking space"]);
an antenna (see Fig. 1., wireless broadcasters 11; [0031]); and
a storage device storing instructions that, when executed by the hardware processor (see [0030]), configure the system to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0038] and [0064]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0032]-[0033], [0035 "After the user terminal 20 establishes communication with the parking management system, parking space information can be displayed on the user terminal 20, including, for example, location information of the parking space 103 , occupancy information, and size of the parking space 103 (eg, parking spaces 103 for different types of vehicles)."] and [0064]-[0065]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park."], [0033]-[0035] and [0064]-[0065]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010], [0012 "The parking space information includes at least occupancy information and location information of the plurality of parking spaces."], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0045] and [0064]-[0065]);
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see [0012 "Furthermore, the plurality of first wireless broadcasters broadcast location information of the corresponding parking spaces, enabling the user terminal to navigate to the selected empty parking space."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
determine, by sensing with the object detector, a presence of the first vehicle indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see [0010 "a plurality of detectors, respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces in the parking area, wherein each of the detectors is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space is occupied and upload occupancy information of the corresponding parking space"], [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103 ... For example, if the detector 12 detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an occupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 1; if it detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an unoccupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 0."], [0041]-[0042] and [0046]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially the arrows, detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0015], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."], [0033 "For example, the management system plans at least one route using the parking spaces 103 that the vehicle may pass through to reach the selected empty parking space and the first wireless broadcaster 11 installed thereon, and the vehicle navigates to the selected empty parking space according to the planned route using the instructions of the first wireless broadcaster 11 of the parking space 103 passed through."] and [0043]-[0044]);
re-determine, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0042 "Of course, the detector 12 may be an infrared detector, for example, using infrared rays to detect whether a vehicle occupies the parking space 103 within a certain period of time, so as to determine that the parking space 103 is occupied. Or a gravity sensor, for example, a general car weighs more than 1 ton, and when it senses that a car weighing more than 1 ton continuously occupies the parking space 103 for a certain period of time, it is determined that the parking space 103 is occupied.") the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."] and [0042]-[0043]); and
communicate, by the hardware processor the first parking space to a storage device via the antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0010] and [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103."]-[0030 "In this embodiment, for example, the occupancy information detected by the detector 12 is uploaded to a portion of the management system that can be used to store data, such as a memory on the server 15. The server 15 can be a local area server or a cloud server."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hardware processor of the system of Beihai to include instructions for determining at least one candidate parking space with each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user and selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space, as taught by High, in order to direct a user to a parking space based on their preferences such as to a parking space near a store entrance or an extra wide parking space.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the hardware processor of the system of Beihai to include instructions for re-determining, by sensing with the object detector, the first vehicle indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle, as taught by Zhu, in order to report that the vehicle has been parked long-term.
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Beihai teaches the system of claim 8 (as discussed above in claim 8),
Beihai further teaches wherein to navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space, the instructions configure the system to:
generate a find-parking route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the vacant parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0061]);
identify locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0014] and [0050]); and
provide the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-parking route and the identified locations of the first user device (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Beihai teaches the system of claim 8 (as discussed above in claim 8),
Beihai further teaches wherein the instructions further configure the system to:
identify the first parking space based on an association between the first RFID and the first parking space ID (see Fig. 5, step S140; [0010], [0044] and [0047]-[0048]);
generate a find-car route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step S150; [0010], [0044], [0047]-[0048] and [0064]);
identify locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0048]); and
provide the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-car route and the identified locations of the first user device (see [0010], [0048] and [0072]).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Beihai teaches the system of claim 8 (as discussed above in claim 8),
Beihai further teaches wherein the plurality of parking spaces are properties of different entities (see Fig. 3, all; [0010] and [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 15
