DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion-Thus, CHU does not disclose or suggest "generate a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing, wherein the extension field is included based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode," as recited in amended claim 1 (Page 18, 1st paragraph of Applicants’ remarks)- The TPE element of Chu comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063. Section 0204 of Chu teaches an EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz. This renders a scenario of extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz or greater than 160/80+80 MHz based on EHT or HE mode. Chu thus teaches the limitation in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 13, 15 – 17, 51 – 63, 65 – 80, 82 – 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 2021/0360633).
Regarding Claim 1, Chu teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (Figure 1, Section 0055, typical access points comprise memory that stores code run by the processors of said access points); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Figure 1, Section 0055), configured to: generate a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing, wherein the extension field is included (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063), based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz); and transmit the TPE element (Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point).
Regarding Claim 9, Chu teaches a wireless device for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (Figure 1, Section 0056, typical client stations comprise memory that stores code run by the processors of said client stations); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Figure 1, Section 0056), configured to: receive a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing, wherein the extension field is included based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063, Section 0204, EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz); decode the extension field of the TPE element based at least in part on a first bandwidth size configured for the wireless device, whether the first bandwidth size includes channel puncturing, or one or more parameters in the TPE element (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063, Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point, said TPE element is received by the client station and decoded); and transmit a communication using a maximum transmit power indicated in the extension field (Figure 12, the extension fields comprise maximum transmit power information for particular bandwidths, the client device can then transmit communication at said maximum transmit power indicated in said extension fields).
Regarding Claim 51, Chu teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: generating a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing, wherein the extension field is included (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063), based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz); and transmitting the TPE element (Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point).
Regarding Claim 59, Chu teaches a method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: receiving a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063), wherein the extension field is included based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz); decoding the extension field of the TPE element based at least in part on a first bandwidth size configured for the wireless device, whether the first bandwidth size includes channel puncturing, or one or more parameters in the TPE element (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063, Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point, said TPE element is received by the client station and decoded); and transmitting a communication using a maximum transmit power indicated in the extension field (Figure 12, the extension fields comprise maximum transmit power information for particular bandwidths, the client device can then transmit communication at said maximum transmit power indicated in said extension fields).
Regarding Claim 68, Chu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network entity (Figure 1, Section 0055, typical access points comprise memory that stores code run by the processors of said access points), cause the network entity to: generate a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063), based at least in part on detecting a difference between a first bandwidth size configured for a first device operation mode and a second bandwidth size configured for a second device operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode is associated with greater than 160/80+80 MHz and HE mode is associated with 160/80+80 MHz); and transmit the TPE element (Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point).
Regarding Claim 76, Chu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device (Figure 1, Section 0056, typical client stations comprise memory that stores code run by the processors of said client stations), cause the wireless device to: receive a transmit power envelope (TPE) element that includes fields that indicate maximum transmit powers for bandwidth sizes, including an extension field for a bandwidth whose size is greater than 160 megahertz (MHz) or for a bandwidth with channel puncturing (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063); decode the extension field of the TPE element based at least in part on a first bandwidth size configured for the wireless device, whether the first bandwidth size includes channel puncturing, or one or more parameters in the TPE element (puncturing support for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12) this TPE element is a modification of the TPE element of Figure 2, Section 0063, Section 0125 showing that a concatenated TPE element can be transmitted by the access point or received from the access point, said TPE element is received by the client station and decoded); and transmit a communication using a maximum transmit power indicated in the extension field (Figure 12, the extension fields comprise maximum transmit power information for particular bandwidths, the client device can then transmit communication at said maximum transmit power indicated in said extension fields).
Regarding Claims 2, 52, 69, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to generate the TPE element, are configured to indicate a value of 0 or 2 in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element/indicating a value of 0 or 2 in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element/ to cause the network entity to generate the TPE element, are further executable to cause the network entity to: indicate a value of 0 or 2 in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element (Figure 3, maximum transmit power interpretation subfield (310) can be 0 or 2 (Figure 4)).
Regarding Claims 3, 53, 70, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to increase a value in a length field for the TPE element based at least in part on the extension field/increasing a value in a length field for the TPE element based at least in part on the extension field/increase a value in a length field for the TPE element based at least in part on the extension field ((Section 0204), TPE element comprises additional fields, which are the extension fields for 160/80+80 MHz and greater than 160/80+80 MHz (Figure 12), the additional fields provide an increase in length).
Regarding Claims 4, 54, 71, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to generate the TPE element, are configured to generate the TPE element with one or more values for one or more bandwidths in the extension field, listed in increasing bandwidth order/generating the TPE element with one or more values for one or more bandwidths in the extension field, listed in increasing bandwidth order/generate the TPE element with one or more values for one or more bandwidths in the extension field, listed in increasing bandwidth order (Figure 5, values (0,1,2,3) are associated with increasing bandwidths).