Beihai teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (see all Figs.; [0010]), cause the computer to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0014 "In some embodiments, the position of the user's vehicle was obtained from satellite navigation positioning data of the user's terminal wherein after the user's vehicle enters the parking lot, the position of the vehicle is obtained by following steps, including..."] and [0048]-[0050]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising near-entrance, (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060 "...the system automatically finds the entrance and exit closest to the user's position and find the nearby empty parking space (combined with the parking space navigation)."] and [0063]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010 "The parking space detection module is configured to detect a state of the corresponding parking space, to generate parking space state information corresponding to the state of the parking space, and to trigger the ETC read/write module when the state of the parking space is occupied. In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0048] and [0060]);
select a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0013 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured to receive a target parking space chosen by the user based on the parking space state 15 navigation information and provide parking navigation information to the user based on the target parking space and a position of the user's vehicle."], [0050], [0060] and [0063]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0012 "In some embodiments, the management platform is further configured 10 to generate parking space state navigation information based on the parking space state indication message transmitted from each integrated terminal and provide the parking space state navigation information to a user of the management platform."]-[0014], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]);
determine, by causing an object detector to sense a presence of the first vehicle, thereby indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 5, step S110; [0010], [0015], [0036]-[0038] and [0047]-[0048], especially [0038 “In one embodiment, the parking space detection module is an infrared detection module, which detects whether a vehicle is parked in the corresponding parking space using an infrared detection method. The parking space detection module generates a state signal corresponding to the state of the parking space. The method of using infrared detection to detect the state of the parking space is merely an example. Other methods such as geomagnetic detection, camera detection may also be used according to specific conditions, and the present application is not limited thereto."]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."], [0050 “...generate state navigation information of the parking lot based on the parking space state indication messages, and provide the user of the management platform with the parking space state navigation information, so that the user can manually select a parking space. The management platform provides a parking navigation information to the user based on the positions of the selected parking space and the user's vehicle, so that a navigation at a parking space level can be realized.”] and [0061 “(2) Parking space navigation: the user uses the mobile APP to locate the current position in the parking lot, plan a path from the current position to the target parking space, and realize real-time navigation.”]);
obtain a first RFID associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see Fig. 5, step S120; [0010 "In response to the trigger by the parking space detection module, the ETC read/write module is configured to read 20 vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information of a vehicle that parks in the parking space."], [0017] "In some embodiments, the ETC read/write module uses radio frequencies to read the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information corresponding to the vehicle in the parking space."]-[0018], [0041] and [0047]-[0049]);
the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0010 "The system includes a plurality of integrated terminals. Each integrated terminal corresponds to a parking space of the parking lot and is installed above the parking space. Each integrated terminal comprises a parking space detection module, an ETC read/write module, and a Bluetooth module."]); and
communicate the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via an antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see Fig. 5, steps S130-S140; [0010 "The integrated terminal transmits a parking space state indication message that includes a parking space ID and parking space state information to a management platform via the self-organizing Bluetooth network."]-[0011], [0042] and [0049]).
Beihai is silent regarding the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user;
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space; and
re-determine, by causing the object detector to sense the first vehicle, thereby indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle.
High teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (see all Figs.; [0024]), cause the computer to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see Fig. 3, step 301; [0024], [0044], [0061 "Parking space availability module 202 can identify customer 291 as being in closest proximity to the store location based on vehicle location information 224."] and [0085 "The central computer system can process the customers' parking requests. From the customers' requests, the central computer system can identify the customer in need of a parking space first. The identified customer can be based on customers already in parking lot 451, customers in closer proximity to store 461, when customers are due to arrive at store 461, etc.']);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising at least one of near-entrance or spacious (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0046 "In some embodiments, customer 291 may also specify customer preferences 226 indicating preferences for candidate parking spaces, such as, for example, a compact parking space, a space designated for wider vehicles, a space that is within 100 feet of the store location entrance, or a space designated for handicap vehicles, etc."]-[0051], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304)."]-[0062] and [0086]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see Fig. 3, step 304; [0024], [0033], [0060 "Method 300 includes in response to receiving the request from the customer, identifying one or more candidate parking spaces for the customer to utilize, the candidate parking spaces based on the customer location relative to the store location, customer parking preferences, and a queue of other customers also looking for parking spaces (304). For example, in response to parking direction request 221, parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 for customer 291. Parking space availability module 202 can identify candidate parking spaces 262 based on the location of customer 291 relative to the store location, customer preferences 226 and/or 208, and a queue of other parking space requests."]-[0064] and [0086]-[0088]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 303-304; [0024], [0038], [0049 "For example, in response parking direction request 221, database access module 203 can access parking space availability data 209 from parking lot database 204. Parking space availability data 209 can indicate whether a parking space is currently occupied, currently empty, and the duration of time a particular spot has been either occupied or empty."]-[0064] and [0084]);
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see Fig. 3, steps 305 and 308; [0024], [0062 "In one aspect, parking space availability module 202 selects an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291 from among candidate parking spaces 262. An appropriate (optimal) parking space may be an available parking space that is closest to the main entrance of the store location. In some embodiments, parking space availability module 202 can also utilize customer preferences 226, customer shopping list 227, and or customer preferences 208 (resident in parking lot database 204) to further refine selection of an appropriate (optimal) parking space for customer 291."]-[0064], [0069] and [0093]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Fig. 3, step 308; [0024], [0069], [0074 "In response to submitting the request to the store location, method 300 includes receiving directions indicating how to navigate to a selected parking space, the selected parking space selected from among the one or more candidate parking spaces (308)."] and [0095]);
determine, by causing an object detector to sense a presence of the first vehicle, thereby indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Fig. 4, camera system 446; [0035 "Each parking lot map can also numerically identify each parking space."], [0049] and [0052 "For example, camera system 246 can be configured to monitor the parking spaces in a parking lot. Camera system 246 can provide camera data 242 to parking space availability module 202."]-[0053 "Parking space availability module 202 can utilize image processing routines to process camera data 242 and identify which parking spaces are currently utilized and which camera spaces are currently available."], [0071] and [0090]), wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 4, all; [0090 "In other aspects, components utilized for parking navigation can include: (1) store area maps with parking spaces identified, (2) parking lot cameras or other sensors which can detect the presence of a car in each parking space, (3) the association of parking space images or sensor data with parking spaces identified on the store map, (4) the identification of aisle ways for navigation and also for association with camera imagery, (5) customer smart devices utilizing loaded applications for purposes of transmitting and receiving communications, (6) a store network available for customer use, and (7) a central computer to process the imagery and route the customers to the candidate parking spaces."]);
obtain a first RFID associated with the first vehicle and a first user device in response to determining that the first parking space being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0049]-[0071] and [0054 "In some embodiments, other sensors can also be utilized to update parking space availability 209 contained in parking lot database 204. For example, sensor system 247 can provide sensor data 243 to parking space availability module 202. Sensor system 247 can be configured to detect the presence of a vehicle in a parking space. Sensor system 247 can include, for example, sensors embedded in the parking lot pavement, such as inductance sensors utilized at traffic lights, light sensors, such as safety sensors utilized by automatic garage doors, RFID sensors, such as sensors utilized by vehicles with express passes for toll roads, and the like. Parking space availability module 202 can use sensor data 243 to update parking space availability data 209 contained in parking lot database 204."]); and
communicate the first RFID and the first parking space ID to a storage device via an antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0038], [0054] and [0090]).
Zhu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (see all Figs.; [0009]-[0012]), cause the computer to:
determine that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0038] and [0064]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, access a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle, the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0032]-[0033], [0035 "After the user terminal 20 establishes communication with the parking management system, parking space information can be displayed on the user terminal 20, including, for example, location information of the parking space 103 , occupancy information, and size of the parking space 103 (eg, parking spaces 103 for different types of vehicles)."] and [0064]-[0065]);
determine at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park."], [0033]-[0035] and [0064]-[0065]);
determine availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0010], [0012 "The parking space information includes at least occupancy information and location information of the plurality of parking spaces."], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0045] and [0064]-[0065]);
select, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0012 "When a vehicle enters the parking area, the management system transmits parking space information of the parking area to a user terminal of the vehicle, allowing the user terminal to select an empty parking space in which the vehicle wishes to park.."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space (see [0012 "Furthermore, the plurality of first wireless broadcasters broadcast location information of the corresponding parking spaces, enabling the user terminal to navigate to the selected empty parking space."], [0033], [0043] and [0065]);
determine, by causing an object detector to sense a presence of the first vehicle, thereby indicating a first availability of the first parking space, the first parking space having a first parking space ID, the first availability of the first parking spaces being either vacant or occupied, and the object detector being one of a plurality of object detectors in the parking lot (see Figs. 1-2, detectors 12; [0010 "a plurality of detectors, respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces in the parking area, wherein each of the detectors is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space is occupied and upload occupancy information of the corresponding parking space"], [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103 ... For example, if the detector 12 detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an occupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 1; if it detects that the corresponding parking space 103 is in an unoccupied state, the occupancy information may be recorded as 0."], [0041]-[0042] and [0046]) wherein the parking lot includes a structured layout with driving paths providing vehicular circulation between the plurality of parking spaces and wherein the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially the arrows, detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0015], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."], [0033 "For example, the management system plans at least one route using the parking spaces 103 that the vehicle may pass through to reach the selected empty parking space and the first wireless broadcaster 11 installed thereon, and the vehicle navigates to the selected empty parking space according to the planned route using the instructions of the first wireless broadcaster 11 of the parking space 103 passed through."] and [0043]-[0044]);