Regarding Claims 5, 55, 72, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the extension field includes a value for a bandwidth size of 320 MHz or a bandwidth size greater than 320 MHz (Figure 12, field for 320 MHz).
Regarding Claims 6, 56, 73, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the first device operation mode includes an extremely high throughput (EHT) basis service set (BSS) operation mode, and the second device operation mode includes a high efficiency (HE) BSS operation mode (Section 0204).
Regarding Claims 7, 57, 74, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to generate the TPE element, are configured to indicate a value of 4 or greater in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element/indicating a value of 4 or greater in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element/indicate a value of 4 or greater in a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element (Figure 4).
Regarding Claims 8, 58, 75, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 51, 68. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to generate the TPE element, are configured to generate the TPE element with a control field for forward compatibility/generating the TPE element with a control field for forward compatibility/ generate the TPE element with a control field for forward compatibility (Section 0117, EHT STAs, non-EHT STAs with forward compatibility renders a scenario wherein there will be a field for forward compatibility).
Regarding Claims 10, 60, 77, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to decode the extension field, are configured to decode the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 0 or 2/decoding the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 0 or 2/decode the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 0 or 2 (Figure 3, maximum transmit power interpretation subfield (310) can be 0 or 2 (Figure 4)).
Regarding Claims 11, 61, 78, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to decode the extension field based at least in part on the first bandwidth size, are configured to decode the extension field in response to a determination that the wireless device is operating in a first device operation mode that is configured with the first bandwidth size, which is greater than a second bandwidth size that is configured for a second device operation mode/decode the extension field in response to a determination that the wireless device is operating in a first device operation mode that is configured with the first bandwidth size, which is greater than a second bandwidth size that is configured for a second device operation mode/decode the extension field in response to a determination that the wireless device is operating in a first device operation mode that is configured with the first bandwidth size, which is greater than a second bandwidth size that is configured for a second device operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode can be greater than 160/80+80 MHz, HE mode 160/80+80 MHz).
Regarding Claims 12, 62, 79, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 11, 61, 78. Chu further teaches wherein the first device operation mode includes an extremely high throughput (EHT) basis service set (BSS) operation mode, and the second device operation mode includes a high efficiency (HE) BSS operation mode (Section 0204, EHT mode can be greater than 160/80+80 MHz, HE mode 160/80+80 MHz).
Regarding Claims 13, 63, 80, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the extension field includes a value for a bandwidth size of 320 MHz or a bandwidth size greater than 320 MHz (Figure 12, field for 320 MHz).
Regarding Claims 15, 65, 82, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to decode the fields of the TPE element that correspond to bandwidths that have a valid puncturing pattern/decoding the fields of the TPE element that correspond to bandwidths that have a valid puncturing pattern/decode the fields of the TPE element that correspond to bandwidths that have a valid puncturing pattern (Section 0204, puncture support renders valid puncturing patterns).
Regarding Claims 16, 66, 83, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to decode the extension field, are configured to decode the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 4 or greater/decoding the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 4 or greater/decode the extension field in response to a determination that a maximum transmit power interpretation subfield associated with the TPE element has a value of 4 or greater (Figure 4, values of 4 – 7).
Regarding Claims 17, 67, 84, Chu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 59, 76. Chu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to decode the extension field, are configured to decode the extension field based at least in part on a control field associated with the extension field/decoding the extension field based at least in part on a control field associated with the extension field/decode the extension field based at least in part on a control field associated with the extension field (Figures 2, 3, Section 0063, transmit power information field is the control field associated with the three-bit maximum extension fields).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 64, 81 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
PLEASE NOTE: Examiner attempted to contact Applicants’ representative to discuss including the limitations below in order to place the claims in condition for allowance but was unsuccessful.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the following features:
Regarding Claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to decode the extension field based at least in part on the one or more parameters in the TPE element, are configured to decode the extension field in response to a determination that a difference between a length field in the TPE element and a maximum transmit power count field in the TPE element satisfies a difference threshold.
Regarding Claim 64, wherein decoding the extension field further comprises: decoding the extension field in response to a determination that a difference between a length field in the TPE element and a maximum transmit power count field in the TPE element satisfies a difference threshold.
Regarding Claim 81, wherein the one or more instructions, to cause the wireless device to decode the extension field, are further executable to cause the wireless device to: decode the extension field in response to a determination that a difference between a length field in the TPE element and a maximum transmit power count field in the TPE element satisfies a difference threshold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
September 21, 2026