re-determine, by causing the object detector to sense the first vehicle, thereby indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle (see [0042 "Of course, the detector 12 may be an infrared detector, for example, using infrared rays to detect whether a vehicle occupies the parking space 103 within a certain period of time, so as to determine that the parking space 103 is occupied. Or a gravity sensor, for example, a general car weighs more than 1 ton, and when it senses that a car weighing more than 1 ton continuously occupies the parking space 103 for a certain period of time, it is determined that the parking space 103 is occupied.") the object detector being one of the plurality of object detectors in the parking lot that are positioned only at the plurality of parking spaces (see Fig. 1, all, especially detector 12 and parking space 103; [0010]-[0012], [0029 "In this embodiment, the plurality of detectors 12 are respectively disposed on the plurality of parking spaces 103 in the parking area 10 ... That is, each of the plurality of parking spaces 103 is provided with a detector 12 ."] and [0042]-[0043]); and
communicate the first parking space to a storage device via an antenna and a self-organized network formed by a plurality of parking space terminals (see [0010] and [0029 "Among them, each detector 12 is used to detect whether the corresponding parking space 103 is occupied. For example, when a vehicle is parked in the parking space 103, the corresponding detector 12 detects that the parking space 103 is occupied, and the detector 12 also uploads the occupancy information of the corresponding parking space 103."]-[0030 "In this embodiment, for example, the occupancy information detected by the detector 12 is uploaded to a portion of the management system that can be used to store data, such as a memory on the server 15. The server 15 can be a local area server or a cloud server."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Beihai to include instructions for determining at least one candidate parking space with each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user and selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space, as taught by High, in order to direct a user to a parking space based on their preferences such as to a parking space near a store entrance or an extra wide parking space.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Beihai to include instructions for re-determining, by causing the object detector to sense the first vehicle, thereby indicating the first availability of the first parking space within a pre-specified length of time to confirm that the first parking space is still being occupied by the first vehicle, as taught by Zhu, in order to report that the vehicle has been parked long-term.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Beihai teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 (as discussed above in claim 15),
Beihai further teaches wherein to navigate the first vehicle to the first parking space, the instructions configure the computer to:
generate a find-parking route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the vacant parking space (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0061]);
identify locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0014] and [0050]); and
provide the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-parking route and the identified locations of the first user device (see Fig. 5, step 160; [0013], [0050] and [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Beihai teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 (as discussed above in claim 15),
Beihai further teaches wherein the instructions further configure the computer to:
identify the first parking space based on an association between the first RFID and the first parking space ID (see Fig. 5, step S140; [0010], [0044] and [0047]-[0048]);
generate a find-car route starting from a starting location of the first user device to the first parking space (see Fig. 5, step S150; [0010], [0044], [0047]-[0048] and [0064]);
identify locations of the first user device as the first user device moves based on at least two distances between the first user device and each of at least two parking space terminals (see [0048]); and
provide the first user device with turn-by-turn navigation instructions based on the find-car route and the identified locations of the first user device (see [0010], [0048] and [0072]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beihai (as modified by High and Zhu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beaurepaire et al. (US 20190063947 A1 and Beaurepaire hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beihai further teaches wherein the characteristic of a parking space among the plurality of parking spaces is determined based on operations comprising:
determining a location of the parking space (see [0011 "...provide, to the user corresponding to the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information, vehicle-finding navigation information about the position of the parking space represented by the parking space ID."], [0043], [0046] and [0051]);
accessing at least two locations of at least two parking space terminals (see [0011 "The management platform is configured to receive the parking space state indication message transmitted from the each integrated terminal, link the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information with the parking space corresponding to the integrated terminal, and provide, to the user corresponding to the vehicle-mounted ETC terminal ID information, vehicle-finding navigation information about the position of the parking space represented by the parking space ID."], [0043], [0046] and [0060 "(1) Empty parking space navigation: according to the position of the preset parking space and the current user position, the system automatically finds the entrance and exit closest to the user's position and find the nearby empty parking space (combined with the parking space navigation)."]).
Beihai is silent regarding the at least two parking space terminals being associated with an entrance of the parking lot, an exit of the parking lot, a mall entrance of the parking lot, a reference parking space of the parking lot, or an elevator of the parking lot; and
determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space.
High teaches wherein the characteristic of a parking space among the plurality of parking spaces is determined based on operations comprising:
determining a location of the parking space (see [0035 "The layout can include such detail as the number of parking spaces, the location of parking spaces relative to adjacent streets, the location of parking spaces relative to the store location entrances, the location of specialized parking spaces, such as, for example handicapped spaces, compact vehicle spaces, wide vehicle spaces, and/or RV parking spaces. Each parking lot map can also numerically identify each parking space. Numerical identification can correspond to parking space location within a parking lot."] and [0078]);
accessing at least two locations of at least two parking space terminals (see [0035] and [0079 "The central computer system maintains a map or a layout of parking lot 451, including the location of the parking spaces 452. In general, camera system 446 as well as other sensor systems (not shown) can be utilized to identify whether or not a parking space is being occupied by a vehicle. The central computer system can also utilize the locations and probable paths of customer's returning to their vehicles to anticipate when parking spaces may be coming available."]); and
determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space (see [0035 "The layout can include such detail as the number of parking spaces, the location of parking spaces relative to adjacent streets, the location of parking spaces relative to the store location entrances, the location of specialized parking spaces, such as, for example handicapped spaces, compact vehicle spaces, wide vehicle spaces, and/or RV parking spaces. Each parking lot map can also numerically identify each parking space. Numerical identification can correspond to parking space location within a parking lot."] and [0078]).
Beaurepaire teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0004]-[0008]), comprising:
determining that a first vehicle enters a parking lot (see [0062 "FIG. 3 illustrates such an example embodiment of a user interface 100, where a user is entering a parking facility 110 at 115. According to an example embodiment, the map of the parking facility 110 may provide an indication of a floor or level 120 of the parking facility that the user is on. The other available parking levels may optionally be indicated as shown in 122, 124, 126, and 128. In the illustrated embodiment, the user has entered the parking facility on the basement level “B” shown at 120. The parking spaces within the parking facility may be depicted as shown at 130."]);
in response to determining that the first vehicle enters the parking lot, accessing a parking preference of a user of the first vehicle (see [0006 "The indication of the favorability of a parking space proximate the vehicle may include an indication of the favorability based, at least in part, on the type of pedestrian access at the pedestrian access point according to user defined preferences for types of pedestrian access."], [0069] and [0076 "As shown in FIG. 9, one pedestrian access point 425 is an elevator, while the other is a stairwell. A user may indicate, such as in the user preferences of the navigation system, that stairs are undesirable or prohibitive to a user."]-[0077 "The favorability of parking spaces may also consider user-specific preferences or requirements, such as a size of the vehicle for which a parking space is sought. For example, if a user is driving a large vehicle, parking spaces that are “compact vehicle only” may be omitted from consideration."]), the parking preference including a characteristic of parking spaces, the characteristic of parking spaces comprising at least one of near-entrance, near-exit, near-elevator, near-mall entrance, or spacious (see Fig. 11, all; [0008 "...one or more pedestrian access points to one or more of the plurality of entrances of the venue..."], [0037 "Parking facilities can be large parking lots or parking structures with multiple pedestrian access points to allow a user to exit from the parking facility once their vehicle is parked."], [0043 "For example, a venue map may include a map of a shopping mall, and may include entrances/exits, store locations/names, routes through the shopping mall, stairs/escalators/elevators, restrooms, etc."] and [0006 "According to some embodiments, the indication of the favorability of a parking space proximate the vehicle may include an indication of a type of pedestrian access at the pedestrian access point, where the type of pedestrian access includes at least one of: one or more stairs, an elevator..."]);
determining at least one candidate parking space among a plurality of parking spaces in the parking lot, the at least one candidate parking space each having a characteristic matching with the parking preference of the user (see Fig. 11, all; [0006 "The indication of the favorability of a parking space proximate the vehicle may include an indication of the favorability based, at least in part, on the type of pedestrian access at the pedestrian access point according to user defined preferences for types of pedestrian access."], [0069] and [0076]-[0077 "The favorability of parking spaces may also consider user-specific preferences or requirements, such as a size of the vehicle for which a parking space is sought. For example, if a user is driving a large vehicle, parking spaces that are “compact vehicle only” may be omitted from consideration."]);
determining availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0009] and [0089 "...occupancy status of each parking space, which may be provided by the parking facility via sensors at the clusters or parking spaces; and the selected or best suited pedestrian access point to the parking facility."]);
selecting, among the at least one candidate parking space, a first parking space based on the availability of the at least one candidate parking space (see [0077 "A user may be able to select a type of space that they are seeking to enable the system to consider only parking spaces that meet the criteria selected by a user. In an instance in which a user selects a handicap space, the system may provide an indication of the favorability of regular parking spaces in addition to including handicap parking spaces in the consideration. In an instance in which a user selects a plug-in vehicle space, the system may cease to consider any vehicle space that is not equipped with a plug-in charger for a vehicle."]);
navigating the first vehicle to the first parking space (see Figs. 12-14, all [0009 "...where causing the system to provide route guidance within the parking facility to a cluster of parking spaces includes causing the system to provide route guidance within the parking facility to a cluster of spaces having the highest determined value. Causing the system to provide route guidance within the parking facility to the cluster of spaces having the highest determined value may include causing the system to evaluate other clusters of spaces having parking availability, and generate a route that passes through at least one other cluster of spaces having parking availability, where the generated route is not the most direct route."]);
wherein the characteristic of a parking space among the plurality of parking spaces is determined based on operations comprising:
determining a location of the parking space (see Fig. 11, all, for example cluster points E and A; [0004 "... wherein the indication of the favorability includes an indication of a distance from the vehicle to a pedestrian access point to the parking facility..."], [0036], [0068]-[0069] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]-[0005]);
accessing at least two locations of at least two parking space terminals (see Fig. 11, all, for example cluster points E and A; [0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0036], [0068 "The analysis of the parking facility obtains the distance from a parking space that is furthest from the pedestrian access point to the parking facility and the distance from a parking space that is closest to the pedestrian access point to the facility. This may be done on a per-level basis in a multi-level parking facility. The distance may be representative of a calculated pedestrian path to the pedestrian access point, or the absolute distance of the parking space from the access point. In each case, the furthest distance is established as the worst-case scenario parking space on that level of the parking facility. The closest space is identified as the best-case scenario. This provides the relative distance reference points for determining the favorability of the parking space."]-[0069], [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."] and [0089]), the at least two parking space terminals being associated with an entrance of the parking lot, an exit of the parking lot, a mall entrance of the parking lot, a reference parking space of the parking lot, or an elevator of the parking lot (see [0008 "...one or more pedestrian access points to one or more of the plurality of entrances of the venue..."], [0037 "Parking facilities can be large parking lots or parking structures with multiple pedestrian access points to allow a user to exit from the parking facility once their vehicle is parked."], [0043 "For example, a venue map may include a map of a shopping mall, and may include entrances/exits, store locations/names, routes through the shopping mall, stairs/escalators/elevators, restrooms, etc."] and [0006 "According to some embodiments, the indication of the favorability of a parking space proximate the vehicle may include an indication of a type of pedestrian access at the pedestrian access point, where the type of pedestrian access includes at least one of: one or more stairs, an elevator..."]); and
determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space (see [Fig. 11, all; [0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0068]-[0069 " For example, the user may provide an indication to the system that a parking space that is less than 50 feet from a pedestrian access point is close enough to be regarded as a “best” parking space. The distance to the pedestrian access point may be specified in a variety of ways, such as in a distance measure (e.g., feet or meters), fractions or percentages of the worst/best parking space distance, or per user feedback (e.g., crowd sourced feedback regarding a particular parking space from users who have previously parked in or near that space)"] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”. The availability score shown in the third column indicates the number of parking spaces available in the cluster."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps of accessing at least two locations of at least two parking space terminals being associated with an entrance of the parking lot, an exit of the parking lot, a mall entrance of the parking lot, a reference parking space of the parking lot, or an elevator of the parking lot, as taught by Beaurepaire, in order to determine an optimal parking space to minimize walking distance from the user to an access point.
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 21 (as discussed above in claim 21),
Beihai is silent regarding wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the reference parking space; and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-entrance.
Beaurepaire teaches wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the reference parking space (see Fig. 6, all, for example distances 390 and 360; Fig. 11, all, for example "Distance to Access Point" for cluster points E and A; [0004 "... wherein the indication of the favorability includes an indication of a distance from the vehicle to a pedestrian access point to the parking facility..."]-[0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0008 "...one or more pedestrian access points to one or more of the plurality of entrances of the venue..."], [0068 "The analysis of the parking facility obtains the distance from a parking space that is furthest from the pedestrian access point to the parking facility and the distance from a parking space that is closest to the pedestrian access point to the facility."]and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]); and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-entrance (see Fig. 6, all; Fig. 11, all, for example the score "10" under "Distance to Access Point" for cluster point E; [0068 "In each case, the furthest distance is established as the worst-case scenario parking space on that level of the parking facility. The closest space is identified as the best-case scenario."]-[0069 "The longest distance corresponding to the parking space of lowest favorability may be four elements as shown by 360. The shortest distance corresponding to the parking space of highest favorability may be one element as shown by 390. As such, the parking space favorability user interface elements may represent “poor” with 260, “moderate” with 270, “good” with 280, and “best” with 290."] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps of determining that a distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the entrance and the location of the reference parking space and determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-entrance, as taught by Beaurepaire, in order to determine an optimal parking space to minimize walking distance from the user to a parking lot entrance.
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 21 (as discussed above in claim 21),
Beihai is silent regarding wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the exit and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the reference parking space; and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-exit.
Beaurepaire teaches wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the exit and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the reference parking space (see Fig. 6, all, for example distances 390 and 360; Fig. 11, all, for example "Distance to Access Point" for cluster points E and A; [0004 "... wherein the indication of the favorability includes an indication of a distance from the vehicle to a pedestrian access point to the parking facility..."]-[0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0037 "Parking facilities can be large parking lots or parking structures with multiple pedestrian access points to allow a user to exit from the parking facility once their vehicle is parked."], [0068 "The analysis of the parking facility obtains the distance from a parking space that is furthest from the pedestrian access point to the parking facility and the distance from a parking space that is closest to the pedestrian access point to the facility."]and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]); and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-exit (see Fig. 6, all; Fig. 11, all, for example the score "10" under "Distance to Access Point" for cluster point E; [0068 "In each case, the furthest distance is established as the worst-case scenario parking space on that level of the parking facility. The closest space is identified as the best-case scenario."]-[0069 "The longest distance corresponding to the parking space of lowest favorability may be four elements as shown by 360. The shortest distance corresponding to the parking space of highest favorability may be one element as shown by 390. As such, the parking space favorability user interface elements may represent “poor” with 260, “moderate” with 270, “good” with 280, and “best” with 290."] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps of determining that a distance between the location of the exit and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the exit and the location of the reference parking space and determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-exit, as taught by Beaurepaire, in order to determine an optimal parking space to minimize walking distance from the user to a parking lot exit.
Regarding Claim 24
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 21 (as discussed above in claim 21),
Beihai is silent regarding wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the reference parking space; and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-mall entrance.
Beaurepaire teaches wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the reference parking space (see Fig. 6, all, for example distances 390 and 360; Fig. 11, all, for example "Distance to Access Point" for cluster points E and A; [0004 "... wherein the indication of the favorability includes an indication of a distance from the vehicle to a pedestrian access point to the parking facility..."]-[0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0043 "For example, a venue map may include a map of a shopping mall, and may include entrances/exits, store locations/names, routes through the shopping mall, stairs/escalators/elevators, restrooms, etc."], [0068 "The analysis of the parking facility obtains the distance from a parking space that is furthest from the pedestrian access point to the parking facility and the distance from a parking space that is closest to the pedestrian access point to the facility."]and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]); and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-mall entrance (see Fig. 6, all; Fig. 11, all, for example the score "10" under "Distance to Access Point" for cluster point E; [0068 "In each case, the furthest distance is established as the worst-case scenario parking space on that level of the parking facility. The closest space is identified as the best-case scenario."]-[0069 "The longest distance corresponding to the parking space of lowest favorability may be four elements as shown by 360. The shortest distance corresponding to the parking space of highest favorability may be one element as shown by 390. As such, the parking space favorability user interface elements may represent “poor” with 260, “moderate” with 270, “good” with 280, and “best” with 290."] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps of determining that a distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the mall entrance and the location of the reference parking space and determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-mall entrance, as taught by Beaurepaire, in order to determine an optimal parking space to minimize walking distance from the user to a mall entrance.
Regarding Claim 25
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 21 (as discussed above in claim 21),
Beihai is silent regarding wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the reference parking space; and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-elevator.
Beaurepaire teaches wherein the determining the characteristic of the parking space based on the at least two locations of the at least two parking space terminals and the location of the parking space comprises:
determining that a distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the reference parking space (see Fig. 6, all, for example distances 390 and 360; Fig. 11, all, for example "Distance to Access Point" for cluster points E and A; [0004 "... wherein the indication of the favorability includes an indication of a distance from the vehicle to a pedestrian access point to the parking facility..."]-[0005 "...determine a furthest distance from a parking space of the parking facility from a pedestrian access point of the parking facility; and determine a shortest distance from a parking space of the parking facility closest to a pedestrian access point of the parking facility..."], [0006 "According to some embodiments, the indication of the favorability of a parking space proximate the vehicle may include an indication of a type of pedestrian access at the pedestrian access point, where the type of pedestrian access includes at least one of: one or more stairs, an elevator..."], [0063], [0068 "The analysis of the parking facility obtains the distance from a parking space that is furthest from the pedestrian access point to the parking facility and the distance from a parking space that is closest to the pedestrian access point to the facility."]and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]); and
in response to determining that the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the parking space is less than the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-elevator (see Fig. 6, all; Fig. 11, all, for example the score "10" under "Distance to Access Point" for cluster point E; [0068 "In each case, the furthest distance is established as the worst-case scenario parking space on that level of the parking facility. The closest space is identified as the best-case scenario."]-[0069 "The longest distance corresponding to the parking space of lowest favorability may be four elements as shown by 360. The shortest distance corresponding to the parking space of highest favorability may be one element as shown by 390. As such, the parking space favorability user interface elements may represent “poor” with 260, “moderate” with 270, “good” with 280, and “best” with 290."] and [0084 "As shown, cluster point E is adjacent to the access point 630, such that it receives a distance score of “10”. Cluster point A is furthest from the access point 630, and receives a distance score of “2”."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps of determining that a distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the parking space is shorter than the distance between the location of the elevator and the location of the reference parking space and determining the characteristic of the parking space to be near-elevator, as taught by Beaurepaire, in order to determine an optimal parking space to minimize walking distance from the user to a parking lot elevator.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beihai (as modified by High and Zhu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 20230023365 A1 and Nguyen hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 26
Modified Beihai teaches the method of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Beihai is silent regarding wherein a characteristic of a parking space among a plurality of parking spaces is determined based on operations comprising:
accessing a width of the parking space;
accessing a width of a reference parking space;
determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space; and
in response to determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be spacious.
Nguyen teaches a method (see all Figs.; [0007]), comprising:
wherein a characteristic of a parking space among a plurality of parking spaces is determined based on operations comprising:
accessing a width of the parking space (see Fig. 7B, parking space width Wp; [0007] and [0056 "Then, in step S22, the driving assist control unit 11 detects the width of a parking space (parking space width) Wp. The parking space width Wp is detected in the following manner."]);
accessing a width of a reference parking space (see Fig. 7B, sufficient parking width Ws; [0007] and [0055 "The virtual parking region 41 is used as a reference to check whether the vehicle M can be parked in a certain parking space under a poor environment … while the left-right sides are set to have a sufficient parking width Ws. The sufficient parking width Ws is determined by adding an allowance width to the width of the vehicle M."]);
determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space (see Fig. 7B, all; [0007] and [0057 "Then, the driving assist control unit 11 proceeds to step S23 to compare the parking space width Wp with the sufficient parking width Ws. If the parking space width Wp is greater than or equal to the sufficient parking width Ws (Wp≥Ws), the driving assist control unit 11 determines that this parking space is sufficient for parking the vehicle M and proceeds to step S24."]); and
in response to determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be spacious (see [0007], [0057 "Then, the driving assist control unit 11 proceeds to step S23 to compare the parking space width Wp with the sufficient parking width Ws. If the parking space width Wp is greater than or equal to the sufficient parking width Ws (Wp≥Ws), the driving assist control unit 11 determines that this parking space is sufficient for parking the vehicle M and proceeds to step S24."] and [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Beihai to include steps for determining a characteristic of a parking space based on accessing a width of the parking space; accessing a width of a reference parking space; determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space; and in response to determining that the width of the parking space is greater than the width of the reference parking space, determining the characteristic of the parking space to be spacious, as taught by Nguyen, in order to determine the parking space to be sufficient for the user and to prioritize it.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656